Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭minikin

cock robin wrote: »
    So you didn't hear the guards laughing as they were making their remarks. Must have been a different tape to the one I listened to.

Nah, that was obviously 'muhahaha evil garda rapey laughter' rather than a few lads laughing nervously at a very bad joke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

minikin wrote: »
    No threat of rape occurred, no rape occurred.

A lady rightly took offence at a stupid remark... that's where it should have been left, no crime was committed - but then certain elements wouldn't have got their propaganda coup.

Why do people keep saying this? Since when does a law need to be broken in order for someone to be held accountable for inappropriate behaviour in a professional capacity? It's an absurd assertion to make given the context.
    Paparazzo wrote: »
    If this is going to effect women reporting rape, why don't people have a problem with some idiot sending a recording of a private conversation that would have been harmless to national newspapers?

Who says they don't have a problem with that. I certainly have no sympathy for the protester that decided to blow the whole thing out of proportion by releasing the tape, but that doesn't negate the fact that the Gardai were caught making inflammatory comments about her and about a subject as delicate as rape. Sure, if the tape didn't exist then there'd be no problem, but it does exist and ignoring it would be a mistake too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

So you didn't hear the guards laughing as they were making their remarks. .

Thats so re-assuring for potential rape victims that they find the subject so amusing:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭stee.mc79

Birdnuts do you condon the actions of some of the protester. I mean hurling abuse at Garda and ordinary people, who's there ombudsman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Thats so re-assuring for potential rape victims that they find the subject so amusing:rolleyes:

How do you not get it at this stage . .

They are not laughing at rape victims. There is nothing to suggest they find rape "amusing".

They used the word rape as being something way worse than being arrested or deported (previous part of conversation). It may have been a silly/bad/failed attempt at humor, but that is all it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

So you didn't hear the guards laughing as they were making their remarks. Must have been a different tape to the one I listened to.

Obviously what is humorous to some people is not humorous to others as this thread is so easily pointing out.......

The fact that they were laughing at their "humour" does not in fact make what they said appropriate even if it was meant in jest!!!

My teenage lads laugh when they see the ads for "I used to be fat" that are on MTV at the moment...........It is funny to them but I doubt very much whether any obese people find the same adverts funny...again, they are teenage lads who have yet to mature.

They are however, not full grown men or lads down the pub and this is where I have the problem with what happened.....
    They should be reprimanded for what they did and admit that they acted inappropriately for whatever reason it was (lads banter, stress relief......whatever??)

stee.mc79 wrote: »
    Birdnuts do you condon the actions of some of the protester. I mean hurling abuse at Garda and ordinary people, who's there ombudsman!

This is not an issue here and serves no purpose other than to derail the issue at hand which is that a group of guards acted inappropriately when on duty for whatever reason!!!

How do you not get it at this stage . .

They are not laughing at rape victims. There is nothing to suggest they find rape "amusing".

They used the word rape as being something way worse than being arrested or deported (previous part of conversation). It may have been a silly/bad/failed attempt at humor, but that is all it was.

You forgot to say inappropriate in there......

Again, for my part I am not suggesting for one instance that these guards are laughing at actual rape victims but it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Again, for my part I am not suggesting for one instance that these guards are laughing at actual rape victims but it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape:confused:

the gardai have always been an unprofessional force when compared to other police forces , even the ruc of whom i was no fan , had as a rule much more professional attitude when dealing with the public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Birdnuts wrote: »
    So if a female relative of yours was raped you'd like one of these goons handling the case??:rolleyes:

I can separate a joke from reality. It would honestly make no difference. Same way people use the work "kill" out if context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

If we had a thread for every inappropriate joke that will be made between colleagues in the Gardai or anywhere else today, we'd have a bigger thread than this for sure.

They got caught out, the hysteria surrounding it is absolutely ridiculous and is many multiples more damaging than the silly joke that the Guards in Mayo had last Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Over 2,300 seconds of audio recorded and the whole country is up in arms over 70 seconds of harmless banter in private. An apology by the Gardai, a slap on the wrists and move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

Again, for my part I am not suggesting for one instance that these guards are laughing at actual rape victims but it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape:confused:

Doctors, in private, can make jokes about cancer; yet, they can go straight out and sensitively & caringly treat a patient with it.

Judges, in private, can make jokes about prison; yet, they can go straight out and send people there.

Guards, in private, can make jokes about rape, or a dozen other crimes; yet, they can go straight out and sensitively & caringly deal with a victim of those crimes.

None of that means that these 3 Gardai arent idiots, but the suggestion that:
    1. they should be sacked/severely punished
    2. the individual Gardai are incapable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim

is utter nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Who the fook are you or I to dismiss that woman and her personal understanding of something we have never experienced?

Did I dismiss it? Look, you have no clue who I know that has been raped or sexually assaulted so you can keep all this righteous anger to yourself.
    Or to speak of scaremongering and groundless ****-stirring?

That's all it is. So much worry for victims who will be afraid to come forward.... I know we'll put in on the front page of all the papers, we'll put on the headline news, we'll put it on Prime Time, Vincent Browne, and we'll recycle it over and over to get every last minute of rabble rousing out of it.... that'll really help.
    And wtf have GPs in Kerry to do with anything?

It shows the idiocy of tarring an entire profession with one brush.
    And I'm sure they have, and the RCC was trying to redress the balance, and be fair to the majority of gardaí ... especially as tomorrow they will be encouraging victims to report the crime.

There is no "balance". You have a positive experience with thousands of victims, and on the other side you have three gardaí acting the maggot on their own nowhere near a victim. Do you see how that comes nowhere close to being an imbalance? This is as useless as saying one teacher hits a kid, all teachers are child abusers. One doctor makes a mistake, all doctors are going to make mistakes. Arrgghhh. The Gardaí are not robots, they are human. Some are better than others, shocker. Anyone who expects them all to behave in an identical fashion is a bit soft in the head.
    The fact remains that these three portrayed themselves as completely unprofessional Neanderthals who imho bring great discredit on their uniform and on their gender.

Yeah yeah, frankly I don't feel in the slightest bit discredited as a male. I have seen and heard much, much worse, and my wife has been subjected to much worse in person. It's called getting a bit of perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

I better be careful the next time someone hears me mutterin' "fcuk that"

drkpower wrote: »
    Doctors, in private, can make jokes about cancer; yet, they can go straight out and sensitively & caringly treat a patient with it.

Judges, in private, can make jokes about prison; yet, they can go straight out and send people there.

Guards, in private, can make jokes about rape, or a dozen other crimes; yet, they can go straight out and sensitively & caringly deal with a victim of those crimes.

None of that means that these 3 Gardai arent idiots, but the suggestion that:
    1. they should be sacked/severely punished
    2. the individual Gardai are incapable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim

is utter nonsense.

I'm really getting fed up of this!!!!!

Just because some of us find the behaviour inappropriate does not mean that we want them sacked or does not mean that we feel they are not capable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim..........

I never suggested this at all.................I do feel that they should apologise for their obvious lack of "cop da fcuk on", and then move on....

They have been accusations of hysteria bandied about on this thread and tbh I think there are parties guilty of this on both sides of the argument....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks Gardaí should not joke and laugh amongst themselves in private is deluded
    Pretty sure a a member of the Gardai is never really "off duty"...

This is not an issue here and serves no purpose other than to derail the issue at hand which is that a group of guards acted inappropriately when on duty for whatever reason!!!

Can I point out that I talk sh1te! When I'm with the lads at work I talk it, when I'm with my mates we talk it, alot of that talk is inappropriate, MEN TALK rubbish everyday when we're together dose that make me any less able to do my job NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Just because some of us find the behaviour inappropriate does not mean that we want them sacked or does not mean that we feel they are not capable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim..........I never suggested this at all................

Eh, yes you did, when you said it bothers you that victims would have to deal with gardaí able to have a laugh and a joke about essentially inappropriate subjects while on duty. Even in private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can I point out that I talk sh1te! When I'm with the lads at work I talk it, when I'm with my mates we talk it, alot of that talk is inappropriate, MEN TALK rubbish everyday when we're together dose that make me any less able to do my job NO!

And if your boss happened to hear you say something which was unacceptable while at work would you not be taken to account over it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

For god's sake could people please please please stop over-reacting!!!!!

Can I respectfully suggest thatthe people who think these men actually intended to rape the protesters go onto RTE Player and watch the clip again properly.

The two Gardai couldn't be joking around any more obviously if they tried. They are clearly laughing at themselves and the obsurdity of what they are saying.

Inappropriate, stupid and distasteful .....yes. Worthy of the hysterical reaction it's getting.....absolutly not.

In no way, shape or form are they threatening rape or attempting to cause offense to rape vicitms. Nor do they really mean to make light of it. And I have no doubt that were any woman to go to them having been raped they would act in a sensitive and professional manner.

Please folks get down off your moral high horses and see this for what it actually is, not what you want to be because you have jumped the garda-hating bandwagon.

Again, I never said that they were incapable of doing their jobs:confused:

I understand that men can talk a lot of sh1te:) and most times that is okay, however, in this instance I feel an apology is in order.....

I'm really getting fed up of this!!!!!

Just because some of us find the behaviour inappropriate does not mean that we want them sacked or does not mean that we feel they are not capable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim..........

I never suggested this at all..................

You seem a little forgetful.

When you said it 'bothers you', it seemed to suggest that you had some reservations about these Gardai possibly having to counsel/deal with a rape victim, no? Why would it 'bother you' if you believe these Gardai are capable of acting professionally vis-a-vis a rape victim?
    it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Can I respectfully suggest thatthe people who think these men actually intended to rape the protesters go onto RTE Player and watch the clip again properly.

The two Gardai couldn't be joking around any more obviously if they tried. They are clearly laughing at themselves and the obsurdity of what they are saying.

Inappropriate, stupid and distasteful .....yes. Worthy of the hysterical reaction it's getting.....absolutly not.

In no way, shape or form are they threatening rape or attempting to cause offense to rape vicitms. Nor do they really mean to make light of it. And I have no doubt that were any woman to go to them having been raped they would act in a sensitive and professional manner.

Please folks get down off your moral high horses and see this for what it actually is, not what you want to be because you have jumped the garda-hating bandwagon.

I totally agree. This is a complete storm in a teacup, and the sooner the PC brigade get off the bandwagon (or tractor) about this the better. Talk about whipping up hysteria! And an eavesdropper never hears good of themselves :pac:

Of course it bothers me that they can have a laugh over the issue of rape if they don't come out and say they were sorry and acted inappropriately.......

I agree with everything you have to say here except for the hysteria bit on my part and the hating the garda bit. I also think what they said was inappropriate, stupid and distasteful and warrants an apology. End of it all then as far as I'm concerned

Of course it bothers me that they can have a laugh over the issue of rape if they don't come out and say they were sorry and acted inappropriately.......

1. So, is your position that it is ok to have a laugh about rape if you apologise afterwards?

2. You said 'it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape.'

If you believe, as you have said, that the same Gardai are fully capable of acting professionally to a rape victim, why do their provate utterances bother you?

I agree with everything you have to say here except for the hysteria bit on my part and the hating the garda bit. I also think what they said was inappropriate, stupid and distasteful and warrants an apology. End of it all then as far as I'm concerned

So it no longer bothers you that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape?

And if your boss happened to hear you say something which was unacceptable while at work would you not be taken to account over it?
    No! as it happens everyday and some of it is vile, none of it is meant to cause harm. It's a male dominated work force.
    Again, I never said that they were incapable of doing their jobs:confused:

I understand that men can talk a lot of sh1te:) and most times that is okay, however, in this instance I feel an apology is in order.....
    I think the same apologise and get over it! It was sh1t talk.

drkpower wrote: »
    1. So, is your position that it is ok to have a laugh about rape if you apologise afterwards?

2. You said 'it still bothers me that the very professionals that a rape victim must initially deal with are those that are in some cases are able to banter and laugh around the issue of rape.'

If you believe, as you have said, that the same Gardai are fully capable of acting professionally to a rape victim, why do their provate utterances bother you?

Ya know what, I'm not one of those posters who can sit and pick through posts all day so here is my opinion on this

1. They had a laugh around the word rape when they referred to it and the woman they had in custody

2. I don't pretend to know their reasoning for this (stress felief, lads banter etc) but I do know that they were not threatening to rape the woman

3. Do I feel it was a silly inappropriate thing to do?? Yes.

4. Do i feel they should be sacked?? No, they were just being stupid for whatever reason!

5. Should they apologise and realise that it quite possibly may have been upsetting to certain factions of the public ie rape victims even if they hadn't intended it to be?? Yes

6. Am I being hysterical?? No, I don't think I am