Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

g_moriarty wrote: »
    There's a big difference between someone working in an average private company office, and working as a gardai who are the first point of call for rape victims, and who should be trusted and professional when dealing with such a sensitive issue.

Reports of incidents of rape to the gardai are already low as it stands (out of fear, vulnerability, etc) - Do you think a rape victim is more or less likely to approach the garda siochana after this incident?

No, And they shouldn't be. If it's the case then ask for a Women Garda. Don't let a few morons let the other 12,000 members down.

The statement them morons made has really brought the giant tar brush out to be honest. ****ing hell what type of a statement to make , it's just not even funny. Anyway let the media machine continue on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭stee.mc79

g_moriarty wrote: »
    There's a big difference between someone working in an average private company office, and working as a gardai who are the first point of call for rape victims, and who should be trusted and professional when dealing with such a sensitive issue.

Reports of incidents of rape to the gardai are already low as it stands (out of fear, vulnerability, etc) - Do you think a rape victim is more or less likely to approach the garda siochana after this incident?

Just a question. Do you expect every conversation anybody has in private should be made public? Don't forget as well the garda talked about protecting the protesters when removing them as not to hurt them are they prased for that bit of the conversation NO! Also no formal complaint has been made either.
    It was a bad phrase to use. But has nobody here said something in bad taste!
    Do they really need to be hung drawn and quatered? If I did it in work I'd think it harsh to get the P45 for it I would expect a slap on the wrist for it maybe a warning either written or verbal.
    Also the S2S are hardly law abiding themselves now are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

stee.mc79 wrote: »
    Just a question. Do you expect every conversation anybody has in private should be made public? Don't forget as well the garda talked about protecting the protesters when removing them as not to hurt them are they prased for that bit of the conversation NO! Also no formal complaint has been made either.
    It was a bad phrase to use. But has nobody here said something in bad taste!
    Do they really need to be hung drawn and quatered? If I did it in work I'd think it harsh to get the P45 for it I would expect a slap on the wrist for it maybe a warning either written or verbal.
    Also the S2S are hardly law abiding themselves now are they?

who said the s2s are not law abiding,oh yeah now i know.the same people who made this remark and the same people who wanted to look into someones imirgration status for joining this protest

the bolt wrote: »
    who said the s2s are not law abiding,oh yeah now i know.the same people who made this remark and the same people who wanted to look into someones imirgration status for joining this protest
    No other police force would ask the same question!
    Garda are there to protect the Protesters and the people who go to work everyday on the gas terminals. You think it's fair the ordinary person going to work this morning should be subjected to the abuse they get? Your condoning that! What about the abuse the Garda get themselves up there get? Anyway it's gone off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭minikin

I was absolutely shocked. Such vile and unprofessional language in this day and age deserves extreme punishment: I mean calling her a 'yank' - unforgivable.
    We need some heads on plates now :rolleyes:

Wow Ill bet your a barrell of laughs. Ever heard of satire? :rolleyes:
    yeah because rape is a barrell of laughs.

Look for the post that says that if they had said something like "jaysus I'd love to give her one" or whatever nooone would care...but the fact it was rape they said they wanted to do, it's a completely different matter.

are you a teenager or something? Because anyone older who thinks rape is funny has some serious issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Starla_o0 wrote: »
    yeah because rape is a barrell of laughs.

Look for the post that says that if they had said something like "jaysus I'd love to give her one" or whatever nooone would care...but the fact it was rape they said they wanted to do, it's a completely different matter.

are you a teenager or something? Because anyone older who thinks rape is funny has some serious issues

You do know nobody was actually raped or threatened don't you? Nor did the gardai want to rape the girl. I think it's ironic that you accuse that poster of being a teenager when your own posts suggest you are not long out of your teens yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

One question to all of you who ticked option - "storm in a teacup" - would you be still laughing if you found the the same recording on your wife's/ doughter's camcorder? would you tick the same option that nothing really happened? If you knew who the gardai in question was - would you like to report any serious problem to them ? I wouldn't. All gardai involved should be let go. There is no place for idiots in uniforms, who are here to protect and help us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

minikin wrote: »
    I was absolutely shocked. Such vile and unprofessional language in this day and age deserves extreme punishment: I mean calling her a 'yank' - unforgivable.
    We need some heads on plates now :rolleyes:

You appear to have missed the rest of the extract - its no wonder this country is a cesspit of low standards going on the many apologists for these goons appaling behaviour:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

If it was a priest, people would be up in arms and demanding assets be stripped from the church. I expect similar standards from members of the Gardai.

No other police force would ask the same question!
    Garda are there to protect the Protesters and the people who go to work everyday on the gas terminals. You think it's fair the ordinary person going to work this morning should be subjected to the abuse they get? Your condoning that! What about the abuse the Garda get themselves up there get? Anyway it's gone off topic.

Utter rubbish!! - there has been a mountain of complaints to the ombudsman about the policing of these legitimate protests.

You appear to have missed the rest of the extract - its no wonder this country is a cesspit of low standards going on the many apologists for these goons appaling behaviour

Oh dear birdnuts... not too familiar with "humour" are you? Your overreaction to such a petty, albeit ill considered and in bad taste, event makes me wonder how you would react if the Garda had actually threatened to rape the lady!

"Man who has just left stressful aggressive environment makes innappropriate joke to mates shocker"

Oh dear birdnuts... not too familiar with "humour" are you?

Yeah, rape is so funny:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Utter rubbish!! - there has been a mountain of complaints to the ombudsman about the policing of these legitimate protests.

Yeah by protesters who protest about every fcuking thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Yeah, rape is so funny:rolleyes:

Again there was no actual rape.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

He wasn't found guilty of murder, nor manslaughter (which, in it's description, gives an example of killing someone accidently while driving a car). I believe he was let off due to pleading guilty to dangerous driving causing death. The jury were obviously a bunch of idiots who haven't a clue about law, nor have any respect for the Gardai or Garda McCallions memory. Maybe focusing some of your anger against Gardai could be better put to use finding out about things that matter.

http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/news-extra/2226-teenager-cleared-in-garda-death

So the verdict of a jury is to be ignored when it suits ? Very strange and disturbing attitude.

How do you know there legitimate? Im just asking no sarcasm.

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    One question to all of you who ticked option - "storm in a teacup" - would you be still laughing if you found the the same recording on your wife's/ doughter's camcorder? would you tick the same option that nothing really happened? If you knew who the gardai in question was - would you like to report any serious problem to them ? I wouldn't. All gardai involved should be let go. There is no place for idiots in uniforms, who are here to protect and help us.

What utter nonsense. The remarks were made incognito and quite obviously were of a humorous nature. If you actually believe that these guards do not take sexual assault seriously then you have a screw loose. In all professions there will be off the cuff remarks made in private. I have a daughter and unless she told me that the guards actually threatned to rape her then I would see the funny side. Then again I do have a sense of humour. Nothing happened to these wimmin who were protesting other than they refused a lawfull request from the garda to identify themselves. If they had cooperated they would not have been taken into custody to begin with. We are all subject to the law and should cooperate with the guards. Odd that the same women who initally refused to co-operate with the law now want the law to help them. They should fcuk off and mind their own business.

cock robin wrote: »
    Yeah by protesters who protest about every fcuking thing.

What a great insight:rolleyes: - I find people like you are the very ones who'd throw a tantrum if a dog cocked his leg in their garden

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0223/1224265034497.html

What utter nonsense. The remarks were made incognito and quite obviously were of a humorous nature. .

Would you find it so funny if it was your mother that was the subject??

Yeah, rape is so funny

Again with the 'missing the point' birdnuts - I was referring to the humour in my post rather than any immature humour on the part of the Garda, because that's all it was...

No threat of rape occurred, no rape occurred.

A lady rightly took offence at a stupid remark... that's where it should have been left, no crime was committed - but then certain elements wouldn't have got their propaganda coup.

Their (whoever released the tape) actions have diminished the campaign against the pipeline, they've diminished the experiences of victims of sexual assault - by elevating a joke to the same status as the crime itself.

How do you know there legitimate? Im just asking no sarcasm.

I've family in the area and beleive me they are legitimate - unfortunatly the gardai have the same level of respect for the Ombudsman as they do for local people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What utter nonsense. The remarks were made incognito and quite obviously were of a humorous nature.
    I heard the tape - there is nothing humours about it

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Their (whoever released the tape) actions have diminished the campaign against the pipeline, they've diminished the experiences of victims of sexual assault - by elevating a joke to the same status as the crime itself.

Rubbish - going on the many cheerleaders for the Gardai in the Irish Corporate media, you would swear all the locals were IRA operatives.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If this is going to effect women reporting rape, why don't people have a problem with some idiot sending a recording of a private conversation that would have been harmless to national newspapers?

What a great insight:rolleyes: - I find people like you are the very ones who'd throw a tantrum if a dog cocked his leg in their garden

Wrong I love dogs and have two and they both cock their legs regularly in the garden. People like me have an opinion and sorry that I disagree with you but at least people like me don't find the need for personal rancour. Unlike people like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

What utter nonsense. In all professions there will be off the cuff remarks made in private.

is uniformed gardai on duty in Gardai car in private? rape jokes while in gardai uniform is nothing else but uniform slandering.

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    I heard the tape - there is nothing humours about it

So you didn't hear the guards laughing as they were making their remarks. Must have been a different tape to the one I listened to.

Rubbish - going on the many cheerleaders for the Gardai in the Irish Corporate media, you would swear all the locals were IRA operatives.:rolleyes:

Again... what has that got to do with anything I've said or with the event being discussed here??

Just to be clear on this:
    I am 100% opposed to the pipeline.
    I am 100% in support of the local people who have been very badly treated by the corporations and government involved.
    I saw 'An Piopa' and was disgusted at the heavy handed approach by some of the Gardai there (my father is a retired member)

BUT

none of the above influences my view of this particular event because I have the maturity to be able to distinguish between 'insensitive nonsense' and 'real threatening criminal behaviour'

Paparazzo wrote: »
    If this is going to effect women reporting rape, why don't people have a problem with some idiot sending a recording of a private conversation that would have been harmless to national newspapers?

So if a female relative of yours was raped you'd like one of these goons handling the case??:rolleyes: