Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭Keith186

Dave! wrote: »
    My mates and I are want to make a rape joke every so often. Pure banter and humour. If you asked anyone what they really thought of rape though, they'd tell you that it's reprehensible, and rapists should be killed.

Jokes =/= reality.

Dave! Two negatives divides by two negatives equals positive. Tut tut.

Joking aside I agree with ya the gardai are having the craic. Happens everywhere just looks bad when broadcast to the nation.

They sound like a bunch of nobs but are only having a laugh so no harm done.

There should be a disclaimer in the video saying no protestors were harmed in the making of this video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

Look, they have to reprimand them obviously. The gardai can't be seen to just go "ah sure we're only having the craic". It's a saving face thing. But I would imagine this goes on ALL the time- put a few fellas together, give them a bit of power and they turn into imbaciles. I'm sure they listened it to it themselves and thought "ya it actually wasn't as funny as I thought it was at the time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

No such thing as a "non-national".

I was up in Erris over the summer,a divided community,but I have the height of respect for some of the protestors. The Gardaí have been borderline to say the least in many of their actions .

The recent book by the Irish Times journalist is an excellent read. A point made was if there was gas on Lambay Island,would Shell get away with treating the locals of Dalkey in the same way. Rossport has been sold out and the Corrib fields too,Shell have a lot to answer for as do our previous ministers.

The gardaí refer to the Bellinaboy area as "The Golden Mile" because of all the overtime they are getting (paid by us -not Shell.) Some of them are arrogant and think themselves above the law. Time to haul these guys in. Rape is NEVER a joke.

No gard refers to it as 'the golden mile'. You made that up. Although they are grateful to maura Harrington and her Sinner associates for the boost in their wages. And its not easy money. The community is in no way divided. The vast majority want shell there. So that was also made up.

Negative uneducated opinion will always override common sense so i dont blame this kind of comment.
    A couple of pints down in the local with some impressionable kids does not an informed opinion make!

People are making profit and advances because of this situation and not mainly shell and the gardai!

Nobody said rape was a joke! Its called black humour and very common in jobs that deal with it! Shocking i know but a healthy way to deal with stress. Like whiskey for a sore tooth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Hardly Rodney King territory. Oversensitivity much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

cursai wrote: »
    Negative uneducated opinion !

There was plenty of evidence of that in the recording!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Better tell that to the GNIB who are partly responsible for this area ;)

http://www.garda.ie/controller.aspx?page=31

So the media uses it and then the public uses it

Interesting.

I arrived back in Cork two weeks ago from London and presented my work ID to the member of an garda siochana on duty (rare occasion).

He gave me grief because it didn't show my nationality. I work for an Irish company, my name is Irish and I look like a paddy but he said I should have had a driving licence. Strangely the law says otherwise and he sort of suddenly realised that and said to go through.

So guess what - feck the Guards - if ye want respect then go an earn it and don't treat the ordinary folks in the way ye're scared to treat the criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

Dave! wrote: »
    No, I don't care for the outrage of the woman in question or the other commentators. They've got an agenda, so they're blowing it all out of proportion.

this is actually a very important point, there loving the attention this is bringing the shell protesters and as can be seen they a very anti gardai... also i went to a stag in castlebar / belmullet (i know WHY???) but when we there the locals were saying 90% of the protesters (or activists) were "crusties" that go around to different places in europe to protest at anything. also as this takes up all there time, they dont work. not a very productive crew these "crusties"

also any of the locals i talked to supported shell because it brought so much income to the area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

This thread has over 1000 posts in over 12 hours and i checked a thread when the death of Garda Garry McCloughlin occurred there was only around 80. There was no huge up roar from people on this site about the murder of a 24 year old young man carrying out his duty, no 1000 post discussion on the lenient sentence handed down to the person responsible for this . The vast majority of people on this site did not care that someone had lost there life and a person had got away with murder but when two gaurds that are caught out out its the crime of the century, people here are going mad, sack them, and the rubbish been posted here....

as one mod put it "Are all Gardai boggers?" great intelligence shown by a person who is in a position of power and responsibility.

Well I heard that guards are lured down fron the Kerry mountains by hunks of meat.

Amazing what hearsay can say....

this is actually a very important point, there loving the attention this is bringing the shell protesters and as can be seen they a very anti gardai... these "crusties"

Rubbish - I have family from the area and SHELLS cops are disliked by locals for very good reasons.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0223/1224265034497.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

angry_fox wrote: »
    This thread has over 1000 posts in over 12 hours and i checked a thread when the death of Garda Garry McCloughlin occurred there was only around 80. There was no huge up roar from people on this site about the murder of a 24 year old young man carrying out his duty, no 1000 post discussion on the lenient sentence handed down to the person responsible for this . The vast majority of people on this site did not care that someone had lost there life and a person had got away with murder but when two gaurds that are caught out out its the crime of the century, people here are going mad, sack them, and the rubbish been posted here....

It goes without saying that the death of a peace officer is a tragedy and a murder a disgrace. Thus, there is less to be said about it.

This case is evidently far more divisive. That's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭04KY

No such thing as a "non-national".

I was up in Erris over the summer,a divided community,but I have the height of respect for some of the protestors. The Gardaí have been borderline to say the least in many of their actions .

The recent book by the Irish Times journalist is an excellent read. A point made was if there was gas on Lambay Island,would Shell get away with treating the locals of Dalkey in the same way. Rossport has been sold out and the Corrib fields too,Shell have a lot to answer for as do our previous ministers.

The gardaí refer to the Bellinaboy area as "The Golden Mile" because of all the overtime they are getting (paid by us -not Shell.) Some of them are arrogant and think themselves above the law. Time to haul these guys in. Rape is NEVER a joke.

Strange that, I found the majority of the community to be in favour of the terminal and pipeline. Also I found the Gardai, in general, to be excellent. As for the protestors, well on many occasions they stopped me from entering or leaving my place of work. They also verbally abused myself and my colleagues on occasions when they broke into our site.

The Gardai get all the overtime because of the trouble caused by protestors. I am thankful that the Gardai were around on many occasions where protesting was far from peaceful.

As for the people that say this has nothing to do with the Corrib or Shell, of course it does. Shell to Sea have used this as a publicity stunt. A complaint could and should have been made to the Garda Ombudsman. Instead a Shell to Sea spokesperson announced that Gardai are threatening to rape protestors and they fear for the safety of women in the area, four days after first hearing the recording.

as one mod put it "Are all Gardai boggers?" great intelligence shown by a person who is in a position of power and responsibility.

Are you a Garda??

Was someone found guilty of murder in this case ?

04KY wrote: »
    Strange that, I found the majority of the community to be in favour of the terminal and pipeline. Also I found the Gardai, in general, to be excellent. .

I doubt you were ever in the area:rolleyes: - the vast majority of households in the Rossport/Kilcommon area signed petition against it

Maybe he's a Shell contractor

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Rubbish - I have family from the area and SHELLS cops are disliked by locals for very good reasons.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0223/1224265034497.html

i never said the locals liked the cops, i said they didnt have a problem with shell, your link is pointless and irrelevant. i cant say either way if the cops are like or disliked but the locals i talked to had no problem with gardai or shell but did have a problem with protesters. atleast gardai and workers for shell contribute to the economy by eating, sleeping and drinking while the protesters camped and lived off beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

prinz wrote: »
    Yeah I'm sure...and if I hear about a GP down in Kerry making jokes about prescriptions, I'll never go to my local GP ever again. It's scaremongering and it's groundless shít-stirring.
    Yes, prinz, I am totally sure of how the women I spoke to to-day felt about it.

Including the woman, now in her 40s and a strong professional woman, who was raped when she was ~16; who read that transcript in the paper at break-time; who chose to speak to us about her own experience of reporting the offence; of the Gardaí she dealt with, most of whom she described in retrospect as kind and supportive if somewhat hamfisted, a couple of whom she described as excellent, and one of whom she described as a misogynist pig who constantly implied that she had "asked for it". She was fair enough to point out repeatedly that this was ~25 years ago, and that she was sure that "in general" the AGS were better trained to-day.

One of the other women asked her if she had read that transcript to-day on the day in question, would she have been discouraged from reporting the offence. Her answer was that it was difficult to say 25 years later, but that she thought she would have been very discouraged; that she found it very difficult as it was, and made three attempts to go to the station before she finally walked in the door, without having something like that in the papers the day before.

The other women there agreed with her.

Who the fook are you or I to dismiss that woman and her personal understanding of something we have never experienced?

Or to speak of scaremongering and groundless ****-stirring?

And wtf have GPs in Kerry to do with anything?
    prinz wrote: »
    The rep from the RCC was on the news tonight reassuring people that the vast majority of dealings with AGS that they know about (through victims going to the gardaí and the RCC) have been completely professional and totally above board.
    And I'm sure they have, and the RCC was trying to redress the balance, and be fair to the majority of gardaí ... especially as tomorrow they will be encouraging victims to report the crime.

The fact remains that these three portrayed themselves as completely unprofessional Neanderthals who imho bring great discredit on their uniform and on their gender.

04KY wrote: »
    Strange that, I found the majority of the community to be in favour of the terminal and pipeline.

i agree with you

i never said the locals liked the cops, i said they didnt have a problem with shell,

Your wrong there too as I pointed out above - and thats despite all the sweeties SHELL have been throwing around locally since the protests started!!

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Your wrong there too as I pointed out above - and thats despite all the sweeties SHELL have been throwing around locally since the protests started!!

no meatball i did not say that, read it again and stop jumping to conclusions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Yes, prinz, I am totally sure of how the women I spoke to to-day felt about it.

Including the woman, now in her 40s and a strong professional woman, who was raped when she was ~16; who read that transcript in the paper at break-time; who chose to speak to us about her own experience of reporting the offence; of the Gardaí she dealt with, most of whom she described in retrospect as kind and supportive if somewhat hamfisted, a couple of whom she described as excellent, and one of whom she described as a misogynist pig who constantly implied that she had "asked for it". She was fair enough to point out repeatedly that this was ~25 years ago, and that she was sure that "in general" the AGS were better trained to-day.

One of the other women asked her if she had read that transcript to-day on the day in question, would she have been discouraged from reporting the offence. Her answer was that it was difficult to say 25 years later, but that she thought she would have been very discouraged; that she found it very difficult as it was, and made three attempts to go to the station before she finally walked in the door, without having something like that in the papers the day before.

The other women there agreed with her.

Who the fook are you or I to dismiss that woman and her personal understanding of something we have never experienced?

Or to speak of scaremongering and groundless ****-stirring?

And wtf have GPs in Kerry to do with anything?

And I'm sure they have, and the RCC was trying to redress the balance, and be fair to the majority of gardaí ... especially as tomorrow they will be encouraging victims to report the crime.

The fact remains that these three portrayed themselves as completely unprofessional Neanderthals who imho bring great discredit on their uniform and on their gender.

Excellent post and shows you why it isn't just "dark humour".

I've stood up for the Guards comments and I've no doubt the same Guards would act professionally if that case happened now and would be all out to get a conviction.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Have you listened to the full recording?
    Or have you read the full transcript?

Three silly, obviously absurd lines, out of a long conversation on how best to do their jobs with regard to safety for both themselves and the protestors and they are described as monsters. They were talking sh*te like lads often do in private. There was no malice or intent.

Justice is meant to be proportionate and to those calling for dimissal etc, your sense of proportion is akin to Fr Dougals with his small/faraway cows

Yeah i did listen and read the full transcript. It's obvious they were talking shíte. Regardless of it being a direct threat or not more than one Guard including a sergeant referenced raping a woman in custody. I've probably even referenced raping someone in the past and was only said as a joke. But if i got caught on tape saying it in my place of employment even if i was on lunch break i would feel extremely lucky if i didn't get fired because that is what i would expect for joking about a sensitive subject. These lads weren't on stage performing comedy routines. They were in a squad car on duty referencing a real person they had in custody and alluded towards raping her if she didn't give her name. When arrested you should still be treated with respect. Not be used as a tool for some joke about rape. Serious or not they got caught and should pay the price with their jobs as a lesson to others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

It goes without saying that the death of a peace officer is a tragedy and a murder a disgrace. Thus, there is less to be said about it.

This case is evidently far more divisive. That's all.

I understand that is highly divisive, im going off topic here but there should never be "less to be said" about murder nothing at all, that just shows me that there is something wrong in this country if we dont care about a life but lose the heads if there is someone makes a stupid comment , im not going to discuss this matter any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Nobody said we don't care about a lost life. But you're always going to generate more pages if you're arguing over something, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I understand that is highly divisive, im going off topic here but there should never be "less to be said" about murder nothing at all, that just shows me that there is something wrong in this country if we dont care about a life but lose the heads if there is someone makes a stupid comment , im not going to discuss this matter any more.
    I'm sorry, but that is a completely unsubstantiated conclusion to come to from the evidence you offer.

As Jill rightly said, it is the differing views on the current issue which have generated the longer thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He wasn't asking if Guards were all 'Boggers' in his capacity as a moderator now in all fairness and also .. this is AH. Seemed to me to be a rhetorical tongue-in-cheek question making a harmless observation.

The Prime Time segment with Susan McKay is online now for anyone that didn't see it earlier:

(Jump to 0:24mins)
    http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1095660

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I'm no defender of the Gardai or anything but I think this has gotten out of hand.

I saw it on the 6.1 news earlier, it had two peices devoted to it. Then Prime Time covered it, they had some woman on saying it was shocking and that some poor people had rang into some rape crisis call centre saying how horrible the whole thing was. I was thinking to myself, who are these people and what kind of abject life's do they lead that they would actually bother ringing in for something so trivial, usual rabble rabble I suppose.

At the end of the day they made a joke in poor taste which they didn't think anyone would hear. The main headline out of this should be "Gardai display normal human traits while on the job SHOCKER"

Not many on this thread can say they have never made a tasteless joke to a friend in public or a colleague in the workplace, because that's just what this is. Anyone who thinks Gardaí should not joke and laugh amongst themselves in private is deluded, if you were to remove them that right then they'd be acting like a Nazi police force roaming the country with their pent up aggression, that would be less fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

parsi wrote: »
    Was someone found guilty of murder in this case ?

He wasn't found guilty of murder, nor manslaughter (which, in it's description, gives an example of killing someone accidently while driving a car). I believe he was let off due to pleading guilty to dangerous driving causing death. The jury were obviously a bunch of idiots who haven't a clue about law, nor have any respect for the Gardai or Garda McCallions memory. Maybe focusing some of your anger against Gardai could be better put to use finding out about things that matter.

http://www.con-telegraph.ie/news/news-extra/2226-teenager-cleared-in-garda-death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭g_moriarty

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I'm no defender of the Gardai or anything but I think this has gotten out of hand.

I saw it on the 6.1 news earlier, it had two peices devoted to it. Then Prime Time covered it, they had some woman on saying it was shocking and that some poor people had rang into some rape crisis call centre saying how horrible the whole thing was. I was thinking to myself, who are these people and what kind of abject life's do they lead that they would actually bother ringing in for something so trivial, usual rabble rabble I suppose.

At the end of the day they made a joke in poor taste which they didn't think anyone would hear. The main headline out of this should be "Gardai display normal human traits while on the job SHOCKER"

Not many on this thread can say they have never made a tasteless joke to a friend in public or a colleague in the workplace, because that's just what this is. Anyone who thinks Gardaí should not joke and laugh amongst themselves in private is deluded, if you were to remove them that right then they'd be acting like a Nazi police force roaming the country with their pent up aggression, that would be less fun.

There's a big difference between someone working in an average private company office, and working as a gardai who are the first point of call for rape victims, and who should be trusted and professional when dealing with such a sensitive issue.

Reports of incidents of rape to the gardai are already low as it stands (out of fear, vulnerability, etc) - Do you think a rape victim is more or less likely to approach the garda siochana after this incident?