Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

these arseholes should be fired immediatley if this is true.

absolutely shameful .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Paparazzo wrote: »
    So why did she send this video to the papers so it got maximum coverage?

Because of the reasons why I despise her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

foxinsox wrote: »
    I would say that they deserve a good bollocking for being stupid..

But as I said pages back.. this was a private conversation..

I believe it was lads talk..It was a joke imo, not a great one, but I don't think any badness was meant.

I took it in context of the whole of the recording.. it was three lines (I think) of a long discussion.

EDIT: Forgot to answer your question..

If in an office environment and in appropriate remarks were made in what was presumed to be a private conversation then became public..

My opinion would be the same..

I think it all has to be taken in context..

I don't believe harm was meant..

People should learn from it. It isn't a funny thing to say. I know the Guards meant no harm by it but times move on, phrases that were okay in the 70's and 80's aren't anymore.

This is one of those times IMO.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Originally Posted by ebixa82
    I think it has some relevance. These krusties have been causing trouble for years and everyone is sick of them. They have the respect of absolutely nobody bar themselves

Not true. Speak for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭oceanclub

ScumLord wrote: »
    I've seen it done, of course it was said to non-Irish that got the joke and unsurprisingly had a torrent of Irish jokes on hand.

Yes, I'm sure that people from Pakistan LOVE hearing Paki jokes. Gosh, my wife - who is confused by, well, dumb racists as being from that country 'cos, well, they're all brown, can't get enough of them. And they're so original.

And Irish people who used to live in the UK, like me, _really_ loved being told Irish jokes, especially the ones about being thick. There's something very welcoming about it. And I suppose if you object, you don't have a sense of humour. Probably just one of dem lefty crusty lesbians who just needs to be raped.

P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

K-9 wrote: »
    People should learn from it. It isn't a funny thing to say. I know the Guards meant no harm by it but times move on, phrases that were okay in the 70's and 80's aren't anymore.

This is one of those times IMO.
    I think you'll find comedy has become much, much darker in recent years. As I showed in the Cool Vids & Pics & Links thread many very famous comedians make rape jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

oceanclub wrote: »
    Yes, I'm sure that people from Pakistan LOVE hearing Paki jokes.

Do you speak for them all? I know an Indian who actively seeks out Indian jokes to laugh at.
    oceanclub wrote: »
    And I suppose if you object, you don't have a sense of humour. Probably just one of dem lefty crusty lesbians who just needs to be raped.

The deliberate attempts to revel in this is hilarious.

OMG new drama, some doctors allegedly incorrectly informed pregnant women that they had miscarried. Which situation is more serious and is more stressful for the subject of the remarks? Should they all be sacked? Jesus Vincent Browne is some excuse for a gutter journalist.

"they told her 'if you don't give me your address I'll rape you'.......or something like that" No, it was nothing like that Vincent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

prinz wrote: »
    "they told her 'if you don't give me your address I'll rape you'.......or something like that"

No, they did NOT tell her that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Suspected non national in the country refusing to give their name and out protesting

vs

Gardaí making a joke about rape

Which is the more serious issue?
    I think this thread was started on the wrong topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Suspected non national in the country refusing to give their name and out protesting

There has been absolutely no suggestion that the woman was in the country illegally and she has been charged with no crime. So I'm inclined to disagree. "Protesting while American" has yet to enter the statute books in this country.

...she has been charged with no crime..

Important to remember neither have the gardaí.

No suggestion?
    It was on the same transcript we all read

You missed the word immigration (referring to Garda National Immigration Bureau) and focused on the word rape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

No suggestion?
    It was on the same transcript we all read

You missed the word immigration (referring to Garda National Immigration Bureau) and focused on the word rape

She wasn't a "suspected non national"...the officers seemed to feel she was definitely a non national based on her accent.

That said, i have yet to discover where simply being foreign means you entered the country illegally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

You missed the word immigration

I promise you I didn't.
    Sounds like a Yank or Canadian.
    Well whoever, we’ll get Immigration f**king on her.

She wasn't a "suspected non national"...the officers seemed to feel she was definitely a non national based on her accent.
    "suspected non national"
    the officers seemed to feel she was definitely a non national

Is there a difference? :confused:
    She was released without charge anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

My mates and I are want to make a rape joke every so often. Pure banter and humour. If you asked anyone what they really thought of rape though, they'd tell you that it's reprehensible, and rapists should be killed.

Jokes =/= reality.

When you make jokes of that nature in work, particularly in a job like a Garda, then you always risk getting the sack because of it. I feel for the Gardai in question, because they were obviously just joking, but if they get punished for it then they only have themselves to blame.

No, I don't care for the outrage of the woman in question or the other commentators. They've got an agenda, so they're blowing it all out of proportion.

...the officers seemed to feel she was definitely a non national based on her accent.

No they didn't. I expect they thought that the lady in question may well be from abroad, and could possibly be on a limited stay. A quick call to the Immigration authorities would verify if this was the case or not. If she came to garda attention, they didn't check out her status and should have been deported but wasn't questions would be asked why. One of the reasons that US citizens have been refused entry into Ireland has been financial ability to support themselves. If this woman was living in some squatter camp up in Mayo I'd be asking the very same questions tbh. It's possible she also had to provide an address at immigration giving them some point of contact. Getting an address seems to be one of the issues involved in the first place, and I don't think 'somewhere up in Erris' would have cut it at immigration. It's following procedure to check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

ScumLord wrote: »
    I think you'll find comedy has become much, much darker in recent years. As I showed in the Cool Vids & Pics & Links thread many very famous comedians make rape jokes.

I don't think I mentioned comedians and I definitely didn't reference Cool Vids, sure aren't there private fora worse?

Not my interest or cup of tea and initially I didn't see the big fuss.

I can see why there is now.

Free Speech means people have a right to be offended.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭jackal

They had a segment on it on prime time. Jesus christ, the way it was presented I thought one of the women actually had been raped. They had one of them doing the whole "does not want to be identified" darkened room traumatic camera bit, which they normally use for victims of paedophiles or something.

They were talking among themselves, clearly joking, a private conversation. Nobody was raped. Tasteless yes, and perhaps more than a bit thick to be making rape jokes as a Garda, but the moral outrage is totally unjustified, it was a private conversation. The things I say in private are totally different to things I would say if a camera was rolling.

A huge own goal in PR terms, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I think this thread was started on the wrong topic
    I don't.

If a member of my family is sexually assaulted next week and has to face into an AGS station for help, whether there was an American or Canadian (and there are few restrictions on either nationality entering the country) protesting in Mayo yesterday won't matter a curse to her.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

No such thing as a "non-national".

I was up in Erris over the summer,a divided community,but I have the height of respect for some of the protestors. The Gardaí have been borderline to say the least in many of their actions .

The recent book by the Irish Times journalist is an excellent read. A point made was if there was gas on Lambay Island,would Shell get away with treating the locals of Dalkey in the same way. Rossport has been sold out and the Corrib fields too,Shell have a lot to answer for as do our previous ministers.

The gardaí refer to the Bellinaboy area as "The Golden Mile" because of all the overtime they are getting (paid by us -not Shell.) Some of them are arrogant and think themselves above the law. Time to haul these guys in. Rape is NEVER a joke.

I don't.
    If a member of my family is sexually assaulted next week and has to face into an AGS station for help, whether there was an American or Canadian (and there are few restrictions on either nationality entering the country) protesting in Mayo yesterday won't matter a curse to her.

..and a couple of gards engaging in juvenile idle chat will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

K-9 wrote: »
    I don't think I mentioned comedians and I definitely didn't reference Cool Vids, sure aren't there private fora worse?

Not my interest or cup of tea and initially I didn't see the big fuss.

I can see why there is now.

Free Speech means people have a right to be offended.

Many people on here don't appear to know the difference between comedians and a state security apparatus with an already dubious history in this part of Mayo:rolleyes:

I was up in Erris over the summer,a divided community,but I have the height of respect for some of the protestors. The Gardaí have been borderline to say the least in many of their actions .The recent book by the Irish Times journalist is an excellent read. A point made was if there was gas on Lambay Island,would Shell get away with treating the locals of Dalkey in the same way. Rossport has been sold out and the Corrib fields too,Shell have a lot to answer for as do our previous ministers. The gardaí refer to the Bellinaboy area as "The Golden Mile" because of all the overtime they are getting (paid by us -not Shell.).

Completely irrelevant.
    Some of them are arrogant and think themselves above the lawTime to haul these guys in. Rape is NEVER a joke.

What law have these gardaí put themselves above or broken? Rape is never a joke, unless of course it's one of the many gracing the Best Joke YOu Ever Heard thread right here on AH, and not one of them were infracted, or warned, or any sanction taken.

prinz wrote: »
    ..and a couple of gards engaging in juvenile idle chat will?
    Having talked to a number of women about this to-day, I think the answer for most of them was a very definite yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

talk about over the top, correct me if im wrong, this was a recording amongst gardai and was said in a jokingly, non threatening manner among themselves and it wasnt directed at either of the women. ha ha its laughable really that in this time of crisis, sinn fein (not an attack on sinn fein) thought it was appropriate to have a 45minute discussion on it in the dail. ridiculous.

No such thing as a "non-national".

Better tell that to the GNIB who are partly responsible for this area ;)

http://www.garda.ie/controller.aspx?page=31
    All non-nationals who are not citizens of a member State of the European Union, the European Economic Area or Switzerland, must register with An Garda Síochána.....

So the media uses it and then the public uses it

Having talked to a number of women about this to-day, I think the answer for most of them was a very definite yes.

Yeah I'm sure...and if I hear about a GP down in Kerry making jokes about prescriptions, I'll never go to my local GP ever again. It's scaremongering and it's groundless shít-stirring. The rep from the RCC was on the news tonight reassuring people that the vast majority of dealings with AGS that they know about (through victims going to the gardaí and the RCC) have been completely professional and totally above board. Scrap all that sure, two or three flippant ignorant remarks makes my mind up.

sinn fein (not an attack on sinn fein) thought it was appropriate to have a 45minute discussion on it in the dail. ridiculous.
    Sinn Fein will take any opportunity to lay into AGS.

However, just because they are true to form on this occasion isn't a good reason to dismiss the issue (though I often find myself doing just that when they start droning on about something!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

Some of them are arrogant and think themselves above the law. Time to haul these guys in. Rape is NEVER a joke.

could you please tell me what law they are above in this case? they have broken no laws and if they have, haul in frankie boyle and tommy tiernan for there references to rape in there acts