Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

prinz wrote: »
    If you know people who didn't report a sex crime, then blame them, for they are doing much more of a disservice to other victims and possibly to future potential victims than the gardaí from the OP.

Repeated facepalm. :eek::eek::eek:

Morto for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

IPAM wrote: »
    Yes all the time, for example last night I had a few games on the xbox, we kicked the s**t out the other team, one the lads say "Ha! raped them"

We didnt actually rape them...

edit: nor did we actually kick s**t outta them
    Different context I think, when you say something like that in ref to a video game and other players it wouldnt bring to mind an actual rape or it wasnt even what you were referring to you basically meant you anilihated them, but when that sergent said it for me anyway it brought to mind he would rape her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

Dont think anybody can get upon their high horse about this, we've all said in private which we would seriously regret if it got into the open...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Wetbench4

I've had numerous, professionally and socially. Never had a bad experience, so yes I know what they are like.

I've had only a few dealings with guards and have had one very professional couple of guards and the rest,only ok and bad experiences. And i mean bad. So we will just have to agree to disagree. Maybe its the roll of the dice.

(most of these encounters are due to kids arguing/getting bullied with neighbours kids)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

I definetly wouldnt see it as a male versus female issue, but its obvious that when a gang of men get together their jokes are going to be more raucous than if there were females present, and also that a group of females would chat and joke about things they wouldnt in front of men. I have never heard a man or woman joking about themselves raping someone even a celebrity, I have heard men warning each other to "keep your back against the wall around that fella". I have heard the " I would like to give him/her one " but never any implication of forcing someone have sex with them, thats why I am curious to know if lads think this kind of joking is ok and they take part in it knowing it would never ever be something they would do, or is it something that most men would think is a taboo subject to joke about.

I'm pretty sure that my mates who tell rape jokes are not themselves rapists (or at least have not been caught yet)

However there is one guy who can tell some nasty dead baby jokes and sometimes I get the impression he has to be a baby killer.

Hope that answers your question..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Repeated facepalm. :eek::eek::eek:
    Morto for you.

Why would I be morto? What would you say if one person gets raped, tells no one, and then the rapist goes on to rape more people. Would you not be asking questions as to why the first person didn't inform someone? Same way if you suspect your child was abused. Do you stay quiet about it and wait until someone else gets abused? A woman whose boyfriend batters her black and blue, yet she stays quiet while he moves onto his next victim? Yeah staying quiet and looking the other way is really helping other victims alright.

How are the gardaí supposed to deal with sex criminals when the victims don't come forward? Jesus, it's not rocket science, and the perpetrators are free to repeat the behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Andy Gray didn't realise his comments were going to be shown in public and that didn't save him from being sacked.

These guys are just muppets. However, I'm afraid that some victims of rape or abuse might be afraid to report incidents to the Gardai for fear they will meet insensitive sh1tes like these pair. :mad:

Totally agree, only a matter of time before these morons are sacked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

sdonn wrote: »
    NO, really?

Teachers are in charge of innocent children.

Gardaí are in charge of sometimes violent criminals who in this case clearly had no respect for the law - in fact it seems they had flown to Ireland specifically to laugh in the face of the Gardaí.

Major difference.

There's nothing to indicate the woman was a violent criminal, and certainly nothing to indicate that she had "flown to Ireland specifically to laugh in the face of the Gardaí."

Gardai, like teachers, are often given physical control over innocent and vulnerable people to whom they owe a duty of care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Daisy M

ebixa82 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure that my mates who tell rape jokes are not themselves rapists (or at least have not been caught yet)

However there is one guy who can tell some nasty dead baby jokes and sometimes I get the impression he has to be a baby killer.

Hope that answers your question..
    I am not sure if it does, sorry for been thick! Your saying that your mates do sometimes tell similar jokes about raping someone and think its ok or do you mean they would use the word rape to describe a situation reaction?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

All country cops are inbred fools. All of them. Every last one of them.

Mod:Don't post in this thread again.

... is it something that most men would think is a taboo subject to joke about.

I had a housemate once that would use it quite often, exactly in the way it was used in the transcripts.... "get out of the bathroom/shower, or I'll come in there and rape ya!" sort of thing. Was I ever in fear of actually being raped by him, no not once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Johnny Favourite

Why would I be morto? What would you say if one person gets raped, tells no one, and then the rapist goes on to rape more people. Would you not be asking questions as to why the first person didn't inform someone? Same way if you suspect your child was abused. Do you stay quiet about it and wait until someone else gets abused? A woman whose boyfriend batters her black and blue, yet she stays quiet while he moves onto his next victim? Yeah staying quiet and looking the other way is really helping other victims alright.

How are the gardaí supposed to deal with sex criminals when the victims don't come forward? Jesus, it's not rocket science, and the perpetrators are free to repeat the behaviour.

I'm morto for you too.

Clearly you think the first thing victims of abuse want to do is shout about what happened to them. They don't.

Try to get out more.

You are completely ignoring the factors that stop people reporting sex crimes. Fears of it not being taken seriously, fears of it being difficult to prove, fears of social stigma, especially if the accused is found innocent for lack of evidence. The aftermath of a sex assault must be traumatising and by the time a victim feels ready to report it, often times little evidence remains.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

mr lee wrote: »
    seems like perfectly acceptable behavior to me,for a couple of pigs.

Be careful the high horse brigrade may take offence, they are swarming around at the moment, they are easily offended!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

Why would I be morto? What would you say if one person gets raped, tells no one, and then the rapist goes on to rape more people. Would you not be asking questions as to why the first person didn't inform someone? A woman whose boyfriend batters her black and blue, yet she stays quiet while he moves onto his next victim? Yeah staying quiet and looking the other way is really helping other victims alright.

Hmmmmmm, it's not that simple. It takes a lot of courage for a victim to come forward, and for some it can be psychologically damaging all over again to have to reface such a horrible situation by having to make statements/have someone charged/go to court. I would really suggest you don't push this argument - you will get roasted alive for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

sdonn wrote: »
    NO, really?

Teachers are in charge of innocent children.

Gardaí are in charge of sometimes violent criminals who in this case clearly had no respect for the law - in fact it seems they had flown to Ireland specifically to laugh in the face of the Gardaí.

Major difference.

How dare you... you have absolutely no proof to back up that statement. :mad:

Maybe she was a visitor to this country, or maybe she was indeed an Irish citizen. Please don't judge a book by its cover.

I am not sure if it does, sorry for been thick! Your saying that your mates do sometimes tell similar jokes about raping someone and think its ok or do you mean they would use the word rape to describe a situation reaction?

My mates tell sick jokes like this all the time. I'm pretty sure none of them are in fact rapists or child killers. But you never know I suppose...

Try to get out more.

I think you're going to be out before me buddy.
    You are completely ignoring the factors that stop people reporting sex crimes. Fears of it not being taken seriously, fears of it being difficult to prove, fears of social stigma, especially if the accused is found innocent for lack of evidence. The aftermath of a sex assault must be traumatising and by the time a victim feels ready to report it, often times little evidence remains.

...and more people coming forward would help all of the above. More people giving in to the above fears results in less people coming forward. Nobody wants to be the one to put their hand up. It's just hilarious that someone would say an ill-advised private joke between two people is doing more damage to victims than the numerous other victims she knows of who haven't gone to the authorities. I'd say if those two did come forward, then two more might do the same, and two more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

People offended by this should never play games online.

There hasn't been so much outrage over nothing since....ehh, 3 days ago when Wayne rooney used the f-word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

ahahahaha 19.20 onwards

"do ye have any ladder.....lads what lenght do we want now.....we'd be talkin full sized ladders....are a we could do with a 20 foot ladder"

some culchies

Hmmmmmm, it's not that simple. It takes a lot of courage for a victim to come forward, and for some it can be psychologically damaging all over again to have to reface such a horrible situation by having to make statements/have someone charged/go to court. I would really suggest you don't push this argument - you will get roasted alive for it.

I don't doubt any of the above. I just fail to see the logic in someone blaming others for the failings in relation to this while knowing other people haven't come forward and thinking it's the gardaí's fault that they haven't. The more people who refuse to come forward because they won't be taken seriously, the more people who won't come forward. Pretty basic.

...and more people coming forward would help all of the above. More people giving in to the above fears results in less people coming forward. Nobody wants to be the one to put their hand up. It's just hilarious that someone would say an ill-advised private joke between two people is doing more damage to victims than the numerous other victims she knows of who haven't gone to the authorities. I'd say if those two did come forward, then two more might do the same, and two more.

Gah! Each individual victim is not going to be thinking about the sociological impact of them reporting or not reporting it. They're going to be going on past form in this arena.

And as I said, it can be hard to prove which is another huge deterrent.

Reporting and dealing with a rape will always be distressing for the victim. But it is something they have to deal with irrespective of what confidence they have in the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

"We cannot expect people to have respect for law and order until we teach respect to those we have entrusted to enforce those laws." — Hunter S. Thompson

Gah! Each individual victims is not going to be thinking about the sociological impact of them reporting or not reporting it. They're going to be going on past form in this arena. And as I said, it can be hard to prove which is another huge deterrent.

What past form as a matter of interest? Is each individual victim going to be reflecting back on a joke between two gardaí in a squad car in Mayo?

The poster said that joke would stop people coming forward. I'm hazarding a guess that more people will not come forward because they don't want to be the 'only one'. Strength in numbers etc. I'm saying a victim publicising the fact that they didn't come forward because of lack of confidence in the gardaí or authorities, is going to do more damage when other victims consider going to the police than two gardaí being recorded making a stupid joke.

Just say a third woman known to the other two gets sexually assaulted. Which do you think will have the bigger impact on her decision to go to the gardaí or not? Her two friends who were also assaulted and didn't for whatever reason or this joke?

What past form as a matter of interest? Is each individual victim going to be reflecting back on a joke between two gardaí in a squad car in Mayo?

The poster said that joke would stop people coming forward. I'm hazarding a guess that more people will not come forward because they don't want to be the 'only one'. Strength in numbers etc.

OK, I have more to say but I'm done. You're far too obdurate, just can't. Good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Gah! Each individual victims is not going to be thinking about the sociological impact of them reporting or not reporting it. They're going to be going on past form in this arena.

And as I said, it can be hard to prove which is another huge deterrent.

And why is this the Guards fault? What has 2-3 guards making a stupid joke got to do with a victim proving rape?

OK, I have more to say but I'm done. You're far too obdurate, just can't. Good day.

LOL I'm obdurate. It's a simple scenario with a yes or no, black or white answer. Ah but sure why deal with that when we can just blame the gardaí for not proving crimes without evidence and for not being judge, jury and executioner. It's all their fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

IK09 wrote: »
    ahahahaha 19.20 onwards

"do ye have any ladder.....lads what lenght do we want now.....we'd be talkin full sized ladders....are a we could do with a 20 foot ladder"

some culchies

Yet another intelligent post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Bosco boy wrote: »
    Yet another intelligent post!

Still standing in judgement?
    *Looks at sig* "let he who has not sinned cast the first stone"