Where's Wally World Record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Sounds like the perfect excuse to mug someone or other forms of mischief "It was the guy dressed as wally"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Yurt

Sadly, even after years of meditation in a Tibetan monastery, Wally never managed to find himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Riamfada wrote: »
    Sounds like the perfect excuse to mug someone or other forms of mischief "It was the guy dressed as wally"

:rubs hands:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

think I'll turn up with a different coloured strip because i am a krazy ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

What a shite flash mob - they didnt even burn anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Looks kinda gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

you don't want to find him.

theres going to be alot of disappointed kids when they open their wally books that day

"wheres wally mammy?"

"he's ****ed off for a day to join his friends in dublin"

"crazy mammy wally isnt real! :o"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Ooh, looks like fun. :D
    Is there already a 'Wally' record I wonder? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Posy wrote: »
    Is there already a 'Wally' record I wonder? :confused:

something something something...the Dail...something something something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

get a job you little liberal bourgeoisie motha' fúckas'!

pmcmahon wrote: »
    get a job you little liberal bourgeoisie motha' fúckas'!

you should over throw your landlaords, slavery is over now, people gets days off and holidays now, stand up and revolt!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Saila wrote: »
    you should over throw your landlaords, slavery is over now, people gets days off and holidays now, stand up and revolt!
    withdraw that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭theliam

the record was done in new york with a bit over 1000 wallys. think theyre going for 20000 here. i ordered my costume, only €12 http://www.spwc.ie/p2.html think therell be a lot of wallys over the next few halloweens

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,611 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

theliam wrote: »
    the record was done in new york with a bit over 1000 wallys.
    No - they had 1000 Waldo's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 darklandsfilm

Does anybody else have any videos or footage of the event on the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Derv3000

Take a look at this video -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptOvTF9v1NQ

As a Wally that took part - it was fantastic, I can't wait until June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Riamfada wrote: »

As opposed to the guy in jeans, white runners and a hoodie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭!?!

How big are the adult Wally costumes? Would you say they'd get here in time if I ordered them today or tomorrow?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Would definitely do it had it been more closer to home.
    Looks like a laugh.

Visitors to Cork that day not knowing at first its on, are going to get some great laughs for hours as they wander around.
    ...And its for charity. Thats a bonus.

You can bet that night, the news clips at the end of many a world news programme will feature it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Whats the story with this in Dublin? cant really find clear info on where to get the costumes etc on work internet, things blocked :(
    You collect on the day is it? Could be a laugh!

You buy the costumes here: http://www.spwc.ie/p3.html and collect from the tourist center on Suffolk street or else on the day, just bring your paypal receipt.

What charity is it for?

Ah thanks man!
    Only €12, not much reallly.

No probs...but I'm a girl! :rolleyes:

Lol, sorry, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

Just so people who are buying these know, this was on in Cork this weekend jsut gone.
    The "Large Wally" is massive and the "Small Wally" is like a Medium mens size.
    Im a 6ft guy and i was comfortably able to wear the large over a hoodie.

Also, if its like Cork. You can just buy on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Fack off wally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Hey folks

This is one I can answer as I'm involved in it.

Here's some photos of what happened in Cork yesterday at the Street Performance World Championship - 2,563 people showed up to beat the previous record of 1,052.
    A quick reminder that you can buy costumes online OR from the Dublin Tourism Office on Suffolk Street OR at Merrion Square – see here for more details.

There are two attempts in Dublin - one on Saturday, one on Sunday, both at 6.30pm on Merrion Square.

The proceeds of the costumes go to Africa Aware and to keep the SPWC afloat - they lost their main sponsor this year so want to make sure they come back for year 7!

Any more questions just stick them below.

Cheers

Darragh