Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's Wally World Record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Sounds like the perfect excuse to mug someone or other forms of mischief "It was the guy dressed as wally"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Yurt

Sadly, even after years of meditation in a Tibetan monastery, Wally never managed to find himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Riamfada wrote: »
    Sounds like the perfect excuse to mug someone or other forms of mischief "It was the guy dressed as wally"

:rubs hands:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

think I'll turn up with a different coloured strip because i am a krazy ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

What a shite flash mob - they didnt even burn anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Looks kinda gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

you don't want to find him.

theres going to be alot of disappointed kids when they open their wally books that day

"wheres wally mammy?"

"he's ****ed off for a day to join his friends in dublin"

"crazy mammy wally isnt real! :o"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Ooh, looks like fun. :D
    Is there already a 'Wally' record I wonder? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,708 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Posy wrote: »
    Is there already a 'Wally' record I wonder? :confused:

something something something...the Dail...something something something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

get a job you little liberal bourgeoisie motha' fúckas'!

pmcmahon wrote: »
    get a job you little liberal bourgeoisie motha' fúckas'!

you should over throw your landlaords, slavery is over now, people gets days off and holidays now, stand up and revolt!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Saila wrote: »
    you should over throw your landlaords, slavery is over now, people gets days off and holidays now, stand up and revolt!
    withdraw that statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭theliam

the record was done in new york with a bit over 1000 wallys. think theyre going for 20000 here. i ordered my costume, only €12 http://www.spwc.ie/p2.html think therell be a lot of wallys over the next few halloweens

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

theliam wrote: »
    the record was done in new york with a bit over 1000 wallys.
    No - they had 1000 Waldo's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 darklandsfilm

Does anybody else have any videos or footage of the event on the day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Derv3000

Take a look at this video -
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptOvTF9v1NQ

As a Wally that took part - it was fantastic, I can't wait until June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Riamfada wrote: »

As opposed to the guy in jeans, white runners and a hoodie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭!?!

How big are the adult Wally costumes? Would you say they'd get here in time if I ordered them today or tomorrow?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Would definitely do it had it been more closer to home.
    Looks like a laugh.

Visitors to Cork that day not knowing at first its on, are going to get some great laughs for hours as they wander around.
    ...And its for charity. Thats a bonus.

You can bet that night, the news clips at the end of many a world news programme will feature it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Whats the story with this in Dublin? cant really find clear info on where to get the costumes etc on work internet, things blocked :(
    You collect on the day is it? Could be a laugh!

You buy the costumes here: http://www.spwc.ie/p3.html and collect from the tourist center on Suffolk street or else on the day, just bring your paypal receipt.

What charity is it for?

Ah thanks man!
    Only €12, not much reallly.

No probs...but I'm a girl! :rolleyes:

Lol, sorry, thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

Just so people who are buying these know, this was on in Cork this weekend jsut gone.
    The "Large Wally" is massive and the "Small Wally" is like a Medium mens size.
    Im a 6ft guy and i was comfortably able to wear the large over a hoodie.

Also, if its like Cork. You can just buy on the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Fack off wally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Hey folks

This is one I can answer as I'm involved in it.

Here's some photos of what happened in Cork yesterday at the Street Performance World Championship - 2,563 people showed up to beat the previous record of 1,052.
    A quick reminder that you can buy costumes online OR from the Dublin Tourism Office on Suffolk Street OR at Merrion Square – see here for more details.

There are two attempts in Dublin - one on Saturday, one on Sunday, both at 6.30pm on Merrion Square.

The proceeds of the costumes go to Africa Aware and to keep the SPWC afloat - they lost their main sponsor this year so want to make sure they come back for year 7!

Any more questions just stick them below.

Cheers

Darragh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

This must have been happening in Portlaoise yesterday too, couldnt figure out why they were all dressed up like Wally!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

andreac wrote: »
    This must have been happening in Portlaoise yesterday too, couldnt figure out why they were all dressed up like Wally!!

Yep yep - all part of the Street Performance World Championship.

I saw this status on Facebook earlier - made me laugh
    The proud feeling for Corkonians when they see Dublin Wally's dressed in the Cork colours !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 darklandsfilm

Heres a video from the cork festival a couple of days ago where 2563 wallys gathered to smash the previous world record

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

So what happened in Dublin guys? Did yis break the record or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

spacetweek wrote: »
    So what happened in Dublin guys? Did yis break the record or what?

The name is Waldo.