Declan Ganley - Todays Mail on Sunday article

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭chiefbrody1974

I am sitting here now on the best possible broadband connection available to me ( a 3e dongle showing one bar of connection). I am infuriated after reading Declans article today. I do not have it with me so I am posting this from memory as best I can. He pitched for the esat licence back in the day, along with some very powerful people in the industry. He went to them with an idea, and they believed in him enough to finance his bid, €80m approx. Their aim was to create the most powerful communications company in Europe, based here in Ireland. The bid, he reckoned was so good, that he was in shock on receiving the news that his consortium was unsuccessful.
    If all this is true, along with the findings of the moriarty tribunal, then Lowery and his band of treasonous friends could well have deprived this country of technology that would have given us a far greater competitive edge then we currently have, providing us with more jobs nationwide. All for the sake of greed, personal gain and cronyism. How many other contracts were awarded to weaker bids?
    Michael Lowery at least deserves to be charged and brought to trial for his alleged crime. At least then we will truely know if he is as innocent as he is making out, or if he's a greedy, gombeen, treasonous snake.
    Tipperary can shove it's casino up it's hole too.

classic last line!!! totally bottom line anger!! still laughin me arse off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭alejandro1977

The bid, he reckoned was so good, that he was in shock on receiving the news that his consortium was unsuccessful..

he reckoned? have you been following the tribunal? Have you any basis for this other than Declan's "unbiased" opinion.

Have you seen Declan's dot.com venture- selling jewellery on-line (Adornis.com) - a completely unmitigated disaster - he was hyping it up like crazy - I recall ads in the radio promoting a conference were where was due to speak describing him as Ireland's next dot.com millionaire...

http://www.tanmarket.com/DeclanGanleyprofile/MrAdornisProfile.html
    The collapse of Adornis.com, the Galway-based entrepreneur's online jewellery shop, was averted when it settled a £100,000 debt to a British recruitment firm, which threatened to wind it up. Adornis remains offline If a directory were published to assist students of our tiger economy, Declan Ganley's picture would not be out of place beside "entrepreneur" -- and possibly next to "successful", "opportune" and "elusive" as well.
    In two decades of business, Ganley has worked on building sites in London, tried to sell insurance for satellites on Russian spacecraft, marketed metals and timber from Russia, sold jewellery on the internet, set up a cable television station in Bulgaria and won broadband telecommunications licences in major European nations, except Ireland. His apparently vast wealth from his timber and metal sales in eastern Europe are now funding his adventures in telecommunications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

prinz wrote: »
    Who has called him corrupt?
    People on here calling him a shady buissneman and saying because he worked in Russia and the baltic states it automatically puts him down as someone that made his money there dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I am sitting here now on the best possible broadband connection available to me ( a 3e dongle showing one bar of connection). I am infuriated after reading Declans article today. I do not have it with me so I am posting this from memory as best I can. He pitched for the esat licence back in the day, along with some very powerful people in the industry. He went to them with an idea, and they believed in him enough to finance his bid, €80m approx. Their aim was to create the most powerful communications company in Europe, based here in Ireland. The bid, he reckoned was so good, that he was in shock on receiving the news that his consortium was unsuccessful.
    If all this is true, along with the findings of the moriarty tribunal, then Lowery and his band of treasonous friends could well have deprived this country of technology that would have given us a far greater competitive edge then we currently have, providing us with more jobs nationwide. All for the sake of greed, personal gain and cronyism. How many other contracts were awarded to weaker bids?
    Michael Lowery at least deserves to be charged and brought to trial for his alleged crime. At least then we will truely know if he is as innocent as he is making out, or if he's a greedy, gombeen, treasonous snake.
    Tipperary can shove it's casino up it's hole too.

Yeah, because when 2 out of 3 of his ventures collapsed in ruin we should assume that whatever that idea was wouldn't have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

tipptom wrote: »
    People on here calling him a shady buissneman...

He painted that picture of himself when he refuses to disclose funding and his own operations, and operates in suspect circles, like writing papers for think-tanks in America about the E.U. then popping up later in life with the Libertas campaign. The guys story (that which we know, because it's not exactly clear) is worthy of a Bond villain, with fingers in a lot of pies, financed by millions in his pockets that are attributed to his wheeling and dealing in the Soviet Union, and various others classified.
    ..and saying because he worked in Russia and the baltic states it automatically puts him down as someone that made his money there dodgy.

It raises questions. Questions which Mr Ganley doesn't like to deal with in any meaningful way. He could be straight as an arrow, he just doesn't give off that vibe in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

prinz wrote: »
    He painted that picture of himself when he refuses to disclose funding and his own operations, and operates in suspect circles, like writing papers for think-tanks in America about the E.U. then popping up later in life with the Libertas campaign. The guys story (that which we know, because it's not exactly clear) is worthy of a Bond villain, with fingers in a lot of pies, financed by millions in his pockets that are attributed to his wheeling and dealing in the Soviet Union, and various others classified.

It raises questions. Questions which Mr Ganley doesn't like to deal with in any meaningful way. He could be straight as an arrow, he just doesn't give off that vibe in my opinion.
    Most of this stuff emanated from FF and michael martin who refused to release imfomation for their own funding and i dont see why Declan Ganly should have to tell anyone about his private buisness dealings

Most of this stuff emanated from FF...

No it didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I have a feeling the tribunal findings leave the government open to a whopper of a lawsuit too, just to add to that loss.

That's my point, you have 150 mil lost through the need for a tribunal, then you have probably ten times that in liability to the state now, all caused by one man who was ultimately responsible for the integrity of the application process, which he abused to his own betterment, and Lowry is still effectively a civil servant getting paid Christ only knows what?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Yeah, because when 2 out of 3 of his ventures collapsed in ruin we should assume that whatever that idea was wouldn't have?
    It was his idea to bid, the rest would have been organised by a German communications company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Bozacke

I'm not saying Ganly isn't a shady businessman, but most of his questionable dealings have been in Eastern Europe and the US, I'm not aware of any shady deals he has been involved in that has hurt Ireland. If anything his foreign shady deals have benefited Ireland because they have brought jobs and money here. Lowry and O'Brien on the other hand has stolen money out of the hands of the Irish people, plus the billions spent on the tribunals because of them. I also find it ironic that people are laughing at the irony of Ganly taking a bath in the glass house, when O'Brien was also bathing in the glass house when he criticised O'Leary's motives when he was trying to buy Aer Lingus and he used his ill got gains to buy Aer Lingus shares trying to block O'Leary. Say what you want about O'Leary, but we must draw the line between unscrupulous and ruthless businessmen with those that operate outside the law.

Bozacke wrote: »
    I'm not saying Ganly isn't a shady businessman, but most of his questionable dealings have been in Eastern Europe and the US, I'm not aware of any shady deals he has been involved in that has hurt Ireland..

...and that's the most important thing is it?
    Bozacke wrote: »
    If anything his foreign shady deals have benefited Ireland because they have brought jobs and money here..

Jaysus... and that's our moral compass these days is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 the scorpion

galwayrush wrote: »
    Welcome to Ireland, where vested interests always come before the good of the country.

Government not very vocal on this issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭not even wrong

Ganley again proves what a total spoofer he is. There were six bidders in the competition. Ganley's bid (Cellstar) finished last. Even if Lowry hadn't been on the take from the winners it is completely impossible that he would have won.

Hopefully the courts will not give him a cent.