Is there a such thing as a feminine/masculine alcoholic beverage?

• 24-03-2011 09:22PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

Are certain drinks more suited to different genders?

I usually drink a pint of beer or guinness. But lately I've moved on to gin, is this a feminine drink?

Discus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I don't see what sports has to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Usually pints = men
    wine = women

But its well known men drink wine and lesbians drink pints ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

I don't see what sports has to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Nice and fruity = fággotry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea.

Alcopops are GAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

My dad always taught me if she has a pint, shes gagging for it.

Times were much similar back in the day :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

Real men drink whatever the fúck they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Vicxas wrote: »
    Usually pints = men
    whine = women

Post fixed for accuracy

Dont mention it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Beer and Spirits - Men
    Wine and Alcopops - Women

Anyone who disagrees has the ghey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Pint of beer for the man,glass of white wine, or fruit based drink for the lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭pablo-jericho

I got an Appletini once before (Scrubs product placement) and drew more than one awkward glance from the locals I must say..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

Ebbs wrote: »
    My dad always taught me if she has a pint, shes gagging for it.

Oh dear childhood memories:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

Women do tend to go for sweeter drinks than men, though it obviously varies. I love cosmo's, didn't go down well in a bar in Australia one time. If only I cared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

le beer - masculine
    la whiskéy - feminine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

Unless drinks have genitals I'm gonna say... No. I do like me my cider though. Yum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Mate of mine only drinks vodka and coke as he hates the taste of beer. Ive been openly questioning his masculinity for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Agricola wrote: »
    Mate of mine only drinks vodka and coke as he hates the taste of beer. Ive been openly questioning his masculinity for years.

In fairness, a lot of people hate the taste of beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

In fairness, a lot of people hate the taste of beer
    Those people are 'the gays'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Buckfast/Poitín = masculine
    Alcopops = feminine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Why yes! if you drink Budweiser you're a little pansy bitch or a little skanger trollop with hollahoops in her ears. Where as if you drink Guinness, you're a rugged manly man... or a very hairy lesbian ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Pints for the fellas and a Glass of white wine or fruit-based drink for the ladies.
    It's not hard. Those are the rules.
    And if we didn't have rules, where would we be?....France!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Real men only drink Appletini's.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appletini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Ebbs wrote: »

Indeed they were, things got very boring,everything the same all the time. Thank god there is much more variety nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I guess WKD is more for a girl. But just the blue kind. I don't mind drinking the orange kind.

Then again I can't stand to drink vodka so I might be a little bit of a girl myself. :D

I suppose going back a few years pints were off limit to women and if a women did order it, then it'd be poured from the pint glass into a feckin; half-pint glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

In knacker drinkin days of old it was cans of steiger or linden for the lads and stag or ritz for the ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

In knacker drinkin days of old it was cans of steiger or linden for the lads and stag or ritz for the ladies.

Never of either of those.
    Are you in your 80s or older? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Au contraire :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

Indeed they were, things got very boring,everything the same all the time. Thank god there is much more variety nowadays.
    :Dback in the day there were only 3 taps in most pubs, GUINNESS, HARP OR SMITHWICKS,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭mojesius

No. This is just a ridiculous Irish/ British thing. Go anywhere else, no one gives a crap what you drink or what size glass it happens to be served in.

Unless it's wkd blue. Only scangers and people with no taste buds drink that nasty crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I've moved on to gin, is this a feminine drink?

Yes. In that it's the drink of Victorian prostitutes. But also Victorian children.