Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there a such thing as a feminine/masculine alcoholic beverage?

• 24-03-2011 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

Are certain drinks more suited to different genders?

I usually drink a pint of beer or guinness. But lately I've moved on to gin, is this a feminine drink?

Discus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I don't see what sports has to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Usually pints = men
    wine = women

But its well known men drink wine and lesbians drink pints ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

I don't see what sports has to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Nice and fruity = fággotry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea.

Alcopops are GAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

My dad always taught me if she has a pint, shes gagging for it.

Times were much similar back in the day :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

Real men drink whatever the fúck they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Vicxas wrote: »
    Usually pints = men
    whine = women

Post fixed for accuracy

Dont mention it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Beer and Spirits - Men
    Wine and Alcopops - Women

Anyone who disagrees has the ghey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Pint of beer for the man,glass of white wine, or fruit based drink for the lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭pablo-jericho

I got an Appletini once before (Scrubs product placement) and drew more than one awkward glance from the locals I must say..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

Ebbs wrote: »
    My dad always taught me if she has a pint, shes gagging for it.

Oh dear childhood memories:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Women do tend to go for sweeter drinks than men, though it obviously varies. I love cosmo's, didn't go down well in a bar in Australia one time. If only I cared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

le beer - masculine
    la whiskéy - feminine

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Unless drinks have genitals I'm gonna say... No. I do like me my cider though. Yum :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Mate of mine only drinks vodka and coke as he hates the taste of beer. Ive been openly questioning his masculinity for years.

Agricola wrote: »
    Mate of mine only drinks vodka and coke as he hates the taste of beer. Ive been openly questioning his masculinity for years.

In fairness, a lot of people hate the taste of beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Those people are 'the gays'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Buckfast/Poitín = masculine
    Alcopops = feminine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Why yes! if you drink Budweiser you're a little pansy bitch or a little skanger trollop with hollahoops in her ears. Where as if you drink Guinness, you're a rugged manly man... or a very hairy lesbian ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Pints for the fellas and a Glass of white wine or fruit-based drink for the ladies.
    It's not hard. Those are the rules.
    And if we didn't have rules, where would we be?....France!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Real men only drink Appletini's.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appletini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Ebbs wrote: »

Indeed they were, things got very boring,everything the same all the time. Thank god there is much more variety nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I guess WKD is more for a girl. But just the blue kind. I don't mind drinking the orange kind.

Then again I can't stand to drink vodka so I might be a little bit of a girl myself. :D

I suppose going back a few years pints were off limit to women and if a women did order it, then it'd be poured from the pint glass into a feckin; half-pint glass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

In knacker drinkin days of old it was cans of steiger or linden for the lads and stag or ritz for the ladies.

Never of either of those.
    Are you in your 80s or older? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Au contraire :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

Indeed they were, things got very boring,everything the same all the time. Thank god there is much more variety nowadays.
    :Dback in the day there were only 3 taps in most pubs, GUINNESS, HARP OR SMITHWICKS,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

No. This is just a ridiculous Irish/ British thing. Go anywhere else, no one gives a crap what you drink or what size glass it happens to be served in.

Unless it's wkd blue. Only scangers and people with no taste buds drink that nasty crap.

I've moved on to gin, is this a feminine drink?

Yes. In that it's the drink of Victorian prostitutes. But also Victorian children.

:Dback in the day there were only 3 taps in most pubs, GUINNESS, HARP OR SMITHWICKS,

I could have done fine in "back in the day" on the old smithwicks.

Does anywhere even sell Harp now?

I'm not trying to be funny but I don't ever think I've seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I used to think so, but I'm a wine lover now, I'm also a beer lover though.

I even love a G&T to clean the palate after a night of Guinness.

No, its our thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

You'e never heard of Linden Village or Ritz?:eek:

If I fill a pint glass with piss will you pay me €4 for it? :pac:

No. :o

I might be too young or never went knacker drinking?

RichieC wrote: »
    If I fill a pint glass with piss will you pay me €4 for it? :pac:

Will it get me drunk? :D

What is Ritz exactly? No doubt I drank gallons of it back in the day but f%$£ed if I remember it now.

Ritz is f*cking wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

39 today.Thanks for asking.:)

Being 17 years older than me might be why that you know of it and I don't; I'm not an old man unlike someone. :D

Happy birthday though mate. :)

Will it get me drunk? :D

I was heavy on the sauce last night, perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Beer is an acquired taste alright. But many people spend a good few years drinking Dutch Gold i the local field. Then when you get in to pubs/nightclubs a pint tastes amazing.
    I myself love a nice pint, but drink almost anything. That first pint on a Friday after work. :D

Here's a list of some of the drinks I'd drink,
    Absinthe
    Vodka (Screwdriver)
    Galliano
    Sambuca
    Lager
    Long Island Ice Tea
    Bourbon & Coke
    Smirnoff Black
    Bacardi Breezer
    Scotch & Dry
    Ouzo
    Rum & Pineapple
    Slippery Nipple
    Martini
    Amarula
    Baileys
    Cider (Snakebite)
    Brandy (good for your health)
    Chardonnay
    Peach Schnapps
    Sherry
    Port
    Red Wine
    Purple Haze
    Goon :-)
    Perry (Pear Cider)
    Cointreau
    Jaeger bomb
    Drambui
    Sake
    Blue Curacoa
    Pernod
    Grenadine
    Kahlua
    Pisco Sour
    Advocaat
    amaretto
    Tequila
    Tia Maria
    Champagne
    Ale
    Guinness

What is Ritz exactly? No doubt I drank gallons of it back in the day but f%$£ed if I remember it now.

Perry, made from pears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Agricola wrote: »
    Wouldn't be the biggest beer fan myself. Drink it on occasion.

But I'm definitely not gay cause I almost kissed a girl once.

RichieC wrote: »
    I was heavy on the sauce last night, perhaps.

Alright...

Give us a pint of piss in a glass please! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Are certain drinks more suited to different genders?

I usually drink a pint of beer or guinness. But lately I've moved on to gin, is this a feminine drink?

Discus.

"The most dangerous drink is gin. You have to be really, really careful with that. And you also have to be 45, female and sitting on the stairs. Because gin isn't really a drink, it's more a mascara thinner. "Nobody likes my shoes! I made... I made fifty... ****ing vol-au-vents, and not one of you... not one of you... said "Thank you."" And my favourite: "Everybody, shut up. Shut up! This song is all about me." - Dylan Moran

So yeah Trooper, you're basically one step away from breaking out in vaginas, ye big girls blouse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

doesnt matter what you drink...........just dont drink it with your pinky finger sticking out:p

Alright...

Give us a pint of piss in a glass please! :)

ID please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

i class beer as a very feminine drink on the grounds that my over-indulgence in it has cause me to grow boobs.