There are skeletons in Ireland's closet , too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

This is the third time I've seen Ireland play, I've also seen leinster play a few times as well.

Saturday was the first time I have seen an Irish rugby crowd degenerate to the levels of a football crowd. Most, as you would expect from a rugby crowd were sporting, humerous and welcoming. A good example would be the disdain shown to the stadium announcer making an announcement during an England penalty (that in no way excuses the poor kicking though) There was however a large number of people who wanted to see England lose and were shouting abuse and hatred. I would expect better from a rugby crowd.

Crap article though, mentioning peado priests is just petty mud slinging.

Yeah there was a few boos during kicks which really pissed me off. Hope that doesnt start creeping into rugby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

neil_hosey wrote: »
    Im had cuts to my salary, family members have lost jobs, public services are being cut.... all to save bondholders around europe. We certainly dont love bailing out these wánkbags

http://newswhip.ie/national-2/here-are-the-anglo-irish-bank-bondholders

I'm sorry for your trouble, are you in the public sector? Because as far as I am aware, they are still being paid the same and have had no job losses.

The only thing I have seen Ireland do is bitch and moan about German banks, which as far as the budget deficit is concerned is largely irrelevant.

Could never fathom how any Irish lad would play for the Lions to be honest.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Could never fathom how any Irish lad would play for the Lions to be honest.

Why? Are they not the British and Irish lions?

I'm sorry for your trouble, are you in the public sector? Because as far as I am aware, they are still being paid the same and have had no job losses.

The only thing I have seen Ireland do is bitch and moan about German banks, which as far as the budget deficit is concerned is largely irrelevant.

no need to be. im in the private sector, and i dont like paying for other peoples mistakes, whether its be irish gov, german/french/british banks or anyone else.

/Back on topic.

Why? Are they not the British and Irish lions?

Well on the one hand ........
    Why did that Irish rugby player mention "hatred"?
    I'm not agreeing with the English pundit, but why was that word mentioned?
    Do the Irish rugby team have hatred for the English?
    It seems like the sort of gutter talk you'd expect from low IQ tribal soccer fans.

Then the same lads play on the Lions team, can't have your cake and eat it.

Where does the name Lions come from? Not from here anyway, why not call it the British and Irish Shamrocks or something? British and Irish me arse, British and West British would be more accurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,675 ✭✭✭✭listermint

At a time when the British government is introducing massive budgets cuts resulting in huge job losses and cut backs to public services, the government manages to find £6bn to help out the Irish who have done absolutely zilch to cut their budget deficit.

Yep, I'm sure the British tax payer is grateful for that.

'Help'

You sir have obviously failed to grasp economics. They are only helping themselves, for one their banks are major bondholders and secondly we are a ridiculously large trading partner, we buy BILLIONS from their country every year.

Your statement is as foolish as your understanding of the situation.

Back on topic, The article is from the Daily Mail, why are we commenting on that rag...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Nhead

ColHol wrote: »
    That Ireland, as a nation, are despicable for basng their motivation for playing England upon a hatred. Its a sporting event ffs, leave the bigotry behind Trimble!

He's pretty spot on about the pedo and bailout remarks too in fairness

It is plausible that Trimble meant they hated the team not the nation and a lot of teams do hate each other- the pedo and bailout remarks are just lazy journalism.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Well on the one hand ........

Then the same lads play on the Lions team, can't have your cake and eat it.

Where does the name Lions come from? Not from here anyway, why not call it the British and Irish Shamrocks or something? British and Irish me arse, British and West British would be more accurate.

I love standing in a pub with my Scottish and Irish drinking buddies watching the lions, it is one of the few things we have in these islands that really unites us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Yeah there was a few boos during kicks which really pissed me off. Hope that doesnt start creeping into rugby

It's an accepted part of the game in other parts of the world, did you ever hear the crowd at a game in Paris? The kicker gets a wall of sound thrown at thim as he's making the kick.

This is just one quick example

Mr Magners wrote: »
    It's an accepted part of the game in other parts of the world, did you ever hear the crowd at a game in Paris? The kicker gets a wall of sound thrown at thim as he's making the kick.

This is just one quick example

im not french though. they are ignorant shítes anyway :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

What an arsehole

Here ya go, enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

That Ireland, as a nation, are despicable for basng their motivation for playing England upon a hatred. Its a sporting event ffs, leave the bigotry behind Trimble!

It's pretty obvious that the quote is referring to sporting history..ie: the rivalry between the two teams and is nothing at all to do with the famine or any of the other rubbish this idiot claims.

Dave! wrote: »
    What an arsehole

Here ya go, enjoy

who me :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Tzar Gringo

Saturday was the first time I have seen an Irish rugby crowd degenerate to the levels of a football crowd. Most, as you would expect from a rugby crowd were sporting, humerous and welcoming. A good example would be the disdain shown to the stadium announcer making an announcement during an England penalty (that in no way excuses the poor kicking though) There was however a large number of people who wanted to see England lose and were shouting abuse and hatred. I would expect better from a rugby crowd.

you'd have to wonder what motivated the team too, they'd been underachieving all tournament.

but that video, combined with my brother meeting a pair of english lads in vancouver who wished ireland 'good luck' suggests they underestimated the squad's ability. i don't care for stepping it up against england on the final matchday after the woeful displays prior to it, its a bit embarrassing tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Dear Martin Samuel,

It was/is a LOAN ya gobschite. Piss off you clearly uneducated idiot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭greyed

At a time when the British government is introducing massive budgets cuts resulting in huge job losses and cut backs to public services, the government manages to find £6bn to help out the Irish who have done absolutely zilch to cut their budget deficit.

You are clearly uninformed on the matter, wow. Ireland has done "zilch" to curb its deficit? Are you kidding? Ireland came out with an axe long before anyone in europe, these cuts are massive and deflationary and are making additonal adjustments necessary. Its a bad state of affairs made worse only by the fact that we are bailing out banks all over europe... our deficit would be managable if this course of action wasnt taken. Its a terrible deal for us and a great deal for everyone else! Its sly economics, not benevolence.

That said, I think Ireland and england's rivalry is mostly a healthy one and usually good natured. The relationship between the two countries is great now, its with snotty little 'journalists' like this dude where the problems lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

He has a point in fairness

This is either self-deprecating nonsense or ignorance. Fair play lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

So in any discussion regarding an English sporting team it would be fair and relevant to bring up the fact their nation spent the guts of a millennium trying to conquer the known world through military might?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

U mad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Were you the guy who started on me outside a Manchester nightclub for being a "Paddy ****" who was stealing his hard-earned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

who me :confused:
    No, the article writer

...just in case he's reading boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

The author is an absolute clown, telling that he would get a receptive audience among some.

This is the third time I've seen Ireland play, I've also seen leinster play a few times as well.

Crap article though, mentioning peado priests is just petty mud slinging.

Everything is fair game imo after the total and utter disrespect shown by martin johnson towards our president a few years ago. If I was there I would be roaring abuse too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Nhead

you'd have to wonder what motivated the team too, they'd been underachieving all tournament.

but that video, combined with my brother meeting a pair of english lads in vancouver who wished ireland 'good luck' suggests they underestimated the squad's ability. i don't care for stepping it up against england on the final matchday after the woeful displays prior to it, its a bit embarrassing tbh

In fairness, I think Ireland stepped it up because they didn't want to hand England the Grand Slam in our home ground. I'd expect any of the other nations to do the same if it was us going for the Grand Slam.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Were you the guy who started on me outside a Manchester nightclub for being a "Paddy ****" who was stealing his hard-earned?

no, are you the guy in leitrim who had a go at me for being a tan bastard?

Everything is fair game imo after the total and utter disrespect shown by martin johnson towards our president a few years ago. If I was there I would be roaring abuse too.

Yep, I'm sure you probably would.

I have nothing against England, Ive lived there a while and have friends and family living there. I would roar at the rival team regardless, its not something reserved for england, its for teams I dislike in all sports. I have an especially large dislike for martin johnson though as he should have been ran out of the ground the day he wouldn't like up his team correctly and show some respect to the president of our country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It looks like Martin Samuel's article has had the desired affect. One nil to the Daily Mail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

So the 6 billion euros removed from the public expenditure last november, that was 'doing nothing'.

Get the boat.