People who have jobs complaining about people on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

No they don't.
    You really don't understand economics outside the confines of your payslip.

The public sector contributes nothing to the countries revenue.
    The public sector costs us money, it does not generate any money itself.

With the exception of the odd state body dealing with resources, public sector departments are costs to the state. So they cannot generate money to pay for the wasters.

Resource and service based state bodies like the ESB and Bord na Mona may be in profit, but education, health, law, defence, administration, councils etc, are all a drain on the countries finances. They don't "pay" for anything.

The private sector, which runs on profitability, is paying for the dole wasters and the public sector wasters.

Now now put your big tarring brush back in your pocket and don't be insinuating that all teachers/nurses/doctors/Guards/Firemen/Office Workers ( public servants all) are wasters. How insulting. :mad:

And they don't contribute to the revenue of this country??? Small comfort to the average joe public worker with a mortgage (with same interest rates as a private sector worker), a wife and kids (the kids don't cost less just cause you're a public servant) who is paying his/her tax, prsi, universal social charge and all the other wallet bending taxes that the Government screws likes everyone to pay regardless of who you work for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I don't know many people with a job so no :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Plazaman wrote: »
    Now now put your big tarring brush back in your pocket and don't be insinuating that all teachers/nurses/doctors/Guards/Firemen/Office Workers ( public servants all) are wasters. How insulting. :mad:

And they don't contribute to the revenue of this country??? Small comfort to the average joe public worker with a mortgage (with same interest rates as a private sector worker), a wife and kids (the kids don't cost less just cause you're a public servant) who is paying his/her tax, prsi, universal social charge and all the other wallet bending taxes that the Government screws likes everyone to pay regardless of who you work for.

I dont want to tarr everyone in the public sector but i'll give you an example of what gets my goat, I'm related to someone who "works for the council" as he calls it, he's a Bin man....his working week total's on average 15 hours a week (of a supposed 40 hour working week)for an after stoppages take home of almost €600, it's become a running joke between himself and myself (albiet my side with a hint of aggresion).

Some of the excuses they come up with are a fookin joke! The Health & Safety rules play right into their pockets!!

Granted,during the bad winter the roads & estates were unaccessable so people just had to ride it out waiting for bins to be emptied but get this, on one particular morning (towards the end of the "big snow") The 'crew' pulled out of the depot, approaching a set of lights the truck "wheel spun" on some defiant pocket of ice,the driver deemed the roads "too bad" and they returned to base (to gather their shattered nerves I suppose) and their working day was done,home in time for breakfast.

Not only that, but on days when they're finished their 'rounds' they can stay on and work 'overtime' in other area's (grave digging, house clearances etc)so in effect, they finish their 8hr day in the first 3hrs and can work elsewhere the rest of the day on overtime! ....and still be home in time for Dinner!

These are not 'one off' instances, this is by all accounts 'the norm' with my inlaw , I never really got the whole pi$$ taking and jokes about council workers ,shovel supports etc but I do nowadays. I spend more hours a week 'job seeking' for my paltry €188 JSB than he does 'working' for his basic pay and he has the neck to class people on the dole "spongers"

I'll finish on this, Of those you mentioned above the only real "worth their salt" workers IMO are the Firemen & the Doctors n Nurses and I'd never begrudge them a kings ransom for their roles,they're paid a pittance by comparision!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I am acquainted with this particular guy (a nasty piece of work by all accounts) that used to always bang on about "dole leaches" "dole scum" etc and how they were spending his tax money on drink and whatnot. He looked down his nose and basically wanted them to have as miserable an existence as possible. I heard that he lost his job in January:D is having mortgage trouble :Dhad to sell his 09 car:D and is signing on:D
    I wouldn't wish all that on someone tbh, but yeah, that's the thing that bemuses me from those who whinge about people on the dole - the way they seem to think it just couldn't happen to them.
    STFU and get a job you bum!
    wow - you worked for seven years - which makes you what - 25 - time to get off the dole and get another job i think - either in Ireland or Austrlia, Canada or Europe - you're way to young to be sponging off the dole.
    Did the OP say they're not looking for a job? You must not have heard that many people are losing their jobs at the moment, many businesses are closing, and finding employment is quite difficult. Before you say the OP is being fussy... how do you know?
    With a winning attitude like that it's very hard to see why you're not employed!
    But... the OP was employed for seven years. :confused:
    I'd say it's more to do with the fact there's very high unemployment rather than any attitude.
    Plazaman wrote: »
    Eh.... no you don't. You can pay taxes until you bleed through your eyes but it doesn't entitle you to diddly.
    It does. Welfare is an entitlement, but not one to be abused. I'm sure some do abuse it, but I'd be very surprised if the amount of people abusing it is as high as that claimed by some folks here on AH. I personally don't know anyone who'd prefer to have no job to go to and no aim day in day out for an indefinite period.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I'd estimate that I.T. related jobs pay between 1.5 - 3 times the average industrial wage. Large multinationals also pay substantial rent, pension contributions, health care contributions etc. So you don't know what you're talking about there..

And you think they're gonna do so forever especially when they can getthe same job done for afraction of teh money in bangladesh.

Ah so its not the private sector as such its the IT sector you're talking about?
    Forget them..gone in two years...you'll have to go and get re-trained as a farmer or leave.

All those lazy union protected layabouts, with all those perks.
    They are being paid for by the private sector.
    The current argument about the 2 concessionary days holiday... that would be 700,000 man days lost in the public sector...

And perks are whats keeping people working..american multinationals doent give perks because they dont give a shiit about their workers..especially foreign slave-workers here in ireland.

It's absolutely laughable that you accuse the private sector of not being value for money. The private sector doesn't cost the taxpayer anything (leaving aside the banks which should've been left to fail in true capitalist form).

the private sector in this country has NEVER been value for money..the costs of goods and services is amongst the highest in the world..usually with the added bonus of bad service,lack of punctuality and rudeness..this is why the private sector is being taken over by foreign workers.

The public sector managed to keep their annual service increments, so they keep getting pay rises every single year.
    Absolute robbery from the taxpayer, nothing less than common thievery at the expense of the real workers who are generating the money to pay them.

Talk of absolute robbery?

How much do dentists,doctors and solicitors charge per visit/by the hour/
    If you rang an electrician out of the golden pages how much do you think he's quote you for a routine job? Do you think it would be cheap?

What about the terrible food available in restaurants and the sky-high cost of alcohol in pubs?

The taxpayers availng of these "services" are the ones being robbed and that is why the private sector is falling flat on its arse on a dialy basis..sky-high prices and piss-poor service.

Say what you like but is was the mismanagement in the private sector that caused the crisis.

Gradually your jobs will be taken over by foreigners,either here or abroad because they will work for less money and will be more efficient...its already apparant in hotels,restaurants and shops,your bbeloved It sector is next and you are gonna be sniffing round teh dole office looking for a Public Sector handout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

wow - you worked for seven years - which makes you what - 25 - time to get off the dole and get another job i think - either in Ireland or Austrlia, Canada or Europe - you're way to young to be sponging off the dole.

How the fuck do you think I can afford to go to Australia or Canada? I get 188e a week, a lot of which goes towards rent and food and transport. And I'm not sponging, I am seeking work. Even my older crappy jobs wont take me back. Anyways, I'm going to buy a 6-pack of beer later on and I'll have one for you.

FatherLen wrote: »
    ok i am not giving "flack" (whatever the fuck that is) but i work a full time job and am incredibly greatfull for it. my friend has been claiming for the last year and wanted to organise a trip to amsterdam for a week. i cant afford it, he can.

fair???

How can you not know what the fuck flack is? Unless you're not a native English speaker then I understand.

Anyways, why can't you afford it? I'm guessing you have a car & kids & mortgage & miscellaneous lavish spending? I'm on the dole, but living within my means - no car, no house (staying with my Dad for the moment) no widescreen TVs, my phone is an old piece of crap that cost 10euro, Aldi food, no pubs... I've had about four pints in the last three months. I could save for a holiday to Amsterdam in about 2 months I'd say.

That's another thing about the fucking moaners. They say : "Oh look it's all well for some people, on the dole and he's off on a holiday to Spain... the cunt, while I'm here bustin' me arse 40hrs a week and can't afford anything!"

Well it's not my fault you have kids or mortgage and all sorts of expenses. It's your own fault you can't afford anything, you should have worn a jonny.

0verblood wrote: »
    How the fuck do you think I can afford to go to Australia or Canada? I get 188e a week, a lot of which goes towards rent and food and transport. And I'm not sponging, I am seeking work. Even my older crappy jobs wont take me back. Anyways, I'm going to buy a 6-pack of beer later on and I'll have one for you.

How can you not know what the fuck flack is? Unless you're not a native English speaker then I understand.

Anyways, why can't you afford it? I'm guessing you have a car & kids & mortgage & miscellaneous lavish spending? I'm on the dole, but living within my means - no car, no house (staying with my Dad for the moment) no widescreen TVs, my phone is an old piece of crap that cost 10euro, Aldi food, no pubs... I've had about four pints in the last three months. I could save for a holiday to Amsterdam in about 2 months I'd say.

That's another thing about the fucking moaners. They say : "Oh look it's all well for some people, on the dole and he's off on a holiday to Spain... the cunt, while I'm here bustin' me arse 40hrs a week and can't afford anything!"

Well it's not my fault you have kids or mortgage and all sorts of expenses. It's your own fault you can't afford anything, you should have worn a jonny.
    While I agree with lots of what you say and I understand your annoyance, being abusive won't help your case - and saying people shouldn't have kids if they can't afford them is as bad, in my opinion, as saying people on the dole are scroungers. You're also making assumptions about that poster, which is exactly what you're annoyed about. And one car (e.g. a Nissan) and a modest three-bedroom house in a middle-of-the-road area, purchased by someone in full-time employment doesn't seem excessive to me.
    But yeah, no way will I ever believe that someone on the dole can afford way more stuff than someone who's in even a moderately paid job and not in any significant debt. For one, it's a mathematical impossibility.

EarlERizer wrote: »
    These are not 'one off' instances, this is by all accounts 'the norm' with my inlaw , I never really got the whole pi$$ taking and jokes about council workers ,shovel supports etc but I do nowadays. I spend more hours a week 'job seeking' for my paltry €188 JSB than he does 'working' for his basic pay and he has the neck to class people on the dole "spongers"

Why dont you see if there are any vacanicies where he works? maybe you'd fancy digging holes in the roads in all wathers or taking other people's bins out??

Dudess wrote: »
    But yeah, no way will I ever believe that someone on the dole can afford way more stuff than someone who's in even a moderately paid job and not in any significant debt. For one, it's a mathematical impossibility.

Read on:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0502/1224245838899.html

SOME APPLICANTS for legal aid can be found driving around in “exotic jeeps”, a District Court judge said yesterday.

Judge Eamon O’Brien was speaking at Ennis District Court where he demanded that individuals facing charges arising from an alleged feud between Traveller families in the town provide a statement of means to the court as part of their legal aid applications.

Making the request to a new solicitor, Michael McDarby, for the accused men, Judge O’Brien pointed out that the State’s finances were in a dire situation.

Appearing in court yesterday were six people charged in connection with the alleged feud.

They were Michael (36), Edward “Ned” (33), and David (24) McDonagh of John Paul Avenue, Ennis; Gerard McDonagh (26) of Bramble Lane, Ennis; and Jason McDonagh (25) of Dun na hInse, Ennis.

All are charged with assault causing harm to John McDonagh at John Paul Avenue, Ennis, on March 28th last.

A sixth McDonagh family member, Joseph (35) of Pearse Avenue, Ennis, is accused of damaging a car at John Paul Avenue on April 23rd last.

Mr McDarby yesterday said Joseph McDonagh would plead guilty to the criminal damage offence.

At the bail hearing for the six last week, the court heard that in relation to the alleged feud an elderly woman’s arm was broken and a man was knocked unconscious after he was struck from behind with a spade and a timber plank.
    Read more at Judge criticises legal aid applicants driving 'exotic jeeps' - The Irish Times - Sat, May 02, 2009

And

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0209/1224289345206.html

A JUDGE has called for an overhaul of the free legal aid scheme, saying if repeat offenders had to pay solicitors themselves they might not be so quick to reoffend.

Judge Mary Fahy made the remarks at Galway District Court yesterday while imposing a five-month prison sentence and five-year ban on a man with 56 previous convictions for mostly motoring offences.

Father of eight Kevin McDonagh (38), Knocknacarra, Galway, pleaded guilty to driving without insurance last June while already disqualified from driving. McDonagh said he had been bringing his child to hospital but the judge said she did not believe him.

Reading an application for free legal aid, she said McDonagh was better off than most working people as he was getting €850 a week in social welfare payments.

Granting the aid, Judge Fahy said: “I don’t think this can last. The system will have to be overhauled. This free legal aid for people who are recidivists, maybe if they had to pay the money out of their own pockets they might not be so quick to reoffend.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Basically I have a rule with who I look down on

acceptable :
    Irish Citizen, born here
    Not Living with your parents
    were working for longer than youve been on the dole
    havent turned down work
    have actually tried finding work and still try

anyone who doesnt meet those requirments is scrounging scum

There's a difference between someone who's on the dole though, and someone who's in receipt of every benefit possible, as well as earning money on the side illegitimately, as well as borrowing money, which I suspect would be the case for someone who isn't in employment yet in possession of an exotic jeep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

There's a difference between someone who's on the dole though, and someone who's in receipt of every benefit possible, as well as earning money on the side illegitimately, as well as borrowing money, which I suspect would be the case for someone who isn't in employment yet in possession of an exotic jeep.

Or they're Drug dealers :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Basically I have a rule with who I look down on

acceptable :
    Irish Citizen, born here
    Not Living with your parents
    were working for longer than youve been on the dole

havent turned down work
    have actually tried finding work and still try

anyone who doesnt meet those requirments is scrounging scum

So if a Polish girl happens to be in a relationship with an Irish man and has a baby for him and he leaves her, she shouldn't get any benefits?

You realize a lot of us that are young weren't able to get jobs in the last few years which mean we couldn't move out, right?

You also are aware that many, many people had to move back home since they couldn't afford rent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

I dont want to tarr everyone in the public sector but i'll give you an example of what gets my goat, I'm related to someone who "works for the council" as he calls it, he's a Bin man....his working week total's on average 15 hours a week (of a supposed 40 hour working week)for an after stoppages take home of almost €600, it's become a running joke between himself and myself (albiet my side with a hint of aggresion).

Some of the excuses they come up with are a fookin joke! The Health & Safety rules play right into their pockets!!

Granted,during the bad winter the roads & estates were unaccessable so people just had to ride it out waiting for bins to be emptied but get this, on one particular morning (towards the end of the "big snow") The 'crew' pulled out of the depot, approaching a set of lights the truck "wheel spun" on some defiant pocket of ice,the driver deemed the roads "too bad" and they returned to base (to gather their shattered nerves I suppose) and their working day was done,home in time for breakfast.

Not only that, but on days when they're finished their 'rounds' they can stay on and work 'overtime' in other area's (grave digging, house clearances etc)so in effect, they finish their 8hr day in the first 3hrs and can work elsewhere the rest of the day on overtime! ....and still be home in time for Dinner!

I'll finish on this, Of those you mentioned above the only real "worth their salt" workers IMO are the Firemen & the Doctors n Nurses and I'd never begrudge them a kings ransom for their roles,they're paid a pittance by comparision!

In fairness, bin men perform an essential public service that very few people are willing to perform. Would you like to be dealing with half the stuff they do? So the pay and perks have to be good in order to attract the numbers.

If you don't think its an essential public service, then check the pictures of what happened in the countries where they went on strike for a few days.

There's a difference between someone who's on the dole though, and someone who's in receipt of every benefit possible.

Ah but there isnt..you cant claim benefits unless you're on the dole and yes,you can make a good living without working...whole families have been doing it for generations.

Degsy wrote: »
    Why dont you see if there are any vacanicies where he works? maybe you'd fancy digging holes in the roads in all wathers or taking other people's bins out??

For a basic take home of almost €600 pw for an average 15 hour working week i dare say there are many who wouldnt mind taking a job digging holes in all WATHERS or taking peoples bins out!!......for the record,there are no vacancies for either role.

Just to clarify, you wont see many council workers 'digging holes' nor holding shovels in wet weather, it's deemed a Health & Safety risk, they'd be rained off & paid for the inconvenience!! and as for having to do that back breaking task of rolling a wheelie bin to the back of a truck and pressing a button it must be a truely harrowing experience when the sun isn't shining!

Maybe you'd be best to tackle all the other replies directed towards you :)

Degsy wrote: »
    Ah but there isnt..you cant claim benefits unless you're on the dole and yes,you can make a good living without working...whole families have been doing it for generations.

Um... when people say "dole" they usually mean getting JSA or JSB only.

Of course you can make a good living if you're willing to lie and steal. Her point was that most people on the dole only (maybe with a medical card and we'll say they live at home as a scrounger, so just the basic 185 per week) get the basics as scroungers.

There's a difference between a scrounger on the dole and a thief on the dole who tries to get everything possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭yammycat

The money the bankers blew could pay the current dole bill for 150 years, people on the dole aren't the problem , the rich are.

So if a Polish girl happens to be in a relationship with an Irish man and has a baby for him and he leaves her, she shouldn't get any benefits?

You realize a lot of us that are young weren't able to get jobs in the last few years which mean we couldn't move out, right?

You also are aware that many, many people had to move back home since they couldn't afford rent?

not to sound horrible but no, back to poland i say....

I lived with somebody up until the end of 2010 who changed job 3 times in 7 months (wasnt sacked, just better offers), I understand some sectors are down but especially young people just out of school or graduated from college that dont have any experience theres a wealth of jobs out there in call centres , tech support, assistants in offices etc... just because you handed a cv into your favourite music shop or local pub and didnt get the job doesnt mean theres no jobs out there,

'Us young' - Im only 21 mate, I think I count too , the problem with other young people finding jobs is they think they have some sense of entitlement to massive wages, or only want to work in somewhere trendy, anyone ive told to cop the f*ck on and put a cv on jobs.ie etc.. has been atleast offered interviews for multiple jobs that may not be trendy but still pay the rent

if you lose your job and go on the dole there is rent allowance, I know it only covers so much but atleast in kildare and dublin the rates are very generous

In fairness, bin men perform an essential public service that very few people are willing to perform. Would you like to be dealing with half the stuff they do? So the pay and perks have to be good in order to attract the numbers.

If you don't think its an essential public service, then check the pictures of what happened tin the countries where they went on strike for a few days.

Check my previous reply! In fairness they do very little compared to the bin men of old who had to contend with bags bursting and the like....and even then it wasn't their task to clear up what may have fallen from said bags! they're only heartache would have been the lousy smell of rubbish waiting disposal.

I don't deny they provide an essential service but dont try and tell me they have a difficult job ..... for the record, my in-law switched from a "comfortable" office role within the county council to avail of the (and I qoute) "cushy number working the bins".

not to sound horrible but no, back to poland i say....

I lived with somebody up until the end of 2010 who changed job 3 times in 7 months (wasnt sacked, just better offers), I understand some sectors are down but especially young people just out of school or graduated from college that dont have any experience theres a wealth of jobs out there in call centres , tech support, assistants in offices etc... just because you handed a cv into your favourite music shop or local pub and didnt get the job doesnt mean theres no jobs out there,

'Us young' - Im only 21 mate, I think I count too , the problem with other young people finding jobs is they think they have some sense of entitlement to massive wages, or only want to work in somewhere trendy, anyone ive told to cop the f*ck on and put a cv on jobs.ie etc.. has been atleast offered interviews for multiple jobs that may not be trendy but still pay the rent

if you lose your job and go on the dole there is rent allowance, I know it only covers so much but atleast in kildare and dublin the rates are very generous

So the scumbag who leaves the mother and his own child should stay but the Irish child should be told "fu*k off back to Poland"?

You could be right about rent allowance but I was sure you had to be on the dole for a while, no?
    Anyway, regardless of that fact you still need to have rented for 183 days or six months; it's impossible for people on the dole at home.

Grand, I'm a year old and I've tried to get a job but in the last while I've just laughed at how bad it is for people without experience.
    It's a poverty trap. You get told by the begruders to "get a job, move out" but you can't get a job and you cannot move out. So you just sit in at home and slowly realize if you don't get out of the country, you're not going to move out of the family home.

Check my previous reply! In fairness they do very little compared to the bin men of old who had to contend with bags bursting and the like....and even then it wasn't their task to clear up what may have fallen from said bags! they're only heartache would have been the lousy smell of rubbish waiting disposal.

I don't deny they provide an essential service but dont try and tell me they have a difficult job ..... for the record, my in-law switched from a "comfortable" office role within the county council to avail of the (and I qoute) "cushy number working the bins".

And we all have difference opinions of a job. Some people might like it some might hate it and do it because they need the money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭Bryano11

Every day on my way home from work I see wasters on the dole falling out of the pub after spending my taxes getting pissed, really annoys me.

No money should be given to unemployed people, they should be given 70euro a week for food stamps for lidl.

Bryano11 wrote: »
    Every day on my way home from work I see wasters on the dole falling out of the pub after spending my taxes getting pissed, really annoys me.

No money should be given to unemployed people, they should be given 70euro a week for food stamps for lidl.

cool story bro

Strange talk from someone who's homeless?

Oh so... you know for a fact that the taxes you contributed thus far has gone directly to those drunken louts?

You know what makes me laugh about people like you: you don't for a fact that they're wasters. For all you know they get JSB or they are spending their savings or... they aren't on the dole and work night shifts.

That surprises me - and why would they not have to contend with bursting bin-bags today? The exposure to filth, hazardous waste and rats... bizarre that anyone would find that easy, but meh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭Bryano11

Strange talk from someone who's homeless?
    Yeah im homeless, sitting here on the side of the road with a laptop on my knee!

Any spare change???
    Oh so... you know for a fact that the taxes you contributed thus far has gone directly to those drunken louts?

You know what makes me laugh about people like you: you don't for a fact that they're wasters. For all you know they get JSB or they are spending their savings or... they aren't on the dole and work night shifts.
    I Know them you nitwit, I know for a fact they're on the dole!

Yeah im homeless, sitting here on the side of the road with a laptop on my knee!

Any spare change???

Well, with an attitude that is all about being sarcastic and insulting, I can see why you hate anyone on the dole.

But I'm enjoying spending your taxes on me cans of Dutch Gold down the canal. :D

they are entitled to it and they can do whatever they want with it
    deal with it

So the scumbag who leaves the mother and his own child should stay but the Irish child should be told "fu*k off back to Poland"?
    unfortunatly yes, the scumbag has citizenship and was born here, his parents most likely paid tax here and hes paid VAT all his life on anything he bought here , the polish girl may not have contributed anything and in this climate I feel her country should take care of her.
    You could be right about rent allowance but I was sure you had to be on the dole for a while, no?
    Anyway, regardless of that fact you still need to have rented for 183 days or six months; it's impossible for people on the dole at home.
    yeah you have to have rented for 6 months, but sure if youve only had a job and been renting for 6 months your parents wont be too put out supporting you again.
    Grand, I'm a year old and I've tried to get a job but in the last while I've just laughed at how bad it is for people without experience.
    It's a poverty trap. You get told by the begruders to "get a job, move out" but you can't get a job and you cannot move out. So you just sit in at home and slowly realize if you don't get out of the country, you're not going to move out of the family home.
    give every job you think you could do a go, keep replying to ads on jobs websites, even if you get a few interviews thats a bit of experience, best of luck with it