TV Licence Inspectors

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Anyone stupid enough to watch scheduled television deserves to have to pay a tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Cabaal wrote: »
    Your alittle clueless aren't you,
    RTE don't show Simon Cowell etc TV3 do and they get no license money.

I think you'll find TV3 receive a certain amount of the licence fee for their independent productions
    inform yourself about how the money is used so you can make an informed decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Indeed they are, An post conviently look after the tv licencing, so they know exactly who is receiving post in the addresses in question.

Yes they are, but a different dept. If they could do that then the letters would arrive to my house with my name instead of occupant. An post I would assume have to follow the data protection act like sky and UPC and they can't give any info to "third parties" in this case their own licencing dept!

Either don't answer the door to them or if you do, don't divulge any info to them, theyre salesmen, so treat them as such

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Supraman wrote: »
    The tv licence crowd get names and addresses from the likes of Chorus and Sky which obviously have customer databases.

They don't. They check addresses without licences registered against them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Anyone stupid enough to watch scheduled television deserves to have to pay a tax.

Thats great, but anyone that never watches any television still pays. TV`s these days have a lot more uses than watching broadcasted television stations.

Supraman wrote: »
    The tv licence crowd get names and addresses from the likes of Chorus and Sky which obviously have customer databases.

Why would they do that? You dont have to have any television service provider to be in the tv licence tax net. An post are the collectors and enforcers of the tv licence fee. Any idea how they might have a list of addresses?

Tayla wrote: »
    Do they actually knock in if you have a licence? That is ridiculous, I have a licence but if they come to my door and ask me to produce it they will be told to f*** off

Yes same here, thats what id tell them to do, although once you are on the an post database they wont be around. If you are only after getting it, they could be around within a couple of days if you were due a visit for not having it. Did happen to me before and i didnt go and get it.

What is the TV Licence for?
    In Ireland, public service broadcasting is part-funded from revenue collected from the public by way of the TV Licence Fee.

use youtube.

Problem solved .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭..Brian..

If I came on here and said Listen lads I know a way you can get Sky or UPC without paying for it (there are ways) the thread would be closed and I would probably be banned. Yet in this thread people are giving advice on how to break the TV licence law and nothing happens.

All the arguments against the licence are valid but for the time being it is still the law. It is not a victimless crime, the people who pay are having to fork out an extra €20 or €30 a year for those who don't pay.

From the Charter

No advocating criminality or violence

Any threads or posts advocating illegal activities or asking for help in such activities will be deleted. Please do not attempt to advocate or incite criminality or violence as this is a bannable offence.

I think you'll find I did not ask how to break the law in any way if you take the time to read my post. Cut to the relevant bits but feel free to click the first page button and take the time to read my post this time.
    ..Brian.. wrote: »
    So without getting to into the whole TV Licence thing, what's the furthest its ever gone with some of ye?

Has anyone got this letter before? If so, what did ye do? I wonder is it time to bit the bullet and buy the piece of ****e?

:EDIT: Also has anyone ever had their house searched as per above? Or know anyone its happened to? Or even been brought to court etc?

Well I have no choice but to leave it for a few weeks anyhoo as I have more important financial obligations so I guess we'll find out if my door will be bust in LAPD style or not!

I wonder if they come with the guards and I say I'll get one, or sign the DD mandate there and then then would that appease them or would they be like, "no its too late now?"

I think you'll find I did not ask how to break the law in any way if you take the time to read my post. Cut to the relevant bits but feel free to click the first page button and take the time to read my post this time.
    I dont think he was referring to you, but more to the rest of us criminals for not falling into line with the tv licence advocates.
    Well I have no choice but to leave it for a few weeks anyhoo as I have more important financial obligations so I guess we'll find out if my door will be bust in LAPD style or not!

I wonder if they come with the guards and I say I'll get one, or sign the DD mandate there and then then would that appease them or would they be like, "no its too late now?"

No they will drag you out into the van like the dangerous non tv licence holder you are. How will you live with the shame as they say on rte:D

Its hard to say buddy, I might have to do the honorable thing to save my family from the shame!

Raging at the thought of having to get one, I've been living on my own for over 10 years and haven't had to buy one yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

I cant recieve RTE or any other station due to location. I have to use SKY. Why do I have to pay SKY and RTE when I cant even get 1 channel from my aerial cos thier service is shiit:mad:

I aint buying one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Hide your tv & replace it with a comedy clown tv, when the guy shows, say that it's not a real tv, when he goes to turn it on to demonstrate that it is, watch it squirt him with piss that you've preloaded for his delectation...

Ooh yeah.
    A genuine LOL at this comment. Funniest post ive read here in a long time. Great variation of the standard "blast him with p!ss" comment

Tip o'the cap to you good sir (or madam)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

Its hard to say buddy, I might have to do the honorable thing to save my family from the shame!

Raging at the thought of having to get one, I've been living on my own for over 10 years and haven't had to buy one yet!

An Uncle of mine went to the Joy for not paying the fine. He could not believe it . The fine was reduced by the day. After a day they let him out as he said he was not going to pay it. He has six kids and said that it was grand. Bit of peace for him. lol.

A license in itself is not a bad idea if it was run like the BBC. That is a great service without adds. RTE have it the best of both ways and employ the most talented ****wits that any station ever employed and on huge salary's. A couple of years ago RTE where questioned on why they pay so much and they said they have to or they will be head hunted to other stations. I would say they are cuing up to snap up Pat Kenny. He is so witty and talented. I am also surprised that Marian Funucan has not been snapped up by American TV. They give all of these over payed **** huge salary's and two or three jobs each based on ratings when half the country only have bleeden RTE.

I blame the mullahs :)

All you Irish talent show loving potato cake eating muthas keep RTE going. Sure look at yer man, Dahai O'Shea. He is everywhere with his half baldy mutton head and a wink for the heifers. He is the Brad Pit of RTE. Then we have oceans 11, Alvan Pencil-neck Turbity, he thinks hes Frank Sinatra and he is more like a pick Axe in a suit. We have Mooney the drip. Finally we have the biggest can of piz of them all George (I cant hack it) Lee.

Well worth 160 a year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Jaysus eco2live that started off quiet calm and went into quiet the rant. I think you deserve the crown of king ranter for the day. Brilliant rant though, thoroughly enjoyed it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

• Had a TV.
    • Never bought a license for it because there was always nothing but shìt on so I never watched it.
    • TV License Inspector sees I have a TV through the window.
    • I get a letter telling me to fork out money for a shìtty license.

• I get rid of the TV :pac:

Don't bloody miss it or the awful adverts either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭VictoriaC

You will get a summons to appear in Court - judge will exmaine your case and you'll probably get a fine and you will certainly have to get a TV licence! (I've heard of €100 fines but again on case by case basis - can be up to 600 if the judge is having a bad day I suppose)

as another poster asked - once you get your licence they just leave you alone until renewal time that is.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

In the UK the TV licence pays for BBC only. There are no ads on BBC because of this. So, ok fair enough, original programming, no ads = worth the licence fee.

RTE have loadsa ads AND not much original programming. Worth the TV TV Licence fee? Ermmmm No!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

RTE don't show Simon Cowell etc TV3 do .

How the fup do you expect the poster to know what gawdforsaken channel its on when they dont have a TV FFS :rolleyes:
    You're badly stuck... I pity you
    Says a guy who stalks and slings abuse at some bloke on the net they dont even know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/crime/17000-with-no-tv-licence-face-court-141678.html

17,000 with no TV licence face court
    By Pat Flynn
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011
    OVER 17,000 people are facing prosecution for failing to purchase a TV licence last year as the number of offenders rose for the third consecutive year.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/crime/17000-with-no-tv-licence-face-court-141678.html#ixzz1HGeUp5Jq

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Guess what I found posted through the door when I got home ??? :mad:
    I just had to go and post in this feckin' thread and tempt fate and receive a summons for next month :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Any TV licence Inspectors out there who would like to ah...............add to this thread!

I wonder do TV licence inspectors pay their own TV licence not as if they wil report themselves and give evidence against themselves in court?

I cant recieve RTE or any other station due to location. I have to use SKY. Why do I have to pay SKY and RTE when I cant even get 1 channel from my aerial cos thier service is shiit:mad:

I aint buying one.

You would still have to buy one just for having the tv if you never ever did anything other than watch DVD`s or use it for a play station 3. Thats where you will hear the do gooder licence advocates saying you need a licence for the tv, not for watching tv on it.

I wonder do TV licence inspectors pay their own TV licence not as if they wil report themselves and give evidence against themselves in court?

But they know none of their excuses would work if they were caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

RTE don't show Simon Cowell etc TV3 do and they get no license money.

Atleast if you don't like the TV License fee have the sense to inform yourself about how the money is used so you can make an informed decision.

TV License money is spend in the following ways - http://www.rte.ie/about/licence.html#question3

so fairly ****ty (fair city) is worth a license fee? i dont think so... home and away? defo not.... that cross dresser that does the lotto? god no... serious all irish tv is utter tripe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭Yawns

OP was that you on the mast of RTE this morning in protest of the licence fee?

hahah yes the jig is up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

the gardai dont search peoples houses for tv licences it's a civil matter i think the licence should be scrapped anyway with all the channells we have now sure most people dont even bother with rte anymore...:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Searching for a tv so they can prosecute. Thats if he doesnt get a license in the mean time.
    licence inspectors cant enter your home under any circumstances unless you invite them i ran the last one or maybe it was because because i had the doberman at the door with me :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I honestly wonder how much money is spent on the sending of all these warning etc to people.

Quite a tidy sum I would imagine.

I do feel it has a lot to do with the quality of Irish programming and the wages within RTE.

It's simply not value for money.

€160 is a lot of money to some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

How you should feel about license inspectors: