TV Licence Inspectors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

..Brian.. wrote: »
    So without getting to into the whole TV Licence thing, what's the furthest its ever gone with some of ye?

I've never bought one, had loads of the letters and post cards saying inspectors etc have called to the door, I've even had a face to face with one of em once and just blatantly lied about not living there. He knew I was lying, I knew he knew, I gave an obviously fake name and in the end he left, what else could he do really?

Go a few more letters addressed to the fake name, even got a solicitors letter, ignore em all, nothing happened as far as I'm aware.

That was about 3 years ago at a different address. Living in current address about 1.5 years, no licence, got the letters and post cards etc, the sneaky ****er even got my name off the bins this time but have ignored all correspondence.

Up until now ... came home today to find a letter saying they were "applying to the District Justice for a search warrant and to ask for a member of An Garda Siochana to accompany our inspector to your premises."

It goes on to rattle off all the potential fines etc before finished with,

"There will be no further communication from us before such action is taken yada yada..."

Has anyone got this letter before? If so, what did ye do? I wonder is it time to bit the bullet and buy the piece of ****e? :(

:EDIT: Also has anyone ever had their house searched as per above? Or know anyonw its happened to? Or even been brought to court?

We now have ur IP address and a full admission of your guilt and dishonesty so happy days for the inspectors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Carlow52 wrote: »
    We now have ur IP address and a full admission of your guilt and dishonesty so happy days for the inspectors

No you dont

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Hope to never pay it in my life. How much is the fine? I've already saved enough to pay a few I'd imagine.

I went to Dublin District Court last year over it.

Fine was 140 euro and had to produce the licence which I had purchased
    I was asked if I had anything to say and realy I didn't so "nothing to say Judge" and that was the fine given.

If you were a no show the judge was raging (it's disrespectful to his court I suppose) and it was a 300 euro fine issued.

Fine is up to 1000 euro but realy, nobody pays that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Ah grand, just as I remembered from years ago, pointless to pay when I save so much. Fine less than the licence, wahey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

The TV Licence Inspector came around to my house last week and I couldn't for the life of me find where I had put it! I nearly had a mini heart attack :eek:

Thankfully he had documents with him and all he needed was my old house address :rolleyes: Fun times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

RichieC wrote: »
    Think of RTE 'stars' children ffs OP... they need to eat!

yup Pat Kenny's kids are really missing their Lobster lunches.

wish the gov would just scrap the license and sell RTE off... its a rubbish channel anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Don't forget your license fee gets you the RTÉ symphony orchestra
    They do free concerts around Ireland every year

Well not exactly free, you're already paying for them so may as well go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Make one up* or tell them you live in the Republic of Ireland and have fun watching their brains explode when you explain there are no postcodes there. (You need to pay be cash though)

* Favorite ones are the postcodes for "TV licencing" in Bristol or BBC television centre in London

You're badly stuck... I pity you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

it cost 13.33 a month by direct debit for a licence ffs

Thats 13.33 too much ffs
    Don't forget your license fee gets you the RTÉ symphony orchestra
    They do free concerts around Ireland every year

Well not exactly free, you're already paying for them so may as well go

Yep what better reason to pay it:rolleyes:

Back in the day when I was a wee student we lived in an apt with two others. So the inspector made it his thing to keep calling around. Every time we answered we gave a name, que not paying and him calling back to recieve a differant name. So we thought this was fun so over the course of two years or so living there we sent anybody that was in the house friends, family, friends of friends whoever was there out to the door to give a new name saying we only moved in. Never had to pay a license in that address think we had "threatening letters addressed to 15+ different people.:D
    Could never figure out as to why he kept calling back:confused:

TV license belongs in a bygone age time for it to go bye bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

^dunno why they didn't just take a name off the letters that were arriving to the address.
    That's what they did with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

I dont mind paying for a TV license but i just pisses me off it goes to RTE. Its a crap channel and i cant understand the Dublin 4 accent.

Maybe you dont mind paying because you believe a tv is a device that actually does need a licence like a shotgun or rifle? But its purely a tax, nothing else, called a tv licence because calling it that means everyone is in the net. It would not surprise me if they include pc`s and/or broadband in it eventually, as now live RTE can be viewed on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭questionmark?

How wud dey do that? Put a fishing rod through the letter box an pul out a letter.

.... Maybe have a look before they stick it in your letter box.
    An post and the tv licence people are connected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Hide your tv & replace it with a comedy clown tv, when the guy shows, say that it's not a real tv, when he goes to turn it on to demonstrate that it is, watch it squirt him with piss that you've preloaded for his delectation...

Ooh yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Asphyxia wrote: »
    The TV Licence Inspector came around to my house last week and I couldn't for the life of me find where I had put it! I nearly had a mini heart attack :eek:

Thankfully he had documents with him and all he needed was my old house address :rolleyes: Fun times!

Do they actually knock in if you have a licence? That is ridiculous, I have a licence but if they come to my door and ask me to produce it they will be told to f*** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If I came on here and said Listen lads I know a way you can get Sky or UPC without paying for it (there are ways) the thread would be closed and I would probably be banned. Yet in this thread people are giving advice on how to break the TV licence law and nothing happens.

All the arguments against the licence are valid but for the time being it is still the law. It is not a victimless crime, the people who pay are having to fork out an extra €20 or €30 a year for those who don't pay.

From the Charter

No advocating criminality or violence

Any threads or posts advocating illegal activities or asking for help in such activities will be deleted. Please do not attempt to advocate or incite criminality or violence as this is a bannable offence.

If I came on here and said Listen lads I know a way you can get Sky or UPC without paying for it (there are ways) the thread would be closed and I would probably be banned. Yet in this thread people are giving advice on how to break the TV licence law and nothing happens.

All the arguments against the licence are valid but for the time being it is still the law. It is not a victimless crime, the people who pay are having to fork out an extra €20 or €30 a year for those who don't pay.

From the Charter

Any threads or posts advocating illegal activities or asking for help in such activities will be deleted. Please do not attempt to advocate or incite criminality or violence as this is a bannable offence.

Clip-on tie.

From the Charter

ahhhhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

the people who pay are having to fork out an extra €20 or €30 a year for those who don't pay.

Yep, and if we all paid then the licence tax would be reduced to fifty euro............ me hole.
    Drop the concert orchestra and see if that makes up the extra €20 or €30.
    From the Charter

Modding is best done by the Mods.

mikom wrote: »

Modding is best done by the Mods.

I think that ironing is suspicious.

From the Charter

I think mikom said drop the concert orchestra, well we might need to keep the violin section for this:rolleyes:

The-Rigger wrote: »
    .... Maybe have a look before they stick it in your letter box.
    An post and the tv licence people are connected.

Indeed they are, An post conviently look after the tv licencing, so they know exactly who is receiving post in the addresses in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't own a telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

RichieC wrote: »
    I don't own a telly.

me neither. Paying money to watch Louis Walsh or Simon Cowell with their one hit wonders or watching a bunch of british yobbos locked up in a house full of cameras just doesn't justify a reason.

downloading shows and movies i am interested serves my needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I think that ironing is suspicious.

I thaaaank you. :D
    robbie7730 wrote: »
    I think mikom said drop the concert orchestra, well we might need to keep the violin section for this:rolleyes:

*Writes down in one-liner notebook for later use*

Clip-on tie deserves much more love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Listen lads I know a way you can get Sky or UPC without paying for it (there are ways)

Spill....

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

What will they be searching your house for?

He hasn't let the inspectors in so the next step is for them to attend the premises with the Gardai so they can legally enter even if he won't allow them.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

me neither. Paying money to watch Louis Walsh or Simon Cowell with their one hit wonders or watching a bunch of british yobbos locked up in a house full of cameras just doesn't justify a reason.

Your alittle clueless aren't you,
    RTE don't show Simon Cowell etc TV3 do and they get no license money.

Atleast if you don't like the TV License fee have the sense to inform yourself about how the money is used so you can make an informed decision.

TV License money is spend in the following ways - http://www.rte.ie/about/licence.html#question3