Why (oh why) do Irish people use "bring" instead of "take"?

• 19-03-2011 01:31PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Among other things, bring means "to come conveying".

In Ireland we are always bringing things when we should, strictly speaking, be taking them.

Are you a bringer or a taker?

Here's a brief online explanation and usage test: http://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/bring-vs-take

Please post your score here.

The leave vs let thing is what bothers me...
    "please leave me know"
    "they should leave them go home"
    "just leave me sit down"

IT DOESNT MAKE ANY SENSE

p.s. I got full marks on your test OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Can you ___ me to the station?
    Correct!
    take
    bring

I've ___ my car with me.
    Correct!
    took
    brought

Would you mind ___ your newspaper over here?
    Correct!
    bringing
    taking

She wants you to ___ her away from here.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

When you come to my house ___ your sister with you.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

If you go shopping, remember to ___ your credit card with you.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Correctamundo - would probably be different if they'd put the test before the explanation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

I only got one wrong.

What difference does it make anyway, they both sound fine to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Irish people do that because there stupid

Weather or not their doing it on purpus is inclear.

TPD wrote: »
    Correctamundo - would probably be different if they'd put the test before the explanation though.

I copied and pasted it to show I'd answered straightaway. TBH as I was doing it I doubted a few but it turns out I'm smarter than I thought. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭minikin

I just brought your little test there... got all the answers right.... take 'em on biatches.

barbarians wrote: »
    I only got one wrong.

What difference does it make anyway, they both sound fine to me.

"Bring" is a far better word anyway, got a couple of nice sounds in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Partridge007

isn't 'taker' like a slang word amongst the gay community?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

phasers wrote: »

Stop bringing the piss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its due to the sentence structure as Gaeilge I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Irish say tree instead of three, they say shtick instead of stick, they say sangwitch instead of sandwich and a pair of scissors is a scissors, a pencil sharpener is a topper. seems to me the english language was lost in translation :D ye feckin potato eatin eejits :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Will you bring/take me to the station?"

Correct translation:

Any chance of a lift down the train stop boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Every Saturday evening I get a fish n chip in the local bringaway :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

superfish wrote: »
    Irish say tree instead of three, they say shtick instead of stick, they say sangwitch instead of sandwich and a pair of scissors is a scissors, a pencil sharpener is a topper. seems to me the english language was lost in translation :D ye feckin potato eatin eejits :D

That's pronunciation mostly not incorrect grammar which is what the OP is talking about.

Reading comprehension not your strongest point eh hotshot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

I got the first one wrong apparently.

I suspect the most popular grammatical mistakes today will be a part of common English in a few decades time. Language shifts and changes according to common usage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Every Saturday evening I get a fish n chip in the local bringaway
    and then watch that new show 'Bring me out'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No, it's a parer.

A topper is one of those things you get for free from a box of cornflakes.

Like these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I believe it's called HibernoEnglish and we do it all the time and we have pharses
    that no other english speaking country in the world has.

Fail to see that it's that big a deal, there is "local" english everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I find it most humorous that you have mistaken incorrect pronunciation for incorrect word usage.

I laugh heartily at your poor grasp of the structure of the English language old chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

phasers wrote: »

Pot, meet kettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Pot, meet kettle

I hope that was ironic. Sadly, I fear not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Grammar Nazi forum tbh.

Someone will take you there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

jesus lads ya awful easy to wind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I got the first and last one wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

bluewolf wrote: »
    The leave vs let thing is what bothers me...
    "please leave me know"
    "they should leave them go home"
    "just leave me sit down"

IT DOESNT MAKE ANY SENSE

By your leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Not speaking the queens english properly you should be ashamed of yourselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Iwannahurl wrote: »

In Ireland we are always bringing things when we should, strictly speaking, be taking them.

Here's a brief online explanation and usage test: http://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/bring-vs-take

why (oh why) does it continually have to be pointed out that it's hiberno english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Topper sounds like something a Beano character would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Iwannahurl wrote: »

hehe. Me Mammy's online!