Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why (oh why) do Irish people use "bring" instead of "take"?

• 19-03-2011 12:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Among other things, bring means "to come conveying".

In Ireland we are always bringing things when we should, strictly speaking, be taking them.

Are you a bringer or a taker?

Here's a brief online explanation and usage test: http://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/bring-vs-take

Please post your score here.

The leave vs let thing is what bothers me...
    "please leave me know"
    "they should leave them go home"
    "just leave me sit down"

IT DOESNT MAKE ANY SENSE

p.s. I got full marks on your test OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Can you ___ me to the station?
    Correct!
    take
    bring

I've ___ my car with me.
    Correct!
    took
    brought

Would you mind ___ your newspaper over here?
    Correct!
    bringing
    taking

She wants you to ___ her away from here.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

When you come to my house ___ your sister with you.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

If you go shopping, remember to ___ your credit card with you.
    Correct!
    take
    bring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Correctamundo - would probably be different if they'd put the test before the explanation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

I only got one wrong.

What difference does it make anyway, they both sound fine to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Irish people do that because there stupid

Weather or not their doing it on purpus is inclear.

TPD wrote: »
    Correctamundo - would probably be different if they'd put the test before the explanation though.

I copied and pasted it to show I'd answered straightaway. TBH as I was doing it I doubted a few but it turns out I'm smarter than I thought. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

I just brought your little test there... got all the answers right.... take 'em on biatches.

barbarians wrote: »
    I only got one wrong.

What difference does it make anyway, they both sound fine to me.

"Bring" is a far better word anyway, got a couple of nice sounds in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Partridge007

isn't 'taker' like a slang word amongst the gay community?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

phasers wrote: »

Stop bringing the piss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its due to the sentence structure as Gaeilge I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Irish say tree instead of three, they say shtick instead of stick, they say sangwitch instead of sandwich and a pair of scissors is a scissors, a pencil sharpener is a topper. seems to me the english language was lost in translation :D ye feckin potato eatin eejits :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Will you bring/take me to the station?"

Correct translation:

Any chance of a lift down the train stop boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Every Saturday evening I get a fish n chip in the local bringaway :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

superfish wrote: »
    Irish say tree instead of three, they say shtick instead of stick, they say sangwitch instead of sandwich and a pair of scissors is a scissors, a pencil sharpener is a topper. seems to me the english language was lost in translation :D ye feckin potato eatin eejits :D

That's pronunciation mostly not incorrect grammar which is what the OP is talking about.

Reading comprehension not your strongest point eh hotshot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

I got the first one wrong apparently.

I suspect the most popular grammatical mistakes today will be a part of common English in a few decades time. Language shifts and changes according to common usage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Every Saturday evening I get a fish n chip in the local bringaway
    and then watch that new show 'Bring me out'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No, it's a parer.

A topper is one of those things you get for free from a box of cornflakes.

Like these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I believe it's called HibernoEnglish and we do it all the time and we have pharses
    that no other english speaking country in the world has.

Fail to see that it's that big a deal, there is "local" english everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

I find it most humorous that you have mistaken incorrect pronunciation for incorrect word usage.

I laugh heartily at your poor grasp of the structure of the English language old chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

phasers wrote: »

Pot, meet kettle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Pot, meet kettle

I hope that was ironic. Sadly, I fear not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Grammar Nazi forum tbh.

Someone will take you there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

jesus lads ya awful easy to wind up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

I got the first and last one wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

bluewolf wrote: »
    The leave vs let thing is what bothers me...
    "please leave me know"
    "they should leave them go home"
    "just leave me sit down"

IT DOESNT MAKE ANY SENSE

By your leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Not speaking the queens english properly you should be ashamed of yourselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Iwannahurl wrote: »

In Ireland we are always bringing things when we should, strictly speaking, be taking them.

Here's a brief online explanation and usage test: http://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/bring-vs-take

why (oh why) does it continually have to be pointed out that it's hiberno english.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Topper sounds like something a Beano character would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

hehe. Me Mammy's online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭gingernut79

I havent looked this up or anything but this would seem the logical way to think about the two words. Still i'm not sure whether I'd say Bring me to work or Take me to work.

Bring = towards, Bring me that wool
    Take = Away from. Take the tray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

I got the first one wrong:rolleyes: so shoot me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Depends on the guy.

wait...whats this about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

tan11ie wrote: »
    I got the first one wrong:rolleyes: so shoot me!

Bang bang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Bang bang

:eek: *that's my dying face*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Its to do with this word 'Tabhair'
    which means- take/bring/give

and has been translated into Hiberno-English this way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Everyone who read this thread gains 2 literacy points.

10 out of 10. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

Something that does my head in is the Northern use of the word "whenever" for "when" :eek::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I really hate this stereotype. People don't talk like this everywhere in Ireland. I'd never heard of a 'pencil topper' before last year, and have never heard someone say sangwitch except in slagging GAA fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Got the first one wrong goddamit!:p Still got 9 out 10 though!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

why are people giving their score out of 10 when there are only 6 questions?
    Jakkass wrote: »
    9/10 got the first one wrong apparently.
    ScumLord wrote:
    Everyone who read this thread gains 2 literacy points.

10 out of 10.
    Got the first one wrong goddamit! Still got 9 out 10 though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I believe it's called HibernoEnglish and we do it all the time and we have pharses
    that no other english speaking country in the world has.

Fail to see that it's that big a deal, there is "local" english everywhere

Exactamundo. And I love that we have our own distinct grammar usage...I'm particularly fond of the use of the present continuous and after such as, "I'm after eating all the cake" instead of using the past simple and just, "I just ate all the cake". That's the beauty of English...it's much more flexible than a lot of languages and you can play around with it (within reason). Dialects of the language are not "wrong", it's just a different way of expressing ourselves. We've made it our own to some degree.

I teach English and I have to watch myself sometimes. Confuses the hell out of the Spaniards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Exactamundo. And I love that we have our own distinct grammar usage...I'm particularly fond of the use of the present continuous and after such as, "I'm after eating all the cake" instead of using the past simple and just, "I just ate all the cake". That's the beauty of English...it's much more flexible than a lot of languages and you can play around with it (within reason). Dialects of the language are not "wrong", it's just a different way of expressing ourselves. We've made it our own to some degree.

I teach English and I have to watch myself sometimes. Confuses the hell out of the Spaniards.

Love that explanation, and I totally agree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

bring it honey/biatch just doesnt sound right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Grammar Nazi's are pricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭davef1000

Having taken the test and read (most of) the thread, 'bring' no longer looks like a real word To me anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Skerries wrote: »
    why are people giving their score out of 10 when there are only 6 questions?

Hiberno-arithmetic? :)

Eve_Dublin wrote: »

I taught English in Spain years ago. I met a guy from Limerick there once who was, without really being aware of it, teaching very colloquial Hiberno-English to unsuspecting Spaniards. "My leg is at me..." It was only when he showed his own original teaching materials to some English people that he discovered his approach was 'non-standard'.

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    Grammar Nazi's are prick's

FYP. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

100%

op I think your hypothesis is misfounded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I taught English in Spain years ago. I met a guy from Limerick there once who was, without really being aware of it, teaching very colloquial Hiberno-English to unsuspecting Spaniards. "My leg is at me..." It was only when he showed his own original teaching materials to some English people that he discovered his approach was 'non-standard'.

The problem is, it's hard to know which is Hiberno and which is standard. I don't actually know sometimes. We were doing phrasal verbs a few weeks ago and we talked about, "Tell off" and I told them another way of saying it was, "Give out". Did a bit of rooting around because I was starting to doubt myself when none of the students ever heard it before and I hadn't seen that one mentioned in any of the reference books or websites...turns out it's a special IRISH phrasal verb. Woopsadaisy!

I'm very pleased that I've got most of my students saying, "Thoooorsday" like a proper true blue Dub.