Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

195881_10150104105158354_538813353_6432503_3409933_n.jpg

<<I smell smoke, something's sizzling...>>

First 12 hour day of the month in work, coming off the back of 3x 10 hour days in a row. I don't feel too bad, just p!ssed off that it's getting in the way of real life

WCB Training

Missed the warm up cos I was late arriving from work

Did 2x rounds of:
    -moving about trying to touch knees
    -moving about trying to stand on each others feet

Rounds of (in boxing stance):
    -slip right, slip left, sqaut
    -jab, right
    -slip left, slip right, right
    -jab, right, slip right, right

Rounds of:
    -moving about in boxing stance

Bag Rounds:
    - 1-2's
    - 1-2, slip right, right
    - 1-2 quick punches

Then a big ab circuit.

Was grand. Easy session. Keeping my hands up and striking consistently's a weak point right now. Lots of bag work during the week.

And right now i'm going to bed before I tear someone's head off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Gordon Gekko

Hanley wrote: »
    <<I smell smoke, something's sizzling...>>

First 12 hour day of the month in work, coming off the back of 3x 10 hour days in a row. I don't feel too bad, just p!ssed off that it's getting in the way of real life

I hear ya, just started a phase like that in work too. Probs for the indefinite future. I knew the whole work/life balance thing I had going on in January and February was too good to be true :mad:

Well over 10 hours today...

EDIT: ended up at 11 and too late to train - p!ssed off was not the word

<<16 in the clip and 1 in the hole...>>

Warm Up

Skipping:
    3x 90 second rounds w/ 45 second break

Shoulder stability work:
    3 rounds back to back of...
    -overhead shrugs w/ 60kg x12
    -scap pull ups x12
    -scap push ups x12
    -scap rows x12

Team Conditioning

Block 1:
    Going every 30 seconds:
    2x lateral sprint, sprawl, roll
    2x lateral sprints

Block 2:
    Partner up, and go when the other dude finishes
    10x KB squats w/ 40kg
    10x push ups
    5x rows e/s w/ 40kg

Block 3:
    Lateral sprints going every 20 seconds, 30 efforts in 10 minutes

Block 4:
    Partner up, and go when the other dude finishes
    10x KB squats w/ 40kg
    10x push ups
    5x rows e/s w/ 40kg

Block 5:
    1 minute on, 1 minute off x3 of:
    hold plank position and get kicked, dragged and pulled about by your partner as he tries to break your posture - really liked this one, felt a tonne of work going on in my upper back

Block 6:
    Pendulums 3x20 - last one was resisted with your partner throwing your feet about and pushing at you

BJJ - 90 minutes

Quick tekkers sesh on escapes from turtle side ride, pretty much just throw the near side shoulder between your legs and roll out to guard, if he goes heavy, grap the wrist and roll

Rolled for about 45 minutes, then had Barry show me some tips on finishing RNCs. Notes below:
    -fist with the choking arm
    -hide hand and shoot it to shoulder as soon as hand fight stops
    -non choking hand pushes shoulder forward for short choke
    -if necessary fist up and shoot thru for RNC with the non choke hand
    -deep breath, exhale and close the space to finish - don't 'pull'
    -pin knees and hook in when in back control

RE: back control - if one hook comes out, smash that leg flat to the mat, twist hip back under

RE: stupid little sorta side control z-guard block - hand to the mat at the hip like you're trying to get it under his hoop, block the hip, sprawl and move feet up towards the head to create space to get knees in

Boxing

3x 3 minute bag rounds w/ 60 second recovery

Bit of stretching to finish off....

Serious session today.

My skipping's shocking. I'm actually going to have to get someone to teach me how to do it.

Shoulder work was good. Need to ask will if there's a case to be made for getting 'stronger' at it, or whether it should just be done from a motor control perspective.

I died a death during the cardio blocks on the conditioning. I'm carrying a chest infection since last Sunday and it's really effecting my ability to get wind in. I'm ok rolling, doing weighted blocks and even striking, but once a high CV demand comes in, I'm f*cking dying and it's wrecking my head cos it feels like I'm not fit enough even tho I've been working hard.

BJJ was good. Wasnt' expecting to get that much additional work in so I'm happy out. Bit concerned that I'm starting to use my strength and size against some of the lighter lads cos I'm getting to guard, getting passes and holding dominant positions better now and I don't want to be doing it 'cheap'.

Bag work was good. Very tough, but I'm gonna stick with 3 minute rounds now until WCB. A single 3 minute round on the bag is the total sum of all the rounds that I'll actually be in the ring for on the night so I should be in good shape for it.

Got my fats done as well pre-training. 94.9kg and 101mm. Down 1mm which is fairly shocking, but I'm not going to let it get to me because I certainly look leaner. Hardcore kcal tracking starts tomorrow. Figuring out how many kcals to actually eat is going to be an ongoing thing I'd say.

Targeting <90kg in the ring for WCB and apparently the Munster Open has been rescheduled to May so might have the chance to get into a lighter weight class there too. Not that it'll really matter or anything... It'll just give me a reason to keep pushing the cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

For skipping, the only way to get good at it is to skip more often. I know it sounds stupid, but it's really the only way. Your best bet is to get a rope at home, do slow jumps with both feet coming off the ground and then progress to single footed skipping. It took me AGES to get it, but once you try doing single legged skipping at a slow pace for a couple of sessions, you'll get it every time.

Good luck with the cutting.

<<Toes, toes....>>

Sunday morning conditioning w/ Rob in the park

Block 1:
    4 lateral sprints going every 20 seconds
    1 minute plank
    45 seconds e/s side plank
    x3

Block 2:
    Sprint block - 2 trees out, 1 back, partner goes, repeat

Block 3:
    Zig Zag sprints between the trees, partner breaks as above

Block 4:
    Sprint to the tree, job back, sprint to the next, all the way to the end, no breaks

If anyone knows the small trees that line the walkway to the pope's cross, that's where this was done.

Easy 30 minute wake up session for me. Just wanted to get a small bit of work in and nothing too strenuous. Rolling later in IP, may do some bag rounds as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Bag work was good. Very tough, but I'm gonna stick with 3 minute rounds now until WCB. A single 3 minute round on the bag is the total sum of all the rounds that I'll actually be in the ring for on the night so I should be in good shape for it.

Still, there's a big difference; when you're actually in the ring you're under a lot more pressure than you are when doing bag work. You might notice it yourself even, three minutes doing pads will wreck you more than three minutes on the bag. When in an actual fight you've to regulate yourself a lot more, step off and catch your breath etc.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Still, there's a big difference; when you're actually in the ring you're under a lot more pressure than you are when doing bag work. You might notice it yourself even, three minutes doing pads will wreck you more than three minutes on the bag. When in an actual fight you've to regulate yourself a lot more, step off and catch your breath etc.

Ah yeah I totally appreciate that. I'm trying to be quite active on the bag to compensate, like moving around a lot and constantly hitting/setting up shots. Obviously not the same, but the best I could do at the time yesterday!

<<Here comes the.... BOOM>>

BJJ - Rolling

4x 5 minute rounds w/ 1 minute recovery
    *round off
    4x 5 minute rounds w/ 1 minute recovery

Strength(ish)

Ring Push Ups 4x10

*supersetted with*

Pull ups 4x10
    (2x pull ups, 2x neutral grip)

Nice roll tonight. Not ultra high intensity but it was more mat time knowing that anything I left open was going to get taken and I was either going to get locked up or swept. Just kept me a bit more conscious of base and positions.

I need to start going to my right side more. Almost every pass I attempt, either from standing or guard goes left.

The strength-ish thing was just to get a bit of work in so I don't feel like I'm shrinking away to nothing.

<<Booooorn FREE...>>

Boxing

4x 2 minute rounds w/ 45 seconds recovery

It genuinely upsets me how f*cking sh*t I am at this

BJJ

Tekkers - 80 minutes - escapes from scarf hold

-Elbow on the mat framing against hip
    -Underhooked arm across dudes throat cupping shoulder
    -Keep the elbow on the mat, it stops his hips moving up and goin heavier
    -Bridge hard, slide knee under his ar$e
    -Stamp the side of that leg down to create some elevation and slip hips under to sweep him to side control
    -Prolly missing bits, but I think the spirit of it's there

-From 'judo' hold w/ headlock instead of underhoook...
    -Lik over hook the headlock arm and put your hand across his throat to shoulder
    -Other elbow stays on the mat framing hip
    -Shrimp in to move his hips
    -Homer Simpson Walk away on your side to form a straight line
    -Switch hips and push with arm overhooking to sweep

Rolling - 10x 4 minute rounds, no rest

-REALLY good roll today. Had a fantastic time
    -First and last roll with Will, was really happy with my defence during the last one. He kept playing S-mount working towards an arm bar and I kept getting back to my back and switching to the other side trying to create space. Pulled back to half guard a few times doing it, got a couple of guards too
    -Good roll with Big Andy too. He's around 120kg and tall with massive f*cking everythings so he's a tough lad. Kept pulling back to guard really well with him and didn't leave anything too obvious open. He nailed me with a good head and arm choke from top. As soon as my elbow came off the mat I knew I was f*Cked. Took him a while to work to it, but he had hte arm and was patient with it
    -Got a really nice short choke on Brian as well when I took his back. Drilled it a fair bit with Barry during the week so it was nice to pull it off in a roll
    -Pulled a few nice arm bars, my S mount set up for them is still really soft, but it's improving
    -Rolled with a lad who has his first ever full roll tonight and he reminded me of how muh I've progressed. He was doing everything I did - panicing in positions, CONSTANTLY working and trying to move about etc etc... First time I've seen it in someone else and I can see now why I was so b*lloxed during my first rolls. I've a better sense now of when to push and when I can rest for a bit :) Be cool watching him to see how he comes along

Conditioning

Prowler:
    120kg - 15 trips in 10 minutes

So... boxing was shocking. I'm getting VERY frustrated.

BJJ was savage. Really happy with it.

Conditioning was beast too. Happy out to do that after 40 minute of solid rolling and everything else before.

Feeling really good and in a great groove with training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 M.Pellet

195881_10150104105158354_538813353_6432503_3409933_n.jpg

The guy on the right with his gi open is being foolish and disrespecting the rest of the class.

Martial arts is about discipline,not ego..i hope the instructors took him to task.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

I actually think he's just a bit simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

He looks ****ing awesome though.

M.Pellet wrote: »
    The guy on the right with his gi open is being foolish and disrespecting the rest of the class.

Martial arts is about discipline,not ego..i hope the instructors took him to task.

I agree. What an a$$hole. He should have been doing the 'big neck' pose instead, and just disrespecting Grant. I'll have words with him next time I see him.

I actually think he's just a bit simple.

True.
    [-0-] wrote: »
    He looks ****ing awesome though.

True.

<<You gotta get free...>>

White Collar Boxing

Few rounds of knee taps

Few rounds of foot stands

5x 1 minute rounds of body sparring

Bag work - 1-2's, 1-2-slip-right, 2-1-2

Ab circuit to finish

Tougher session tonight. The body sparring was tough tonight. thre were 10 guys in the ring so you were constantly throwing cos space was so tight. Few lads throwing a lot harder than necessary. And very eager to come forward and pepper you with big shots. Not so eager once they get a few back.

Day 2 of the diet. Going well!

<<The wonderland...>>

BJJ

Tekkers

-Scarf hold escapes again
    -Same as last time except grabbing the collar with your underhook when you're on top and grabbing the belt instead of blocking the hip on bottom
    -Bridge, shift, knee under - this time the guy blocks by rebasing, you shrimp towards him with your hips to create space

Rolling - 5x 7 minute rounds

-nice light rolls tonight, nothing crazy or intense

Conditioning

Prowler Suicides:
    50kg x10 efforts in 10 minutes

Accuracy Training

-20 minute multilevel block, open and closed chain

Agility, response and reaction block

-2x single elimination tournament style 5 point rounds - 2 wins outta 2 rounds

Accuracy Training

-20 minute multilevel block, open and closed chain

Agility, response and reaction block

-2x single elimination tournament style 5 point rounds - 2 wins outta 2 rounds
    we actually did a good 5 mins more accuracy training towards the end. It was with an eyeline target rather than an elevated one.

Yesterday - 45 minute conditioning session on my tobler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Yesterday - 45 minute conditioning session on my tobler

Does that mean you had a ****?

As if I'd last 45 minutes.

Actually... http://izismile.com/2010/11/22/girls_with_some_serious_abs_83_pics.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Saw it already. On Rail.

girls_with_some_640_82.jpg

<<Haven't you head....??>>

Boxing - 6x 90 second rounds w/ 45 second recovery
    -Worked on throwing faster jabs and keeping my shoulders rolled up and ear tucked in as I threw to prevent myself getting thwacked
    -Boxed my way otu of trouble with jabs a few times today when John was coming forward, was really nice to see it being effective - gives me confidence to try it again
    -Need to throw straighter with my right arm, keep hooking/just tossing it, I'm taking things one session at a time. Jab was better today, movement next time, then rights
    -John clocked me with a nice shot to the temple when I swung and missed with a hook... did't hurt, but gave me my first exp of being a tiny bit cloudy for a few seconds

BJJ - Tekkers
    -gi work tonight... I hate the gi
    -Barry did a rules clinic and showed us a few nice sweeps from lying on your a*s
    -(assuming Im lookin at the guy here, so his ACTUAL sides are opposite)... first was grab right sleeve w/ right hand, right collar left hand, on right hip w/ right foot jammed into his right side hip w/ constant pressure, grab right side heel as he steps forward w/ pinky on mat, then left foot butterflys the inside of his left left, push & pull.. dude falls down
    -second was if he steps back from the butterfly, go left foot to right hip, shrimp forward thru and dynamically apply force to the back of his supporting leg with your right, dude goes down
    -Rolled with Grant for a bit

Shoulder stability
    3 rounds of:
    Overhead scap shrugs w/ 60kg x15
    Scap pull ups x15
    Scap push ups x15
    Inverted scap rows x15

Trained on 1,000kcals after being up for the 12 hours today and mentally was not there at all. Embarrassing performance on the mats tbh.

Boxing was better tonight. Moving about ok, using punches to get out of trouble rather than covering and running, following my jabs a lil bit better, but sh!t tonnes more to work on... Feel a bit better for it today. Sparred 2x the length of the actual WCB fiht and it was grand. First few rounds were easy with the pace gradually being picked up.

Lots of training to do tomorrow, gonna make sure i'm well fed.

<<It's not cheating if she's f*cking me...>>

Warm Up

Foam Rolling

Lunge/sumo walk/quad walk/hamstring walk/leg swing/groin rotations x2

Bag rounds 3x 2 minutes w/ 45 seconds

Team Conditioning

5 minute block, 5 rounds:
    36kg KB squat x10
    24kg KB row x5 e/s
    16kg KB press x5 e/s
    push ups x10

*2 minute break*

5 minute block - 5/6 person team doing rounds of:
    80kg prowler
    40kg prowler
    40kg KB carry

*2 minute break*

3 rounds of each... nice

BJJ

-Tekkers again... learned how to guillotine
    -Got a nice RNC on Joe, the whole keeping my choking hand there and using the free hand to fight off grips worked well
    -Grant showed me some stuff for taking back from guard, nice little arm bar set up too, and how to get guillotine from there

Fairly light session all in all today. Bag work was better, bopping side to side and striking.

Sunday - off

Felt like crap and needed a rest

<<This may be bad…>>

Foam Rolled for a bit

Striking – 60 minutes
    -2 minute on, 15 seconds off x2: skipping and bag work
    -Front leg kick to set up right hand, just trying to snap the hip over while keeping the hands up to disrupt the dude before coming in for a big right
    -100 kicks, 300 punches and 100 kicks to finish

BJJ

Tekkers – 70ish minutes
    -warm ups
    -trying to avoid head taps while going for technical stand up
    -dude lies in guard, you sit up w/ hands on head and he tries to break posture using legs only

GUARD PASS
    -see which side he favours/will try to sweep on
    -control hips (or that side hand)
    -step deep to that side and rotate to break guard, hip in to throw legs over, can use hands
    -shin goes to bottom leg, underhook and overhook, work to mount from there

Rolling – 6x 5 minute rounds
    -grand sesh last night, rolled fairly light
    -managed to hit the sweep from scarf hold we drilled last week, which was nice
    -went thru some Kimura stuff from guard w/ Barry and Shane afterwards and had a quick light roll with Tom and picked up some tips on controlling w/ crossface and defending against

Conditioning

2 Prowlers (120kg and 60kg):
    120kg x1 trip up and back, straight into, 80kg x1 trip up and back x6 (going every 90 seconds)

Good training last night. Ended up getting in early from work. Was gonna do some bag rounds but there was a teen striking class starting so asked Barry if I could jump in there and played with them.

Had a good chat with Shane about progression and logging hours as well as just tekkers. Gonna have a look back over my log since January and pull together total mat time and start logging from there.

Rolling was alright – nothing mad done, just tipping away. Did my usual half guard, twist, drag my leg out, side control, knee on belly, mount, keylock game a few times… Need to find something new. Pulled off a couple of arm bars and got a kimura… see the trend? Kept going for guillotines from guard, but no one was letting me…. Got my back taken at one point too and managed to get my shoulders to the mat and escape back to half guard

Anesh was the only one up for conditioning so it was cool to have someone to do a bit with for once.

And I wanna go to Thailand for a month long training camp when my contract with work finishes next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

Please stop saying tekkers...for me...I'm begging you...seriously stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

I was just about to ask what that word even means. And keep thinking, at first glance, that you're now playing Tekken or something as training.

That or something to do with technique. Kers.

Tekkers is phaggotry.