Best excuse you've given to a cop?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

When myself and my two mates were 17 we decided after a night of drinking bottles in a field that it would be HILARIOUS for us to plant the parasol from a friends back garden, in her front garden.

When we got to her house in a small estate around 2am, we couldn't get into her back garden because of a 6ft gate blocking access to her backgarden with nothing to climb on.

HOWEVER, her next door neighbor's gate had metal bars running across it so was easier to climb over with the plan to hop the wall after that. While trying to lift my mate over the gate, we never heard the unmarked car pull up behind us. Heard "Well Lads, what are you at?"

Knowing how dodgy it looked and how bad our excuse for doing it was, I came up with:
    "We're trying to get to the house party"

And my mate followed up with:
    "We left our parasol there"

Guard looks from us to pitch black house and points out there's no house party.

Last mate says:
    "Party must be on tomorrow" and swaggers off into the night and the guard tells me and my friend to follow him fairly sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

EL_Loco wrote: »
    I got stopped in the car and asked for my license. It was soon after the law was brought in that you had to have it on you if you were driving. There was such a fuss made over it at the time I genuinely thought the law didn't get passed.

So I said that to the guard, "I didn't think they passed that law"

He said "well they did"

I looked at him and shrugged. Car was taxed and insured, so he let me continue. I still don't have my license with me when I drive, in fact, I haven't seen it in a while. Will have to have a look for it.

i just noticed you have only made 646 posts in 9 years...for shame!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

i just noticed you have only made 646 posts in 9 years...for shame!:D

Dare I claim quality over quantity?? probably not. ;) back on topic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

would be funnier if it wasn't for the stupid canned laughter...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

got stopped in the bus lane last year and given a ticket.

Got stopped in the same bus lane by a female gardai in Janaury, so she says "I take it you know why i stopped you" Yes i was in the bus lane, "why were you in the bus lane" I tell her my reasons (its a really stupid road layout sufficed to say.

so she says "yes it is a bit crazy but the rules are the rules etc" I whip out my license and my surname is the same as the name of my street. I've also been told i have a country accent..

So she asks when did i move up from home, i'm like wtf, she says how long are you living in Dublin, i say all my life. She says did you come up here for school or college. I'm like no i am born and bred in dublin i just dont have a D4/Skanger accent. She proceeds to flirt with me then, i give her a cheeky wink and she says off with you and i have your address.

I never heard from her though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Got stopped with no road tax, told the Garda I was getting rid of the car in three days and didn't see the point in paying for 3 more months road tax. He let me off easily enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

Calling BS

Really? It's not the end of the world if you don't believe me inspector cluso.... ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

About 10 years back I was managing a pub and was hooring it home after work across Kilakee (Dublin Mountains) when, to my surprise, a car came up behind me so I gave it more loud. I knew the roads well and was driving a fast-ish car so started to gain some space when the blues went on. Pulled in and unmarked car came around and hemmed me in. The boys jumped out and started giving out lingo. Told them I was key holder of a pub and was scared on a lonely road with a car up my ass, hence my speed, so they backed down and said ok, fair enough, forgetting that it was my speeding which prompted them to follow me in the first place. Got back into their car and off they went down the road in front of me. Low and behold at the next junction there was a car in flames left from joyriders! :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

"But your wife was asking for it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Got stopped with no tax one time (was about 5 or 6 months out of date). Told the garda the car had been off the road because I'd broke my ankles after an accident cycling through the woods :D He proceeded to tell me a story about his friend who fell down the stairs and all the injuries he got etc etc. Waved goodnight to me and I was off free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Younger cousin told me this one. Himself and 'the boys' were caught drinkin round the back of the estate last weekend.
    Guard: "Well lads, whats in the cans?"
    Cousin's friend: "Me own piss."
    Guard: "Looks like cans of Bud Light to me."
    Cousin: "Could you tell the difference?"
    Guard: "Not really no, but I find the thought of ye drinking yer own piss a bit stranger than drinking cans at the back of an estate. Go home."