Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

threat to blockade the whole of Ireland

• 08-03-2011 02:14PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

John Mclaughin the instigator of the latest fuel protests has threatened to blockade the whole of Ireland if the government doesn't address the surge of diesel prices within three weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Source? And how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Sign me up.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'll give Enda a call so and get him to send the Rangers to Libya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

He is gonna pallet wrap the country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

kippy wrote: »

Surely a haulier wouldn't give a monkeys about petrol prices, it would be diesel he would care about? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

kippy wrote: »

Let them off! Could work if they blocade ports like they did in France a couple of years back.

Bit of a non story for the moment though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Porridgemonster

Ireland will probably follow Spains example as well :rolleyes:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-12663092

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I was reading some report a while back saying you could push and push and push the Irish and we'll do nothing. But push too much and we'll well and truly flip! Is €1.50 on fuel the breaking point?

They're gonna have to do something about it before people start acting out but where will they make up the revenue? They could always put it on fruit or something!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I was reading some report a while back saying you could push and push and push the Irish and we'll do nothing. But push too much and we'll well and truly flip! Is €1.50 on fuel the breaking point?

They're gonna have to do something about it before people start acting out but where will they make up the revenue? They could always put it on fruit or something!:D
    Well if nothing is done now it will be €2/litre very soon.

Ive already seen 153.9 this morning

Its just a sickener that the majority is tax and not fuel. We keep going on about "peak oil", however the reality is that we are no-where near that yet.... we are just raped with duties, taxes, and taxes on taxes, on fuel costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

Isn't the base price for Petrol something around the 60c mark? Then when you add the various taxes is pops up to €1.50....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Shane732 wrote: »
    Isn't the base price for Petrol something around the 60c mark? Then when you add the various taxes is pops up to €1.50....

A little less at 53c a litre according to Pumps.ie:

Current average petrol price: 149.9
    Current Vat: 26.02c/litre
    Fixed Duty: 59.622c/litre
    Government take: 85.64c/litre
    Cost before tax & duty: 64.26c/litre
    Retailer & distributor margin (est): 11c/litre
    Base petrol price (est): 53.26

http://www.pumps.ie/FAQPricesExplained.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

if they cut the duty on petrol/diesel, they'll just make the shortfall back up in motor tax increases, or some other motor-related payment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Well if nothing is done now it will be €2/litre very soon.

Ive already seen 153.9 this morning

Where was that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Mc Love wrote: »
    Where was that?
    The N2 Just past glasnevin cemetary.

There are two garages one after the other, the first one was 153.9 and the second was 149.9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

if he blockades me I will punchade him in the balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Absurdum wrote: »
    if he blockades me I will punchade him in the balls

Blockades are a waste of time in this country unless the working person and everyone else joins the Truckers and I cannot see people doing that. He already had a protest in Donegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The government should remove the "carbon tax" part of the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I hope he does it, and it does well. Taxation on fuel really needs to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

if they cut the duty on petrol/diesel, they'll just make the shortfall back up in motor tax increases, or some other motor-related payment....
    A flat tax twice a year compared to a percentage of the amount of fuel which you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭flanzer

The government wouldn't take the initiative and remove any tax off the fuel price. We always wait for others to take the initiative and, in this case I'd say they're waiting for the Americans to go in and take Gaddafi out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Fair play to him, and I hope more ordinary people join in.

Fuel prices are beyond a joke at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Fair play to him, and I hope more ordinary people join in.

Fuel prices are beyond a joke at this stage.

http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/Motoring-advice/Petrol-Prices.aspx

They're not too bad in the Grand Scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

"...he has said that hauliers will bring the country to a standstill if the problem is not tackled."

Well, that's one way to save fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    "...he has said that hauliers will bring the country to a standstill if the problem is not tackled."

Well, that's one way to save fuel.

Everyone else like the plumber/taximan/bus man ordinary worker should join them and then you would have results. 50 or 60 lorries parked on the M50 is a waste of time and will only pisx of guards and motorists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

All of those countries have far better roads and infrastructures in general than us.

*yes I know the money from fuel & motor tax conveniently isn't ringfenced into the upkeep of the roads, but why isn't it?*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

How is Latvia only 84c!?!:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    How is Latvia only 84c!?!:eek::eek::eek:

84 lats is 118.53 euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Motor tax is only a quarter of what we pay annually in most of those countries...