Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

threat to blockade the whole of Ireland

• 08-03-2011 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

John Mclaughin the instigator of the latest fuel protests has threatened to blockade the whole of Ireland if the government doesn't address the surge of diesel prices within three weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Source? And how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Sign me up.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭kippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'll give Enda a call so and get him to send the Rangers to Libya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

He is gonna pallet wrap the country....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

kippy wrote: »

Surely a haulier wouldn't give a monkeys about petrol prices, it would be diesel he would care about? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

kippy wrote: »

Let them off! Could work if they blocade ports like they did in France a couple of years back.

Bit of a non story for the moment though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Porridgemonster

Ireland will probably follow Spains example as well :rolleyes:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-12663092

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I was reading some report a while back saying you could push and push and push the Irish and we'll do nothing. But push too much and we'll well and truly flip! Is €1.50 on fuel the breaking point?

They're gonna have to do something about it before people start acting out but where will they make up the revenue? They could always put it on fruit or something!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I was reading some report a while back saying you could push and push and push the Irish and we'll do nothing. But push too much and we'll well and truly flip! Is €1.50 on fuel the breaking point?

They're gonna have to do something about it before people start acting out but where will they make up the revenue? They could always put it on fruit or something!:D
    Well if nothing is done now it will be €2/litre very soon.

Ive already seen 153.9 this morning

Its just a sickener that the majority is tax and not fuel. We keep going on about "peak oil", however the reality is that we are no-where near that yet.... we are just raped with duties, taxes, and taxes on taxes, on fuel costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭Shane732

Isn't the base price for Petrol something around the 60c mark? Then when you add the various taxes is pops up to €1.50....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Shane732 wrote: »
    Isn't the base price for Petrol something around the 60c mark? Then when you add the various taxes is pops up to €1.50....

A little less at 53c a litre according to Pumps.ie:

Current average petrol price: 149.9
    Current Vat: 26.02c/litre
    Fixed Duty: 59.622c/litre
    Government take: 85.64c/litre
    Cost before tax & duty: 64.26c/litre
    Retailer & distributor margin (est): 11c/litre
    Base petrol price (est): 53.26

http://www.pumps.ie/FAQPricesExplained.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

if they cut the duty on petrol/diesel, they'll just make the shortfall back up in motor tax increases, or some other motor-related payment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Well if nothing is done now it will be €2/litre very soon.

Ive already seen 153.9 this morning

Where was that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Mc Love wrote: »
    Where was that?
    The N2 Just past glasnevin cemetary.

There are two garages one after the other, the first one was 153.9 and the second was 149.9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

if he blockades me I will punchade him in the balls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Absurdum wrote: »
    if he blockades me I will punchade him in the balls

Blockades are a waste of time in this country unless the working person and everyone else joins the Truckers and I cannot see people doing that. He already had a protest in Donegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The government should remove the "carbon tax" part of the price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I hope he does it, and it does well. Taxation on fuel really needs to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

if they cut the duty on petrol/diesel, they'll just make the shortfall back up in motor tax increases, or some other motor-related payment....
    A flat tax twice a year compared to a percentage of the amount of fuel which you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

The government wouldn't take the initiative and remove any tax off the fuel price. We always wait for others to take the initiative and, in this case I'd say they're waiting for the Americans to go in and take Gaddafi out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Fair play to him, and I hope more ordinary people join in.

Fuel prices are beyond a joke at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Fair play to him, and I hope more ordinary people join in.

Fuel prices are beyond a joke at this stage.

http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/Motoring-advice/Petrol-Prices.aspx

They're not too bad in the Grand Scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

"...he has said that hauliers will bring the country to a standstill if the problem is not tackled."

Well, that's one way to save fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    "...he has said that hauliers will bring the country to a standstill if the problem is not tackled."

Well, that's one way to save fuel.

Everyone else like the plumber/taximan/bus man ordinary worker should join them and then you would have results. 50 or 60 lorries parked on the M50 is a waste of time and will only pisx of guards and motorists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

All of those countries have far better roads and infrastructures in general than us.

*yes I know the money from fuel & motor tax conveniently isn't ringfenced into the upkeep of the roads, but why isn't it?*

How is Latvia only 84c!?!:eek::eek::eek:

84 lats is 118.53 euros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Motor tax is only a quarter of what we pay annually in most of those countries...

84 lats is 118.53 euros

Ah right - I missed that! Anyone know how much 4.89 Zloty's are?

**its written on the bloody page** :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Petrol prices are really only coming into line with the rest of Europe at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lads, its all good and well saying to reduce the duty on fuel. So what happens after that when there is a shortfall in the exchequer? Slap it onto motor tax, people will then be looking for that to be reduced too. The shortfall has to made back so they move on to making the money back by closing hospitals, etc. People will then go out and protest against that too. The cylce continues. I hate paying the current fuel prices the same as the next person but unless there is a realistic alternative without the loss in tax revenue gained from fuel duty then I cannot see any incoming Government entertaining the notion.

To use a metaphor, FG/Labour have just been given the keys to a crumbling house, they are not about to pull a brick out from one of the supporting walls.

Petrol prices are really only coming into line with the rest of Europe at this stage.

See my post above.. people are charged based on how much they drive, not how much they own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

www.xe.com

bazz26 wrote: »
    Lads, its all good and well saying to reduce the duty on fuel. So what happens after that when there is a shortfall in the exchequer? Slap it onto motor tax, people will then be looking for that to be reduced too. The shortfall has to made back so they move on to making the money back by closing hospitals, etc. People will then go out and protest against that too. The cylce continues.

I hate paying the current fuel prices too but unless there is a realistic alternative without the loss in tax revenue gained from fuel duty then I cannot see any incoming Government entertaining the notion.

To use a metaphor, FG/Labour have just been given the keys to a crumbling house, they are not about to pull a brick out from one of the supporting walls.

The problem is not with how much Ireland is taking in.. there will be a tax on air coming soon I wouldn't be surprised.

Social welfare benefits, rent allowance, etc. - they government are promoting doing nothing in this country as you are nearly better off than working in some instances.

They are spending too much!

mawk wrote: »
    www.xe.com

€1.23

While I find our prices a little extreme it's not that bad when you consider Eastern European countries where the avg wage is a fraction of ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,047 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

There is no shortfall, the budget accounted for petrol retailing at around €1.30 a litre, they simply need to max the duty payable up to a rate of €1.30 a litre and exempt any duties over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭alanclarke1975

11 c estimated is the Retailers margin.

My ar$e

How come i bought Diesel at 1.409 in one place and my Local Fuel Supplier is looking 1.479

Thats a 7 cent a litre difference. I put 45 quid into the car. Roughly 32 litres

The same amount would of cost me €47.3 from my local fella.

100 cars a day * 6 Days a week. - thats over 1000 euro a week in rip off profit...

My ar$e

How come i bought Diesel at 1.409 in one place and my Local Fuel Supplier is looking 1.479

Thats a 7 cent a litre difference. I put 45 quid into the car. Roughly 32 litres

100 cars a day * 6 Days a week. - thats over 1000 euro a week in rip off profit...

Its a 10 cent margin here in NL.
    You might find one garage with a 10cent discount for 1 week, they do a coast and burn
    I.E. get a load of people in one week and then the next week as people will stop anyway.
    Usually they'll try and hock some other stuff (Coffee cups food, sweets etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

think McLaughlin cares little about petrol prices. He is seeking some derogation on fuel hikes for haulage firms which should benefit everyone.

No chance of a cut in petrol prices I'm afraid which hurts rural dwellers most.

My ar$e

Actually, if I'm not mistaken 11c is a little generous. Most petrol stations make very small margin on fuel, there money is made with sale of coffee, papers, deli, etc.

There's a user here Hammertime that is an operator in the business and IIRC he says mark up is 2.5-7.5%, averaging around the 5% mark. Therefore the average GP on a litre @ €1.50 / litre would be 7.5c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭996tt

bazz26 wrote: »
    Lads, its all good and well saying to reduce the duty on fuel. So what happens after that when there is a shortfall in the exchequer? Slap it onto motor tax, people will then be looking for that to be reduced too. The shortfall has to made back so they move on to making the money back by closing hospitals, etc. People will then go out and protest against that too. The cylce continues. I hate paying the current fuel prices the same as the next person but unless there is a realistic alternative without the loss in tax revenue gained from fuel duty then I cannot see any incoming Government entertaining the notion.

Carbon levy was introduced in 2010 budget(so december 2009) when average petrol prices were 1.20, they are now 1.50 and rising fast, if they get rid of the carbon levy they will still make their carbon levy tax target(set in 2010) on the vat portion of the increase alone(ignoring the other taxes);

VAT @21%
    Increase in price per litre between now and dec 09= 30c
    => Comparing December 2009 to now the government are getting over 0.06c extra per litre for petrol because of the price increase alone(this is ignoring the VAT that they also get on the 1.20 portion)

There is no shortfall, the budget accounted for petrol retailing at around €1.30 a litre, they simply need to max the duty payable up to a rate of €1.30 a litre and exempt any duties over this.
    996tt wrote: »
    Carbon levy was introduced in 2010 budget(so december 2009) when average petrol prices were 1.20, they are now 1.50 and rising fast, if they get rid of the carbon levy they will still make their carbon levy tax target(set in 2010) on the vat portion of the increase alone(ignoring the other taxes);

VAT @21%
    => Comparing December 2009 to now the government are getting over 0.06c extra per litre for petrol because of the price increase alone(this is ignoring the VAT that they also get on the 1.20 portion)

Very good points there. If the new government actually sat down and made a gesture to the motorist that ensured we would pay no extra carbon tax etc despite rises in fuel they would I reckon reap the rewards in the next election. A little gesture would go along way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

996tt wrote: »

VAT @21%

they should just turn most / all of the duty on diesel into VAT , that way the retarded new breed of tax sheep diesel lovers who bought cars post 08 to do a few miles will be hit and hauliers, reps, self employed people and other businesses wont be hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

Well if you can't afford the cost of the fuel for your car, Simply don't drive! QED!

Just walk or get on your bike! If you were conned into moving out to Cavan, Carlow, Kildare etc... and commute to work in Dublin.

Quit your job or get diggs in the three R's.:D Only joking, seriously the new Mopets we recently elected. Have to reduce or suspend the excise duty on fuel.

Or there are going to have thousands more on the DOLE due to fuel poverty!

that way the retarded new breed of tax sheep diesel lovers who bought cars post 08 to do a few miles

Dude, even I wouldn't say that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

My ar$e

It's not 11 cents for the retailer, it's 11 cents for the retailer and distributors, shared between them. Not a great margin to be honest.
    The bulk of a retailers income comes from shop sales. The guy with the cheaper prices probably has lower overheads and/or better shop sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

slimjimmc wrote: »
    It's not 11 cents for the retailer, it's 11 cents for the retailer and distributors, shared between them. Not a great margin to be honest.
    The bulk of a retailers income comes from shop sales. The guy with the cheaper prices probably has lower overheads and/or better shop sales.

I know one person who runs a petrol station (Amber) and he thinks the price is a joke. He makes just 3cent for every litre he sells. This 3 cent a litre has to cover people putting in say €20.03 and only paying €20 and of course the ever rising scourge of drive offs that only effect the retailer.

An interesting comment from a poster on breaking news gave the break down of figures as
    Current average petrol price: 151.9
    Current Vat: 26.36c/litre
    Fixed Duty: 59.622c/litre
    Government take: 85.98c/litre
    Cost before tax & duty: 65.92c/litre
    Retailer & distributor margin (est): 11c/litre
    Base petrol price (est): 54.92

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/hauliers-will-bring-country-to-standstill-over-petrol-prices-496389.html#idc-cover#ixzz1G2My2E9L

Quite simply it is up to the incoming government to reduce the duty/vat/carbon tax (I love how the put down different names its all bloody tax)