Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG Week Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

ciano1 wrote: »
    Gort na Coiribe was crazy tonight! About 3 garda cars, 3 Garda vans and a fire brigade came to put out a fire.

As for the guards being hostile.. They were literally man handling people (especially girls) if they had any drink.. They were pulling bottles from peoples hands and smashing them right in front of them! Really no need for that kind of carry on!!

They were telling people they didnt like the look of "You can f*ckin say goodbye to any possible future career if I have have to look at you again"

Good.
    That has cheered me up no end.

Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

This Guards v. Mad Students debate is very slightly reminiscent of the craic there used to be up in the north, in that neither side is really right for different reasons and either side has many a willing participant who could act the spastic at any given time, after which things really start to go to ****e.

I personally think it's a good idea to give the shades a very wide berth during rag week and just have the craic without acting the b*llocks (at least not in public)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

spiralism wrote: »
    This Guards v. Mad Students debate is very slightly reminiscent of the craic there used to be up in the north, in that neither side is really right for different reasons and either side has many a willing participant who could act the spastic at any given time, after which things really start to go to ****e.

I personally think it's a good idea to give the shades a very wide berth during rag week and just have the craic without acting the b*llocks (at least not in public)

No no, I think you will find that the gardai are quite right in this respect. Firstly, this is the second time the fire brigade has had to come to Gort/Dun na coiribe in as many days. Secondly, many professionals who do have work in morning live there and have a right not to be disturbed by drunken gob****es (student myself so not tarring all with same brush). Thirdly, it is illegal to drink on the street in galway.

Agree 100% with your second point. Why should we not be able to have the craic without going too wild. I am certain that most galway residents dont mind most of the craic that goes on during rag week ie shouting, singing, bit of falling around . Its the minority that start breaking stuff and burning stuff and generally acting like scumbags that gets the gardai and local residents riled up.

Da_Doc wrote: »
    No no, I think you will find that the gardai are quite right in this respect. Firstly, this is the second time the fire brigade has had to come to Gort/Dun na coiribe in as many days. Secondly, many professionals who do have work in morning live there and have a right not to be disturbed by drunken gob****es (student myself so not tarring all with same brush). Thirdly, it is illegal to drink on the street in galway.

Agree 100% with your second point. Why should we not be able to have the craic without going too wild. I am certain that most galway residents dont mind most of the craic that goes on during rag week ie shouting, singing, bit of falling around . Its the minority that start breaking stuff and burning stuff and generally acting like scumbags that gets the gardai and local residents riled up.

Pretty much agree with all that, i just think that this week the guards are used to serious boll*cks acting and are in no mood to show any sort of tolerance

It's right at times too as there is a sizable contingent of students acting like complete animals during rag week that need to be dealt with. However most people are just having the craic and all it takes is to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.... people just need to have a bit of sense and have the craic without completely acting like a fool, and most of all, the guards should not be given a reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Da_Doc wrote: »

You're right on all of this but at the same time Gardai should be forced to enforce the law consistently, drinking on the street is as you say illegal but that is only ever practised during rag week and last year I saw it on paddy's day, but I think that was only in certain areas where tourists might pass by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Conormcl

Haven't been out in galway in ages and I have a friend over from america next week. i want to show him some real irish drinking! where is good to go out in Galway Wednesday and thursdays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

I was driving across the bridge after 5pm and the green of Dun Na Coiribe was littered with stuff. There were also several Garda cars and a wagon in attendance. While crossing the bridge, there were several drunken groups going by... Anyone care to enlighten us?

This is what they were at I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 piotrish

who cares about rag week Ireland just beat England at Cricket

the lads 2sbr6ms.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

This is what they were at I think.
    Thanks for posting that. ~12 seconds in is what I've come to hate about RAG week and drunken fools generally: Random shouting... it's a pet hate of mine. I love a drink as much as the next man, but, seriously, wtf? "I know what will make this so much more fun, shouting at the top of my lungs!" :rolleyes: I feel for the non-student residents in Dun.

piotrish wrote: »

the lads 2sbr6ms.gif

Beat me to it by a hair haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

Well?

Personally i think emma conway should spank all your bottoms

Some woeful giving out on Rte radio 1 earlier about rag week in Galway, interestingly enough...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Croppy Bhoy

I'm a firm believer in allowing people to do whatever they want so long as it does not affect other people. That goes for everything, drink, drugs, the lot. If some people can't manage to do that then they obviously need to be rounded up, but I do not appreciate being treated like a piece of shíte by some arséhole in a gammy uniform just because it's Rag Week. It takes a certain type of someone to want to join the Gardaí, and their true colours really come to light when they're given full remit to wave their authority in your face.
    piotrish wrote: »

the lads
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSvE7jcMXrO2tXrG_gjmSpsNfFP_tOqbb-lC0XBiR-UA1u10etq&t=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I'm sure that's pretty tame, but it's a fúcking disgrace.

More giving out in a feature on rag week on RTE news, the days of rag week in Galway may well be numbered (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Seen ye on the news, ye mad bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

More giving out in a feature on rag week on RTE news, the days of rag week in Galway may well be numbered (again)

Oh no (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Is it actually mostly Nuig students causing the trouble or is it students from other colleges up for the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Columc

yer man! wrote: »
    Is it actually mostly Nuig students causing the trouble or is it students from other colleges up for the week?

I know students from GMIT didnt go out their rag week(last week) cause they wanted to save money/energy for this rag week and I know students from UL and UCC came up for the week also, also heared sligo/mayo and kerry people are in galway drinking with friends and dont goto college. So who knows

Columc wrote: »
    I know students from GMIT didnt go out their rag week(last week) cause they wanted to save money/energy for this rag week and I know students from UL and UCC came up for the week also, also heared sligo/mayo and kerry people are in galway drinking with friends and dont goto college. So who knows

It's a combination of the things. Galway rag week's reputation precedes itself, half the country goes on about it, that it's mad, and that they will probably head down.... but it would still be pretty mad stuff without them coming anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭tommy249

Columc wrote: »

Thats hardly correct as its Rag Week in UL also so I wouldn't imagine too many from UL are in Galway.............

tommy249 wrote: »
    Thats hardly correct as its Rag Week in UL also so I wouldn't imagine too many from UL are in Galway.............

Plenty of students visit friends for a day or two (or a week!) during their Rag Weeks.

By and large, it's the "visitors" that act the absolute maggot. Obviously a lot of people in Galway do, but lads who are only up for the night aren't going to give a crap if they get barred from a club up here or anything. It's not just in RAG Week either, it happens during the year when people visit Galway too. Usually poshboys from Limerick feeling they have a hardman reputation to live up to :rolleyes:

Maybe it's cause that was like, my 4th rag week, but I see it as a week of good nights out with friends and the like. It's the people who decide they have to get absolutely twisted and scream RAGGG WEEEEKKK in your face that are doing it wrong.

NUI should dish out a bit of MDMA to everyone next year. Less mindless vandalism and more talkin shíte to the 300 best friends you made tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 davidmichael

tommy249 wrote: »

I think the SU's timed so that this would happen, keeps everyone at their own college. some of the stuff on youtube of Galway rag week is a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

I think the SU's timed so that this would happen, keeps everyone at their own college. some of the stuff on youtube of Galway rag week is a disgrace.
    I hadn't seen anything beyond what was posted earlier in Dun, but I did a quick search on YouTube and found this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVS-Y0DIeNk

I hadn't seen anything beyond what was posted earlier in Dun, but I did a quick search on YouTube and found this:

What a joke. There's a real malevolent intent to that like, that's way way out of order... fúcking arson like

Yeah my heart really goes out to the staff at Gort na Coirbe, I'm sure there won't be enough witheld deposits or excessive charges to fix a burnt patch of grass.

I'd be more inclined to feel sorry for the poor fúckers the garden belonged to than the Gort management tbh, the lads the house belonged to weren't even around when the fire was started I heard...
    Why, were they growing their own food in it or something?

Would you be pleased to have a huge bonfire with a crowd around it in your own back garden and need to call the fire brigade, as well as shelling out a small fortune to gort for the damages at the end of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

My house is only a few doors down, the state people left Gort na Coiribe in is a joke. Glad to be leaving in May.