Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG Week Thread

• 28-02-2011 9:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭

Thought it might be an idea to have a separate Rag Week Thread..... Just somewhere posters can tell of anything unusual, crazy or even downright mundane that happens around campus and town this week!!!

The weather looks like it's gonna be bright and sunny today which is a great start to the week:D

ENJOY the week everyone, drink sensibly (or even try) and stay safe:)

Gonna head to the College Bar later this lunchtime so will try to heed my own advice!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Some fool walking along outside past the house shouting already this morning...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

I awoke to a stranger using the shower and two more passed out in the kitchen.

Oh how I loathe this week.

Passed one squad car and one ambulance on the way in today. There were two narrowly avoided accidents as cars for some reason took corners on the wrong side of the road. Few signs/notices knocked down. The students seemed to be enjoying themselves though.

But... what's with the stupid shorts that all the guys are wearing? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Apparently there was some lads drinking Buckfast behind the chapel.

I think the expression is, "ahhhh byyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyysssssssssssssssssss".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Saw some lad in the bialinn that was clearly drunk and enjoying a subway before he went back out on the lash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Fisher Calhoun

I was driving across the bridge after 5pm and the green of Dun Na Coiribe was littered with stuff. There were also several Garda cars and a wagon in attendance. While crossing the bridge, there were several drunken groups going by... Anyone care to enlighten us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I was driving across the bridge after 5pm and the green of Dun Na Coiribe was littered with stuff. There were also several Garda cars and a wagon in attendance. While crossing the bridge, there were several drunken groups going by... Anyone care to enlighten us?

Obviously you were in control of a vehicle and bore witness to the authority of the State, some discarded packaging and some navigating inebriated individuals.

A couple of pigeons had wandered in the door at the far end of Smokey's and a trio of young chaps (in the aforementioned shorts, characteristic of this week) thought it would be a good idea to chase them around the place. Was it too much to ask for the pigeons to shít on them rather than the floor from the scare they got?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Croppy Bhoy

Sounds like the Gaurds doing their usual Rag Week act of being overly hostile and aggressive to absolutely anybody in Galway between the ages of 18-25, regardless of them breaking any laws or not. I guarantee you if they adopted this attitude for the rest of the year, Rag Week wouldn't be that 'bad' in terms of arrests.

Funny how they change their tune when it's Paddy's Day or Race Week.
    cianl1 wrote: »
    A couple of pigeons had wandered in the door at the far end of Smokey's and a trio of young chaps (in the aforementioned shorts, characteristic of this week) thought it would be a good idea to chase them around the place. Was it too much to ask for the pigeons to shít on them rather than the floor from the scare they got?
    They shat on the floor? Bahaha

Oh, any decent drink offers in the offys/supermarkets?

It's a shame that they know we'll all still buy a ton of sauce regardless of what they charge. Most shops order extra stock in for Rag Week so must surely benefit from some economies of scale there, but don't really pass it down to the consumer. Can't blame them I suppose.

20 Bud for €15 in Joyces. 12 Sol for €20.... €10 for the same in Dunnes lol

Sounds like the Gaurds doing their usual Rag Week act of being overly hostile and aggressive to absolutely anybody in Galway between the ages of 18-25, regardless of them breaking any laws or not. I guarantee you if they adopted this attitude for the rest of the year, Rag Week wouldn't be that 'bad' in terms of arrests.

Funny how they change their tune when it's Paddy's Day or Race Week.

Look at it from their view mate, it's a week full of boozed up yobs, some of whom are coked off their tits, in the middle of the day and only get worse and more aggressive as time wears on.

Paddy's day is a single isolated event that tragically has turned into "Paddy's week" where much of the same occurs but because it's only one official day they don't pay it much heed and as for Race week, the vast majority of students have left as well as the racecourse being on the far side of Galway.

Sounds like the Gaurds doing their usual Rag Week act of being overly hostile and aggressive to absolutely anybody in Galway between the ages of 18-25, regardless of them breaking any laws or not.

I'm still between the ages of 18 and 25, and had no issue with any guards I encountered today.

snubbleste wrote: »
    Obviously you were in control of a vehicle and bore witness to the authority of the State, some discarded packaging and some navigating inebriated individuals.
    Touché!

Seriously, though, was there anything crazy going on (like the massive assembly under the bridge last year) or was it just a preventative thing? It is quite unusual to see so many Guards together there. There were ~6 cars and the wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Teddy_Picker

Ficheall wrote: »

But... what's with the stupid shorts that all the guys are wearing? :confused:

Yes!! :eek: What is with those? :confused: Although they do serve as good indicators as to who to avoid! :p

Didn't see anything particularly outlandish myself, was treated to a magnificent choral rendition of the Teletubbies Say Eh-oh song outside the Arts building though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Any word on Corrib Village this year? Im sure it was still crazy as ever.

Had five incidences of people passing Smokey's who felt it necessary to point out that we were playing chess, and make devastatingly witty comments. The first of these was some auld fart with a guitar walking along with our dear SU president making some comment about 'showing intelligence' - you'd think some people would have more cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Ficheall wrote: »
    Had five incidences of people passing Smokey's who felt it necessary to point out that we were playing chess, and make devastatingly witty comments. The first of these was some auld fart with a guitar walking along with our dear SU president making some comment about 'showing intelligence' - you'd think some people would have more cop.
    Ya should have got that guitar, walk outside the entrance, smash it to bits on the railings and flake it into the canal below. Or alternatively smash it across his feeble old man legs, the pr*ck.

I could never smash a guitar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

So there's been no excitement? How disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

February 28, 2011 - 6:22pm

DISTURBANCES REPORTED AS RAG WEEK BEGINS

Galway Gardai attended the scene of disturbances at student accommodation in the city this afternoon.
    Gardai were called to Dun na Coiribe student accommodation on the Headford Road after disturbances were reported after 4 o'clock.
    No arrests were made but Galway Fire Brigade attended the scene to extinguish a bonfire.

Hopefully everyone has fun without getting themselves into trouble:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

Anyone hear a helicopter going around at bout midnight last night? Im hoping I imagined it or it was a few fellow students going for a joyride on a lawnmower cos only other explanation I can think of is someone went into the river.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Nice big bonfire in Dun na Corribe yesterday. Didn't have any feckin Marshmellows though. Lesson learned

Naked women wandering through Hazel Park yesterday. Elderly male residents complaining on the wireless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Naked women wandering through Hazel Park yesterday. Elderly male residents complaining on the wireless.

And naturally, you took a picture for your mates on boards.

Right?

Red_Wake wrote: »
    And naturally, you took a picture for your mates on boards.
    Right?

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

Wrong.

GTFO

Da_Doc wrote: »
    Anyone hear a helicopter going around at bout midnight last night? Im hoping I imagined it or it was a few fellow students going for a joyride on a lawnmower cos only other explanation I can think of is someone went into the river.

Heard it too, aye. No further word on it though.

Naked women wandering through Hazel Park yesterday.

FFS - typical of the day I'd go into college and do some work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭steel_spine

A classmate told me she saw a girl serenading a bin in the Bialann. I just missed that though.
    My favourite quote so far was a college bar bounce talking to a drunk girl - 'I'm not calling you a slut, I'm just stating facts' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Gort na Coiribe was crazy tonight! About 3 garda cars, 3 Garda vans and a fire brigade came to put out a fire.

As for the guards being hostile.. They were literally man handling people (especially girls) if they had any drink.. They were pulling bottles from peoples hands and smashing them right in front of them! Really no need for that kind of carry on!!

They were telling people they didnt like the look of "You can f*ckin say goodbye to any possible future career if I have have to look at you again"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

ciano1 wrote: »
    Gort na Coiribe was crazy tonight! About 3 garda cars, 3 Garda vans and a fire brigade came to put out a fire.

As for the guards being hostile.. They were literally man handling people (especially girls) if they had any drink.. They were pulling bottles from peoples hands and smashing them right in front of them! Really no need for that kind of carry on!!

They were telling people they didnt like the look of "You can f*ckin say goodbye to any possible future career if I have have to look at you again"

Good.
    That has cheered me up no end.

Scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

This Guards v. Mad Students debate is very slightly reminiscent of the craic there used to be up in the north, in that neither side is really right for different reasons and either side has many a willing participant who could act the spastic at any given time, after which things really start to go to ****e.

I personally think it's a good idea to give the shades a very wide berth during rag week and just have the craic without acting the b*llocks (at least not in public)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Da_Doc

spiralism wrote: »
    This Guards v. Mad Students debate is very slightly reminiscent of the craic there used to be up in the north, in that neither side is really right for different reasons and either side has many a willing participant who could act the spastic at any given time, after which things really start to go to ****e.

I personally think it's a good idea to give the shades a very wide berth during rag week and just have the craic without acting the b*llocks (at least not in public)

No no, I think you will find that the gardai are quite right in this respect. Firstly, this is the second time the fire brigade has had to come to Gort/Dun na coiribe in as many days. Secondly, many professionals who do have work in morning live there and have a right not to be disturbed by drunken gob****es (student myself so not tarring all with same brush). Thirdly, it is illegal to drink on the street in galway.

Agree 100% with your second point. Why should we not be able to have the craic without going too wild. I am certain that most galway residents dont mind most of the craic that goes on during rag week ie shouting, singing, bit of falling around . Its the minority that start breaking stuff and burning stuff and generally acting like scumbags that gets the gardai and local residents riled up.

No no, I think you will find that the gardai are quite right in this respect. Firstly, this is the second time the fire brigade has had to come to Gort/Dun na coiribe in as many days. Secondly, many professionals who do have work in morning live there and have a right not to be disturbed by drunken gob****es (student myself so not tarring all with same brush). Thirdly, it is illegal to drink on the street in galway.

Agree 100% with your second point. Why should we not be able to have the craic without going too wild. I am certain that most galway residents dont mind most of the craic that goes on during rag week ie shouting, singing, bit of falling around . Its the minority that start breaking stuff and burning stuff and generally acting like scumbags that gets the gardai and local residents riled up.

Pretty much agree with all that, i just think that this week the guards are used to serious boll*cks acting and are in no mood to show any sort of tolerance

It's right at times too as there is a sizable contingent of students acting like complete animals during rag week that need to be dealt with. However most people are just having the craic and all it takes is to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.... people just need to have a bit of sense and have the craic without completely acting like a fool, and most of all, the guards should not be given a reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

You're right on all of this but at the same time Gardai should be forced to enforce the law consistently, drinking on the street is as you say illegal but that is only ever practised during rag week and last year I saw it on paddy's day, but I think that was only in certain areas where tourists might pass by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Conormcl

Haven't been out in galway in ages and I have a friend over from america next week. i want to show him some real irish drinking! where is good to go out in Galway Wednesday and thursdays?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

This is what they were at I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 piotrish

who cares about rag week Ireland just beat England at Cricket

the lads 2sbr6ms.gif

This is what they were at I think.
    Thanks for posting that. ~12 seconds in is what I've come to hate about RAG week and drunken fools generally: Random shouting... it's a pet hate of mine. I love a drink as much as the next man, but, seriously, wtf? "I know what will make this so much more fun, shouting at the top of my lungs!" :rolleyes: I feel for the non-student residents in Dun.

piotrish wrote: »

the lads 2sbr6ms.gif

Beat me to it by a hair haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

Well?

Personally i think emma conway should spank all your bottoms

Some woeful giving out on Rte radio 1 earlier about rag week in Galway, interestingly enough...

I'm a firm believer in allowing people to do whatever they want so long as it does not affect other people. That goes for everything, drink, drugs, the lot. If some people can't manage to do that then they obviously need to be rounded up, but I do not appreciate being treated like a piece of shíte by some arséhole in a gammy uniform just because it's Rag Week. It takes a certain type of someone to want to join the Gardaí, and their true colours really come to light when they're given full remit to wave their authority in your face.
    piotrish wrote: »

the lads
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSvE7jcMXrO2tXrG_gjmSpsNfFP_tOqbb-lC0XBiR-UA1u10etq&t=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I'm sure that's pretty tame, but it's a fúcking disgrace.

More giving out in a feature on rag week on RTE news, the days of rag week in Galway may well be numbered (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Seen ye on the news, ye mad bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

spiralism wrote: »
    More giving out in a feature on rag week on RTE news, the days of rag week in Galway may well be numbered (again)

Oh no (again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

Is it actually mostly Nuig students causing the trouble or is it students from other colleges up for the week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Columc

yer man! wrote: »
    Is it actually mostly Nuig students causing the trouble or is it students from other colleges up for the week?

I know students from GMIT didnt go out their rag week(last week) cause they wanted to save money/energy for this rag week and I know students from UL and UCC came up for the week also, also heared sligo/mayo and kerry people are in galway drinking with friends and dont goto college. So who knows

Columc wrote: »
    I know students from GMIT didnt go out their rag week(last week) cause they wanted to save money/energy for this rag week and I know students from UL and UCC came up for the week also, also heared sligo/mayo and kerry people are in galway drinking with friends and dont goto college. So who knows

It's a combination of the things. Galway rag week's reputation precedes itself, half the country goes on about it, that it's mad, and that they will probably head down.... but it would still be pretty mad stuff without them coming anyways