I for one Welcome our new Fine Gael Overlords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

<Ollie> wrote: »
    But Enda has a five point plan, so we'll be grand!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 25 Alabama Slamma

What has knifeWRENCH and Enda have in common?
    They are both the names of tools

That was a joke

a bad one

I'll get my coat

thank god thats the Enda that...... Badoom..Pisssh

wait for me.. i'll get my coat too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

He's not my leader. I'm a lone wolf, man. I play by my own rules.
    Some bollocks named Enda ain't gonna stop that.

I'm goin' ta bed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

darkman2 wrote: »
    Tis not right......I mean that's a girls name. "Enda"....I don't know. Your all mad.:(

We should have a leader with an evil name like "Leo Varadkar" or "Darth Vader" if we wish to defeat the Germans.

Perhaps this 'Enda' you met wasn't originally a woman ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

So following a rightwing policy until it fails completely constitutes following a leftwing policy?

Also, for someone being condescending about the difference between left and right wing, you seem to have placed "deregulation" in the leftwing category. That'd be a big error.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

Pffft! His name isn't 'Enda'! His name is Jack Bristow! This is obviously a sting operation by the CIA. Try and keep up people!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I can't wait for the first international news typo of "Taoiseach Edna Kenny"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I think Taoisigh should have to change their names like Popes.

Imagine "Taoiseach Clint Power XXXI"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

A lot of Irish people, the x-factor generation I like to them, are so easily led.

As opposed to the Dancing at Crossroads generation, the Bosco Generation, the Emigrating Generation (1980s version) and every other generation since the birth of the state?

Seriously, look at the voting patterns for the last 90 years. Pensioners are still voting Fianna Fail and still will until they shuffle off this mortal coil because FF sold their organs as catfood while they were living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I'm sure his way will work the best, and if we're lucky, if we do it his way, we'll be better off, it's just getting to that stage really, get his way working. Get your Enda way, now.

darkman2 wrote: »
    Tis not right......I mean that's a girls name. "Enda"....I don't know. Your all mad.:(

We should have a leader with an evil name like "Leo Varadkar" or "Darth Vader" if we wish to defeat the Germans.

We need a good begging to Europe for cash name. Like Cowen, or Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

dotsman wrote: »
    I always laugh when people refer to Fianna Fail as a centre-right. With regards economic policy over the past 15 years, Fianna Fail very much ticked the box of left-wing. Hence the reason our economy collapsed.

Fianna Fail implemented some terrible leftwing policies and some terrible rightwing policies simultaneously.

Everything rightwing is not good and everything leftwing is not bad.The US economy also collapsed after 8 years of a very rightwing bush administration.

I always laugh when people refer to Fianna Fail as a centre-right. With regards economic policy over the past 15 years, Fianna Fail very much ticked the box of left-wing. Hence the reason our economy collapsed.

They deregulated markets trusting them to look after themselves. That's why we collapsed. Finance and building were unchecked, they went out of control, that's why we are in trouble. Right wing parties do that.

Where you might be confused is in their deals with unions, which weren't about ideology, they were about buying votes for elections, which is neither left nor right but the sort of filthy corruption FF are known for.

Left wing - the property market bubble was what was used to pay for the failed left wing economic policies

This is incredibly stupid. What they used the money for is unrelated to what they did to get the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

I don't think it's his first name that will give him trouble on the international stage, to be honest. Not when there's a more famous "Kenny" known for dying in every episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Noreen1

I don't welcome our new FG overlords. I'm happy to see that FF were decimated in the election, they deserved it, but I am very cautious about the prospect of a FG/Labour coalition.

Why?
    Well, on the one hand, Labour and FG, theoretically, should cancel out one anothers excesses, and leave us with a centrist Government. That's good for everyone, in theory.
    On the other hand, we would be left with a super strong Government - one that would be very, very, difficult to topple. (Remember FF clung on, despite the smallest of majorities:eek:)

Depending on how well the economy is managed, that might prove to be a real problem, from a Democratic viewpoint.

I'd prefer to see a FG/Independent coalition. That way, we have a very strong left opposition, that can, hopefully, prove effective.
    And we would not be left with a Government that would be impossible to topple, if their economic policy proves disastrous.

We'll just have to wait and see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,886 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

So following a rightwing policy until it fails completely constitutes following a leftwing policy?

Also, for someone being condescending about the difference between left and right wing, you seem to have placed "deregulation" in the leftwing category. That'd be a big error.

Here's a nice illustration of where our various parties lie on a left-centre-right axis.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I actually worked with a girl called Enda. Very uncommon though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Eminenda is what i'm calling him from now on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Copper23 wrote: »
    I just don't get this place.

For weeks all I hear is all the "Feck FF, etc, etc..." brigade wanting them out.

Try to point out to them that FG don't look like a much better prospect and you hear "Oh well it's better than the other option"

Now the counts aren't even done and people are already on here slagging off FG... and Labour for that matter...

Jesus, this is what ye all wanted for the last weeks/months.

If ye didn't there were plenty other options out there not to give FG so many seats as they appear to be getting so far.

Do people ever give over with this stuff?

People love a good whinge.

The way people go on you'd think every second person was on the breadine. There's still far more people working than unemployed. Also, a lot of the people who are unemployed are in an industry where the "nixer" culture has always existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭Owen

♩ ♪ ♫ ♬ And now ... the Enda's near ... ♩ ♪ ♫ ♬

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Noreen1 wrote: »
    I'd prefer to see a FG/Independent coalition.

That would be an utter disaster. Every time a bill was put forward to be passed the Indys would squeeze as much as they could out of it to make gains for their pet projects.

We need national politics not some clown holding the government to ransom trying to get a hospital built in his bum-**** constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Endascope

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

MarkR wrote: »
    I actually worked with a girl called Enda. Very uncommon though.

They do indeed exist, apparently to the one I know it's not rare...or a boy's name..

She's wrong though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Redlion wrote: »
    Give Fine Gael a year. They'll shoot themselves in the foot with their own policies, and that'll be when the demonstrations will start.

Yeah, I cant wait for a repeat of the violent attempts to overthrow the previous goverment! remember those guys who ruined the country and sold us to out the banks,developers et al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

It's Inda Kinny to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

Snakeblood wrote: »
    We need a good begging to Europe for cash name. Like Cowen, or Lenihan.
    sounds like "lend a hand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Namlub wrote: »
    I have never met a girl named Enda.

I've never met a girl named Sophia...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My friend's fiancé is called Enda and they were staying in a hotel in London and the receipt said Miss <my friend's name> and Miss Enda <her fiancé's surname>. :pac:

It does indeed sound like a girl's name - Edna meets Linda. Non Irish folk can totally be forgiven for thinking as such...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

its da enda da road for irish politics