Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I for one Welcome our new Fine Gael Overlords

• 26-02-2011 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭

... not.

Looks like FG are home and dry though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I don't, they can **** off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Im starting to lose faith in this country. I was holding on in hope (for years), but I think its slipping away from me now.

I just cant believe how fuc*ed we got in such a small amount of time.

If I could bail, I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Give Fine Gael a year. They'll shoot themselves in the foot with their own policies, and that'll be when the demonstrations will start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Jayzus lads, way to get behind the new government...

They haven't been in power for about 15 years, let's try and hold off on the cynicism until we have reason to rip them apart. They've got a hard job to do over the next 5 years, a bit of unity wouldn't hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

I for one don't welcome our new Fine Gael overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

A lot of Irish people, the x-factor generation I like to them, are so easily led. They dont know much about politics but they see less money going into their pockets and hear people like ray d'arcy complaining so they join in - usually on their Facebook account. They're very opinionated about people like cowen and lenihan and then when it comes to voting time, they don't bother.

I dont like Enda Kenny and I don't like his party. The alternatives weren't big enough to mount a serious challenge so we're left with the inevitable.

We will complain regardless of who's in power. The x-factor generation are left scratching their heads as to why they can't just ring a number and vote them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Enda can go and chew on me sack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Dave! wrote: »

They haven't been in power for about 15 years, let's try and hold off on the cynicism until we have reason to rip them apart. They've got a hard job to do over the next 5 years, a bit of unity wouldn't hurt.

Eh.....yeah right. They will have to change the whole Governance process, otherwise they will be as bad as FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Ah just stop posting that f*^king video

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

I would have thought the "X-Factor" generation was too young to vote...?!

I think we all knew FG would get in, but it doesn't mean I'm happy about it.

Although Independents are doing very well in my constintuency and I would be very pleased to see my Independent of choice getting a seat (it looks like he may).

Ireland have never been ones to 'get behind' anyone! We're much better at moaning and giving out I think (and we enjoy it). No single party, candidate or coalition could have taken office, solved all our problems and satisfied everyone and the next government have a tough job ahead of them.

Everyone kept saying who they thought was best of a 'bad lot'. So with that in mind, nothing would have placated us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

A lot of Irish people, the x-factor generation I like to them, are so easily led. They dont know much about politics but they see less money going into their pockets and hear people like ray d'arcy complaining so they join in - usually on their Facebook account. They're very opinionated about people like cowen and lenihan and then when it comes to voting time, they don't bother.

I dont like Enda Kenny and I don't like his party. The alternatives weren't big enough to mount a serious challenge so we're left with the inevitable.

We will complain regardless of who's in power. The x-factor generation are left scratching their heads as to why they can't just ring a number and vote them out

Very interesting point :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Ah just stop posting that f*^king video

I cant help it, thats whats gonna be in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The leader is good, the leader is great. We surrender our will as of this date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Enda Kenny please talk normally. This stern angry approach persona is just retarded now.

Very interesting point :rolleyes:

Oh you rolled your eyes at me....good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Oh you rolled your eyes at me....good lad.

There not my eyes boy..there his >> :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

It's a new government. NEW

Maybe see how it goes first before you despair, the only thing worse than our past governemnt is our increasing negativity which is bound to leave us stuck in a hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'm still on a horn after discovering how shyte FF are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

I really wish the electorate would stop bouncing between centre-right parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Our new "leader" is a man who half his own party didnt want. Our new government couldnt get rid of their own leader. Im sorry to say I havent much hope for a primary school teacher of four years who ignores most questions about even his own policies. Congrats electorate you picked a guy who shouldnt have risen above local politics.

Hopefully the independents in the 31st dail will put up some oppisition. Thankfully I dont think fianna fail are the main oppisition party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I'm quite happy to see Fine Gael elected. I've been saying for years that Irish people don't actually understand politics, and now I can say 'I told you so' to everyone. For all the slagging America gets at least they can discern between 'liberal' and 'conservative' and similar concepts. And when the riots start in a year I'll be up on my high horse away from danger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'm quite happy to see Fine Gael elected. I've been saying for years that Irish people don't actually understand politics, and now I can say 'I told you so' to everyone. For all the slagging America gets at least they can discern between 'liberal' and 'conservative' and simialr concepts. And when the riots start in a year I'll be up on my high horse away from danger.

It's harder for us to discern the difference mainly because there is none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

And when the riots start in a year I'll be up on my high horse away from danger.

You're a garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

You're a garda?

... Move along there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Dave! wrote: »

I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, until next Friday. If they haven't fixed everything by then, I'm going into riot mode with my flame-proof placard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

Enda Kenny please talk normally. This stern angry approach persona is just retarded now.

Its not an "approach", he is infact a stern angry retard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

As a member of the 'Xfactor generation' many of us are not the age to vote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, until next Friday. If they haven't fixed everything by then, I'm going into riot mode with my flame-proof placard.
    I think that's reasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

The arguments here are spurious - Ireland now has a right-left divide. The left is broken up between Labour, WP, Socialist Party, Socialist Alliance, and Sinn Fein. And others.

The right is Fine Gael and possibly FF ( Although since FF used to get the Public Sector vote and created most of the Welfare State they may attack Fine Gael from the Left).

Only Fine Gael, and the PDs are right wing in the conventional European sense. And plenty of FG is centrist. I see Ireland as a centre left country, with these stats.

If the Left cant get it's act together, then obviously the government is going to be FG/Lab. Which will be more or less a centre party.

Labour and the rest of the sectarians would last two minutes. If the broad left wants to win it needs to merge.

The arguments here are spurious - Ireland now has a right-left divide. The left is broken up between Labour, WP, Socialist Party, Socialist Alliance, and Sinn Fein. And others.

The right is Fine Gael and possibly FF ( Although since FF used to get the Public Sector vote and created most of the Welfare State they may attack Fine Gael from the Left).

Only Fine Gael, and the PDs are right wing in the conventional European sense. And plenty of FG is centrist. I see Ireland as a centre left country, with these stats.

If the Left cant get it's act together, then obviously the government is going to be FG/Lab. Which will be more or less a centre party.

Labour and the rest of the sectarians would last two minutes. If the broad left wants to win it needs to merge.

Luckily humans dont fall into a clear right and left divide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Politics just is a big game. These people don't give a rats ass about you, your family, or even this state. FG will do very little to change this country. Nothing substantial will come of this puppet shift. Mark my words. I thought this view was common sense for the most part?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Luckily humans dont fall into a clear right and left divide

yes most people are centrists. I was responding to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Bucklesman wrote: »
    I really wish the electorate would stop bouncing between centre-right parties.

I always laugh when people refer to Fianna Fail as a centre-right. With regards economic policy over the past 15 years, Fianna Fail very much ticked the box of left-wing. Hence the reason our economy collapsed.

Naikon wrote: »
    Politics just is a big game. These people don't give a rats ass about you, your family, or even this state. FG will do very little to change this country. Nothing substantial will come of this puppet shift. Mark my words. I thought this view was common sense for the most part?

What would you you want them to do for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

For all the slagging America gets at least they can discern between 'liberal' and 'conservative'

LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Redlion wrote: »
    Give Fine Gael a year. They'll shoot themselves in the foot with their own policies, and that'll be when the demonstrations will start.

yeah, and the clowns who voted for them will probably be leading the protests

glad im out of that country, jesus christ the electorate are the most ignorant, stupid collection of people on the planet

yis deserve EVERYTHING yis get

What would you you want them to do for you?

Stop pretending they are in the game "for the people". It's nothing more than calculated self interest and a vehicle to exercise power. We need a better system.

Naikon wrote: »
    Stop pretending they are in the game "for the people". It's nothing more than calculated self interest and a vehicle to exercise power. We need a better system.

I just dont think that government is there to do much for "you" personally. I dont agree that all politicians are corrupt, but I would assume that most are there for power.

What I am not getting from the angries is what they want exactly. I welcome FG/ Labour. Labour would do nothing on it's own with the deficit, FG would be too tough on the poor on it's own . So a good result.

I wonder what the "it doesnt make any difference" muppets wanted? SInn Fein? SWP?

Or are you all just angry with The Man whomever the Man is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

dotsman wrote: »
    I always laugh when people refer to Fianna Fail as a centre-right. With regards economic policy over the past 15 years, Fianna Fail very much ticked the box of left-wing. Hence the reason our economy collapsed.

Actively stoking the fire of a property bubble, reducing personal taxes further and further, relying on consistently rising house prices to balance the budget and making no effort to ensure housing remains affordable for the majority of the country isn't leftwing in the least.

I just dont think that government is there to do much for "you" personally. I dont agree that all politicians are corrupt, but I would assume that most are there for power.

What I am not getting from the angries is what they want exactly. I welcome FG/ Labour. Labour would do nothing on it's own with the deficit, FG would be too tough on the poor. So a good result.

I wonder what the "it doesnt make any difference" muppets wanted? SInn Fein? SWP?

Or are you all just angry with The Man whomever the Man is,

Anarchism ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I don't, they can **** off.

And the same here

Actively stoking the fire of a property bubble, reducing personal taxes further and further, relying on consistently rising house prices to balance the budget and making no effort to ensure housing remains affordable for the majority of the country isn't leftwing in the least.

The demand for most of this came from the people who were sitting on property. Many of whom now hate FF ( renters would have less to worry about).

I agree that they did do that, on the other hand they also supported €200 pw social welfare. The Conservatives they are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Actively stoking the fire of a property bubble,
    Left wing - the property market bubble was what was used to pay for the failed left wing economic policies
    reducing personal taxes further and further,
    Left wing - Although the reduction of taxes is normally considered right wing, due to there being a similar reduction in public expenditure, in Ireland's case, the property market (as well as numerous stealth taxes) was used to fund the extravagant waste. Now that the property market has collapsed, you will have noticed that taxation has risen dramatically to replace it.
    relying on consistently rising house prices to balance the budget
    Left-wing - as per above
    and making no effort to ensure housing remains affordable for the majority of the country
    Left wing - Council/affordable housing as well as generous rent allowance ensures that the welfare/working class have no problem getting accommodation. It is the young middle class who were made to pay for this with huge mortgages.

You seem a bit confused with your left and rights. Let me help you out:

Left Wing (moderate) Economic Policies:
    • Strong Unions
    • Large Public Sector
    • Inefficient public bodies/services
    • High minimum wage
    • High social welfare benefits
    • Monopolies/Cartels in public transport/utilities
    • Ineffective regulation or markets/competition
    • High costs to running a small business
    • Large Budget
    • High taxes (although can remain low for a period of time should the left-wing government find some other temporary measure to pay for all of the above)

Right wing (moderate) Economic Policies:
    • Little union strength, typically only getting involved with regards extreme circumstances (such as employee safety, or cases where individual employees are being treated terribly)
    • Small, efficient public sector that dynamically changes to accommodate changing circumstances
    • Low/No minimum wage
    • Moderate social welfare benefits, typically temporary in nature
    • Open market for transport/utilities with strong competition.
    • Effective regulation of markets/competition
    • Low costs to running a small business
    • Small Budget
    • Low taxes

Now, tell me, which of the above economic policies do you think we have seen over from the last few governments (in fact, bar the odd exception, we have pretty much maintained left wing economic policies since the state was founded - by socialists)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭Kepti

The 'x-factor generation' didn't put those currently in power there; that's all your doing. You sound like someone who is angry that the world is leaving them behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

It's just a different bunch of idiots replacing another bunch of idiots, nothing changes :D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

I just don't get this place.

For weeks all I hear is all the "Feck FF, etc, etc..." brigade wanting them out.

Try to point out to them that FG don't look like a much better prospect and you hear "Oh well it's better than the other option"

Now the counts aren't even done and people are already on here slagging off FG... and Labour for that matter...

Jesus, this is what ye all wanted for the last weeks/months.

If ye didn't there were plenty other options out there not to give FG so many seats as they appear to be getting so far.

Do people ever give over with this stuff?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Tis not right......I mean that's a girls name. "Enda"....I don't know. Your all mad.:(

We should have a leader with an evil name like "Leo Varadkar" or "Darth Vader" if we wish to defeat the Germans.