The 'Boards.ie After Hours Live In Running Election Count' Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Another seat for SF!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

2 FG elected in Waterford :(

Woohoo...come on the Blueshirts!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

The PR System is strange imo

OPENROAD wrote: »
    The PR System is strange imo

It's wonderful!

How anyone could want to replace the excitement of a manual count with the souless automatc voting I don't know.

Einhard wrote: »
    It's wonderful!

How anyone could want to replace the excitement of a manual count with the souless automatc voting I don't know.

you still have manual counting of votes with first past the post, I'm not talking about electronic voting machines

Oh I know, was making a sperate point. Whatever about the waste of the electronic voting fiasco, the idea of ruining the entertainment of an election count should have been enough to put people off automatic voting. Sometimes the old ways really are best!:D

I told my friends I couldn't go out tonight cos I was sick when really I wanted to watch the coverage. I'm a frackin nerd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Michael Colreavy elected in Sligo-North Leitrim with 9,771 votes, thats 12 shinners so far :)

Oh I know, was making a sperate point. Whatever about the waste of the electronic voting fiasco, the idea of ruining the entertainment of an election count should have been enough to put people off automatic voting. Sometimes the old ways really are best!:D

Agree re the entertainment and the twists and turns, but the % of votes and seats thing is confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Final prediction of Sinn Fein 16 seats, FF 18 seats........what are the odds of SF taking more seats than FF? I might stick on a fiver :P

Agree re the entertainment and the twists and turns, but the % of votes and seats thing is confusing.

It's confusing, but makes it much more fun! I think it's brilliant that someone could potentially top the poll on the first count, and yet not get elected at the end of the day.

But on the flip side you can have someone with a very low % of the vote getting a seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Woohoo...come on the Blueshirts!!:p

The 'Blueshirts' now better be willing to take a far tougher line, than they've so far publicly declared, on fighting for the interests of this country regarding the bank bailout and the EU/IMF 'deal' and, also, launch a serious investigation into those responsible for putting us where we are.
    Otherwise, all they will have managed to do is put themselves in position as the focus of the public's scorn and anger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

ascanbe wrote: »
    The 'Blueshirts' now better be willing to take a far tougher line, than they've so far publicly declared, on fighting for the interests of this country regarding the bank bailout and the EU/IMF 'deal' and, also, launch a serious investigation into those responsible for putting us where we are.
    Otherwise, all they will have managed to do is put themselves in position as the focus of the public's scorn and anger.

But for four years. 'Mission Accomplished'. "Open the champaign boys. We are the 'establishment of fortune' now!" If they are stupid enough to pay us they deserve it.

Not necessarily. I mean, they'd been elected precisely on what they've publicly declared, so if they don't go beyond that I hardly see how they can be scorned. Would seem a tad odd to attack a party for not doing what they never claimed they would do!

strobe wrote: »
    But for four years. 'Mission Accomplished'. "Open the champaign boys. We are the 'establishment of fortune' now!" If they are stupid enough to pay us they deserve it.

I'm not following, tbh.

Meet the new boss
    Same as the old boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Is it all over, can I watch TV again???

Not necessarily. I mean, they'd been elected precisely on what they've publicly declared, so if they don't go beyond that I hardly see how they can be scorned. Would seem a tad odd to attack a party for not doing what they never claimed they would do!

Might seem odd; but we live in strange times.
    They have been elected by a frightened electorate that just want things to get better. It isn't so much that people were bowled over by FG as it is that they/we are rejecting the architects of this crisis, FF, and are frightened by the lack of clarity put forth by those suggesting that the approach to the crisis put forth by FG, so far, won't be sufficient.
    If things continue to get worse, it won't matter that huge numbers voted for them now; people will turn.
    Afterall, FF walked the election in 2007; and look where they are now.

strobe wrote: »

Meet the new boss
    Same as the old boss

I hope it's not like that; but we'll see.

Me too man. I really do. We'll see......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Another pig out. See ya John O'Donoghue.

He was pretty high up on my wish list. Good to see the Kerry people finally getting it together. Fair play lads. If they unseat that fcuker Healy-Rae it'll have been a great day's work by the Kerry people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭foxinsox

still counting here in Carlow Kilkenny :rolleyes:

RTEcarlowkilkenny: #cwkk Count 9: Still nobody elected. Lab's Des Hurley now being eliminated and distribution of his 4683 votes.
    Sun Feb 27 10:40:42 via Twitter for iPhone

RTEcarlowkilkenny: #cwkk Counting has resumed. SF's John Cassin being eliminated now. Still nobody elected.
    Sun Feb 27 09:54:14 via Twitter for iPhone

RTEcarlowkilkenny: #cwkk Green Party's Mary White eliminated on count 7. Still noone elected.
    Sat Feb 26 22:57:04 via Twitter for iPhone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

I am convinced there are some parts of Ireland that are so backward thinking they will always vote in a tribal way. Thankfully the majority of the people are willing to be pursuaded by policies but some just will vote FF always :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Listening to the coverage on Radio 1. Everyone involved is so tired that they're just being loopy and making mistakes. Phil Hogan was on a while ago and he started getting snappy at the host for no good reason :D

Garret Fitzgerald sounds like he's after having ten pints and you can hear him mumbling away in the background constantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

And we're back, 33 seats left to be filled. Nice to see the regular RTE faces looking so fresh after their few hours sleep, especially Mirriam. Although wonder how they will get on following the FF annihilation is another thing.

And for all my head scratching tring to understand the PR system, and how it should be got rid off. Its sooooooooo much more exciting than the first past the post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

The Healy-Rae's on the radio now claiming that the term "gombeen politics" is basically racist.

Good to see that they're worrying about the real issues. And now Jackie is going on about how he got roads built in Kerry and that he eats his dinner in the middle of the day :confused:

Shame on whoever voted for these idiot "cute-hoor" bog-men. Same goes for anyone who voted for Bobby Alyward in my own constituentcy. He's came to my house and his reason why i should vote for him was that he was, i quote, "a local man, shoore i only live down the road".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

lol, RTE news have nicked RTE sports graphics to try and explain/show, the shift in the goverment. Who needs the swingometer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

De Dannan wrote: »
    Fianna Fail have done very well in Cork compared to other areas
    Whats up with that ?

They just like to do the opposite of whatever Dublin does. eg Dublin makes itself the actual capital city of this country so Cork goes and makes itself the imaginary capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭IT-Guy

ah, the old 'sure he's one of us (regardless)' gem, precisely how such serious issues should be decided! :rolleyes:

went to cork once, was made feel a foreigner :/

What was his name? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

foxinsox wrote: »
    still counting here in Carlow Kilkenny :rolleyes:

28.1% 1st pref votes for FF in Carlow Kilkenny. We should be ashamed of ourselves! Total madness!

Out of curiosity, which constituency has given FF the most 1st pref votes?