Cllr fined for throwing paint at Mary Harney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

major bill wrote: »
    first off she is not a criminal....thrown paint at someone is hardly a criminal offence..to think that she got a two year suspended sentence just shows how laughable the justice system is in this country. How many people have died in this country from inadequate government health ministers??

:rolleyes: jesus wept

She is a convicted criminal and rightly so.

The judge let himself down very badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

panda100 wrote: »
    I've been working in the disability sector for the last few years,on the front line of the HSE, and I for one was delighted when I heared about the paint attack on Harney. She completely and utterly deserved that 5 seconds of discomfort for what she has inflicted on the people of Ireland.

The councilwomen was dead right to refuse to give the money to a charity of Harney's choice. I can't believe people are supporting she of the €410 haircut who earned more in her once off retirement bonus then a disability support worker does in €15 years working with the HSE.

It might be worth pointing out that Minehan insisted on pleading not guilty, thus wasting thousands in taxpayers money. With that contempt for public funds, she would give Harney a run for her money.

So the moral of the story is.....two thick knackers don't make a right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

wyndhurst wrote: »
    She is a convicted criminal and rightly so.

The judge let himself down very badly.

maybe you should take a stroll up to the tallaght courts some day and sit in on the cases......the judge in her case was very harsh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

maybe you should take a stroll up to the tallaght courts some day and sit in on the cases......the judge in her case was very harsh!!

Not talking about the sentence. Referring to the fact that he allowed the court to be dictated to by the criminal. (The actual thread topic...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

does she qualify for a darwin award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

If I threw paint at a person on the street i wouldnt be fined over 1500 and giving a two year suspended sentence..justice in this case wasnt blind!!!

Well that may be a good point, I'd like to look at similar cases and read the judgements though.
    My point was that she was rightly guillty of an assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shaneybaby

If I threw paint at a person on the street i wouldnt be fined over 1500 and giving a two year suspended sentence..justice in this case wasnt blind!!!

True, if it was just a random aassault like that on a street it would most definitely have been a custodial sentence, the fact she linked it to a political process probably saved her bacon.

She actually got off lightly with a community service order and a donation to charity. Not the judge's fault she refused them both.

People are referring to the judge as a "he", in fact it's a she. (Judge Ann Watkins)

shaneybaby wrote: »
    True, if it was just a random aassault like that on a street it would most definitely have been a custodial sentence, the fact she linked it to a political process probably saved her bacon.

She actually got off lightly with a community service order and a donation to charity. Not the judge's fault she refused them both.

People are referring to the judge as a "he", in fact it's a she. (Judge Ann Watkins)

id doubt it would have been a custodial if it happened on the street!!.

id hate to see you as a judge:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

shaneybaby wrote: »

Theres the problem right there then. If the defendant had of been a male and he refused to do community service, he would of been charged with contempt of court and ordered to spend a night in the cells.

Judge Ann Watkins should be investigated over this, there are just too many corrupt and incompetent judges in Ireland today to just let another one slide by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I don't condone throwing paint at the likes of Mary Harney at all. If you are going to put yourself through the trouble of throwing something at her why not let it be a bucket of good strong dark yellow piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Christ almighty - people need to wake the fuck up - and quick. We all know the cllr in question was technically wrong but all this hand-wringing about 'violence' is ludicrous. Mary Harney and her government have wrought immense economic violence on this country. They have ruined, and continue to ruin lives through their insane policies. Jesus Christ, it's not wonder we're getting fucked the way we are when people are actually sympathizing with someone like Harney.

Remember your sympathy when your grandmother is lying on a trolley in some hospital ward for two days.

Remember your sympathy when people who can afford to can walk into one of our wonderful new private hospitals and get treatment because they can afford it - but you can't.

Remember your sympathy when someone really close has lost their job as direct result of this government's incompetence.

Remember your sympathy when a relative hugs you at the airport because they have to leave the country to get a job.

They deserve more than fucking paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

Its interesting to compare the severity of the punishment(2 year suspended prison sentence and €1500 fine) in this case for throwing paint on someone, with the lack of prosecution and punishment of a senior politician alleged to have committed perjury. Indeed, inaccuracies/lies in the testimony of several politicians to the tribunals doesn't seem to have resulted in any action either.

It will also be interesting to note whether the prosecuting authorities show the same zeal for criminal convictions and tough punishments, if they ever discover wrongdoing in any of the banks. Hopefully they'll use the punishment in this case as a yardstick, in which case, any fraud involving millions would hopefully attract very lengthy prison sentences and huge fines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

heyjude wrote: »
    It will also be interesting to note whether the prosecuting authorities show the same zeal for criminal convictions and tough punishments, if they ever discover wrongdoing in any of the banks. Hopefully they'll use the punishment in this case as a yardstick, in which case, any fraud involving millions would hopefully attract very lengthy prison sentences and huge fines.

One rule for them, one rule for us. Unfortunately

as for the Bond holders, they don't need to concern themselves with such silly things as rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Saw her coming out of court, with a boneheaded gimp,with a dodgy haircut, trying to rise applause by her side.

God help us all if people like that ever get near power.

Idiots who have no idea where responsibility or democracy even begins.

No doubt, you feel the same way about the two Gardai that jointly physically assaulted, far more seriously, the elderly peaceful protestor outside the Dail and knocked him to the ground when he was protesting the IMF bailout. How long do you think they should spend in the "chokey" on a pro-rata basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Bint should have been sent to the chokey.

That might soften her cough.

It would be interesting to know how long you think the FG TD who threatened and intimidated a junior Garda, for trying to take his keys off him when he attempted to drive drunk, should be sent to chokey for ? or the FF TD who broke a nurse's leg in four places while driving drunk and then attempted to flee the scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Christ almighty - people need to wake the fuck up - and quick. We all know the cllr in question was technically wrong but all this hand-wringing about 'violence' is ludicrous. Mary Harney and her government have wrought immense economic violence on this country. They have ruined, and continue to ruin lives through their insane policies. Jesus Christ, it's not wonder we're getting fucked the way we are when people are actually sympathizing with someone like Harney.
    Not so much sympathy for her as seeing the protestor as a childish twat. No way is Harney the most corrupt of the politicians either, and I still think the "evil bitch" sh1te directed at her is idiotic - as if her approach was "Muhahahahahah! I shall keeeeell all the sick people!" The odds were stacked against her from day one when she took the poisoned chalice of health minister portfolio.
    I never voted FF/PDs in my life by the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

If I walked down the street tomorrow and threw a bucket of paint over a passer by I would be shocked if I didn't get a fine like that, driving without insurance is a fine of about 1000 last time I checked (unless your out of work) and i'd see assault (and it is assault) as much worse.

I you were standing there and some random gob****e decided to throw a bucket of paint over ye should ye just be expected to get over it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

Remember your sympathy when your grandmother is lying on a trolley in some hospital ward for two days.

Remember your sympathy when people who can afford to can walk into one of our wonderful new private hospitals and get treatment because they can afford it - but you can't.

Remember your sympathy when someone really close has lost their job as direct result of this government's incompetence.

Remember your sympathy when a relative hugs you at the airport because they have to leave the country to get a job.

They deserve more than fucking paint.

So she didn't do a good job, should we stone her to death or show a bit of mercy and call in the firing squad for a quick ending.

Fools being let away with doing what they like is not good for the country, it was the correct judgement. It was nothing but a publicity stunt and i'm sure it won her a few votes from some. I heard her on the radio when she was interviewed about the incident and she didn't do herself any favours, pleading not guilty then refusing to give to the chosen charity says all ye need to know about her really, serious attitude problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

first off she is not a criminal....thrown paint at someone is hardly a criminal offence

I hope you are just trolling and that you're post isn't actually this stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

By fighting the case she cost the State a lot of money.
    Nothing wrong with fighting cases of course but she was clearly guilty, she was crowing on Joe Duffy about it after it happened.

Pure publicity stunt to raise her profile.
    She's right up with there with Joan Collins from PBP for publicity stunts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Cybertron85

Boohoo she had a bit of paint thrown at her, poor woman.

This is the same woman who through chronic incompetence at the best and willful mismanagement and negligence at the worst bestowed misery on many people who relied on what is essentially a very basic service in a first world country.

She's even responsible for the deaths of many children in the state's care, remember that little chestnut?!

She gets to waddle in to the sunset with a huge pension, she's lucky she hasn't been physically beaten in the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

How can a piece of clothing have a worth of >= 800 euro?

colly10 wrote: »
    If I walked down the street tomorrow and threw a bucket of paint over a passer by I would be shocked if I didn't get a fine like that, driving without insurance is a fine of about 1000 last time I checked (unless your out of work) and i'd see assault (and it is assault) as much worse.

I you were standing there and some random gob****e decided to throw a bucket of paint over ye should ye just be expected to get over it?

well be surprised because assault most of the time wouldnt get that much of a fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Naikon wrote: »
    How can a piece of clothing have a worth of >= 800 euro?

Circus tents don't come cheap.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I hope you are just trolling and that you're post isn't actually this stupid.

well if throwing paint at someone is classed as assault and is deemed worthy of a two year suspended sentence then the justice system has lost it all together.

pc brigade on boards is fcuking shocking at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

It's not "PC" to condemn an assault one another person.

And it's just idiotic to think that throwing a bucket of paint on someone is not a criminal offence.

Einhard wrote: »
    It's not "PC" to condemn an assault one another person.

And it's just idiotic to think that throwing a bucket of paint on someone is not a criminal offence.

ffs get real will you. It might have been a stupid thing to do but assualt?? on a woman that has far more blood on her hands than most killers in jail.

Il say it again 2 year suspended sentence for throwing paint over someone = justice system gone mad.

Ive seen lads do worse going off with no more than a slap on the wrist...

I say your the type that sits at home reading the court pages slapping the death penalty on most people without fully looking into the circumstances of the case:rolleyes:

ffs get real will you. It might have been a stupid thing to do but assualt?? on a woman that has far more blood on her hands than most killers in jail.

Il say it again 2 year suspended sentence for throwing paint over someone = justice system gone mad.

Ive seen lads do worse going off with no more than a slap on the wrist...

I say your the type that sits at home reading the court pages slapping the death penalty on most people without fully looking into the circumstances of the case:rolleyes:

Firstly, it's two months and not two years.
    Secondly, it's a two month 'suspended sentence', she serves zero jail time.

It means she is on probation for the next two months, if she does not break the law, fine, carry on.
    If she breaks the law again during this two month time period then I think the two months jail time will be added to whatever sentence she receives for further crimes.

This is my understanding at least.

So in essence she got a fine and that is all. And for some unknown reason she was allowed to 'refuse' to do community service and this is why she got a fine instead.
    I have no idea why she gets to make that choice.

So exactly what sentence (bearing in mind she is purely getting a fine and should serve no jail time or community service whatsoever) do you feel is appropriate? A few dead arms, a big cheeky wink and a 'shure don't be at that craic again!'?

And if you answer the above question, please ignore who she threw paint over, it actually isn't relevant.

How much less than the choice of a fine or community service and no jail time served should be handed out for throwing paint over an unsuspecting person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Are you for real? You think the law should change depending on the person involved? Throwing a bucket of pain on someone is a criminal offence. Not only is that common sense, but it is reality, as illustrated by the fact that it was prosecuted as such. Now, you may wish to ignore that fact, or think it absurd, but that doesn't change reality!

I never mentioned the sentence.

I'd say you're the ignorant type who answers points that were never raised, and who clearly has a poor grip on reality, as illustrated by the fact that he persists on claiming that the attack was not an assault, even though it was prosecuted as such.