Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

dclane wrote: »
    I agree with you, if things keep going down hill like they are. Sinn Fein will become a major power in Ireland. I would compare it to the rise of the Nazi party after the first world war.

Oh dear 34ilojq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    So you think telling the bondholders, IMF, EU, and ECB to take a hike, reversing all the budget cuts, collapsing the banks, and then funding the annual €19 billion deficit and a €7 billion stimulus package out of the €4 billion left in our National Pension Reserve Fund while having "no comment" on how the country will continue to function without a banking system is sheer sanity then?

SF are all talk. They are shouting populist nonsense in order to boost support, the fact that their plans cannot work doesnt matter to them - or their supporters apparently.

or how about

FG are all talk. They are shouting populist nonsense in order to boost support, the fact that their plans cannot work doesnt matter to them - or their supporters apparently.

FF are all talk. They are shouting populist nonsense in order to boost support, the fact that their plans cannot work doesnt matter to them - or their supporters apparently.

LABOUR are all talk. They are shouting populist nonsense in order to boost support, the fact that their plans cannot work doesnt matter to them - or their supporters apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭mccoist

I have come to the conclusion that the people barracking SINN FEIN are fed up individuals probarbly fed up ff bacause their gravy train is about to end.
    SINN FEIN have made huge strides north and south since the peace process kicked in,The fact that they can work with the DUP is significant and if people could get their heads around two democratic parties worhing together down south FINE GAEL, SINN FEIN what a boost for our politics down here
    1/end to the civil war division still prevelant in our politics
    2/end of fianna fail as the major force or party
    3/more choice across a broad spectrum of issues
    There has been some good ideas bandied about on this tread but the begrudgers just keep at it
    I am looking foward to voting for my local SINN FEIN candidate
    Shamy Morris in nth tipp ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

PauloMN wrote: »
    I agree wrt FF, and even though I was always a FF voter, I didn't vote for them last time in '07 - I was surprised they got back in. Seemingly it wasn't only Bertie who couldn't see the madness going on.

This time I've read though all the main policies of all the main parties and made my choice. The policies that matched up least to my own beliefs were those of SF. Aside from their policies, I have other issues with SF which I've posted about already.
    I agree with you, if things keep going down hill like they are. Sinn Fein will become a major power in Ireland. I would compare it to the rise of the Nazi party after the first world war.

spoken like a true ff/fg 'er. you dont really know much about SF do ye, i think you should educate yourself before you make stupid comments like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

By the sheer amount alone of anti SF rants, mud slinging and electioneering against SF - it is clearly evident that the more established parties are significantly in fear of the Irish voting public actually adhering to their democratic right to vote for who they wish, rather than who hoodwinks them the most.

Amusing really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Pearce with a tash, now there is a new spin.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

spoken like a true ff/fg 'er. you dont really know much about SF do ye, i think you should educate yourself before you make stupid comments like that

:confused: What stupid comment?

Like I say, I read the SF policies and prompty diverted them to the recycle bin where they belong. You might fancy living in a country that'll bring small businesses to their knees but I don't, so I'll not be voting for SF.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Nehaxak wrote: »
    By the sheer amount alone of anti SF rants, mud slinging and electioneering against SF - it is clearly evident that the more established parties are significantly in fear of the Irish voting public actually adhering to their democratic right to vote for who they wish, rather than who hoodwinks them the most.

Amusing really :)

:D Lol, in fear? Like I've said all along, when you see that SF will still do even worse than FF (who are at their lowest ebb ever in terms of support), there's nothing to fear from SF. They'll always be a fringe party, because the majority of people can see through their fluff.

I honestly just think it's a shame people are going to waste their vote on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭mccoist

:D Lol, in fear? Like I've said all along, when you see that SF will still do even worse than FF (who are at their lowest ebb ever in terms of support), there's nothing to fear from SF. They'll always be a fringe party, because the majority of people can see through their fluff.

I honestly just think it's a shame people are going to waste their vote on them.

ff have done more damage to this country
    the green s and pds were fringe parties
    ff finished them off to
    so vote on for your precious ff
    not long to go now annd ff will be on the way out
    i am looking foward to voting for my local SINN fein candidate
    SHAMUS MORRIS NTH TIPP

mccoist wrote: »
    ff have done more damage to this country
    the green s and pds were fringe parties
    ff finished them off to
    so vote on for your precious ff
    not long to go now annd ff will be on the way out
    i am looking foward to voting for my local SINN fein candidate
    SHAMUS MORRIS NTH TIPP

Mate, read my posts, I didn't vote FF last time and I won't be voting for them on Friday. BTW his name is Seamus, just in case you can't find "Shamus" on your ballot paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

:confused: What stupid comment?

Like I say, I read the SF policies and prompty diverted them to the recycle bin where they belong. You might fancy living in a country that'll bring small businesses to their knees but I don't, so I'll not be voting for SF.

its funny the only party that i see helping small local business' is SF i know a few local businessmen and they would all tell you the same. you might see fg/ff in with them now alright but thats just the publicity machine a few handshakes few photos and theyre off. its funny ff have been in power for (too many)years and where are we now ..... oh ye, on our knees.

btw the stupid comment post wasnt meant for you didnt mean to quote 2 people that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Lumbfoot

I agree, if Sinn Fein ever get any real power it will be time to leave the country. Fianna Fail may be a bunch of greedy lowlifes but at least they don't have numerous deaths on their hands. That is if you don't consider Harney FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,392 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm not a SF supporter in any way shape or form but some of the comments in this thread are just disgusting.

Calling them murderers for instance. All the major parties in this country were involved in killings during their history. While Sinn Fein were the political representative of the IRA in more recent times this is all in the past as far as I'm aware. Republican Sinn Fein and 32CSM along with other smaller parties are the organisations that are against peace as far as I'm aware.

While I won't be voting for them in this election I think they deserve to be treated with respect. They are after all the party that was most crucial to the peace process. It seems to me that they have moved on a lot in the last decade.

I have to add that I don't think they are doing themselves any favours by having Gerry Adams involved at this stage. He is a link to the past and they need to cut those ties. I can see them growing though over the coming years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I have come to the conclusion that the people barracking SINN FEIN are fed up individuals probarbly fed up ff bacause their gravy train is about to end.
    SINN FEIN have made huge strides north and south since the peace process kicked in,The fact that they can work with the DUP is significant and if people could get their heads around two democratic parties worhing together down south FINE GAEL, SINN FEIN what a boost for our politics down here
    There has been some good ideas bandied about on this tread but the begrudgers just keep at it

I'm anti-SF simply because their economic policies are crap and they are lying about it. I don't care who they used to be involved with or if they were involved in terrorism.

It's SF supporters over all others that bring up the civil war. MOVE ON FFS.
    its funny the only party that i see helping small local business' is SF i know a few local businessmen and they would all tell you the same. you might see fg/ff in with them now alright but thats just the publicity machine a few handshakes few photos and theyre off. its funny ff have been in power for (too many)years and where are we now ..... oh ye, on our knees.

Any business person who supports SF policy needs their head examined or needs to be checked for Northern bank money (sorry couldn't resist hehe).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Dubol

My wife and I are voting for SF for the first time after 9 times voting for the right wing. We have had enough. We will be pensioners by the time the next election comes around and we have seen too much corruption and empty promises. It is time for a change from the old parties who have put themselves before the country and in the process ruined our country.
    We are voting for a better future for our grandchildren, not just in monetary terms but in quality of life. We have read too many bad comments on the forums from the right so its Sinn Fein and independants for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 piperpat

keithm1 wrote: »
    It will be a first for me and my family voting sf :)

Good on ya get out and vote its your right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Adrian009

In other words, we oppose SF for any and every reason BUT what they have said and do?

Nice tactic, because you can then avoid adressing peoples concerns about saids words and deeds.

Incidently I am delighted to see the end of FF and hope that any other Irish political party who even thinks about acting like them go the same way.

btw the stupid comment post wasnt meant for you didnt mean to quote 2 people that time.

Thanks for clarifying the stupid comments bit.

Can I ask you how two SF policies - raising the minimum wage, and imposing a wealth tax on assets over €1m (which many small businesses would have as part of their operations) would help small businesses in the current climate?

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Who is Pearse Mc Loughlin?

Sorry, I mean Pearse Doherty. Slip of the tounge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Dubol wrote: »

Women of Ireland, This is our chance to be counted
    My wife and I are voting for SF for the first time after 9 times voting for the right wing. We have had enough. We will be pensioners by the time the next election comes around and we have seen too much corruption and empty promises. It is time for a change from the old parties who have put themselves before the country and in the process ruined our country.
    We are voting for a better future for our grandchildren, not just in monetary terms but in quality of life. We have read too many bad comments on the forums from the right so its Sinn Fein and independants for us.

I am a little confused? You are a woman nearing pension age, and you have a wife? :eek:

Is it a protest vote, or do you honestly belive a Sinn Fein government would be good for Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Sinn Fein now down to 10% and dropping, nice :D

the_syco wrote: »
    SF in Norn Iron do a great job, and I fully respect the job they did/do up there, as well as what they have done during and since the troubles. Their popularity is increasing, and they are winning more provinces in every election.

Only getting a few seats down in the Republic, though. They come up with the odd silly sound bite, such as saying no to the IMF, burning the bond holders (and yet admit plan on going back to them later). Politics that worked up north will not work down here, and esp as down here, they'll be getting money from the IMF, as opposed to 20billion or so they get from the Brits every year.

The IRA, and it's various spin-offs can be seen as heroes by some up north, for they fought against the enemy occupation for many a year, killing soldiers of the occupying army. They're seen as Garda killing terrorists down here.

=-=

I won't be voting for SF this year. Never have voted for them, as I never see them doing anything locally. Usually would vote a Labour TD who is seen to do stuff, and a local independent. This year it'll be the independent, and maybe a FG candidate, but will have to check which one isn't completely useless (in North Kildare, I find in each party there's always a good one, and a completely useless one; go figure).

SF's problem is that Ireland and Northern Ireland are two different countrys, and its difficult for a leadership based mainly in Northern Ireland to make coherent strategy for themselves as well as Ireland.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Sinn Fein now down to 10% and dropping, nice :D

I won't be voting Sinn Fein but come on, how can they be getting less than Fianna Fail?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Adrian009 wrote: »
    I won't be voting Sinn Fein but come on, how can they be getting less than Fianna Fail?

2 reasons, massive anti-SF propaganda by the criminal establishment and the fact the the electorate are dumb.

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    2 reasons, massive anti-SF propaganda by the criminal establishment and the fact the the electorate are dumb.

That's rich coming from a shinner :rolleyes:

Its always everything and anything BUT the electorate making up their own minds against Sinn Fein, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Can of worms there! :D
    Come back to us when your leader knows the VAT rate, when one of your candidates does not invent qualifications, when other candidates don't refuse to condemn the killing of Gardai and when we all have stopped laughing at SF people giving out about the criminal establishment :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

LordSutch wrote: »
    That's rich coming from a shinner :rolleyes:

a shinner??

and the fact the the electorate are dumb.

The Irish electorate are dumb?

A shinner = a sinn fein activist or supporter? No? in the same way you might call me a West Brit?