Large Earthquake hits Christchurch, NZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭supermouse

Im in Auckland too... its horrific!! The whole country is at standstill.... we dont know what to say or to do. Every one of my Kiwi mates have family down there... and some haven't heard from them since the quake.

Phone lines are mental with people trying to contact loved ones, understandable. Word is that everyone should stay off the phone as the people trapped are trying to communicate through their mobiles but busy networks are delaying their rescue.

Come on NZ, ye know how to do it - pull together, stay strong and get out of this mess as best as ye can! RIP to all those who have lost their lives, and those families who are waiting to hear from loved ones, you are in my thoughts xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

Sorry to hear it Supermouse.

Google have set up a people finder for anyone unable to get in contact with people
    http://christchurch-2011.person-finder.appspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Lirange

This one was much closer to Christchurch and during the day. So even though it wasn't nearly as powerful as the last one it's a recipe for a much bigger disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭supermouse

And it was only 5km deep.... its not the scale of them on the richter that makes them deadly, its the proximity to the surface.

So sad :( x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Missus hasn't been able to get through to her cousin and family in CC yet. Fingers crossed.

All good thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Really hope the death count doesn't spiral up.
    Damage looks terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

The news just gave an unconfirmed update that the amount of fatalaties is expected to rise to 200 - 400 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

watna wrote: »
    I haven't noticed any difference in Wellington. It feels weird to see the devestation in Christchurch and then everything in Wellington is ticking along normally. It's surreal.

Thanks for that post.
    My little sister is staying in Wellington, hadn't heard anything from her.

Edit: Just got word she's okay. Hope everyone else's loved ones are okay here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

its absolutely awful, two lads i've been friends with since i was 10 are living out there, both are ok thankfully! :) but they are still waiting to hear from friends! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

God love the families terrible news these earthquakes keep coming Thank God we dont have any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Not much sleep had last night as my brother was caught up in the middle of the earthquake. He's OK thank God but he's fairly shook up and said that thankfully he's reasonably fit as it's no fun dodging falling debris. My thoughts are with the people of Canterbury as they try to come to terms with what has happened.

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/christchurch-earthquake/index.html

Just looking at these photos is making me emotional and wanting the little fecker to come home. He reckons the hostel that he was staying in has been levelled so he's pretty much got the shirt on his back. Been able to text/Facebook him has reasssured all my family that he's safe!

*phew* Friend of mine that lives in Christchurch is OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I experienced a few small quakes when I was there. They were only minor. But unfortunately a major quake was inevitable, and I'm devastated that it occured during the day as they've been extremely lucky so far.
    Trust me, if it happened during the night it would be much worse. People would be asleep and caught off-guard, as opposed to awake and at least able to make some effort to get to safety. It's devastating that it happened, but if it was going to happen then during the day would be the better option.

My thoughts are with all those affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God, that's shocking news, and the photos are unreal.

RIP for those that died and I hope all boardsies loved ones in Christchurch turn out to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Horrible news, hopefully they can rescue those still trapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Just heard my cousin is ok. The pub she worked in(The Bog for those who know CC) and her car got destroyed, but she is fine!!

Condolences to the friends and families of those who died. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

I'd be very surprised if CC is still used as a world cup host city in a fee months.
    For safety reasons it shouldn't be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭Yakuza

RIP to the victims. I was there in 2000 with the missus, we have very fond memories of the place (and of NZ in general). I hope all the unaccounted for get found and don't add to the victim list :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Antipodeans are having a run of very bad luck

RIP to those killed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I've only just stumbled on this thread. OMG, I'm in bits looking at the photos.

But it's looking good so far for fellow Boardsies friends and loved ones.

RIP to those who were killed, and my condolances to their friends and families.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,620 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Have heard most of my friends over there are fine.

But 65 dead. Really puts things into perspective :( These things happen all over the world, but when it happens somewhere you're familiar with the shock is much bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

watna wrote: »
    The news just gave an unconfirmed update that the amount of fatalaties is expected to rise to 200 - 400 :(
    Given the sensitive nature of this story, wouldn't you be better off sticking to the facts?

Posting unconfirmed updates has absolutely no benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

There was a report on New Zealand TV3 etc that there had been fatalities at the YHA hostel in Christchurch.

According to YHA Association via Twitter they advise the following:

"YHA Christchurch staff and guests are all OK following today's quake. The rumour about dead or injured guests at YHA hostels in INCORRECT."

Good news. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Aidric wrote: »
    Given the sensitive nature of this story, wouldn't you be better off sticking to the facts?

Posting unconfirmed updates has absolutely no benefit.

Watna is posting what is on the news over here. NZ tv stations are doing non stop cover. They are speculating on what is a possibly expected number.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 69,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Awful news!! :(The pictures today look horrific, R.I.P and condolences to the NZ community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

The Department of Foreign Affairs has said it is urgently liaising with New Zealand officials to establish whether any Irish people are involved.
    Anyone with concerns regarding family or friends can contact the department 01-4180222, and register details online on its travel registration system.

Contact number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Have family living there, just outside CC, and they said the place is devastated. Luckily they're all ok.

A friend and his wife and child were on holidays there and left on a flight 40 mins before the earthquake hit. Talk about lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

RIP to all those who died. My friend is in Christchurch, haven't heard from him yet, hoping to hear something during their daytime later on.

Edit: He is safe and stopping with friends now thank goodness.