Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Large Earthquake hits Christchurch, NZ

• 22-02-2011 12:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭

It's not looking good, lot of big buildings gone down http://www.nzherald.co.nz/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Yeah, just heard and it's supposed to be a bit more destructive than the first one. Have a cousin over there, hope she is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I have relations there too :(

Please be OK. RIP to anyone who died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Hope she is ok Billy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

Let's hope it's not too bad or nobody dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Says on the newsfeed part of the Cathederal has fallen down and there are people trapped in there, and major buildings have fallen. Sounds a lot more serious than last one.

I recon that the main problem is the fact that many buildings were weakened by the previous quakes, so a much smaller one now will do more damage! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

News here is already reporting deaths. Everyone at work is just sitting watching the news online. I feel sick to my stomach looking at the images. It could have easily been Wellington.

I'm quite shaken up, as is everyone else here. A lot of people have family and friends on Christchurch and they can't get through to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Holy ****.

Emergency services are having trouble getting into the centre cause of traffic. The rubble everywhere, this look like it might be a high death toll . But I pray to god it won't be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

just seen it there on the news....looks bad... my thoughts are with anyone who has family or friends there.

Looks quite bad from the photos alright. Can't get in touch with anyone yet myself :(

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/photos/4688271/Christchurch-aftershock-Feb-22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Wow another news thread. Super, even better than sky news reporting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

WindSock wrote: »
    Looks quite bad from the photos alright. Can't get in touch with anyone yet myself :(

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/photos/4688271/Christchurch-aftershock-Feb-22

Try all means of contact , Facebook, Twitter. You wouldn't know the story is with exchanges in the area. Maybe there jammed or damaged.

It is, I wouldn't have known about it this evening had I not seen it on here first just before I was to hit the hay.
    A lot of Irish people have friends and family living in ChCh, hardly irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Quit being a dick and don't post in this thread again or you will be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Live report here.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/4688671/Christchurch-quake-Running-report

Not good. Bodies taken out of YHA Hostel. Roads so bad emergency services have to be flown in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Awful news. RIP to all who has lost their lives.

Hope anyone with family, relatives, friends over there can contact them and please god they are ok.

xxx

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,114 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Shocked to hear this, horrific thing to hear before bed.

I was in Christchurch just over a month ago for a prolonged stay. I have a load of great friends (plus some Irish ones) over there at the moment, hoping they're all OK :(

I experienced a few small quakes when I was there. They were only minor. But unfortunately a major quake was inevitable, and I'm devastated that it occured during the day as they've been extremely lucky so far.

Really hits home when you're personally affected by this sort of thing. CHCH is a wonderful city, and one which another quake can only do even more damage too.

Again, can only wait and hope most of my friends are OK! Just heard that at least some of them are safe and sound.

I'd been complaining earlier about what a crap day at work I was having.

I'm leaving work and going home now to be with my OH and be grateful that I and my family are safe. It really puts things in to perspective.

It's heart wrenching to see photos like that and have it all be so recognisable. My heart just goes out to everybody there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

all the best to rabies and any other boards folk over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Wow looks bad. Judging from the pictures i'd say there is hundreds dead. Complete office blocks flattened.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

****, looks terrible. Hope not too many more people will die.... no more in fact. :(

One complete downtown hotel leveled. Hope business was quite there.:(

Unbelieveable scenes on Reuters. Literally scores of building down all over the City and still some falling with the aftershocks.

Jesus... It feels like no time at all since the last one.

John Key (NZ PM) has just confirmed 65 fatalities on the news and said this is expected to rise significantly.

I can't get over the images of collapsed buildings on the news. Horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Hey guys,

Pretty bad down there alright. Have been keeping tabs on it all day.
    I live in Auckland, but the outage was so bad it has effected our landlines, mobiles and banking up here. All has been up and down all afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Rabies wrote: »
    Hey guys,

Pretty bad down there alright. Have been keeping tabs on it all day.
    I live in Auckland, but the outage was so bad it has effected our landlines, mobiles and banking up here. All has been up and down all afternoon.

Thoughts and prayers with you all.

I haven't noticed any difference in Wellington. It feels weird to see the devestation in Christchurch and then everything in Wellington is ticking along normally. It's surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Missus hasn't been able to get through to her cousin and family in CC yet. Fingers crossed.

watna wrote: »
    I haven't noticed any difference in Wellington. It feels weird to see the devestation in Christchurch and then everything in Wellington is ticking along normally. It's surreal.

Same here. Work going on as normal in city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Im in Auckland too... its horrific!! The whole country is at standstill.... we dont know what to say or to do. Every one of my Kiwi mates have family down there... and some haven't heard from them since the quake.

Phone lines are mental with people trying to contact loved ones, understandable. Word is that everyone should stay off the phone as the people trapped are trying to communicate through their mobiles but busy networks are delaying their rescue.

Come on NZ, ye know how to do it - pull together, stay strong and get out of this mess as best as ye can! RIP to all those who have lost their lives, and those families who are waiting to hear from loved ones, you are in my thoughts xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

Sorry to hear it Supermouse.

Google have set up a people finder for anyone unable to get in contact with people
    http://christchurch-2011.person-finder.appspot.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

This one was much closer to Christchurch and during the day. So even though it wasn't nearly as powerful as the last one it's a recipe for a much bigger disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

And it was only 5km deep.... its not the scale of them on the richter that makes them deadly, its the proximity to the surface.

So sad :( x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,922 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Missus hasn't been able to get through to her cousin and family in CC yet. Fingers crossed.

All good thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Really hope the death count doesn't spiral up.
    Damage looks terrible.

The news just gave an unconfirmed update that the amount of fatalaties is expected to rise to 200 - 400 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

watna wrote: »

Thanks for that post.
    My little sister is staying in Wellington, hadn't heard anything from her.

Edit: Just got word she's okay. Hope everyone else's loved ones are okay here too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

its absolutely awful, two lads i've been friends with since i was 10 are living out there, both are ok thankfully! :) but they are still waiting to hear from friends! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

God love the families terrible news these earthquakes keep coming Thank God we dont have any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Not much sleep had last night as my brother was caught up in the middle of the earthquake. He's OK thank God but he's fairly shook up and said that thankfully he's reasonably fit as it's no fun dodging falling debris. My thoughts are with the people of Canterbury as they try to come to terms with what has happened.

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/christchurch-earthquake/index.html

Just looking at these photos is making me emotional and wanting the little fecker to come home. He reckons the hostel that he was staying in has been levelled so he's pretty much got the shirt on his back. Been able to text/Facebook him has reasssured all my family that he's safe!

*phew* Friend of mine that lives in Christchurch is OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

I experienced a few small quakes when I was there. They were only minor. But unfortunately a major quake was inevitable, and I'm devastated that it occured during the day as they've been extremely lucky so far.
    Trust me, if it happened during the night it would be much worse. People would be asleep and caught off-guard, as opposed to awake and at least able to make some effort to get to safety. It's devastating that it happened, but if it was going to happen then during the day would be the better option.

My thoughts are with all those affected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God, that's shocking news, and the photos are unreal.

RIP for those that died and I hope all boardsies loved ones in Christchurch turn out to be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Horrible news, hopefully they can rescue those still trapped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Just heard my cousin is ok. The pub she worked in(The Bog for those who know CC) and her car got destroyed, but she is fine!!

Condolences to the friends and families of those who died. RIP

I'd be very surprised if CC is still used as a world cup host city in a fee months.
    For safety reasons it shouldn't be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

RIP to the victims. I was there in 2000 with the missus, we have very fond memories of the place (and of NZ in general). I hope all the unaccounted for get found and don't add to the victim list :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Antipodeans are having a run of very bad luck

RIP to those killed