Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its official : public sector pay per hour is 49% higher than private sector

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

I dont think we get paid higher, I do however think we work harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Good man, you boys in Revenue should tax the whingers \ begrudgers \ public-sector bashers out of existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭10belowzero

Ye just don't get it do ye , it is the private sector's greed , stupidity ,corruption , tax evasion , sharp practice ,price fixing cartel's, over charging and uncompetitive staff etc to blame for the country's woe's.
    Why did ye not apply for the p.s job's when they were going , because ye looked down yere nose at them to earn the big buck's , when the septic tiger was roaring .Look at any private sector job ,esp office type's , sitting behind a desk in warm comfortable surrounding's pressing the odd button here and there,and picking up the phone any time the boss approach's.
    Let's face it , most Irish business only get's going after 11 on a monday morning and are all but closed by lunch time on friday's .
    Irish manager's are a joke , esp the one's with biz degree's ( they really love fancy title's , the fancier the title and the smarter the suit , the thicker they seem to be).A staff member ask's them to make a decision about toner for the printer(que in a bunch of over paid consultant's to produce a report) and then they need to call a meeting , to initiate a process to identify a strategy going forward , with the target of ring fencing on going change, tailored to flexible multi functional path's within a resolution frame work to meet create and implement a balanced structured approach to enhance existing process's in a non conflicting manner.Then it's off to the pub for the staff for lunch leaving customer's on the long finger and phone's to ring out , while management disappear off to druid's glen or the k club , for the round of golf with Seanie and the bould Brian , and washed down with a vat of fine port and brandy
    whilst singing rousing rendition's of we screwed the country in fine auld style , fine auld style ,WE SCREWED THE COUNTRY IN FINE AULD STYLE AND WE'D DO IT ALL AGAIN .
    IT WAS THE PRIVATE SECTOR WHO SCREWED THIS COUNTRY - COP ON AND LIVE WITH IT - MOVE ON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭rorymcgrory

The_Thing wrote: »
    Good man, you boys in Revenue should tax the whingers \ begrudgers \ public-sector bashers out of existence.

I wouldn't do that son. Not my form at all. I only go for a weeks wages. Some sorry asses in and out to that dole office these days. Tis no joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Its true then that the civil service was never a home to the brightest and best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Its true then that the civil service was never a home to the brightest and best

And yet you still wouldn't pass the entrance exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,471 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Laugh my ass off.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

noodler wrote: »
    Laugh my ass off.

kceire wrote: »
    Laugh my ass off.

I'm sorry but the idea that the 300,000 people in the public sector are somehow more productive or more intelligent/qualified than their (where applicable) private sector counterparts is hilarious.

i agree, but i would imagine theres plenty of intelligent/qualified people in the Public Sector, just as theres plenty of intelligent/qualified people in the Privare Sector.

thread is like one giant circle now, just going round and round and round and round and......well you get my drift.

same posts and same BS, it has even resorted to "passer by" posters name calling, thread should be closed and let enjoy a peaceful death, no doubt there be another PS bashing/begrudgery/cut their pay/fire them thread started after 3 mins.

i agree, but i would imagine theres plenty of intelligent/qualified people in the Public Sector, just as theres plenty of intelligent/qualified people in the Privare Sector.

thread is like one giant circle now, just going round and round and round and round and......well you get my drift.

same posts and same BS, it has even resorted to "passer by" posters name calling, thread should be closed and let enjoy a peaceful death, no doubt there be another PS bashing/begrudgery/cut their pay/fire them thread started after 3 mins.

The thread should probably have its name changed but the pay and pensions bill needs to be reduced further and this thread should stay open until it happens.

Pay and Pension bill reduced in 2009, 2010 and it will reduce in 2011 again.

Pensions bill still rising.

I see what the Four Year Plan says but we can hardly be satisfied with a promise for four-years.

If the Pensions Bill keeps growing and offseting the pay bill decreases then the issue will continue to come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

How the feck did this guy pass?

galway2007 wrote: »
    They should take martial law to the scumbags of private sector workers and employers who have **** up this country for even kids that are not born yet
    Those scumbags of private sector employers are still screwing Irish people today to help pay the waiters in the private sector high wages
    A lot of yea would be better off if yea stop moaning and stop writing the same **** over and over here. Some off yea are over 2 year moaning here and I have to ask do yea work at all????????????
    There are people employed in the private sector that should be deported from Ireland for what they have done
    Scumbags is what works in the private sector and if yea are not happy then **** off out of this country and I am sure www.ryanair.ie will screw you are you leave

Also, what does he have against waiters!?

Pensions bill still rising.

I see what the Four Year Plan says but we can hardly be satisfied with a promise for four-years.

If the Pensions Bill keeps growing and offseting the pay bill decreases then the issue will continue to come up.

well you cant have it both ways, you want people out of the PS, when they leave their entitled to a pension.

alot of people will forget also that with more PS cuts on the way, government spending may just remain the same. i know if i get cut much more, i qualify for FIS which will nearly bring me back up to my current wage so yeah the PS pay bill will drop but SW bill will increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,349 ✭✭✭doc_17

To get "savings" of 10% on the pay bill they'd need to cut pay by 20% which probably isn't gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭fliball123

Seriously though
    Does anyone really think that the next Government will do any serious public sector reform. Given how powerful their unions are and the unrest it would cause ?

The will have to...If the next gov increase more taxes dispite the fact that its proved that even do they raised taxes in the last 2 budgets they are taking in less due to people leaving the country and getting more on the dole...Also the IMF are stating that if the CPA have not delivered by Sept then the scissors are out and all bets are off...and these boyos will not care if Jack O Connor or any one else tries to rallie the troops.

Also the countries attitude is changing and this can be seen by the dwindling support for Labour - pro ps as apposed to the rise of FG who intend to cut the ps

Ye just don't get it do ye , it is the private sector's greed , stupidity ,corruption , tax evasion , sharp practice ,price fixing cartel's, over charging and uncompetitive staff etc to blame for the country's woe's.
    Why did ye not apply for the p.s job's when they were going , because ye looked down yere nose at them to earn the big buck's , when the septic tiger was roaring .Look at any private sector job ,esp office type's , sitting behind a desk in warm comfortable surrounding's pressing the odd button here and there,and picking up the phone any time the boss approach's.
    Let's face it , most Irish business only get's going after 11 on a monday morning and are all but closed by lunch time on friday's .
    Irish manager's are a joke , esp the one's with biz degree's ( they really love fancy title's , the fancier the title and the smarter the suit , the thicker they seem to be).A staff member ask's them to make a decision about toner for the printer(que in a bunch of over paid consultant's to produce a report) and then they need to call a meeting , to initiate a process to identify a strategy going forward , with the target of ring fencing on going change, tailored to flexible multi functional path's within a resolution frame work to meet create and implement a balanced structured approach to enhance existing process's in a non conflicting manner.Then it's off to the pub for the staff for lunch leaving customer's on the long finger and phone's to ring out , while management disappear off to druid's glen or the k club , for the round of golf with Seanie and the bould Brian , and washed down with a vat of fine port and brandy
    whilst singing rousing rendition's of we screwed the country in fine auld style , fine auld style ,WE SCREWED THE COUNTRY IN FINE AULD STYLE AND WE'D DO IT ALL AGAIN .
    IT WAS THE PRIVATE SECTOR WHO SCREWED THIS COUNTRY - COP ON AND LIVE WITH IT - MOVE ON

Do you want to be the pot or the kettle...how many fcuking scandals via the public sector have we had...every allegation you have just asserted about the private sector can be held against the public sector too. The only differnce is that if we fcuk up we more than likely lose our job or the company goes bankrupt...and if we were borrowing 20billion more to pay our wages we would have gone into receivership ages ago...Remember we still have a 20biliion a year without the banks so thowing stones and glasshouses come to mind

And quite rightly so IMO as long as we are paying over 20billion out more than we are taking in...we need to have a voice ... and when Enda comes in and one of the biggest policy winners with FG is the fact that he will cut the public sector...hense the rise in FG and the fail of Labour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

:eek: The above may be true of BANKS - who are now public sector because they couldn't cut it in the private sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

well you cant have it both ways, you want people out of the PS, when they leave their entitled to a pension.

alot of people will forget also that with more PS cuts on the way, government spending may just remain the same. i know if i get cut much more, i qualify for FIS which will nearly bring me back up to my current wage so yeah the PS pay bill will drop but SW bill will increase.

Simple solution to that is compulsory redundancy and reduce FIS levels and other SW.

You still seem to be of the belief that retirees are the only ones that should leave the PS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Simple solution to that is compulsory redundancy and reduce FIS levels and other SW.

You still seem to be of the belief that retirees are the only ones that should leave the PS.

If compulsory redundancies did happen in the PS, how would it be carried out? My inclination is that the unions would want it to be LIFO (last in, first out) which would mean the younger generation leaving whilst the older carrying on. Just my theory but I'd like to hear what others think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

RichardAnd wrote: »
    If compulsory redundancies did happen in the PS, how would it be carried out? My inclination is that the unions would want it to be LIFO (last in, first out) which would mean the younger generation leaving whilst the older carrying on. Just my theory but I'd like to hear what others think.

This is the sort of stuff that irates people so much. If they actually want to reform the PS they have to cut out the waste. It shouldnt matter what age someone is or what they do, if they are excess cut them
    Plus LIFO would only leave the older, more expensive people in their positions, I dont see how that helps at all !

This is the sort of stuff that irates people so much. If they actually want to reform the PS they have to cut out the waste. It shouldnt matter what age someone is or what they do, if they are excess cut them
    Plus LIFO would only leave the older, more expensive people in their positions, I dont see how that helps at all !

The best thing to do is bring in a 3 strike policy...Put it to the Unions and make sure you go public..Basically the law states that employees are entitled to a 3 strike rule...You put down in black and white...If your late more than say 5/10 times a year a strike..If you are continuosly sick strike...etc...3 strikes or two verbals and a written warning then your out...I garentee you that with in 5 years the waisters will be gone...and by going public the unions trying shoot it down would be seen as trying to protect the pistaker and slackers in the ps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

fliball123 wrote: »
    The best thing to do is bring in a 3 strike policy...Put it to the Unions and make sure you go public..Basically the law states that employees are entitled to a 3 strike rule...You put down in black and white...If your late more than say 5/10 times a year a strike..If you are continuosly sick strike...etc...3 strikes or two verbals and a written warning then your out...I garentee you that with in 5 years the waisters will be gone...and by going public the unions trying shoot it down would be seen as trying to protect the pistaker and slackers in the ps.

A very good suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

Do you believe that union leaders care about it?
    FAS faces pressure to scrap inquiry into staff conduct
    Staff members were singled out for scrutiny in a series of 23 internal audit reports.

After the audits were completed, FAS hired outside management consultant Ignatius Lynam, on a salary of €1,200-a-day, to examine the allegations against the current and former staff members.

Mr Lynam was asked to recommend what disciplinary action, if any, they should face, up to and including dismissal.

However, the whole process has been thrown into doubt by the bombshell findings about the internal audits by Mazars.

The consultancy firm was commissioned by FAS to compile a report in response to complaints by Mr Craig that, among other things, he was unfairly suspended from duties in late 2008.

FAS last night refused to discuss the Mazars findings as the report is subject to a confidentiality agreement.

However, email correspondence seen by the Irish Independent reveals it has major implications for Mr Lynam's investigation.

An email from SIPTU industrial organiser Brendan O'Brien, who represents some of the staff involved, to FAS director general Paul O'Toole reveals the union has demanded the inquiry be halted and the disciplinary charges dropped.

Do you believe that union leaders care about it?
    FAS faces pressure to scrap inquiry into staff conduct

I do yes Unions and ps usually have a gripe with any kind of changes to work practises..but no union or ps group could or would be supported if they did not aggree to this measure...as I say its only a suggestion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

And quite rightly so IMO as long as we are paying over 20billion out more than we are taking in...we need to have a voice ... and when Enda comes in and one of the biggest policy winners with FG is the fact that he will cut the public sector...hense the rise in FG and the fail of Labour

The rise of FG support in the past week or two and fall of Labour coincided with the Trade Unions voicing support for Labour definitely. That probaly damaged them terribly as the ordinary private sector workers are sick and tired of listening to overpaid union leaders claiming poverty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Why should someone on certified sick leave receive a strike? What about people who keep getting pregnant? Or someone who gets confined to a wheelchair? Should they be strikes too?
    De Dannan wrote: »
    The rise of FG support in the past week or two and fall of Labour coincided with the Trade Unions voicing support for Labour definitely. That probaly damaged them terribly as the ordinary private sector workers are sick and tired of listening to overpaid union leaders claiming poverty

Don't unions also represent private sector workers? What makes you think the public sector aren't sick of their representatives too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,419 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

k_mac wrote: »
    Why should someone on certified sick leave receive a strike? What about people who keep getting pregnant? Or someone who gets confined to a wheelchair? Should they be strikes too?

The point is not about individual circumstances but that the disparity between public sector and private sector sick leave is too wide and needs to be addressed.

Ironically my OH is a nurse and whereas one time it might not have been a big deal to take a sick day, she would be unable to now because her ward has lost half their staff which aren't being replaced and she is unable to take any sick days because it would overburden her colleagues. As she jokes - it makes no difference coming when sick as the patients are all sick anyway.
    Don't unions also represent private sector workers? What makes you think the public sector aren't sick of their representatives too?

Private sector unions are a rarity. Compare Aer Lingus with Ryanair.