Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

your right Pearse Doherty is a pure dope and has done all of the above as have any new young members of SF.

how far back do you want to go,:rolleyes:

BTW....As an individual, I think Pearse Doherty is a very good communicator, is smart and is a capable person. However, I also believe he does'nt believe the BS he is spouting on their economic policies and is just pandering to a certain demographic for the sole purpose of maximising the vote (what a surprise for a politician..)
    So, IMO he is toeing the party line and deliberatly fibbing to the electorate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

wyndhurst wrote: »
    2009 and the celebration party hosted by SF/Martin Ferris for McCabe's released killers.

2005 Northern bank robbery
    2005 Robert McCartney (murdered by 12 SF members)

Thats an idiotic example, the IRA expelled members over this, SF ejected a dozen menbers, and on top of that the IRA offered to execute those who did the murder after they did an internal investigation. This was in no way sanctioned by the Army council or SF.
    Text of Irish Republican Army (IRA) third statement about the killing of Robert McCartney,
    (8 March 2005)

"Representatives of Oglaigh na hEireann met with Bridgeen Hagans, the partner of Robert McCartney and with his sisters before our statement of 25 February was issued.

The meeting lasted five-and-a- half hours. During this time the IRA representatives gave the McCartney family a detailed account of our investigation.

Our investigation found that after the initial melee in Magennis's bar, a crowd spilled out on to the street and Robert McCartney, Brendan Devine and two other men were pursued into Market Street.

Four men were involved in the attacks in Market Street on the evening of 30 January. A fifth person was at the scene. He took no part in the attacks and was responsible for moving to safety one of the two people accompanying Robert McCartney and Brendan Devine.

One man was responsible for providing the knife that was used in the stabbing of Robert McCartney and Brendan Devine in Market Street. He got the knife from the kitchen of Magennis's Bar.

Another man stabbed Robert McCartney and Brendan Devine.

A third man kicked and beat Robert McCartney after he had been stabbed in Market Street.

A fourth man hit a friend of Robert McCartney and Brendan Devine across the face with a steel bar in Market Street.

The man who provided the knife also retrieved it from the scene and destroyed it. The same man also took the CCTV tape from the bar, after threatening a member of staff and later destroyed it. He also burned clothes after the attack.

Reports in the media have alleged that up to 12 IRA Volunteers were involved in the events in Market Street. Our investigation found that this is not so. Of the four people directly involved in the attacks in Market Street, two were IRA Volunteers. The other two were not.

The IRA knows the identity of all these men.

The build-up to the attack and stabbings was also outlined to the family and subsequently set out publicly in the IRA's statement of 25 February.

The IRA representatives detailed the outcome of the internal disciplinary proceedings thus far, and stated in clear terms that the IRA was prepared to shoot the people directly involved in the killing of Robert McCartney.

The McCartney family raised their concerns with the IRA representatives.

These included: Firstly, the family made it clear that they did not want physical action taken against those involved. They stated that they wanted those individuals to give a full account of their actions in court.

Secondly, they raised concerns about the intimidation of witnesses.

The IRA's position on this was set out in unambiguous and categoric terms on February 15 and February 25. Before and after this meeting with the family, the IRA gave direct assurances on their safety to three named individuals who the family believe were the targets of intimidation.

Since we met the family, at that time, the good offices of an independent third party have been employed to reinforce these assurances with two of the three men. To this point, the third party has not been able to contact the other man.

We have urged any witnesses who can assist in any way to come forward. That remains our position. The only interest the IRA has in this case is to see truth and justice achieved.

Since we issued our statement on February 25 there has been much political and media comment on what we had to say. Predictably, our opponents and enemies who have their own agendas have used this brutal killing to attack republicans and to advance their own narrow political interests.

The public will make their own judgment on this.

We sought and held a second meeting with the McCartney family in the presence of an independent observer.

In the course of this we reiterated our position in respect of witnesses, including our view that all witnesses should come forward. We also revisited details of the incident.

We disclosed the following to the family: The conclusions of the IRA's investigations are based on voluntary admissions by those involved.

The names of those involved in the attacks and stabbings of Robert McCartney, Brendan Devine and the assault on another man in Market Street were given to the family.

This included the names of the two men responsible for providing the knife, using the knife, destroying the knife, destroying the CCTV tape and burning clothes.

In addition, we informed the family that: We have ordered anyone who was present on the night to go forward and to give a full and honest account of their actions. That includes those who have already been subject to the IRA's internal disciplinary proceedings.

We are continuing to press all of those involved in the events around the killings of Robert McCartney to come forward. The IRA is setting out all of the above at length because it is important that those issues of truth and justice are successfully resolved.

We are doing our best to work with the family and to respect their wishes."
    P O'Neill,
    Irish Republican Publicity Bureau, Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Thats an idiotic example, the IRA expelled members over this, SF ejected a dozen menbers, and on top of that the IRA offered to execute those who did the murder after they did an internal investigation. This was in no way sanctioned by the Army council or SF.

So in 2005 the military wing of Sinn Fein offered to execute people without trial and thats not a problem?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    So in 2005 the military wing of Sinn Fein offered to execute people without trial and thats not a problem?
    The disingenuous suggestion was that 12 SF volunteers did it and where somehow aided and abetted by the IRA and SF while that is anything but the case, they condemned it to such a degree they talked to the families and made it clear how they felt about the killing.

They also demanded that witnesses go forward to the authorities and sacked members when they refused.

And they where IRA volunteers, 2 of them anyway, and where court martialed, dont forget those lads signed up to the IRA, and to the possibility of facing army discipline.

The disingenuous suggestion was that 12 SF volunteers did it and where somehow aided and abetted by the IRA and SF while that is anything but the case, they condemned it to such a degree they talked to the families and made it clear how they felt about the killing.

They also demanded that witnesses go forward to the authorities and sacked members when they refused.

And they where IRA volunteers, 2 of them anyway, and where court martialed, dont forget those lads signed up to the IRA, and to the possibility of facing army discipline.

You forget to mention that the scene of the murder was forensically cleaned by members of the organisation immeditately after the attack or the intimidation of witnesses following the murder.

When you say that SF demanded witnesses go forward to the authorities you conveniently forget to mention that they only did this in 2007, more than 2 years after the murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

What utter rubbish you are spouting.
    "SF Expelled members" (suspended actually), "sacked members", "court martialed"
    FFS - get a grip - they gutted and beat to death the guy and got away scot free due to intimidation and closing of the ranks of the SF/IRA family.
    The rest of it (statements, press releases, etc) was just window dressing for all the gullible eeejits out there.

You forget to mention that the scene of the murder was forensically cleaned by members of the organisation immeditately after the attack or the intimidation of witnesses following the murder.

When you say that SF demanded witnesses go forward to the authorities you conveniently forget to mention that they only did this in 2007, more than 2 years after the murder.
    Did you read the statement I posted? Thats from 2005.

Yes I did read the IRA statement you posted. The IRA said

"We have urged any witnesses who can assist in any way to come forward."

You said
    "They also demanded that witnesses go forward to the authorities"

They did not call on people to go to the authorities as well you know. They called on witnesses to come forward to the internal IRA enquiry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

2009 and the celebration party hosted by SF/Martin Ferris for McCabe's released killers.

2005 Northern bank robbery
    2005 Robert McCartney (murdered by 12 SF members)

what is crazy SF is in government with the DUP, who would of taught they were so ill informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭mccoist

I would like to thank all the non shinners for making this such a sucessful thread ,Despit the fact that this thread was only looking for shinners to voice the fact they would vote Sinn Fein ,it has drawn the attention of all the begrudging stalwart atttitudes of other parties.
    In case you guys did not notice the thread is for people who want to vote SF and not those who want to maintain the status quo.
    right wing conservative bible thumping cowardly smucks
    Vote on for your republican FF what a bunch of idiots and your opposition parties who were very quiet while the sheckels were being paid and the pension fund was being built up,
    think on you shallow minded creeps, and once again i am glad you find Sinn Fein and their policies so interesting

Yes I did read the IRA statement you posted. The IRA said

You said

They did not call on people to go to the authorities as well you know. They called on witnesses to come forward to the internal IRA enquiry.
    I interpreted that as a call to go to the authorities, take into account this line:

In addition, we informed the family that: We have ordered anyone who was present on the night to go forward and to give a full and honest account of their actions. That includes those who have already been subject to the IRA's internal disciplinary proceedings.
    Ie, its separate.

Anyway, they gave the family the names of all those involved, a major action.

Its obvious that this murder was in no way excused or justified by either SF or the IRA, they condemned it, and did what they could to bring those who did it to justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

The fact that Sinn Fein attracts these type of members in the first place is enough to keep most decent people away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

Scotty # wrote: »
    The fact that Sinn Fein attracts these type of members in the first place is enough to keep most decent people away.

When you say most do you mean all decent people. I am a law abiding citizen. And guess what, I am voting Sinn Fein :D

Dont think the same could be said of the Ray Burkes, Liam lawlors, Charlie haugheys of this world.

Not insinuating by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

buy the sounds of things here tere are a lot of people who have no back bone!! people who put money befour tere pride and dignity!! we all came from nothing in this country or well most of us did anyway but we are a proud nation

ireland got lost in the 90s!! the state of us buying like we lived in La or new york, we were out of our depth!!but still even now after all that has happened we want to keep wages at 100.000 , 200.000 for the fat cats and the little people get back in tere place were you belong, well not any more!!

it seems to me most people who hate sinn fein are on 100.000 or more
    ireland needs to go back to basics, we are a proud nation but we are weak!! all these people worrying about sinn fein when bertie walks the streets and all the anglo boys walk away with millons and the middle finger to us all

we all need to cop on, cut the crap and stand again for a nation we can be proud off

bottom line the brits and the i.r.a couldnt have done so much damage as ff has done to its own people, they have destroyed a nation so wake up!!

im giving sinn fein my vote becaues ff made me do it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

I will be voting against SF - what I would call tactical voting.

My tactical vote is along these lines -
    IMO I could'nt care less who gets in with the exception of Sinn Fein & the looney left. I don't want a stong SF presence in the next Dail (for many different reasons - deliberate lies to the electorate, Garda killers, criminality, economic iliteracy, murder, intimidation, racketeering, etc, etc). So in my constituency it is clear that the SF candidate is battling for the 5th seat with another candidate.
    That other candidate gets my vote solely as a vote against SF.

First off tell me which political party doesnt tell deliberate lies to the electorate?
    Economic illeteracy? FF and FG are very literate of course, listening to what they were saying in 2007 SF was the only party that wanted to reign in spending and look what happened.
    Criminality and racketeering? Show me one piece of evidence, rather than something out of a tabloid.
    Garda killers and murder.. how can SF as a political party be responsible for the actions of individual members of the IRA? If an Irish soldier kills somebody tonight is our current government party and Taoiseach personally responsible for it? Or what about the few Gardai who have been found to be double jobbing in Finglas and Crumlim with criminal drug gangs.. does this mean that the Minister for Justice is engaged in criminality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Davypat

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Sorry but thats not back up

Its back of a fag pack calculations

some hard evidence please -

Foreigners doing the Posters/Print for FF/FG/Lab.
    SF the only ones giving jobs at home!
    LEAD BY EXAMPLE. Surely, that foreign trade would be a wake up call if nothing else!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Davypat

Dotsey wrote: »
    First off tell me which political party doesnt tell deliberate lies to the electorate?
    Economic illeteracy? FF and FG are very literate of course, listening to what they were saying in 2007 SF was the only party that wanted to reign in spending and look what happened.
    Criminality and racketeering? Show me one piece of evidence, rather than something out of a tabloid.
    Garda killers and murder.. how can SF as a political party be responsible for the actions of individual members of the IRA? If an Irish soldier kills somebody tonight is our current government party and Taoiseach personally responsible for it? Or what about the few Gardai who have been found to be double jobbing in Finglas and Crumlim with criminal drug gangs.. does this mean that the Minister for Justice is engaged in criminality?

Oh Dear, another case of history denial. Have you forgotten so quickly the FF Ministers who went to jail in more reent times or the reason for those damned Tribunals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I will be voting against SF - what I would call tactical voting.

My tactical vote is along these lines -
    IMO I could'nt care less who gets in with the exception of Sinn Fein & the looney left. I don't want a stong SF presence in the next Dail (for many different reasons - deliberate lies to the electorate, Garda killers, criminality, economic iliteracy, murder, intimidation, racketeering, etc, etc). So in my constituency it is clear that the SF candidate is battling for the 5th seat with another candidate.
    That other candidate gets my vote solely as a vote against SF.

I too will vote the whole paper and leave SF off.
    No way should these people ever be allowed to govern us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

My god 1910 posts in this thread - one thing is for sure - people are talking about sinn fein anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

sollar wrote: »
    My god 1910 posts in this thread - one thing is for sure - people are talking about sinn fein anyway.

Might be some fear deep down within the traditional parties that their cosy little circles might not exist in the near future...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Davypat wrote: »
    Oh Dear, another case of history denial. Have you forgotten so quickly the FF Ministers who went to jail in more recent times or the reason for those damned Tribunals?
    Have you completely misread my post? because your reply has no relevence to anything in it

Davypat wrote: »
    Foreigners doing the Posters/Print for FF/FG/Lab.
    SF the only ones giving jobs at home!
    LEAD BY EXAMPLE. Surely, that foreign trade would be a wake up call if nothing else!!!

This is completely untrue.

mccoist wrote: »
    I would like to thank all the non shinners for making this such a sucessful thread ,Despit the fact that this thread was only looking for shinners to voice the fact they would vote Sinn Fein ,it has drawn the attention of all the begrudging stalwart atttitudes of other parties.
    In case you guys did not notice the thread is for people who want to vote SF and not those who want to maintain the status quo.
    right wing conservative bible thumping cowardly smucks
    Vote on for your republican FF what a bunch of idiots and your opposition parties who were very quiet while the sheckels were being paid and the pension fund was being built up,
    think on you shallow minded creeps, and once again i am glad you find Sinn Fein and their policies so interesting

The thread title is "Anyone here going to vote Sinn Fein"

There are 2 possible answers to this question, yes and no.

The thread is not just for cheerleaders for Sinn Fein.

90% of the people in the country do not support Sinn Fein.
    10% do.

Even on the Boards poll Sinn Fein only managed less than 12%.

So the fact that Sinn Fein policies and their past were challenged and supporters asked some uncomfortable questions is not surprising.

I believe there are more people in this country who are actively opposed to Sinn Fein and what they stand for than there are Sinn Fein supporters.

Do you think that all the other political parties who enjoy much larger support than Sinn Fein could rule out the possibility of a deal with Sinn Fein if there was any appetite for it amongst the electorate?

Your outburst insulting members of boards who do not support Sinn Fein does not do you or the credibility of your party any favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

voting against sinn fein is like p1ssing into the wind

Safesurfer, what do you think SF stand for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 tracking

they have policies that want to help the poor and they are republican which is good
    The simile "Punch and Judy Show" well describes the laughable quality of debate in the Dail. Not so the Kenny claim, that 16 years of FF government has this country in the economic shape we are in. What about Local Govt. Ghost estates are more than an immediate danger to public safety. Can we afford to elect a leader whose election campagin rhetoric is that delousary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭NewHillel

90% of the people in the country do not support Sinn Fein.
    10% do.

Even on the Boards poll Sinn Fein only managed less than 12%.
    Latest poll shows SF on 12%

Do you think that all the other political parties who enjoy much larger support than Sinn Fein could rule out the possibility of a deal with Sinn Fein if there was any appetite for it amongst the electorate?
    I think that FF would get into bed with the Devil (feel free to substitute your own bête noire), let alone SF, if they could hang on to power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Safesurfer, what do you think SF stand for?

Sinn Féin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

crebel81 wrote: »
    When you say most do you mean all decent people. I am a law abiding citizen. And guess what, I am voting Sinn Fein :D
    No I meant most. If I meant all I would have said all.

For me, and I do mean me personally, a vote for SF is a vote in support of the atrocities that have taken place under their watch over the last 50 years that they have time and time again refused to condemn. The murder of innocent ordinary people including children.

Hell would have to freeze over before I would give them a vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

Yes I will be voting Sinn Fein. I will be doing this because of all the reasons I have previously posted and the following!!

On the David Mc Williams show on Newstalk today the Argentinian foreign minister whos country has been through the same dilemma as we are facing now had this analogy to make.and I apologise in advance if there are some on this thread who are so blind that they will not see!!

" Ok so you have a house and a mortgage and through no fault of your own you lose your job, you have to choose whether to continue paying the mortgage or to buy food ! So! you manage to cut back so much on food and maintain your payments but you starve yourself so much that you become sick and the whole exercise becomes irrelevant!!

In hindsight you realise that you would have been better off to tell the bank to take the house ,( which is worthless anyway) and to continue feeding yourself !

Simple, but true. If we continue with the madness of feeding the IMF we will starve ourselves to a point where we are unable to revive our own economy!! Now in a very soft and gentle voice I say, BURN THEM!!