Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Dotsey wrote: »
    Adams was excellent and all this considering its his first time running in this jurisdiction and he was up against former ministers ans veterns of the Dail.
    Ahh com' on.. he's hardly a novice now is he? He's been at this game a long long time and he actually is a good speaker (even if it is waffle).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Scotty # wrote: »
    SF are the political wing of the IRA. Jesus don't tell me you didn't know that either???
    And you have concrete proof to confirm this? I'm a member of SF but I've never considered myself or have I ever been asked to be a member of the IRA or have I received training to be part of an army or been given green books or the likes. So what you are saying is wrong and you know its wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

So what you are saying is wrong and you know its wrong.
    You keep telling yourself that. One day you might believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

So what you are saying is wrong and you know its wrong.

...but it's an easy thing to say, an exclamation of association as if to stain or tarnish everyone who supports, votes for or is a member of SF.
    It's a cheap snide trick used to shout down, put down or shut up.

However, as I've said before, the only people they're fooling by saying such a thing these days, are themselves.
    There's barely a person on this whole island who doesn't know the history, incriminations and accusations of and made against SF - yet people really just don't care any more about that kind of bull and after the GFA and people finally realising the (P)IRA have gone away (y'know...) they are left with well refined, honest, high integrity, capable, hard working and knowledgeable politicians from SF to vote for - who speak not for themselves or a wealthy elite but for the average man and woman, who no other party bothers to represent at all.

Let them spout their accusations and childish insults, they're only doing it out of fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 to tall for yous

first off
    i never said sf where
    second i dont believe they have fully broke ties with ira inactive members ,but i did say these inactive ire members are involved in crime and protection,
    theres a big difference

name them ?

name a ira drug dealer?

you cant. iv been looking myself. i think the ira are over,barring a small group who have no ties with sf.

Euroland wrote: »
    Now there is broad agreement among leading Irish and foreign economists and financiers that Ireland has very high probability of sovereign default around 2013-2014. Sovereign default would bring far more serious consequences than the bank debt default.

The only way to avoid it is to:

1)Restructure or default on bank debt (in case of restructuring the haircuts should be significant, i.e. 70-95%)
    2)Extend the term for the austerity measures, from current ECB-imposed 3-4 years to 5-6 years
    3)Renegotiate interest terms to realistic levels (below 4.5%)
    4)Apply reasonable measures to eliminate wasteful public spending (public sector salary reductions and caps; caps on state pensions; significant reduction in social welfare payments and term caps on them, etc)
    5)Create jobs

However, 3 main parties (FG, Labour, and FF) still don’t want to recognize the very high probability of sovereign default within 2-3 years and still avoid taking clear policies on bank debt restructuring/default and all other areas mentioned above.

Believe me or not, SF, despite being weak in some other policies, is the only party to recognize this problem while the rest just simply neglect the incoming collapse.
    or leave europe bring back our punt print dept free money.Max Keiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

or leave europe bring back our punt print dept free money.Max Keiser

SF supporter in fantasy statement shocker. There's so much wrong with attempting to do that I just can't be bothered to spell it out.

paul71 wrote: »
    So Puffdragon since we finallly got the "I don't care" answer from Wolfe tone, can we have your answer?

Do you care that their will be no way to pay your wages when Mr. Adams closes all the banks?

why will there be no money? any money we get off the imf is going to the banks?will they give me a lone?no

max has the answer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0BaDbK9jFts

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    First of all, the ECB are buying Irish bank bonds (~€150bn worth), while the EU and the IMF are giving us the bailout money. The only reason the ECB are buying that €150bn worth of bank bonds is so that we do not default on senior bondholder debt (which would cause problems throughout Europe). Were we to default, like SF want to, we would not only lose the bailout money, we would also lose the ECB money which keeps money in the ATMs.

Defaulting is not an option because without the ECB money going to the banks, all our banks would collapse, everybody in this country would lose their deposits and businesses would not be able to continue trading because they would not be able to access working capital.

I dont need "insider info" to tell you that there is absolutely no chance that China, Russia or Sweden would give us the €200bn we would need in the absence of the EU, IMF and ECB.
    it could be done ,

argentina borrowed from venezuela not the imf. they were gone atm,s dry nothing but fresh air in the banks no savings bankrupt.think there better off now with no imf bailout?.id say gerry adams could get us a beter deal elsewere.i think the imf is a bad idear the more i look in to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

I'd prefer the Chavez route over the IMF too in fairness, there needs to be a totally new option put on the world table, not just that provided by economic terrorists in the IMF.

meglome wrote: »
    SF supporter in fantasy statement shocker. There's so much wrong with attempting to do that I just can't be bothered to spell it out.

1973 Ireland joined europe. By 2011 we have total economic crash, 80 billion Euro in debt, with national sovereignty gone..dont bother then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWHCMaPb-J8

Nehaxak wrote: »
    I'd prefer the Chavez route over the IMF too in fairness, there needs to be a totally new option put on the world table, not just that provided by economic terrorists in the IMF.

we could borrow from Chavez and at the same time kick them scumbags shell out and get Chavez in to build our own oil and gas refinerys bringng in jobs aswell.

danbohan wrote: »
    do you really think so , uk consultant salarys chart , anybody think ours are just a tad overpaid ?

uk Consultant salaries 2010/2011

Threshold 1, years completed as a consultant 0, £74,504, period before eligibility for next threshold one year

Threshold 2, years completed as a consultant 1, £76,837, period before eligibility for next threshold one year

Threshold 3, years completed as a consultant 2, £79,170, period before eligibility for next threshold one year

Threshold 4, years completed as a consultant 3, £81,502, period before eligibility for next threshold one year

Threshold 5, years completed as a consultant 4, £83,829, period before eligibility for next threshold five years

Threshold 6, years completed as a consultant 9, £89,370, period before eligibility for next threshold five years

Threshold 7, years completed as a consultant 14, £94,911, period before eligibility for next threshold five years

Threshold 8, years completed as a consultant 19, £100,446

theres going to be nothing here anyway after the bailout so even more of our best will leave,,,they caped F1 last year did they all leave no.wage cap good idaer it worked in F1. il be voting sf i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Mark White

Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

And your presumption of innocence is highly naive when you see what actually goes on in communities around the city.

I find that a remarkable statement coming from a Sinn Fein supporter. Would you like suspects to be rounded up and interned?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 poonanny

il be voting sinn fein.give then a crack at it.they couldnt do any worse then what has been in power over the years and if they do half of what they intend to do in there manifesto they will be a success.il think they will form not the next government but the subequent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 BORDS.IE

Scotty # wrote: »
    Most people on Boards are under 35... most voters are over 35. Boards 'vote' is nowwhere close to what the actual election will be. He didn't. You have to first have €50 Billion to throw it away. We don't. We have a deficit of €19.5 Billion over the next 4 years. We have to get that money from somewhere. Sinn Fein's policies are ludicrous and will absolutely unrealistic and what's more they know they are. They are hoping there's enough eejits out there to swallow the waffle and give them their vote.
    IF YOU DONT BAIL OUT BANKS TO THE TUNE OF SAY 50 BILLION ,YOU START LESS DEFICIT. IF YOU DO, YOU START WITH -50 BILLION OR MORE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 anne1960

Gerry Adams does not love Ireland, just power. Beware bringing Gerry to your table.....He divides and conquers.
    Sinn Fein were dragged kicking and screaming with the DUP after 20years to the table by John Hume and the SDLP.
    All they had to do since is arrange cover up of the following while making statements to the contrary:

The ''disappeared'' who have now started to come out of the ground just before an election mostly buried in the South
    Millions of fuel laundering trade and cost for clean up ran by dissident and sinn fein gangs
    Intimidation about who buys what land lives where and who they speak to by sinn fein families.
    Fraudulent voting at every election commandeered by Sinn Fein thought to account for about 25% in the Armagh Mourne elections alone.
    Oh and the border? No way do they want that to go.How are they going to keep all their criminal voters happy otherwise?

Very worried observer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

poonanny wrote: »
    il be voting sinn fein.give then a crack at it.they couldnt do any worse then what has been in power over the years and if they do half of what they intend to do in there manifesto they will be a success.il think they will form not the next government but the subequent one.

Half, SF cant do anything in there manifesto! They want to tell the bondholders, IMF, EU, and ECB to take a hike, reverse all the budget cuts, collapse the banks, and then fund the annual €18bn deficit and a €7bn stimulus package out of the €4bn left in our National Pension Reserve Fund and ignore the fact that without the ECBs money, your entire banking system would collapse.
    BORDS.IE wrote: »
    IF YOU DONT BAIL OUT BANKS TO THE TUNE OF SAY 50 BILLION ,YOU START LESS DEFICIT. IF YOU DO, YOU START WITH -50 BILLION OR MORE.

The main problem (out of many) with SFs plan is they will let the IMF to f*ck off and we will not have €50bn. We will only we left with a €18bn gap between our income and expenditure with nowhere to get that money in order to pay teachers, nurses, social welfare, pensions. etc. Anybody voting for SF has their head in the sand and is ignoring reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Gypsies

only if their mother was a paid informer
    And you have proof of that from where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Laurapel

No. A band of thugs and apologists for murderers - not to mention authors of 'economics for the simple-minded'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Xclusiv Barber

Just threw the ceann comhairle john o donoghue and his lackey out of my barbershop! Man, that felt good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Half, SF cant do anything in there manifesto! They want to tell the bondholders, IMF, EU, and ECB to take a hike, reverse all the budget cuts, collapse the banks, and then fund the annual €18bn deficit and a €7bn stimulus package out of the €4bn left in our National Pension Reserve Fund and ignore the fact that without the ECBs money, your entire banking system would collapse.

The main problem (out of many) with SFs plan is they will let the IMF to f*ck off and we will not have €50bn. We will only we left with a €18bn gap between our income and expenditure with nowhere to get that money in order to pay teachers, nurses, social welfare, pensions. etc. Anybody voting for SF has their head in the sand and is ignoring reality.

look SF or no, what will happen is the debt will not be paid because we can not pay it, if you get a loan and the repayments are €400 a week and you earn €370 what happens, your going to default, this is the position the Irish economy is in,

the people of Ireland are going to be raped over the coming years if we decide to try to uphold this agreement,

we will leave the Euro zone and return to the Punt or join the UK Pound, we will start over and be successful,

when a business fails and tries to make a go of it again, is the response to put them down or try to help them,

at the end of the day it boils down to money, and if we can make it they will take it,

coins and paper notes who would of taught.

look SF or no, what will happen is the debt will not be paid because we can not pay it, if you get a loan and the repayments are €400 a week and you earn €370 what happens, your going to default, this is the position the Irish economy is in,

the people of Ireland are going to be raped over the coming years if we decide to try to uphold this agreement,

we will leave the Euro zone and return to the Punt or join the UK Pound, we will start over and be successful,

when a business fails and tries to make a go of it again, is the response to put them down or try to help them,

at the end of the day it boils down to money, and if we can make it they will take it,

coins and paper notes who would of taught.

Taking your analogy, we have outgoings of €400 (all government expenditure, public servants pay, etc.) a week and we earn €370 (government income, taxes, etc.). Someone (EU/IMF) has offered to loan us enough money (bailout) to meet our weekly repayments of the next four years. In those four years we have to reduce our outgoings by making cuts and reducing expenditure.

SF want to reject the loan meaning we no longer have the ability to cover our outgoings which means we have to make an instant adjustment to bring expenditure in line with income in one year, instead of the four years the loan allows us. They aso claim they can reverse all cuts and get rid of taxes like the USC, not reduce outgoings while reducing income, whereby retaining the gap between income and expenditure.

The fact is that we spend €18bn more than we take in, and that is excluding bank debt or IMF loan repayments. SF want to reject the IMF money, burn bondholders and basically p*ss off everyone who would give us money. SF will have no way to pay our bugdet deficit which would see the country bankrupt by the end of this year. Their plan can not work

i was just trying to point out with the loan we will go under its just a matter of time, but its what happens after we go under,

we got the loan, we didn't (could not) repay it so now who do we go to for funds,

people are leaving our little island by the thousands, all parties are saying finding work for those out of work is crucial, getting money to flow back into the economy,

i think we are a strong enough people to survive this on our own with the right people leading us (who ever that may be) business people i prefer to politicians,

as it stands every child born today in Ireland has a 50k debt to start shifting.

i was just trying to point out with the loan we will go under its just a matter of time, but its what happens after we go under,

Without the loan we have a €18 billion hole in the budget and we will go under this year. The only way SFs plan can work is if we align expenditure with income which would mean reducing the deficit by €18 billion in the next budget. The last budget made a €6bn adjustment and look at the hardship it has caused for people, imagine what an adjustment of three times that would do.

There is a growing consensus in Europe that the interest rate on our bailout is too high, but the only way to reduce it is by renegotiating. SFs policy of rejecting the bailout and reversing budgets cuts will leave us with a €18bn hole to fill this year and each year after that. SF would do more damage to the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

I will be voting against SF - what I would call tactical voting.

My tactical vote is along these lines -
    IMO I could'nt care less who gets in with the exception of Sinn Fein & the looney left. I don't want a stong SF presence in the next Dail (for many different reasons - deliberate lies to the electorate, Garda killers, criminality, economic iliteracy, murder, intimidation, racketeering, etc, etc). So in my constituency it is clear that the SF candidate is battling for the 5th seat with another candidate.
    That other candidate gets my vote solely as a vote against SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

wyndhurst wrote: »

IMO I could'nt care less who gets in with the exception of Sinn Fein & the looney left. I don't want a stong SF presence in the next Dail (for many different reasons - deliberate lies to the electorate, Garda killers, criminality, economic iliteracy, murder, intimidation, racketeering, etc, etc). So in my constituency it is clear that the SF candidate is battling for the 5th seat with another candidate.

Well yes indeed, most of us don't want Sinn Fein in power for many reasons, including the one you have listed above^, but surely you must also put some brain power into who you are voting for, I know SF are a nasty bunch, but unless you do your homework on the 'Main candidades' then a vote against SF is a hollow vote, IMO.

wyndhurst wrote: »

your right Pearse Doherty is a pure dope and has done all of the above as have any new young members of SF.

how far back do you want to go,:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭wyndhurst

your right Pearse Doherty is a pure dope and has done all of the above as have any new young members of SF.

how far back do you want to go,:rolleyes:

2009 and the celebration party hosted by SF/Martin Ferris for McCabe's released killers.

2005 Northern bank robbery
    2005 Robert McCartney (murdered by 12 SF members)