Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Didn't answer the question. You state he didn't pay taxes in Ireland. I simply asked how could you possibly know that for certain. Simple answer is you cant

How do I know Gerry Adams never paid income tax in the Republic of Ireland?

He said so himself.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    How do I know Gerry Adams never paid income tax in the Republic of Ireland?

He said so himself.
    This will change in a few weeks when he takes his seat in the Dail and starts being paid by the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Dotsey wrote: »
    All threads on SF descend into the type of ridiculous ranting by one or two people who dont have a clue.
    FG's policies dont add up either, they will wreck the country and wont last a full term. We will default in time under them. Fact
    Labour are planning on going into government with FG but disagree with on everything at present which is bizarre.
    FF dont warrant a mention as theyve contributed to us being in this mess.
    But SF who want to take action on the bondholders now, so we can stand a chance are somehow wrong? Private investors' debt is not the public debt.

only ranting here is sf supporters,where they get the difference in money too make up 16 billion and 50 billion,sf supporters change subject or give a excuse not too answer,sf policys are very very vague with no real detail,there numbers do add up,only answer is no imf eu,use pension fund which is less than 5 billion ,so where they get the rest of 16 billion and 50 billion ?,only sf supporters idea put forward is china or states which wont happen as funds are needed now,dreamland policys of sf wont help ireland in anyway,show no real thinking was put into it, just number thrown together

I agree with you on that not the majority. But if you were to look at each party none of them represent an overall majority view.

Thats why each are arguing their particular case and point of view. Thats what makes politics interesting to some people like us, its the belief in one view or the other.

I don't think anyone has all the answers

i agree with you that all party's dont have answers,im not voting for a party or person because im angry,im voting for party or person even do slim pickings between all that good for country,me and my family and future,wont be sf based on there policys and unanswered questions,i dont buy into party hipe ,

This will change in a few weeks when he takes his seat in the Dail and starts being paid by the state.

might help if he know the vat rate in Ireland :D

All threads on SF descend into the type of ridiculous ranting by one or two people who dont have a clue.
    grant it,there appear to be posts too'ing and fro'ing going nowhere.
    FG's policies dont add up either, they will wreck the country and wont last a full term. We will default in time under them. Fact
    Well at least they make a better stab at where the moneys coming from than SF.
    Labour are planning on going into government with FG but disagree with on everything at present which is bizarre.
    It's not bizarre at all.
    Both parties want to maximise their bargaining position for a programme for government.
    If the electorate so decide,they will negotiate a blend of both their manifesto's with the stronger party getting more understandably.
    But SF who want to take action on the bondholders now, so we can stand a chance are somehow wrong? Private investors' debt is not the public debt.
    They are not wrong,they are just advocating going the wrong way about it.
    It's impossible to know what we as a country can get away with in negotiations with those we have to bargain with for to borrow money.
    The more the better.
    SF think we can just walk away altogether and come back in a year and ask for more money.
    Now that is the bizarre position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

Gerry Adams is resident in Northern Ireland. He paid taxes on his salary and expenses, paid in British pounds, funded by the British taxpayer, to the British Exchequer.

The tax that Gerry Adams paid to the crown, just like every other British taxpayer was used to fund British hospitals, British schools and British troops in places like Afghanistan. FACT.

Gerry Adams has never paid tax in the Republic of Ireland.

what a stupid point surely the british where paaying his wages which was presumably greater than his taxes so therefore he was contributing nothing towards the british ecconomy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

might help if he know the vat rate in Ireland :D

that is forty times you have mentioned the vat rate so far.is that your only point if so its a very poor one just out of interest can you tell us the vat rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

that is forty times you have mentioned the vat rate so far.is that your only point if so its a very poor one just out of interest can you tell us the vat rate

Leave him alone will you please , this thread is on page two now and hopefully will stay there, soon he'll be ranting away there to himself!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

I hadnt seen this till now or heard about it.Another thumbs up for SF!!!

Sinn Féin has called for funding seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau (Cab) to be ringfenced for community-based drug projects and voluntary bodies.

The party today published its policy on the community and voluntary sector in advance of the election on February 25th.

Speaking at Fatima Mansions in Dublin’s south inner city, Sinn Féin TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh said the community and voluntary sector provided services and advocates for Ireland’s most vulnerable communities.
    He said his party estimated about 5,000 jobs could be created through support for social enterprise and the expansion of the community employment (CE) schemes.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0218/breaking56.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

caseyann wrote: »
    I hadnt seen this till now or heard about it.Another thumbs up for SF!!!

Sinn Féin has called for funding seized by the Criminal Assets Bureau (Cab) to be ringfenced for community-based drug projects and voluntary bodies.

The party today published its policy on the community and voluntary sector in advance of the election on February 25th.

Speaking at Fatima Mansions in Dublin’s south inner city, Sinn Féin TD Aengus Ó Snodaigh said the community and voluntary sector provided services and advocates for Ireland’s most vulnerable communities.
    He said his party estimated about 5,000 jobs could be created through support for social enterprise and the expansion of the community employment (CE) schemes.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0218/breaking56.html

I read somewhere recently, although I cant find it right now, that CAB's seizures do not cover the cost of the investigations it carries out. More populist nonsense based on spending money that isnt there from SF.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    I read somewhere recently, although I cant find it right now, that CAB's seizures do not cover the cost of the investigations it carries out. More populist nonsense based on spending money that isnt there from SF.
    Its not populist nonsense. I live in Dublin, and I know that SF are more intact with what goes on in working class communities than any other parties and as a consequence their solutions for dealing with crime are more realistic and sensible. My local FF, FG and Labour candidates I know for a fact from talking to them that they dont have a clue whats going on in my area and are only hearing second hand.

Like the solution to Josie Dwyer.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

eveya wrote: »
    If you find a cure for cancer, do you not deserve to earn over 100k a year?!
    They won't find a generic cure for all cancers. And it would more likely be a lower paid researcher that would find a cure for anything anyway ?
    Would they be of any use in a coalition government?
    To be of any use they would have to be in a coalition, and none of the other main parties would deal with SF if they had any resonable alternatives

FG look like they will be the main partner in the next government and could rely on labour/ independents/green to get the numbers easily.

Like the solution to Josie Dwyer.
    I didnt see that solution mentioned anywhere in SF's election manifesto. But I'm sure Josie Dwyer was a big loss to society, Josie Dwyer died from a blow to the spleen that would not have killed a normal healthy person as he was a drug user and drug pusher

I see that you edited your post. Having seen the original version it tells me all I need to know about what you mean by

I live in Dublin, and I know that SF are more intact with what goes on in working class communities than any other parties and as a consequence their solutions for dealing with crime are more realistic and sensible.

Your original post stated that he was as much a loss to society as Martin Cahill and PJ Judge. So much for standing up for the most vulnerable in society.

Call me old fashioned but I like the idea of the presumption of innocence and a trial by peers rather than an unelected, unaccountable and unrepresentative organisation dispensing summary justice in the form of knee cappings, punishment beatings, executions or the beating to death of a 6 stone HIV positive drug addict.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

sharkie66 wrote: »
    Dream ticket you mean! Sinn Fein will build on the dreams that our founding fathers put forward to bring about the Republic which FF and FG destroyed over the last 90 odd years.

Bring it on!
    If people had accepted the Realpolitik of signing the treaty instead of waging a civil war over a piece of paper then all the resources lost during the war (people, money, etc.) could have been used to continue the negotiation/struggle in a meaningful way. Partition might not have included all six counties which would have affected the viability later on.

Instead those who put ideology before practical concerns were trying to win with the resources of a few what was clearly unachievable with the resources of a whole state. Eventually a lifetime later they changed and renounced this path.

Now the point here is that IMHO many are of this mindset still, of trying to win a battle that is clearly lost, of continuing on regardless of what has changed around them. It's simple SF won't be in the next government, just like they weren't in any government since ... when was it ?? They won't influence Irish politics because their votes won't count in the Dáil. Claims to the contary are as realistic as saying the IRA could drive the "Brits Out" and unfortunately the beliefs are probably as entrenched.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    How is it insulting? Is it not insulting to the patriotic dead to refer to the 26 counties as the republic of Ireland? Or to the north as "Northern Ireland"?
    Pearse and his blood sacrifice - I'm not even sure if I consider him one of the patriotic, too many have died as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 BORDS.IE

they have policies that want to help the poor and they are republican which is good
    ACCORDING TO THE BOARDS POLL SINN FEIN HAVE 22 SEATS.THE PAPERS SAY 12. I THOUGHT ADAMS WON THE 5 WAY DEBATE AND ALOT OF COUNTRY FOLK ARE VOTING FOR THEM. EVERYONE IS CONCERNED WHERE THEY WILL GET THE MONEY FOR SF POLOCIES.IM NOT A MATHAMATICIAN BUT IF YOU DONT THROW AWAY 50 BILLION INTO A HOLE CALLED AIB THEN YOU HAVE ,LET ME THINK? ER 50 BILLION SAVED.IF I WAS AN INVESTOR AND WAS WATCHING THE GOV THROW 100 BILLION AWAY,I WOULD THINK,IDIOTS THIS IS NOT A GOOD INVESTMENT.BURN THEM.THERE ARE MILLIONS OF OTHER INVESTORS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

BORDS.IE wrote: »
    ACCORDING TO THE BOARDS POLL SINN FEIN HAVE 22 SEATS.THE PAPERS SAY 12.
    Most people on Boards are under 35... most voters are over 35. Boards 'vote' is nowwhere close to what the actual election will be.
    I THOUGHT ADAMS WON THE 5 WAY DEBATE
    He didn't.
    EVERYONE IS CONCERNED WHERE THEY WILL GET THE MONEY FOR SF POLOCIES.IM NOT A MATHAMATICIAN BUT IF YOU DONT THROW AWAY 50 BILLION
    You have to first have €50 Billion to throw it away. We don't. We have a deficit of €19.5 Billion over the next 4 years. We have to get that money from somewhere. Sinn Fein's policies are ludicrous and will absolutely unrealistic and what's more they know they are. They are hoping there's enough eejits out there to swallow the waffle and give them their vote.

I see that you edited your post. Having seen the original version it tells me all I need to know about what you mean by

I live in Dublin, and I know that SF are more intact with what goes on in working class communities than any other parties and as a consequence their solutions for dealing with crime are more realistic and sensible.

Your original post stated that he was as much a loss to society as Martin Cahill and PJ Judge. So much for standing up for the most vulnerable in society.

Call me old fashioned but I like the idea of the presumption of innocence and a trial by peers rather than an unelected, unaccountable and unrepresentative organisation dispensing summary justice in the form of knee cappings, punishment beatings, executions or the beating to death of a 6 stone HIV positive drug addict.
    I edited it for a reason I wont mention on a public forum!! But Josie Dwyer wasnt "beaten" to death as you or indeed the tabloids at the time suggested, but like the other names mentioned society is a better place without them which you or no one can deny.
    I live in an area where the Garda do sweet f-all about drug dealing, and detectives are regularly seen parked up talking to a well known "criminals" who would be regulars in certain newspapers and looking all cosy in chat.
    If you bother reading the SF proposals on tackling crime you will a more proactive approach to crime and crime prevention. The situation we have now in parts of Dublin where we have drug gangs armed to the teeth cant be allowed to continue and the present laws are too lax and are made worse by out of touch judges been far too lenient.
    On a seperate issue none of these gangs were armed like this while the PIRA were around nor were drugs this prevelent which shows who was actually policing the working class Dublin communities. Some gardai I've dealt with haven't got a clue about how areas like this work so a) their approach to it is all wrong and when you read columns in newspapers by the likes of Gerry O'Carroll and PJ Browne you see that former high ranking Garda are that backwards its beyond belief.
    And your presumption of innocence is highly naive when you see what actually goes on in communities around the city.

Scotty # wrote: »
    He didn't.
    Thats in your opinion

Correct, that's in my opinion..... and every TV presenter, political analyst, journalist, commentator, dog on the street, and the public at large.

I seen a poll over on politics.ie that had
    1. Kenny 438 votes 42.7%
    2. Adams 377 votes 36.7%
    3. Gilmore 71 votes 6.9%
    Martin 71 votes 6.9%
    5. Gormley 68 votes 6.6%
    So its not quite as conclusive as you suggest now is it? considering Kenny and Gilmore had far more speaking time than the others aswell.

... every TV presenter, political analyst, journalist, commentator, dog on the street, members of Politics.ie, and the public at large.
    1. Kenny 438 votes
    2. Adams 377 votes

You've just further backed up what I said. He didn't win.

... every TV presenter, political analyst, journalist, commentator, dog on the street, members of Politics.ie, and the public at large.

You've just further backed up what I said. He didn't win.
    so he didnt win on the basis of 4% of that vote. What this poll shows was he was clearly rated head and shoulders above the other 3 and soon to be 2 main parties with only one ahead of him. Besides whether he won which is always difficult as some people (jounalists) have their mind made before it starts, Adams was excellent and all this considering its his first time running in this jurisdiction and he was up against former ministers ans veterns of the Dail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Hasschu

For almost 100 years now we Irish have religously voted for FF or FG. We are a timid, passive, lacking imagination, fearful, class ridden society. It gets worse, we knowingly vote in and re-elect people whom we know beyond a shadow of a doubt are engaging in fraud and corruption. The world is quite simply amazed at us for all the wrong reasons. Since I have nothing positive to say about FF, FG or Labour I will confine my remarks to SF. A number of years ago a van owned by a known drug dealer was burned in the town of Tralee, the man himself was badly beaten. Rumour had it that the locals having lost patience with the Gardai asked the IRA for help and received it. Just imagine if we had a majority SF government how quickly order would be restored throughout Ireland. Would the bankers, developers and politicians that robbed us blind be brought before tribunals and have justice meted out quickly? I believe it would come to pass. Would our taxes flow directly to failed banks to prop up bondholders and European mega banks, not likely. What will we get, a FG majority or a FG/labour coalition. Sure tis enough to make a grown man cry. I am still hopeful that as the situation worsens at some point we will wake up sober and smell the tay.

Hasschu wrote: »
    For almost 100 years now we Irish have religously voted for FF or FG. We are a timid, passive, lacking imagination, fearful, class ridden society. It gets worse, we knowingly vote in and re-elect people whom we know beyond a shadow of a doubt are engaging in fraud and corruption. The world is quite simply amazed at us for all the wrong reasons. Since I have nothing positive to say about FF, FG or Labour I will confine my remarks to SF. A number of years ago a van owned by a known drug dealer was burned in the town of Tralee, the man himself was badly beaten. Rumour had it that the locals having lost patience with the Gardai asked the IRA for help and received it. Just imagine if we had a majority SF government how quickly order would be restored throughout Ireland. Would the bankers, developers and politicians that robbed us blind be brought before tribunals and have justice meted out quickly? I believe it would come to pass. Would our taxes flow directly to failed banks to prop up bondholders and European mega banks, not likely. What will we get, a FG majority or a FG/labour coalition. Sure tis enough to make a grown man cry. I am still hopeful that as the situation worsens at some point we will wake up sober and smell the tay.
    What has voting for SF got to do with the IRA badly beating a man and burning a van?

SF are the political wing of the IRA. Jesus don't tell me you didn't know that either???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Is this a thread that was necro'd from the 1970's ? :confused: