What would you do if you were broken into?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Watch Home Alone and then set up a few traps!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Lets all be honest :)

if someone is in your home stealing things. All rules fly out the window.
    Its all about the context. If someone had a knife i'd grab something to kill him. Its a dealy weapon. His intentions are clear. You cant rely on the fact that he 'mightnt' be willing to use it. If i wasnt within reaching distance of something i wouldnt stand there to be stabbed. I'd create distance, even behind a door.

its all about the context of a robbery.
    some lil' punk who can easily be scared off or some scumbag willing to do more than the robbery if things go unexpected to his 'plan' ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭lolie

Ruu wrote: »
    Watch Home Alone and then set up a few traps!:cool:

i'd say they'd be gone by the time the film is over though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

i'd say 90% of the poster saying they'd grap something and go kill the burglar would hid in the wardrobe and crap themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

DarkJager wrote: »
    I won't care much for anyone who's fallen on hard times if they are in my house illegally and uninvited. An attempt to intrude on my premises, along with stealing my possesions will be met with extreme violence, regardless of the burglars circumstances.

I fully understand what you are saying, and I agree with your sentiment, but there are a lot of very hard chaws out there, so when ticking the box(would batter them), make sure that "battering" people is part of your C.V It takes practice, and is hard to distance learn in the wee small hours. If you are the average joe, call the Gardai and look after your family - fight if you absolutely have to, but if choosing "Fight" over flight, just be careful, it might be better to lose some stuff and some pride than your life. Having said all that, I'd batter em, but I have a degree in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

lolie wrote: »
    i'd say they'd be gone by the time the film is over though:D

"1, 2, 10" *tommy gun shots*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I fully understand what you are saying, and I agree with your sentiment, but there are a lot of very hard chaws out there, so when ticking the box(would batter them), make sure that "battering" people is part of your C.V It takes practice, and is hard to distance learn in the wee small hours. If you are the average joe, call the Gardai and look after your family - fight if you absolutely have to, but if choosing "Fight" over flight, just be careful, it might be better to lose some stuff and some pride than your life. Having said all that, I'd batter em, but I have a degree in it.

I honestly don't fear anyone, and if some **** headed scumbag is breaking in to my house with the intent of stealing from me and even possibly harming members of my family, I will ****ing kill him, no questions askied and no answers needed. They are in my house illegally, univited and I have every right to bear down an horrific amount of violence and injury upon them. If it ever comes to it ( and hopefully it won't) I will not be warning any potential burglars off with a shake of the fist. If I catch some prick in my house, I will **** him up for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

go all padraic nally and beat him like a badger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭amy21

have a mini-chainsaw under the bed, it starts with just a button push, be fun to see someones face if they broke in, would hate someone in my house
    think this is it

http://www.handyhardware.ie/product/7718/GKC1817-Cordless-Compact-Chainsaw-18-Volt

amy21 wrote: »
    have a mini-chainsaw under the bed, it starts with just a button push, be fun to see someones face if they broke in, would hate someone in my house

what else have you got under the bed? leatherface mask?

It wasnt my idea, but it does make me feel safer

Possibly a rampant rabbit with switchblade attachment :D

@amy21: with the size of that thing, you'd defo want to be aiming for the balls ;)

i dont want to use it, im hoping the noise would freak them out

somehow, somewhere, i can see a device like that making its way into the darwin awards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

its too situational. usually just being startled into anger as the householder does the trick, but if theyre not gone already ensure they have enough space with the door their best option

trick is to get there before they even breach the double glazing and scare the cráp out of em from behind it :D who says fat men can't jump. the skinny ones levitate

i dont want to use it, im hoping the noise would freak them out

the sight of a giant twirling pink cock with a switchblade would definitely freak me out! but then i am not mike myers. you must learn the way of katana!

its too situational. usually just being startled into anger as the householder does the trick, but if theyre not gone already ensure they have enough space with the door their best option

trick is to get there before they even breach the double glazing and scare the cráp out of em from behind it :D who says fat men can't jump. the skinny ones levitate

The skinny ones only levitate if you smack them with a fist full of nails or a claw hammer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I made the mistake of running out of my gaff to hassle some youngfellas trying to rob my car at 10pm in front of my gaff in the suburbs a few years back.

I got away with it - I tried to swing at them a few times and they ****ed off. But then I realised I was a 5 foot tall dumpy young woman in her pyjamas and no shoes standing in the street with a hockey stick. What a stupid move.

I've been mugged no fewer than nine times now, I always just give them the grand total of five quid I am usually carrying. tbh, I am more afraid of the socially awkward moment when they realise I have **** all and they stand there for a minute just looking at me before they scarper.

I made the mistake of running out of my gaff to hassle some youngfellas trying to rob my car at 10pm in front of my gaff in the suburbs a few years back.

I got away with it - I tried to swing at them a few times and they ****ed off. But then I realised I was a 5 foot tall dumpy young woman in her pyjamas and no shoes standing in the street with a hockey stick. What a stupid move.

I've been mugged no fewer than nine times now, I always just give them the grand total of five quid I am usually carrying. tbh, I am more afraid of the socially awkward moment when they realise I have **** all and they stand there for a minute just looking at me before they scarper.

9 times ****en hell

The skinny ones only levitate if you smack them with a fist full of nails or a claw hammer :D

like i says, its situational i don't wanna recommend that approach here in case it backfired. never had one breach a property, i'd be pissed off alright

9 times?! Tell em to **** off in future. I had an attempted mugging once late at night in LK City.The scumbag had his hand in the pocket of his hoody threathening me with a "knife", while I was sitting on a kerb. If I didn't hand over my phone and wallet straight away, I'd supposedly get "stabbed". One full powered punch in the bollix later and his patethic screams had me pissing myself laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭taintabird

I have a very large bad tempered dog if they survive him on the way in they will meet the dogs bad tempered owner!!
    I dont take kindly to ****ehawks braking and entering my property I worked for what I have and f****d if I will let some low life scum bag take from me

9 times ****en hell

Like I said - i am a short, dumpy woman. And I am inclined to walk about alone at all hours. All joking aside, I'd rather walk about where and when I liked and lose a tenner here and there than cower like a dog at home telling myself that it wasn't safe for the likes of me on the streets.

I've had one mugger hand me back bus fare. One mugger one so incensed to find me upchucking beside burgerking with no money on me that the mugger held my hair back for me and ate the face off my mates when they came out for leaving me alone. I find they key is to not give anyone a reason to get physical - it is only money and I don't carry much.

(and as an aside - if some one asks me for change at night, I always give them some. I appreciate that that they asked when they could easily have mugged me around the corner)

another situation is they've been doing it at 7am in some cases around here to catch folks unawares. fully knowing they're at home that's brazen. even robbing the most strikingly obviously impoverished house on the road in this manner, thats desperate. are they aiming for a hostage situation? thats cheeky. there's only one way most folk react at that time up at that time its called morning bear. uncontrollable rage when debilitated, we've seen people die this way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I would hopefully ring the cops.

In saying that, when I was home alone once, and I heard a loud noise, I grabbed my favourite knife (12 inch knife that is slices through steak and everything else nicely), and went room-to-room, to check if anyone was there.

9 times?! Tell em to **** off in future. I had an attempted mugging once late at night in LK City.The scumbag had his hand in the pocket of his hoody threathening me with a "knife", while I was sitting on a kerb. If I didn't hand over my phone and wallet straight away, I'd supposedly get "stabbed". One full powered punch in the bollix later and his patethic screams had me pissing myself laughing.

I am not in any way physically intimidating - I play the hand I was dealt. I have thrown a dig on one occasion, and to be fair the mugger in question was shocked enough for me to bail. but by and large I'd rather just part with my few quid and laugh it off.

the_syco wrote: »
    when I was home alone once, and I heard a loud noise, I grabbed my favourite knife (12 inch knife that is slices through steak and everything else nicely), and went room-to-room, to check if anyone was there.

knifes probably not the best option, but in the moment seems like the only one. do feel like a proper psycho though when you've just held a knife to someone's face with a deranged grin that made em simultaneously jump/wet emselves, regardless of the pane of glass in between

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

A drunk man came into my house tonight and tried to get his hands around me I freaked out and ran upstairs and the boyfriend eventually got him out.

To be honest I froze! If my boyfriend hadn't of been there I don't know what would of taken place!! I always thought I would be better in a situation like that but I guess you don't really know until it happeneds!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

CorkMan wrote: »
    Some people will say to get out the baseball bat and attack, but think about it. The house will be very silent and you will hear the burglars only very minutely. They will more than like have their own weapons and there might not only be one.

I would call the police. Even if it takes them 5 minutes to come, they will arive. I would not risk my life attacking some scumbag. Don't get me wrong, if the burglar comes at me I will do my damn hardest to take him down. But people think they will attack, but what happens when you see a man in a balliclava armed with a butcher knife silently moving up your stairs?

PS: This is a superb article I have read on what to do during a burglary.

http://www.citizendefensetraining.com/safe_at_home.htm
    I work in a job which unfortunatley requires the gardai alot, they can take up to an hour to arrive at times even if its a call about a violent person or if people are in danger, it depends on their other calls

rex-x wrote: »
    I work in a job which unfortunatley requires the gardai alot, they can take up to an hour to arrive at times even if its a call about a violent person or if people are in danger, it depends on their other calls

I called the cops when my car was in the process of being broken into. they arrived three days later - the lads in question were back a second time before that.