Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do if you were broken into?

• 13-02-2011 12:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

Some people will say to get out the baseball bat and attack, but think about it. The house will be very silent and you will hear the burglars only very minutely. They will more than like have their own weapons and there might not only be one.

I would call the police. Even if it takes them 5 minutes to come, they will arive. I would not risk my life attacking some scumbag. Don't get me wrong, if the burglar comes at me I will do my damn hardest to take him down. But people think they will attack, but what happens when you see a man in a balliclava armed with a butcher knife silently moving up your stairs?

PS: This is a superb article I have read on what to do during a burglary.

http://www.citizendefensetraining.com/safe_at_home.htm

What would you do if you were broken into? 152 votes

Stay safe and ring the Gardaí
    0% 0 votes
    Go after the burglar
    36% 56 votes
    Scream at him, hoping he'd run away
    50% 76 votes
    Other (Please state)
    13% 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Well if my bladder happened to be full, you can guess the rest

Or

Hmm I wouldn't rely on the gardai getting to where I live fast so I probably would take some shrooms and go berserk on them with a sweeping brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

CorkMan wrote: »
    What would you do if you were broken into?

It would never happen, I wear chasity pants, Leslie Nielsen-style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Shoot first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Throw my wife, kids and animals down the stairs at them !!
    Why should i get hurt ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

"balliclava"- What is this? Sounds dangerous. Sorry!!!

Anyway, if you rang the police, I believe they may take a bit longer than the 5 minutes!;)

I would hide in a locked room with my mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭shamtastic

Well the stereotyped view is that you will get burgled in the middle of the night but the vast majority happen during the day so you really wouldn't expect it nor know what to do. And if you hurt them they'll take you to court what a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Call the police first, then let the dogs out (maybe the bark would scare them, cause the bite wouldn't:D), if i thought it was a threat to my family i'd confront them, but i dont think there's much point in putting myself at risk for the few things they'd steal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I keep a lead pipe in the wardrobe and a scary knife on top of it. Any ****er breaking in to my house (armed or not) is going to be leaving in the same shape as chicken fillets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Shifty11

There was a number of break ins in my area last year. They would boil the kettle apparently, so if you came down to them they'd splash the boiling water at you. I would have always said I'd got down with a hurl or something, but after hearing that, calling the Garda would be my plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Been there, done that - the cheeky sods used a sledge hammer to knock down the front door- no silent approach for them. I am never again walking back to my gaff at 3 am in my boxers trying to explain to passers by that I am not a perv, just a burglar chaser. I got a nice new sledge hammer out of the deal though, offset by the cost of a new front door. You don't know how you will react untill it happens - I was living in Camden at the time, its a good place to go to to test out the whole "how would I react if I heard burglars downstairs" scenario, it cuts down on the whole "waiting for it to happen" thing.

I would scatter a tray full of little lead balls down the stairs and while he deals with them retreat to trap point B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Wait for them to come up stairs, then you have the legal right to defend yourself to any lengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭ManofStraw

I was broken into last week actually :( I was awake and never even heard a thing, however if I had knowledge that he was downstairs I would be the baseball bat wielding person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I once done a course, training to be a chef. I've still got the knife set from it, and I certainly wouldn't like to be on the recieving end of them, because they're sharp buggers. I like to think that if someone broke into my place, they'd wind up with on of these knives in them. But, in reality, I'm not a very brave soul, so I very much doubt I'd attack them. Instead, I'd simply wait to see their disapointed faces when they realize that I own absolutely nothing worth stealing, and they've wasted their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I would rush to the computer, log on to boards.ie & post; someones breaking into my house, im gonna get this guy good, im gonna beat him senselesss & generally be very very tough. Grrrrrr:mad:

Oh? he's gone.....damn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I would probably freeze with fear and hide under the duvet hoping for the best tbh, specially if i was in the house by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

I would like to think that I would do something smart and get away and ring the gards but in reality I'm not that smart. My house was broken into two years ago and I cornered him and started shouting my head off him, I ended up with a black eye. Grrr. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

I would probably hide in the wardrobe

I would like to think that I would do something smart and get away and ring the gards but in reality I'm not that smart. My house was broken into two years ago and I cornered him and started shouting my head off him, I ended up with a black eye. Grrr. :mad:

Fists > shouts

deathrider wrote: »
    I once done a course, training to be a chef. I've still got the knife set from it, and I certainly wouldn't like to be on the recieving end of them, because they're sharp buggers. I like to think that if someone broke into my place, they'd wind up with on of these knives in them. But, in reality, I'm not a very brave soul, so I very much doubt I'd attack them. Instead, I'd simply wait to see their disapointed faces when they realize that I own absolutely nothing worth stealing, and they've wasted their time.

They would probably nick your knives, shiny objects and all that. I have, as do most people(in their deep, dark, repressed soul) a sneaking regard for gangster types, but I despise Burglars with a passion, lowest of the low, bottom feeding losers - if you wanna steal, have the balls to go for a bank, not some family struggling to get by week to week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Having had much trouble with travellers in the past we installed several cameras around the property and detection system that will wake and alert me in anyone comes into the perimeter of the property thus alerting me. I keep a shotgun loaded with buckshot in the bedroom and if they break in I will shoot to kill.

Simple as if someone comes into my property with ill intention then I will take all necessary steps to protect my life and property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

First I'd wish that I'd taken up baseball. Secondly I'd wish that I'd settled my bills with the local butcher.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Having had much trouble with travellers in the past we installed several cameras around the property and detection system that will wake and alert me in anyone comes into the perimeter of the property thus alerting me. I keep a shotgun loaded with buckshot in the bedroom and if they break in I will shoot to kill.

Simple as if someone comes into my property with ill intention then I will take all necessary steps to protect my life and property.

Totally agree with you. Some scumbag forces his way in to my house, planning to steal the possesions I have purchased with money earned from hard work? I'll ****ing kill him, stone dead. Thankfully the law has changed, so wannabe burglars had better make sure their will is drawn up.

Dark Jager, you are well named!! Remind me not to burgularisate your gaff in a few years time(when we are all reduced to petty thievery to survive in an an economy strangled by fine fail ures) I've a feeling I might be more the "go for the bank" type though. -thats a new angle, blaming FF for lads copping off with the 52" plasma screen - FF are responsible for a reduction in the availability of Sky, the baxters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

I would offer him a cup of tea, sit him down at the kitchen table and calmly talk him around into living a better life, Dr. phil style :D:D:D

Soon as he agrees to turn over a new leaf, I would then offer him a lift home to see where he lives, return later that night and rob that mother***ker blind ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I picked ring the Gards, but the more I think about it, I'd probably go down and see what was going on and end up just screaming. I wouldn't ring the Gards in case it turns out I was imagining the noise. But if I was definite I'd ring the Gards.

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Dark Jager, you are well named!! Remind me not to burgularisate your gaff in a few years time(when we are all reduced to petty thievery to survive in an an economy strangled by fine fail ures) I've a feeling I might be more the "go for the bank" type though. -thats a new angle, blaming FF for lads copping off with the 52" plasma screen - FF are responsible for a reduction in the availability of Sky, the baxters.

I won't care much for anyone who's fallen on hard times if they are in my house illegally and uninvited. An attempt to intrude on my premises, along with stealing my possesions will be met with extreme violence, regardless of the burglars circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Make it look like self defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

CorkMan wrote: »
    you will hear the burglars only very minutely. They will more than like have their own weapons and there might not only be one.

That probably means that they're very small, so I would just stand on em and go back to sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Stinicker wrote: »

Absolutely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Watch Home Alone and then set up a few traps!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Lets all be honest :)

if someone is in your home stealing things. All rules fly out the window.
    Its all about the context. If someone had a knife i'd grab something to kill him. Its a dealy weapon. His intentions are clear. You cant rely on the fact that he 'mightnt' be willing to use it. If i wasnt within reaching distance of something i wouldnt stand there to be stabbed. I'd create distance, even behind a door.

its all about the context of a robbery.
    some lil' punk who can easily be scared off or some scumbag willing to do more than the robbery if things go unexpected to his 'plan' ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

Ruu wrote: »
    Watch Home Alone and then set up a few traps!:cool:

i'd say they'd be gone by the time the film is over though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

i'd say 90% of the poster saying they'd grap something and go kill the burglar would hid in the wardrobe and crap themselves.

DarkJager wrote: »
    I won't care much for anyone who's fallen on hard times if they are in my house illegally and uninvited. An attempt to intrude on my premises, along with stealing my possesions will be met with extreme violence, regardless of the burglars circumstances.

I fully understand what you are saying, and I agree with your sentiment, but there are a lot of very hard chaws out there, so when ticking the box(would batter them), make sure that "battering" people is part of your C.V It takes practice, and is hard to distance learn in the wee small hours. If you are the average joe, call the Gardai and look after your family - fight if you absolutely have to, but if choosing "Fight" over flight, just be careful, it might be better to lose some stuff and some pride than your life. Having said all that, I'd batter em, but I have a degree in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

lolie wrote: »
    i'd say they'd be gone by the time the film is over though:D

"1, 2, 10" *tommy gun shots*

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I fully understand what you are saying, and I agree with your sentiment, but there are a lot of very hard chaws out there, so when ticking the box(would batter them), make sure that "battering" people is part of your C.V It takes practice, and is hard to distance learn in the wee small hours. If you are the average joe, call the Gardai and look after your family - fight if you absolutely have to, but if choosing "Fight" over flight, just be careful, it might be better to lose some stuff and some pride than your life. Having said all that, I'd batter em, but I have a degree in it.

I honestly don't fear anyone, and if some **** headed scumbag is breaking in to my house with the intent of stealing from me and even possibly harming members of my family, I will ****ing kill him, no questions askied and no answers needed. They are in my house illegally, univited and I have every right to bear down an horrific amount of violence and injury upon them. If it ever comes to it ( and hopefully it won't) I will not be warning any potential burglars off with a shake of the fist. If I catch some prick in my house, I will **** him up for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

go all padraic nally and beat him like a badger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭amy21

have a mini-chainsaw under the bed, it starts with just a button push, be fun to see someones face if they broke in, would hate someone in my house
    think this is it

http://www.handyhardware.ie/product/7718/GKC1817-Cordless-Compact-Chainsaw-18-Volt

amy21 wrote: »
    have a mini-chainsaw under the bed, it starts with just a button push, be fun to see someones face if they broke in, would hate someone in my house

what else have you got under the bed? leatherface mask?

It wasnt my idea, but it does make me feel safer

Possibly a rampant rabbit with switchblade attachment :D

@amy21: with the size of that thing, you'd defo want to be aiming for the balls ;)

i dont want to use it, im hoping the noise would freak them out

somehow, somewhere, i can see a device like that making its way into the darwin awards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

its too situational. usually just being startled into anger as the householder does the trick, but if theyre not gone already ensure they have enough space with the door their best option

trick is to get there before they even breach the double glazing and scare the cráp out of em from behind it :D who says fat men can't jump. the skinny ones levitate

amy21 wrote: »
    i dont want to use it, im hoping the noise would freak them out

the sight of a giant twirling pink cock with a switchblade would definitely freak me out! but then i am not mike myers. you must learn the way of katana!

its too situational. usually just being startled into anger as the householder does the trick, but if theyre not gone already ensure they have enough space with the door their best option

trick is to get there before they even breach the double glazing and scare the cráp out of em from behind it :D who says fat men can't jump. the skinny ones levitate

The skinny ones only levitate if you smack them with a fist full of nails or a claw hammer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I made the mistake of running out of my gaff to hassle some youngfellas trying to rob my car at 10pm in front of my gaff in the suburbs a few years back.

I got away with it - I tried to swing at them a few times and they ****ed off. But then I realised I was a 5 foot tall dumpy young woman in her pyjamas and no shoes standing in the street with a hockey stick. What a stupid move.

I've been mugged no fewer than nine times now, I always just give them the grand total of five quid I am usually carrying. tbh, I am more afraid of the socially awkward moment when they realise I have **** all and they stand there for a minute just looking at me before they scarper.

I made the mistake of running out of my gaff to hassle some youngfellas trying to rob my car at 10pm in front of my gaff in the suburbs a few years back.

I got away with it - I tried to swing at them a few times and they ****ed off. But then I realised I was a 5 foot tall dumpy young woman in her pyjamas and no shoes standing in the street with a hockey stick. What a stupid move.

I've been mugged no fewer than nine times now, I always just give them the grand total of five quid I am usually carrying. tbh, I am more afraid of the socially awkward moment when they realise I have **** all and they stand there for a minute just looking at me before they scarper.

9 times ****en hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

The skinny ones only levitate if you smack them with a fist full of nails or a claw hammer :D

like i says, its situational i don't wanna recommend that approach here in case it backfired. never had one breach a property, i'd be pissed off alright