His ex sends naked pics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

If they are in a happy relationship, and all he is doing is 'enabling' it - which isn't even proven yet might I add - then why not suggest that she bollicks him out of it... rather than suggesting she jump ship? He might be making a mistake by encouraging this nutter, but once that is sorted they could surely be on the right track?

Let's not set it in the OPs head that he's actually enabling it - no matter how good some of you posters rate your spider-sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

discus wrote: »
    If they are in a happy relationship, and all he is doing is 'enabling' it - which isn't even proven yet might I add - then why not suggest that she bollicks him out of it... rather than suggesting she jump ship? He might be making a mistake by encouraging this nutter, but once that is sorted they could surely be on the right track?

Let's not set it in the OPs head that he's actually enabling it - no matter how good some of you posters rate your spider-sense.

And you think enabling this behaviour is reasonable? Are you serious? This isn't just some randomer. This is someone he had a sexual relationship with before. And now she's sending him naked pics. Em sorry. but that's unacceptable. Its up to him to put a stop to this crazy behaviour.

What constitutes enabling?

If he's dealing with a nutjob ex, it's hard to tell them outright to "**** off". You have to be careful with the nutters - on one hand, if you go too easy on them, they try to walk over you... on the otherhand if you push too hard for them to stay away from you, they can get aggressive. As in make sexual assault claims, assault claims, claims of infidelity etc. And you know how that ends when a claim is made against a guy.

So the delicate balancing act is hard, you see. If he's managed to get her to a stage where the worst she is doing is sending nude pics, it's probably the best he can manage.

It's quite possible that the OPs boyfriend is placating this nutter in order to stop her doing something worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

What constitutes enabling?

If he's dealing with a nutjob ex, it's hard to tell them outright to "**** off". You have to be careful with the nutters - on one hand, if you go too easy on them, they try to walk over you... on the otherhand if you push too hard for them to stay away from you, they can get aggressive. As in make sexual assault claims, assault claims, claims of infidelity etc. And you know how that ends when a claim is made against a guy.

So the delicate balancing act is hard, you see. If he's managed to get her to a stage where the worst she is doing is sending nude pics, it's probably the best he can manage.

Okay, well the OP needs to clarify this part... Because we don't know if the boyfriend has made any effort to stop it.

Sorry but I have been on the receiving end of an ex acting the d1ckhead to me and over stepping the mark with the person I was with. If your partner doesn't stand up for you, it's incredibly hurtful. You are either a team or you aren't. This girl needs to be told that she cant do that. Do you have any idea the damage this does to trust? Its not so much about the girl as she is clearly a loser... But if the boyfriend chooses not to stop it - THIS is the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It's quite possible that the OPs boyfriend is placating this nutter in order to stop her doing something worse.

Possible but not overly likely.

More likely that he has been replying more often than he claims, as she wouldn't still be texting him after all this time if he wasn't.

OP, you are over-reacting and jumping to wild conclusions by saying you'll just dump him straight off. For all you know she sent that picture just fcuking with him, he may not have done anything to encourage something like that. If he's being honest and she's really a 'nutjob' then insist that he cut contact with her, to the extent of even changing his number if necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

I'm utterly shocked by the "guilty before proved innocent" posts, which are all from users with very feminine usernames... why?

As some level headed users have pointed out, the girl sending the pictures might be out to cause trouble. There are some loathsome creatures out there - male and female - who can't stand nice people to have a nice life. They get their kicks by turning happy and successful couples against each other. You could probably bet that if this lad was single after he dumped her, that she would have zero interest in him. She's not out to get him, she's out to get at you, 292929292.

I could tell you of similar girls who have done things like this to friends over the years. One girl in particular was texting a mate a long long time after they broke up, claiming she had a kid by him. It screwed him up for a long time.
    been on the recieving end, not a nice place to be
    very true, as she does sound a bit touched, in my experience you really cant tell what they'll do next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

This is all just guesswork until the OP talks to her OH. But I'm inclined to believe that the ex is a little nuts. If the guy broke up with her because he wasn't attracted to her (and the OP is planning to marry this man, so I'm going to assume this is true. Maybe I'm just too nice.) then why on earth would he want a naked picture of what completely failed to turn him on before? Yes, 2 and a half years is a long time to keep up this sort of nutjobbery, but maybe this woman gets lonely when she's single (and if she's a bit on the unattractive side and also a psycho) then she may well just be texting her ex when she's lonely and nostalgic. And mistakenly thinks she can seduce him because hey, they have a history. Hell, maybe she was drunk and thought the text would get some reaction. The 'i texted you before, did you get it?' sounds more like crazy to me than anything else. Again, all speculation. But OP, I wish you the very best in talking to your OH and I hope there's a very innocent and crazy explanation for it. At which point, boundaries discussion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

Talk to your bf and tell him you want this to end once and for all.

Suggest to him that you send a joint text to her from his phone from both of you.

In that text say something like "We have no interest in receiving any further photos (naked or otherwise) from you. We are in a happy relationship and there is no place in that relationship for inappropriate texts and/or photos. Please have some dignity and refrain from further communication. We wish you the best of luck in the future. From xx and xx."

The terms 'we' and 'us' are the vital parts of that message. You are uniting together (as a couple should) and you are showing her that there are no cracks in your relationship that she can slip through. She will be embarrassed, ashamed and taken aback hopefully. If that doesn't end it, have him change his number.

If he doesn't agree to doing the above then you have serious reason to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Woah, some of the comments here are quite shocking! I see a lot of people here are very trigger happy with the *DUMP HIM* advice.

As a male who has been on the receiving end of an extremely similar situation with a woman who would just not FO no matter how unsubtle the hint, I can see this very much from the OP's partner's side.

In my case, my ex had held onto some embarrassing naked photos from the time we were together and continually threatened sending them to my employment, etc.

I work in an extremely sensitive job and was rapidly climbing through the ranks and this would have come to an abrupt halt there and then if these pictures went public.

I was with my ex for 4 years so I certainly didn't expect it to end rather suddenly or to learn that she was an absolute nut job after that length of time. Sure, you can ask why I posed for pictures but I'm sure I'm not the only one out there who's done it while young and dumb and in a LTR with someone they thought was the one.

My ex ended the relationship claiming she was not ready for marriage/a life with me and initially kept safe normal boundaries. The pictures were done years earlier and they were actually something that never crossed my mind. As a normal decent person, I delete evidence of my ex from my life including photos and phone number.

It was only when I moved on and fell for someone else that my ex's interest in me was reignited. And it took about 18 months before these pictures resurfaced in my ex's mind.

What followed was a living hell for me. And there's no point running to tell the Gardai when that's the area you actually work in! The one place you don't want these pictures to come up..

It was only thanks to a wonderful then-girlfriend and now wife that stood by me and believed me when I told her that I was not leading this woman on, that I'm still here.

I felt the need to write here when reading over comments this morning as I've been watching a pattern where people are dishing out truly life-altering advice to people whose situations they DO NOT KNOW and never will fully know.

I know all of you are giving advice based on your own life situations and from the best of your heart but telling someone with strong doubts to go ahead and dump a man before talking to him about it, insinuating that he's HAD to have been leading this woman on (I know I certainly wasn't replying to my ex's texts but that didn't stop her) while having no idea of the situation; this woman seems to have had a very good relationship with her partner up to now. If this poor man is going through something similar to what I went through, I can only be thankful that my wife never knew about this forum. I'd hate to think that people on the internet who only knew the icing on the cake, from my wife's perspective rather than mine, would have helped her in her decision of how to deal with what was going on.

Some people are not so good at making their own decisions in a situation like this. Some people really need input from others and are less strong in making their own minds up in such an upsetting and stressful scenario. I'm not saying the OP is like this, but for people who are that way inclined, responses like some of those given here will be TRULY LIFE CHANGING, and not necessarily for the best.

Realise that parts of the story will inevitably be left out. What's familiar and minor to you could be the detail that swings everyones' opinion on the situation.

I can only hope the OP has TALKED to her other half rather than just walking out based on unqualified forum advice.

Good luck, OP. Hope this plays out okay for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭gimme5minutes

What would really be best in this situation is for the boyfriend to burn his bridges with this header once and for all and put her off contacting him again.

Get him to text back something like 'Saw your naked photo, jesus christ, the state or ye, havent you realised yet im not into big fat whores? Dont contact me again thanks very much'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Some guys can be really weak about hurting someone's feelings which might explain why he hasn't told her to straight out get lost.

I'd suggest he changes his number but she sounds like the type of nut whop'd ask one of his friends for the new one.

Its 2.5 years. He should be sick of this and tell her its not on for her to be harrassing him.

So can't help but think this is 50/50 on not wantiong to hurt her feelings/like the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

In reality it's probably not his fault if some "nut job" is sending pictures to his phone, but 2 and a half years of unwanted texts? Speaking personaly, i'd have changed my number by now!
    Just say to him and see how he reacts, maybe suggest forwarding the picture on to her father for example with a quick text saying please ask your daughter to stop sending me unwanted pictures like this. That should put her in her place!
    Some people are just nasty and try to cause trouble between couples, i had a very similar problem with a friend of my girlfriends, no naked pictures that i know of but plenty of rumours and inuendos designed to break us up. Some people are just assholes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

I'm utterly shocked by the "guilty before proved innocent" posts, which are all from users with very feminine usernames... why?

As some level headed users have pointed out, the girl sending the pictures might be out to cause trouble. There are some loathsome creatures out there - male and female - who can't stand nice people to have a nice life. They get their kicks by turning happy and successful couples against each other. You could probably bet that if this lad was single after he dumped her, that she would have zero interest in him. She's not out to get him, she's out to get at you, 292929292.

I could tell you of similar girls who have done things like this to friends over the years. One girl in particular was texting a mate a long long time after they broke up, claiming she had a kid by him. It screwed him up for a long time.

well I suppose those who think that the ex is a crazy person are also making the same judgement - guilty before innocent?! Who knows if it is all her or part him but he is definately enabling by not cutting her off, for whatever reason.

The facts are that these texts have been coming through for 2.5 years......not 2 months. Now if someone I was not happy with was texting me I would change my number pronto.
    As for the naked pics proving her being loopy.....have you not heard of all the sexting that goes on these days? It is very common where I live among teenagers anyway.

kyle94949 wrote: »
    Woah, some of the comments here are quite shocking! I see a lot of people here are very trigger happy with the *DUMP HIM* advice.

As a male who has been on the receiving end of an extremely similar situation with a woman who would just not FO no matter how unsubtle the hint, I can see this very much from the OP's partner's side.

In my case, my ex had held onto some embarrassing naked photos from the time we were together and continually threatened sending them to my employment, etc.

I work in an extremely sensitive job and was rapidly climbing through the ranks and this would have come to an abrupt halt there and then if these pictures went public.

I was with my ex for 4 years so I certainly didn't expect it to end rather suddenly or to learn that she was an absolute nut job after that length of time. Sure, you can ask why I posed for pictures but I'm sure I'm not the only one out there who's done it while young and dumb and in a LTR with someone they thought was the one.

My ex ended the relationship claiming she was not ready for marriage/a life with me and initially kept safe normal boundaries. The pictures were done years earlier and they were actually something that never crossed my mind. As a normal decent person, I delete evidence of my ex from my life including photos and phone number.

It was only when I moved on and fell for someone else that my ex's interest in me was reignited. And it took about 18 months before these pictures resurfaced in my ex's mind.

What followed was a living hell for me. And there's no point running to tell the Gardai when that's the area you actually work in! The one place you don't want these pictures to come up..

It was only thanks to a wonderful then-girlfriend and now wife that stood by me and believed me when I told her that I was not leading this woman on, that I'm still here.

I felt the need to write here when reading over comments this morning as I've been watching a pattern where people are dishing out truly life-altering advice to people whose situations they DO NOT KNOW and never will fully know.

I know all of you are giving advice based on your own life situations and from the best of your heart but telling someone with strong doubts to go ahead and dump a man before talking to him about it, insinuating that he's HAD to have been leading this woman on (I know I certainly wasn't replying to my ex's texts but that didn't stop her) while having no idea of the situation; this woman seems to have had a very good relationship with her partner up to now. If this poor man is going through something similar to what I went through, I can only be thankful that my wife never knew about this forum. I'd hate to think that people on the internet who only knew the icing on the cake, from my wife's perspective rather than mine, would have helped her in her decision of how to deal with what was going on.

Some people are not so good at making their own decisions in a situation like this. Some people really need input from others and are less strong in making their own minds up in such an upsetting and stressful scenario. I'm not saying the OP is like this, but for people who are that way inclined, responses like some of those given here will be TRULY LIFE CHANGING, and not necessarily for the best.

Realise that parts of the story will inevitably be left out. What's familiar and minor to you could be the detail that swings everyones' opinion on the situation.

I can only hope the OP has TALKED to her other half rather than just walking out based on unqualified forum advice.

Good luck, OP. Hope this plays out okay for you.

Your situation with you ex sounds terrible. Is there any way that you could serve her with some type of court order that if she did ever release the photos that she could face jail time, or an extremely hefty fine? I don't know how these things work, just wondering.
    The difference is though that you were open with your wife and told her all about these pictures. People here are only going on what the OP has said, that he has showed her a few innocent enough but annoying texts such as "any craic?", but he did not tell her about receiving the naked picture text.
    The OP herself had presumed the worst case scenario before anybody gave her any reply. It is a natural assumption to make, because even though cases of crazy nutjob exes do happen, more often than not there is some type of interaction there that keeps them making contact. Because it is often the case that the most common/simplest reason, is the most likely explanation, I can see why people have the same initial feelings about it as the OP.
    However, the majority of people on this thread though have not told her to outright dump him. Most of the people have empathized with the OP's own suspicions, and said that they can understand why she has them, but they have also said to give the man a chance to explain himself as there IS the possibility that he is innocent and that the ex is crazy.
    What a lot of people have said, is that he may not be cheating, but simply be remaining in contact with the ex for an ego boost, and if after talking to him this is the case that the OP demands a stop to be put to it, and ONLY IF he refuses to then that maybe dumping him is an option.
    Hopefully it will turn out that he is neither cheating, or texting the ex, but just as it may be wrong for some people to just say "dump him straight away", it is equally wrong to say "OP he is definitely innocent and you should just believe him".
    The people who have asked her to question and to get answers to all of her already there suspicions, in the hope that she can then get this issue sorted are giving good advice.
    They are basically saying "you are right to have suspicions it is normal to have them in such a situation, BUT give him a chance to explain himself"
    This advice is better than just saying he's 100% guilty of something, or 100% innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

What would really be best in this situation is for the boyfriend to burn his bridges with this header once and for all and put her off contacting him again.

Get him to text back something like 'Saw your naked photo, jesus christ, the state or ye, havent you realised yet im not into big fat whores? Dont contact me again thanks very much'.[/QUOTE

OP, I wouldnt do this at all. Get the full story first and regardless of the outcome, dont stoop to such a level that you would have your bf or you send another female a text calling her a fat whore. Its disgusting and secondly on a another level, its nothing something you'd want that girl to save on her phone as harassment either. But personally dont stoop to her level if she is entirely in the wrong.

kyle94949 wrote:
    If this poor man is going through something similar to what I went through, I can only be thankful that my wife never knew about this forum. I'd hate to think that people on the internet who only knew the icing on the cake, from my wife's perspective rather than mine, would have helped her in her decision of how to deal with what was going on.

Exactly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i'm with discus and kyle on this

its quite clear that the "he should have stopped this or blocked her or changed his number by now" brigade have little or no concept of this kind of prolonged harassment

not all phone providers and/or phones allow you to block someone

changing a number- seems an obvious solution. but it may be problematic... in my case, because of my job situation, it would have been foolish for me to change my no. its also possible that the ex could get it form someone again anyway.

lastly, the kind of person who hassles someone like this for this length of time does not respond to reason.

my story - had been with my ex for almost a year. it was an acrimonious split, initiated by me, unwelcome by him.

he hassled me for months and months, over a year actually. phone calls, texts, (threatening suicide in them too), letters to me at home and in my place of work.

it was never ending.

i met him and told him to stop. i texted him telling him to stop. i left voice messages telling him to stop. i wrote to him telling him to stop. i made it clear that i considered any and all contact to be harassment.

he still didnt stop.

i began to ignore every contact attempt.

he still didnt stop.

eventually, it took a phonecall from the gardai and a threat of prosecution before he stopped.

and you know what?

he still texts occasionally, 3 years later. maybe on my birthday, or christmas, innocuous texts, knowing that i'm unlikely to ring the guards saying "x texted to say happy birthday, please prosecute him".

when on the receiving end of this, its not all that easy stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Yep, there are some ex's that just wont bloody give up.

I have an ex from - get this - 1994, who I bumped into in 2003, had a coffee, and swapped numbers. The texts quickly became flirty from him - unwelcome as he was married, so I texted him to stop, that I had zero interest in either him or married men. He still sends the odd text, but I have never replied. But he is more of a tosser chancing his arm every once in a while to see if he will get a bit on the side, nothing like this guys ex here.

Thats why he does deserve the benefit of the doubt here.

hi op, dont know why you ae so quick to think he has been doing something wrong!
    do you have past experience with him that he has lied/been dishonest in the past?
    you just appear very quick to lay some of the blame on him. why would you even think of ending it without talking to him first? is there a communication problem between you often?
    there was a thread here a couple of weeks ago by a crazy ex, she was still hassling her ex after 3 years!! she couldnt see she was wrong!!

maybe your boyfriend is just a really nice guy, doesnt see the need to be mean to her before now, maybe he thought she would eventually give up?
    maybe he tried to be polite? not to cause her any more hurt? i think that is a good quality!

a naked pic is a step too far though and if he has been polite to her for last year or two then it is time now to stop her!
    he has to be hard, ignore her everytime she texts!
    i would demand this now. it has gone on too long and too far now!

if he is honest with you, and only you know this, then be on his side, dont doubt him. there are crazy psycho ex's out there, and they can make life a living hell for others without totally understanding what they are doing.

you have to be together totally on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭zxcvbnm1

God, I'm not advocating the OP send a totally naked pic of herself, no way. I meant I nice pose, classy, all bits covered... I was just thinking out

:(

Op - absolutely do not go down this road. How on earth can sending this other girl a picture of you - clothed or unclothed- be of any help to the situation?

Like - what are people thinking here? This is insane behaviour. Can someone please join the dots for me on that one if they don't mind?

Op-The first thing to do is demand to see any messages on your boyfriends phone of any past texts. He may have deleted them of course but it may well give you something to go on.
    Also try to resurrect any other forms of communication they may have had such as recent call history, Facebook messages. You do have a right to be suspicious. If he gets the hump, then this may well be a sign of guilt.
    If he is innocent - and even if it was unintentional - he is partly to blame by allowing this go on this long? What was he thinking? He really should not have been as weak as he was.

Secondly - assuming you decide to remain with your boyfriend - force him to communicate with his ex that he wants no more contact whatsoever. Yee can decide together the best way to communicate that message to her. But it would have to be a serious message delivered to her. How yee do that is another thread in itself.

And don't be afraid to threaten her with Garda involvement either. You have to make it very clear to her. The penny just hasn't dropped.

And if she keeps persisting after that, well.... Lock up your rabbit because you really are dealing with a psycho.

Of course all the above is based on you deciding you'd bf is completely innocent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

First off. Sorry op. And sorry for being blunt in the next bit ..
    29292929 wrote: »
    ...He was with his ex until about 6 months before he got with me. shes been texting him all the way through or relationship but in general he never replied to her and was always really open with me about it. He referred to her as the psycho or 'the nutjob'. She was always texting asking him to meet for a drink.

Classic Bulls*it 101. To hide the fact he was in communication with her back, he says she is a nutjob and thats its 'all her' ... Smoke screen op.
    Also him being seemingly honest was his just giving 'half truths' (which are so hard to spot :() .. Honest that she was contacting him, but leaving the part out he was contacting her back.
    I... a year ago we were out for romantic meal and she just kept texting him and i asked him to please tell her to stop hassling him, that i'd appreciate if she wasnt always a part of our lives but he reminded me that its one way communication, that he rarely if ever replies....

He wasnt blind.
    Again, half truths. Manipulating your perception of things.
    He thinks its possible she probably still has feelings for him but says he doesnt care what she thinks or wants, that he loves me and wouldn't go near her. She's overweight and he ended it because he wasnt attracted to her.

Sadly it was a lie.
    Always read the action ... he was saying he thinks shes fat and ugly and doesnt want anything to do with her. Yet contact was 2-way. You're right.
    I know he hasnt been replying to her. Ive seen the texts come through on the iphone, always "Any craic?" and he'll ignore it and she'll send another two asking did he get her text, that her phone is playing up.

im sorry to say that just because he doesnt reply to her when your around. doesnt mean he didnt when you were not. If he flat out ignored her texts she'd soon get the message. even if it took a while. you're with him 2 years tho!
    What do I do? I will tell him the truth. But I'm ready to just end it now. What's the point? Why would an ex text a naked photo without being led on? I never saw him near his phone all evening so don't think he texted her first.

You've hit the nail on the head. Logic is screaming here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Being a woman who was once in the exact same position as the OP, I would definetely say something is amiss.
    With my own personal experience, the dirty picture came in as we were in bed together watching a movie. Since I was lying on his chest, it was hard to miss. He had told me before we got together who she was and that he had casually dated her.
    His explanation for the picture was that she was trying to get him back and that, him being the friendly ex, she was also aware that I was in his. I was shown sent messages to prove he had in fact told her that his girlfriend was coming over soon.
    I let that bad feeling build up and up in my stomach until it turned me to the point of depression. We were saving for a house, planning marriage, I even had a pregnancy scare that made his eyes light up with joy.

Turns out he was using made up Straight Edge gigs to go to her's for the ride, and he text her telling her I was coming so she'd know not to send anything suspicious.
    Before people harrass me, I'm trying to make a point. Do not let this bad feeling go unchecked. It may be that he's telling the truth, it may be that he's lying through his teeth. But unless you confront him looking for direct answers, you will likely not find out until this marriage goes ahead, and you're expecting a baby or something.

If he loves you truly and is being honest, he will have no objection to complying with you. After all, who would willingly allow something like that to continue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

I find it odd that he hasn't got her number blocked, changed his number or gone to the guards about it. Surely if it was all one sided he would have taken action by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I think you need to tell your boyfriend what happened - that you saw the naked pic come in on the phone. Say that you think the next step is to go to the guards and see how he reacts to that suggestion. It was interesting to read posts from people whose exes just couldn't let things go and kept on texting. So either she's one of those or she has been getting encouragement to some extent from your boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

mood wrote: »
    I find it odd that he hasn't got her number blocked, changed his number or gone to the guards about it. Surely if it was all one sided he would have taken action by now.

You cant really go to the guards unless you have proof that you have asked the person to stop. The guards aren't going to do anything about it either.

I walked into the guards with a big box of letters [as in the size of a box a tv would come in] from a university lecturer that was sending me epic war and peace length letters with the craziest content in them and the guards shrugged their shoulders and sent me on my way even though I had proof I had asked him to stop and they were bothering me and I hadn't even had a relationship with this person.

Hi OP here.

I talked to him about it that night. He tried to kiss me when I arrived home but I turned away so he knew something was up. He said it so I didn't have to, he said "you saw the pic she texted didn't you"

He said he was going to tell me about it but I rushed off to bed, which is true.
    He said he would've shown me and laughed at how gross she is with me but when he came up to bed I was asleep and not willing to talk to him, which is true.

He didn't reply to her. He handed his phone to me and I could see all the msgs exchanged. There were virtually no responses from him recently, the morning of the picture she sent him "any craic" and he responded an hour later with "NO!"
    He said he didn't know why he responded, he just wanted her to **** off and if he doesn't reply she keeps texting
    The picture came many hours later out of the blue.

I know he hadn't responded to her that evening because we were sitting together all the time, he was never near the phone.
    He's barely able to use the iPhone as it is so its up to me to believe if he deleted any texts or not, and I do believe him, he allowed me to check anything, he was completely up front about all and thinks she thinks by sending him the picture he would go running back to her.
    She texted him twice after the pic, in the early hours of the morning when we were in bed, saying "did you get pic"
    He did not reply
    I told him I'm not sure where we're at, that I need time to think about this, that I want her punished for this, that I don't know if I can ever trust him again or will be left with doubts

He was crying as we argued and seemed 100% up front about it all. We've had a perfect rekationshio otherwise and I don't believe he could ever hurt me, he has been perfect in our relationship otherwise and I can't think of any reason that he would look at this woman, I'm size 10 toned, she's a very big girl with a monobrow, I don't know how she could be so disillusioned but I do believe that she is. No one in their right mind could send around such a horrible pic of themselves.

To answer some other questions,

He hasn't changed his phone number because firstly, it's a phone provided to him by his boss and the number is on the company website and van, so she'll get it.
    We looked into blocking number and it's not possible with his phone company.
    His boss is an asshole so it's not a matter of him going to him about this, trust me. And it's not him making excuses, I kwow changing a number is no good, she'll get the next one, she needs to learn to stop texting him

He wouldn't go near the guards and I wouldnt allow him. Our local guard would turn this into a community laugh but that's a different story. We are not in Dublin, things work very different down the country and rural guards would NOT appreciate time wasted with trivial stuff like this unfortunately, I've seen much bigger crimes turned into a joke.

I've had a very sour feeling for the past few days. He thinks she did this because valentines day is coming up, I think that's prob true. He has been trying his best to make sure I believe him that he hasn't wronged me, and I know deep down he hasn't but I still don't want to sleep with him or give him full trust, I just feel bad about this, maybe it takes time?

The first time I laughed was last night, we went to the pub with his work buddies and friend and knew the ex would be there. It's a very small pub so she sat nearby staring at us, I didn't look at her at all. Now this might nit be politically correct but I don't care if people here criticise us for dealing with it like this, we needed a laugh.
    I opened the picture message on my boyfriends phone and passed it around amongst the group of lads who were all almost falling over from laughter and commenting about the state of her loudly. It was hilarious and I instantly felt better, like I was getting my own back and showing her the dangers of texting someone elses man. Most of the men in town have no seen her fat hairy body.

We looked back at her a few times and she was watching it all, knew exactly what was going on. She was with a girlfriend who was too drunk to get what was happening.

The psycho got up and walked out about half an hour after the pic was passed around which gave us much more laughter.

My bf and I laughed about it again last night and he seemed a lot happier that I was laughing.

All I can do now is give it time.

We are both hoping she might have learned her lesson? Who knows.

Once a psycho always a psycho?

bubblypop wrote: »
    hi op, dont know why you ae so quick to think he has been doing something wrong!
    do you have past experience with him that he has lied/been dishonest in the past?
    you just appear very quick to lay some of the blame on him. why would you even think of ending it without talking to him first? is there a communication problem between you often?
    there was a thread here a couple of weeks ago by a crazy ex, she was still hassling her ex after 3 years!! she couldnt see she was wrong!!

maybe your boyfriend is just a really nice guy, doesnt see the need to be mean to her before now, maybe he thought she would eventually give up?
    maybe he tried to be polite? not to cause her any more hurt? i think that is a good quality!

a naked pic is a step too far though and if he has been polite to her for last year or two then it is time now to stop her!
    he has to be hard, ignore her everytime she texts!
    i would demand this now. it has gone on too long and too far now!

if he is honest with you, and only you know this, then be on his side, dont doubt him. there are crazy psycho ex's out there, and they can make life a living hell for others without totally understanding what they are doing.

you have to be together totally on this.

My bf has never done anything like this before, never cheated or even looked at anyone else. Ive been hurt badly in a previous relationship and have a tendency to be paranoid or expect failure, it's been so good apart from this texting crap that I expected something bad to happen.

He promised he will never reply again and if she does text again we should just make a laugh of her in the pub where she'll see it. Small town with just one pub so she's always there too.

I believed all along, even before the texts were an issue, even before i was with him (he grew up near me, ive known him a long time) that his ex was mental. She just seemed to have very poor body image, wearing a very short skirt with very hairy upper legs and huge stretch marks, a very large monobrow that could've easily been fixed with plucking and a huge amount of dark brown concealer on just the front of her face with it obviously white under her chin and around her ears. I'm not being mean, but a lot of people thought she was strange.

He was friends with her for a while and a bit blind to this, he is one of those guys that is very easygoing, and wouldn't notice if the house fell down. Some people might find that strange but that's the way he is and I know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

You cant really go to the guards unless you have proof that you have asked the person to stop. The guards aren't going to do anything about it either.

I walked into the guards with a big box of letters [as in the size of a box a tv would come in] from a university lecturer that was sending me epic war and peace length letters with the craziest content in them and the guards shrugged their shoulders and sent me on my way even though I had proof I had asked him to stop and they were bothering me and I hadn't even had a relationship with this person.

Well, surely he would have sent her a text/e-mail to tell her to back off and not contact him again if he wanted her out of his life. Anyone with any cop on would do this and keep proof of it. If for any reason he didn't do this why has he not changed his number! If he doesn't have a mortgage he could also move. There are ways to cut people out of your life if you really want to.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

mood wrote: »
    Well, surely he would have sent her a text/e-mail to tell her to back off and not contact him again if he wanted her out of his life. Anyone with any cop on would do this and keep proof of it. If for any reason he didn't do this why has he not changed his number! If he doesn't have a mortgage he could also move. There are ways to cut people out of your life if you really want to.

seriously:eek: it is far easier to just ignore their messages, had to do it for years, he got the message finally

i never even thought of going to guards, changing my number or moving house - its all a bit extreme