Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

talking sad too you,not him boyo
    no one in there right mind with common sense will vote sf,would be better of not voting if sf here only party too vote for ,but guess what, they not,thank god
    I presume by your logic that it takes a brain surgeon to vote fianna failures or fine gael, whose leader won't turn up to a debate. Wise up, in a democracy people are entitled to vote for whoever they want and should not be mocked for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

gsxr1 wrote: »
    You sir have just insulted anyone from the north. Which shows YOUR complete ignorance . To brand any one born more northernly than yourself as people who do not know any better than you is down right retarded. :rolleyes:
    Your one or two sentence constant response has not really explained anything to back up your story's. So you dont like SF. Why? Explain? Why are people from the north different from people 2 miles over the border:confused:.

Is this what this forum is about?

Its not here for you to stab at people from the North of Ireland.

Get a life.
    i expect this answer,sf politics doesnt work in south ,solutions too ireland problem is not what sf are offering, ,sf taking from pension fund is not a solution,still havent said where they will get 16 b euros from ,so please stick subject
    thread about anyone vote for sf,most say no
    no policy that will help ireland
    why is sf still selling IRA stuff
    no party will go into goverment no matter how many seat they get
    people are angry,see all other partys saying same and sf are no better,jsut the blame game at moment with them,think its time for a new different party too start in ireland,because what we offered with ff,fg,labour,sf sp aint it,
    just same as it was 5 , 10 year ago,

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    I presume by your logic that it takes a brain surgeon to vote fianna failures or fine gael, whose leader won't turn up to a debate. Wise up, in a democracy people are entitled to vote for whoever they want and should not be mocked for doing so.

worse if vote sf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

GlanGal wrote: »
    sf should never get into government, i live on the border and believe me the ties between sf and the ira are very much alive in my part of the country at least. i honestly don't think any educated person could take them seriously, i mean they seem to have no idea what to do! before voting seriously consider what they would do if they were in power, instead of always giving out they should provide more REALISTIC solutions. Everyone I know that votes for this party are angry unemployed men (and a few coarse girls)

Are you providing a stereotype here? Lets just see what happens on election day...

So who would an educated person consider voting for then? Surely not Fianna Failure

As for Fine Gael....well their leader wont turn up for a debate which imo says alot to be honest...

sf should never get into government, i live on the border and believe me the ties between sf and the ira are very much alive in my part of the country at least. i honestly don't think any educated person could take them seriously, i mean they seem to have no idea what to do! before voting seriously consider what they would do if they were in power, instead of always giving out they should provide more REALISTIC solutions. Everyone I know that votes for this party are angry unemployed men (and a few coarse girls)

totaly agree

caseyann wrote: »
    Then i rest my case with you.I already said if you see the holes with another party with them in government would mend the holes that dont work and it can be integrated together.How ever you dont have an open mind to this so no point in carrying on talking with you about it.
    If you dont want answers from them not my problem i am not going to answer them for you or ask them for you either.If i ask i will ask for myself.
    Micheal o reagan is going to fix the country is he?
    O'regan is from the irish times,a respected newspaper man.
    you know,in a funny round about way,you've [I think] said what I've said earlier but in a different way.
    You'll see changes in sf policy if they are going into government.
    Thats not going to be this time.There simply isn't the support for them.
    Now good night,God bless etc,we disagree on some things,we probably agree on lots of others,who knows,I wish you the best.
    I'm disinterested in falling out over these things and I'm sure you agree on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

O'regan is from the irish times,a respected newspaper man.
    you know,in a funny round about way,you've [I think] said what I've said earlier but in a different way.
    You'll see changes in sf policy if they are going into government.
    Thats not going to be this time.There simply isn't the support for them.
    Now good night,God bless etc,we disagree on some things,we probably agree on lots of others,who knows,I wish you the best.
    I'm disinterested in falling out over these things and I'm sure you agree on that.

I agree and pleasure to debate with someone who is level headed not dragging the history books into it.Ah all good debate in politics and that is why we have a right to disagree with out getting out the guns :D
    Take care god bless you and your family,And if you dont mind i will hope you are wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

i expect this answer,sf politics doesnt work in south ,solutions too ireland problem is not what sf are offering, ,sf taking from pension fund is not a solution,still havent said where they will get 16 b euros from ,so please stick subject
    thread about anyone vote for sf,most say no
    no policy that will help ireland
    why is sf still selling IRA stuff
    no party will go into goverment no matter how many seat they get
    people are angry,see all other partys saying same and sf are no better,jsut the blame game at moment with them,think its time for a new different party too start in ireland,because what we offered with ff,fg,labour,sf sp aint it,
    just same as it was 5 , 10 year ago,

Why did you expect this answer. If you read the thread you will find I am not a SF voter for this election. Is this more of your prejudice against people north of limerick? Or Boston?? Can you vote in Boston?

Please provide a link to the SF website sale as we dont know what you are talking about. I cant really comment on something you seen somewhere

I dont understand SF policy at the moment as they have not really had the chance to state it on TV . They have always been shouted down . But I do have an open mind and am willing to hear it. In full.
    I do understand that the other parties have more of the same to follow FF.
    I also understand FG dont intend to change anything that our current government has put in place . So. It comes down the labour and SF . "for me".
    With out a one sentence response. Why should I chose labour(or FG,FF) over SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I have a good job and probably will vote SF so ease up on the stereotypes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 GlanGal

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    I have a good job and probably will vote SF so ease up on the stereotypes.

i'm sorry i didn't mean that, it seems that to vote for sf in a border county means something different to voting for them further south. Although in fairness i really don't think they could lead the country, i mean really? REALLY? they just spend all their time giving out about other parties and making unrealistic promises, i know ff messed us up and to be honest i don't see a huge difference between ff and fianna gael so i'll be voting independent then labour then greens, i just think it's lunacy for sf to be even considered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

i just think it's lunacy for sf to be even considered

Many people (including me) think it lunacy for anyone but SF to be considered.

As it gets nearer the polling date and people get fed up with the same old lies from the other parties, just watch the other party lines soften toward the policies and idea's put forward by SF by taking parts of same and claiming them their own - then exclaim sure it's what they meant all along anyway :rolleyes:

My only annoyance with SF this General Election is that they're not running 150+ candidates, maybe in two years time the next general election...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

danbohan wrote: »
    jean mconville was a spy , she was killed in a war as was 3000+ other people , time to move on

One person's "spy" or "informer" is another person's role model for doing their civic duty and reporting criminals.

If McConville saved innocent people from being maimed or killed, then fair f**ks to her!

Of course, gardaí do that too.....and they're not "spies", are they? So what's the excuse for SF's stance re those murders?

Nehaxak wrote: »
    Many people (including me) think it lunacy for anyone but SF to be considered.

As it gets nearer the polling date and people get fed up with the same old lies from the other parties, just watch the other party lines soften toward the policies and idea's put forward by SF by taking parts of same and claiming them their own - then exclaim sure it's what they meant all along anyway :rolleyes:

My only annoyance with SF this General Election is that they're not running 150+ candidates, maybe in two years time the next general election...

ahem... some UNbiased comments? you can't honestly say sf are going to turn this country around, whats their 5 year plan? because it sounds like a whole lot of vague promises to me... they'll decrease taxes while increasing funding ( but not to the investors who fuel the economy of course) and to hell with it they'll even make us a 32 county country! be realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Pat D. Almighty

why is IRA stuff being sold on sinn fein website,if they moved on

Probably the same reason Fine Gael use the Michael Collins image etc. No point in hiding your history...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Probably the same reason Fine Gael use the Michael Collins image etc. No point in hiding your history...

Where can I buy Michael Collins stuff on the Fine Gael website?

by the way im closely related to one of the signatories of the 1916 proclamation so don't start throwing this "history" **** about, times were very different then, sf are just preying on peoples worries about the country and trying to create a sense of panic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Reilly616

by the way im closely related to one of the signatories of the 1916 proclamation so don't start throwing this "history" **** about, times were very different then, sf are just preying on peoples worries about the country and trying to create a sense of panic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 talktank

Hi everybody. I heard through the media knowledge of the workings of the southern government is poor. I was curious to hear any opinions on this? I find this hard to believe. The Irish media have a tendency to malign S. F.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

I'm married to the girl whose uncle shot Michael Collins, mines bigger than yours etc., :rolleyes:

I'm well aware of the history of SF, as I am of the civil war politics and all the other parties that came from that. I couldn't care less though, proud to be voting SF for the first time, I agree with nearly everything they're saying and almost all of their policies, onwards and upwards, moving forward and leaving the past behind for bitter people.

As for creating a sense of panic, you're having a laugh right ? If it wasn't for SF bringing alternatives to the table, alternatives that it seems every credible and respected economist is backing up these days, we'd all be just handing the whole lot over to incompetent fools intent on hoodwinking us for as long as they can... "Sure tis' all grand to be sure to be sure. The banks are full of great fella's and we should reward them for their past failures and bringing the country to it's knee's by giving them more of our money. Sure we'll all be dead in ten years anyway and over half the youth emigrated away, nobody will remember a thing and it'll all blow over like nothings ever happened, go on about your business there fella and let me get back to my game of golf".

At least with SF there as the only large party opposing the status quo of the wealthy elite, their failed banks and their supporting political parties - the people have a real credible alternative to vote for with politicians who actually do the job themselves rather than rely on hundreds of overpaid consultants surrounding them to do everything for them and then be called upon as the excuse for government failings.

FF/FG/Labour are all the same, vote for one, vote for the other, no difference, no change, status quo maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

I'm married to the girl whose uncle shot Michael Collins, mines bigger than yours etc., :rolleyes:

I'm well aware of the history of SF, as I am of the civil war politics and all the other parties that came from that. I couldn't care less though, proud to be voting SF for the first time, I agree with nearly everything they're saying and almost all of their policies, onwards and upwards, moving forward and leaving the past behind for bitter people.

As for creating a sense of panic, you're having a laugh right ? If it wasn't for SF bringing alternatives to the table, alternatives that it seems every credible and respected economist is backing up these days, we'd all be just handing the whole lot over to incompetent fools intent on hoodwinking us for as long as they can... "Sure tis' all grand to be sure to be sure. The banks are full of great fella's and we should reward them for their past failures and bringing the country to it's knee's by giving them more of our money. Sure we'll all be dead in ten years anyway and over half the youth emigrated away, nobody will remember a thing and it'll all blow over like nothings ever happened, go on about your business there fella and let me get back to my game of golf".

At least with SF there as the only large party opposing the status quo of the wealthy elite, their failed banks and their supporting political parties - the people have a real credible alternative to vote for with politicians who actually do the job themselves rather than rely on hundreds of overpaid consultants surrounding them to do everything for them and then be called upon as the excuse for government failings.

FF/FG/Labour are all the same, vote for one, vote for the other, no difference, no change, status quo maintained.

Totally agree.

We have been served by incompetant yes men for too long and I can't see how a FG/Lab gov can offer real change.

After watching prime time tonight it would be interesting to see what stance the other parties take on the IMF/EU deal. Will their be a shift?

Without doubt many voters will be influenced by the good oul media with their fg/lab coalition propaganda...

People need to wake up. These are the corrupt shower who have held us back for too long a time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 thenorthie

I'm in Louth, and other than my 1st (o' Dowd) the rest are useless, so Gerry will probably be getting my second vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

zinx wrote: »
    Love the way the shinners keep harping on about "moving on"
    Ye folks should stay up north and keep your weasel words to yourselves.

I'd rather have a government that leaves everybody with less money in their pockets than a crowd that tells everybody to move on and forget about the murders,bank robberies,extortionism,drug dealing,punishment beatings,gun running,blowing up kids in Warrington, blowing up pregnant women in Omagh,Manchester and so on.

Tell you what...Why don't you and your ilk "MOVE ON" back up to the north where ye belong?

How about that for a suggestion?

its a wonderful suggestion and it tells us everything we need to know about you !

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    One person's "spy" or "informer" is another person's role model for doing their civic duty and reporting criminals.

If McConville saved innocent people from being maimed or killed, then fair f**ks to her!

Of course, gardaí do that too.....and they're not "spies", are they? So what's the excuse for SF's stance re those murders?

what about people shot in war of independence in the south spying for the british they should not been shot either ?

still on about gardai must be an obsession in limerick , mind you it does not appear to be a place where their is a huge law abiding gardai loving community .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I think I will be giving SF my no.1 vote although i dont agree with the economic crap of spending the NPRF 3 times over - I do want a default. I realise a default will be horrifically torturous but if it means one of the outcomes is that the pockets of the greedy FF and especially of those that ran with their pensions all dry up I will be 100% for a default. The way I see it is that FF fcuked up and a lot of them ran from the sinking ship and the people of Ireland are going down. If we're going down, we take everyone down with us.
    BRING ON A DEFAULT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

caseyann wrote: »
    Until the IRA gave them no other option but to fold and make way for peace.

You guys think the IRA won?

This is even funnier than voting for Sinn Fein!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

That is just the nonsense SF promote in order to dissuade people from actually reading the policies of other parties. If you took time to find out about the other parties you would see they are very different, despite what SF say. More importantly, it means people dont bother reading SFs policies in depth.

SFs economics policy falls down on basic addition and subtraction. If you spend the NPRF paying for this years budget deficit you can not spend it again on the stimulus package you are relying on to kick start the economy. SFs plan will see us out of money by next year with no options available to raise more money, it is absolute lunacy. Yet SF supporters here ignore these facts because it is easier to accept what Adams tells you and not consider reality. SFs entire election campaign is built on fantasy.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    That is just the nonsense SF promote in order to dissuade people from actually reading the policies of other parties. If you took time to find out about the other parties you would see they are very different, despite what SF say. More importantly, it means people dont bother reading SFs policies in depth.

SFs economics policy falls down on basic addition and subtraction. If you spend the NPRF paying for this years budget deficit you can not spend it again on the stimulus package you are relying on to kick start the economy. SFs plan will see us out of money by next year with no options available to raise more money, it is absolute lunacy. Yet SF supporters here ignore these facts because it is easier to accept what Adams tells you and not consider reality. SFs entire election campaign is built on fantasy.

SFs entire election campaign is built on fantasy.

might well be true ,but then so is the other partys as well , we are been lied to night and day by all the partys , why this sorry mess has to go on for 3 weeks is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Gardner

fao mods

mate of mine is involved in sinn fein in waterford, they all have been asked to vote in the boards.ie poll.

can the mods delete all votes that have been registered to new posters with waterford i.p address with no posts or less than 5 posts, in turn this will give a true reflection of the votes cast.

probably not sinn fein doing this but can it be done for everyone else as well??

thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    SFs plan will see us out of money by next year with no options available to raise more money, it is absolute lunacy.

You forgot about the SF proposal to set up a Rainbow Termination Revenue Task Force to collect fairy gold from the Leprechauns. I'm a bit dubuious about this, as those Leprechauns are tricksy little buggers.

are you one or just an expert on them ?