Would you go on Winning Streak?

• 10-02-2011 07:40PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I was just thinking about this today. I would never buy scratch-cards but I've had them bought for me during hospital stays and the like. I've won money but never got the three stars.

I hate Winning Streak. The very worst part is how those numpty presenters patronise all the contestants, and even worse, the contestants bend over and take it. And it's just a stupid show otherwise.

But if I sent in the three stars scratch-card and was chosen, I'd be torn because all we all know, everyone comes away with something. But then you'd have to watch your credibility drain away as some perma-tanned idiot condescends to you.

What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, but I'd go on Winning Strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,496 ✭✭✭✭Basq

No, only gormless people go on Winning Streak..

.. like people from Offaly! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I was just thinking about this today. I would never buy scratch-cards but I've had them bought for me during hospital stays and the like. I've won money but never got the three stars.

I hate Winning Streak. The very worst part is how those numpty presenters patronise all the contestants, and even worse, the contestants bend over and take it. And it's just a stupid show otherwise.

But if I sent in the three stars scratch-card and was chosen, I'd be torn because all we all know, everyone comes away with something. But then you'd have to watch your credibility drain away as some perma-tanned idiot condescends to you.

What would you do?

Who gives a crap if it's embarrassing? If it means I'd get money for doing nothing and might even be lucky enough to get a kiss from that silver fox Marty Whelan I'm there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

you'd sooner turn your nose up at minimum ten grand, just cos you dont like the format of the show???

Was it a lobotomy that you were in hospital for?!

zuroph wrote: »
    you'd sooner turn your nose up at minimum ten grand, just cos you dont like the format of the show???

It was actually surgery for a gold leg..

.. you know, cos I'm in the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

hell yeah id go on it, yeah you look like a muppet but even if you come last you win some amount of cash, youd be stupid not to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

they make you look like a tit but for a minimum 20 grand, id get naked on tv to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I would. But when they turn the camera on the crowd and all the eejit supporters start screaming about their parish, I'd have no-one there. I'd tell em I told all my friends to feck off as I have money to keep me company now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't farm land so I wouldn't be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

No.I dislike free money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I'd probably send my granny on and split the profits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I have it all planned.

I will get a friend who's a bit of a well.. "winning streak contestant" type person anyway. Get him to go on for me - it's hardly a game of skill, and I will relax in posh hotel close by.

I will NOT be one of the even sadder ones in the audience, blushing whilst someone else plays for them.

it's hardly a game of skill, and I will relax in posh hotel close by.
    Whoa whoa whoa.. next you'll be telling me 'Deal Or No Deal' requires no skill and it's all dumb luck / chance!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

zuroph wrote: »

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

My great uncle bill got on winning streak even got to spin the wheel at the end , Id love to go on that show ..emmm money emm taste like paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I have it all planned.

I will get a friend who's a bit of a well.. "winning streak contestant" type person.

Elaborate on this type of person please? Are we talking about care in the community, special needs or a general nutjob here?

Basq wrote: »
    Whoa whoa whoa.. next you'll be telling me 'Deal Or No Deal' requires no skill and it's all dumb luck / chance!

*answers phone*

Elaborate on this type of person please? Are we talking about care in the community, special needs or a general nutjob here?

Busted. Yeah. It's you.

Hahaha man, anybody who says they wouldn't are just lying.

Yes you would, so would I and I think it's the most stupid tv programme on television.

But hey, money right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Busted. Yeah. It's you.

Psychic as well I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I'd deffo go on it. Few drinks beforehand, drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas and get a few bob.

Decent night out really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'd go on for an elderly relative if they were unable to, and to be honest I'd refuse any financial reward.

darragh16 wrote: »
    I'd deffo go on it. Few drinks beforehand, drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas and get a few bob.

Decent night out really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I think I'm about 50 years shy of having no use for the money and seeing as the winners are usually too old to enjoy it that'll be a no from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

I sent away 3 stars this week and did the lotto last night and won a scratch card and it had another 3stars on it!! I dunno would i go on if my name came out.
    Everyone would know what you win but if i was allowed to drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas then probably would

STIG83 wrote: »
    I sent away 3 stars this week and did the lotto last night and won a scratch card and it had another 3stars on it!! I dunno would i go on if my name came out.
    Everyone would know what you win but if i was allowed to drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas then probably would

It'd be hard to say no, wouldn't it? A girl I know got on the show after returning from a year in Oz. Cleared her debts. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

You can embarass and patronise me all you want for two hours as long as I get that car and at least €30,000.

We are all just whores for money, aren't we? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

its never recovered from the day when mick murphy ran the show. its needs 2 spanner presenters nowadays to push the buttons.