Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go on Winning Streak?

• 10-02-2011 6:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I was just thinking about this today. I would never buy scratch-cards but I've had them bought for me during hospital stays and the like. I've won money but never got the three stars.

I hate Winning Streak. The very worst part is how those numpty presenters patronise all the contestants, and even worse, the contestants bend over and take it. And it's just a stupid show otherwise.

But if I sent in the three stars scratch-card and was chosen, I'd be torn because all we all know, everyone comes away with something. But then you'd have to watch your credibility drain away as some perma-tanned idiot condescends to you.

What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No, but I'd go on Winning Strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

No, only gormless people go on Winning Streak..

.. like people from Offaly! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I was just thinking about this today. I would never buy scratch-cards but I've had them bought for me during hospital stays and the like. I've won money but never got the three stars.

I hate Winning Streak. The very worst part is how those numpty presenters patronise all the contestants, and even worse, the contestants bend over and take it. And it's just a stupid show otherwise.

But if I sent in the three stars scratch-card and was chosen, I'd be torn because all we all know, everyone comes away with something. But then you'd have to watch your credibility drain away as some perma-tanned idiot condescends to you.

What would you do?

Who gives a crap if it's embarrassing? If it means I'd get money for doing nothing and might even be lucky enough to get a kiss from that silver fox Marty Whelan I'm there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

you'd sooner turn your nose up at minimum ten grand, just cos you dont like the format of the show???

Was it a lobotomy that you were in hospital for?!

zuroph wrote: »
    you'd sooner turn your nose up at minimum ten grand, just cos you dont like the format of the show???

It was actually surgery for a gold leg..

.. you know, cos I'm in the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

hell yeah id go on it, yeah you look like a muppet but even if you come last you win some amount of cash, youd be stupid not to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

they make you look like a tit but for a minimum 20 grand, id get naked on tv to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I would. But when they turn the camera on the crowd and all the eejit supporters start screaming about their parish, I'd have no-one there. I'd tell em I told all my friends to feck off as I have money to keep me company now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I don't farm land so I wouldn't be allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

No.I dislike free money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I'd probably send my granny on and split the profits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I have it all planned.

I will get a friend who's a bit of a well.. "winning streak contestant" type person anyway. Get him to go on for me - it's hardly a game of skill, and I will relax in posh hotel close by.

I will NOT be one of the even sadder ones in the audience, blushing whilst someone else plays for them.

it's hardly a game of skill, and I will relax in posh hotel close by.
    Whoa whoa whoa.. next you'll be telling me 'Deal Or No Deal' requires no skill and it's all dumb luck / chance!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

zuroph wrote: »

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

My great uncle bill got on winning streak even got to spin the wheel at the end , Id love to go on that show ..emmm money emm taste like paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I have it all planned.

I will get a friend who's a bit of a well.. "winning streak contestant" type person.

Elaborate on this type of person please? Are we talking about care in the community, special needs or a general nutjob here?

Basq wrote: »
    Whoa whoa whoa.. next you'll be telling me 'Deal Or No Deal' requires no skill and it's all dumb luck / chance!

*answers phone*

Elaborate on this type of person please? Are we talking about care in the community, special needs or a general nutjob here?

Busted. Yeah. It's you.

Hahaha man, anybody who says they wouldn't are just lying.

Yes you would, so would I and I think it's the most stupid tv programme on television.

But hey, money right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Busted. Yeah. It's you.

Psychic as well I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I'd deffo go on it. Few drinks beforehand, drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas and get a few bob.

Decent night out really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'd go on for an elderly relative if they were unable to, and to be honest I'd refuse any financial reward.

darragh16 wrote: »
    I'd deffo go on it. Few drinks beforehand, drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas and get a few bob.

Decent night out really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I think I'm about 50 years shy of having no use for the money and seeing as the winners are usually too old to enjoy it that'll be a no from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

I sent away 3 stars this week and did the lotto last night and won a scratch card and it had another 3stars on it!! I dunno would i go on if my name came out.
    Everyone would know what you win but if i was allowed to drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas then probably would

STIG83 wrote: »
    I sent away 3 stars this week and did the lotto last night and won a scratch card and it had another 3stars on it!! I dunno would i go on if my name came out.
    Everyone would know what you win but if i was allowed to drop the hand on Kathryn Thomas then probably would

It'd be hard to say no, wouldn't it? A girl I know got on the show after returning from a year in Oz. Cleared her debts. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

You can embarass and patronise me all you want for two hours as long as I get that car and at least €30,000.

We are all just whores for money, aren't we? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crispsandwiches

its never recovered from the day when mick murphy ran the show. its needs 2 spanner presenters nowadays to push the buttons.

It'd be hard to say no, wouldn't it? A girl I know got on the show after returning from a year in Oz. Cleared her debts. :cool:

Nice one!!, that worked out well for her.
    But still the show is so cringeworthy.

its never recovered from the day when mick murphy ran the show. its needs 2 spanner presenters nowadays to push the buttons.

He did a good job on it

STIG83 wrote: »
    He did a good job on it

Yeah, it wasn't quite so bad back then.

*removes rose-tinted specs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

whenever i've gotten 3 stars and sent it away, have always gave my mother the heads up that if i ever got the chance to appear, that she would.... not in a million years would i go on that show, nor sit in the audience with a banner! would be waaaay too morto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

no way, i'd give it to my parents, they can go on it and gimme a cut of the winnings :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Of Course I'd do it, 10k, why the feck not?

And if you win a can, you can get the retail price of the car instead.

Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Of course. I'd finally get to meet Marty!

marty1el.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

What would you do?

I would actually enjoy getting bent by Kathryn Thomas and it's an added bonus to get paid a substantial prize at the end .

Not saying she has a mickey but She's great and I would gladly let her have her way with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yeah, Mike had the air of a guy who knew he was too good to be hosting a show like this, but he was just abit of a lazy chancer who liked getting afew handy quid from RTE, so he played along with the whole thing with his tongue in his cheek.
    The problem with todays presenters is that they don't have a fraction of mike murphy's charisma and buy into the whole thing abit too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

money is money. I don't care how its earned. I Would love to spin the wheel! :o:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I'd be too morto to go on. I'd probably send my Ma on and let her keep a few quid, or the holiday if she won one. She loves the holidays!

Agricola wrote: »
    Yeah, Mike had the air of a guy who knew he was too good to be hosting a show like this, but he was just abit of a lazy chancer who liked getting afew handy quid from RTE, so he played along with the whole thing with his tongue in his cheek.

Mark Cagney is that way on Ireland AM, affecting an "I'm too good for this" air. Trouble is, Mark Cagney ISN'T too good for a show like that, he just doesn't realise. Charisma-free zone, that fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Yeah hard one really..............would def like the money but the fact that not only me but my family & friends wud be made to look like a tit on national airwaves is a toughie. Watched the show a few weeks back and the bit recorded from yr own kitchen / living room is really awful.............then break to the family in the garden with play-school signs / waving to the camera....... more than I can handle.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Only if I could bend Geri Maye over the tombola. The grannies of Ireland would have heart failure at the sight. I'm sick I am. Sick!

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

You often win a scratch card if you play the lotto and can get three stars that way.

My aul lady has got three stars quite a few times and put down my name on the ticket. I copped on to her doing this and used to open the envelope before she posted it and pop down my sisters name. She grew wise and now she's putting down my brothers name. The last couple of times this happened the ticket couldn't be sent at all there was that much scribbling on it.

None of us will put down the aul mans name, he'd call Monney a fairy or a f*ckin bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

If they call your name I'm going on..

Wibbs wrote: »
    Only if I could bend Geri Maye over the tombola. The grannies of Ireland would have heart failure at the sight. I'm sick I am. Sick!

getting in the mood for v-day? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

What would you do?
    Go nuts and scream "STORM LEINSTER HOUSE NOW! THE REVOLUTION HAS BEGUN!!!" and then embarrassingly realise that it was a taped show as I was escorted outside by RTE security (all two of them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Shifty11

I've heard rumour that RTE fill the audience up with food and booze before the show is recorded, so they have a great aul time. Can anyone confirm this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭TeaServer

I would deffo go on for the free cash. Would have been better if ole jazz-hands Mooney was still there though. He is the king of patronising.