Words or phrases you don't use anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

"ye" when addressing more than one person.

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word. Its from middle English but is still used here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Xivilai wrote: »

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word

i still use that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word. Its from middle English but is still used here.

what's the alternative??? The Dublin version where they say you's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Flip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Clunge" isn't a word people don't use anymore.

Referring to a hot person as a ride seems to have fizzled out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

:confused: I never knew that. I use " Ye ", much of the time, whether referring to one or more persons. I write it because that's how I speak. I don't pronounce " You " like 'U'.

I actually started typing this in response to others typing " Ya ". I thought only Americans said that for 'You'. I wished to differentiate myself from them but still liked the idea of typing as I sounded.

Trouble is; Many people suppose my 'ye' mean't to sound like the Hammer Horror type "ye(e)"

Sorry. I'm boring my own arse off now. But, thanks for the interesting heads up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

Dudess wrote: »
    "Clunge" isn't a word people don't use anymore.

Referring to a hot person as a ride seems to have fizzled out.

you're hanging around the wrong people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

havent said deaaaaaadly in years! i used to be the biggest 'deadlier's on the block, you'd hear me screaming it from around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

"Would you like to ride with batman?" (though i'm female, didn't work really):o

Shift, as in "Did you shift him?" or "Get off" as an alternative

Buzz off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

Im showing me age.... " Goodnight George" as in you cant be serious.

"Stop de Lights"....... as in,, say no more

"Get up tha yard " .... as in ..get out of it I dont believe ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

two of my fave slang words - scratcher and bin lids. i actually hate the way so many words in slang are converted in to some other term that sounds like the word but definitely doesnt make sense. but bin lids is gas cos it makes me think of 'ill bleedin' batter / clatter you' (granny years ago) makes me think of bin lids.

theres not many terms i no longer use - i wont throw away a good phrase till its worn out :pac:
    although i dont think ive heard 'giz a shufty' in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

sketch (run)

Lob (look out boy)

shades (guards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Whopper as in "Jayz lads that film is fookin whopper!" or "She's feckin whopper, I'd love to meet her".

Was all the rage when I was a teenager, even had "whopper" tippexed on the back of my school journal because I was clearly mad ouvveh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

"Steamer".... a gay guy but also a cigarette

"Give us a drag " .... asking your mate for a smoke of his cigarette

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My Grandma had some classic expressions, "What the Dickens" "You will have square eyes from watching too much TV", rectangular eyes these days. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

"I'm wall-falling for a cup of tea." [I desperately want a cup of tea]

"THAT'S why." [In response to "Why?" - children used to say that a lot in the 80s]

haha, i just remembered one, shouting "NOT!!!" after something you didn't mean. fcukin hell that one was relentless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

I remember a brief period circa 1994 when the big thing was to tell someone to rack off. Home and Away was big back then.

Oh, and another thing you don't hear much nowadays is 'woe betide' if you do something bad. The auld wans were made for that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

ill give ya a puck in the mouth !!

hows the car hanging ?

shake a shamrock for ireland !!

next on it ( smoking )

bagsy that

esso tiger tokens / green shield stamps

giving butter vouchers for ten major :D

now yer suckin diesel

and on and on and on !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

proon4 wrote: »
    "Steamer".... a gay guy but also a cigarette

"Give us a drag " .... asking your mate for a smoke of his cigarette

I still have to use buy your own you bollocks to people, even though I don;t smoke. Thats how desperate some smokers get

Anyone stopped saying "to arthur" when St Arthurs Day comes around yet.

And by extension to martha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It's lunchtime, I'll bate (spelt as you say it) off to the shops
    Nothing wrong with announcing you were bateing off somewhere at a given time

Just means you plan to go there

My Grandma had some classic expressions, "What the Dickens" "You will have square eyes from watching too much TV", rectangular eyes these days. :p

Or a big plasma, LCD head on you.

"yellow reg" *SMACK* "no return!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

Scran

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

That was pure scandelous
    Everything was pure scandelous around 1994

Dat's right and knuckle down too around 1998 from D'Unbelievables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

Gaudizeit wrote: »
    what's the alternative??? The Dublin version where they say you's?

"You".
    rebel10 wrote: »
    "Would you like to ride with batman?" (though i'm female, didn't work really):o

Shift, as in "Did you shift him?" or "Get off" as an alternative

Buzz off

You just reminded me of "wear". As in "I'd wear the face of that bird".

Believe it or not, "what the Dickens" is a Shakespeare quote. I only discovered this when I went to The Globe the Summer before last.

I can't believe I forgot "banjaxed". Haven't really heard this in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

I remember a brief period circa 1994 when the big thing was to tell someone to rack off. Home and Away was big back then.

Oh, and another thing you don't hear much nowadays is 'woe betide' if you do something bad. The auld wans were made for that..

You have a very apt Username for this Thread ;):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

"Gifted" - as in, "The new Sega Megadrive looks gifted."
    "Jibing" - As in, "Quit jibing me, it won't have Mario!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Rules, everything ruled for a while as a kid.