Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words or phrases you don't use anymore?

• 07-02-2011 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Hurricane-Dean

Heard a friend of mine calling someone a muck savage, hadn't heard that in years. So what words or phrases have you not used in a long time? Another on is saying that something is "weapon" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Mott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

geebag

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

sketch its the gotchy!

snared rapii!

rest in penny jellies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

'Wasssuuupp' from the beer ad about 10 years ago....* shudders*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

Drinks are on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I know someone who refers to things as 'Beast'

'That Movie is 'Beast''

I try to avoid talking to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

catmologen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Hurricane-Dean

Sprrratt wrote: »
    Drinks are on me
    You used to say it? Getting in or out of your helicopter?:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Load of ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

A few of my friends have gotten into the unusual habit of referring to people who do something stupid or foolish as being a "dimebar" , you remember the bar. Probably the worst bar to be called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Haberdashery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Bollocking. Heard it for the first time in years there a few weeks ago.
    "If I don't go into work, the boss will give me a bollocking."
    I near fell about laughing, because it had been so long since I'd heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

"I love you". Haven't had to say that for a while. Don't plan on using it again any time soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

"Yes, I do live in an economically stable country"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

deathrider wrote: »
    Bollocking. Heard it for the first time in years there a few weeks ago.

I always use that word! Tis a great word sher! :)

Scut. You're some scut
    pup - as in a bad child.
    scallywag :D love the sound of that word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

"put it on the back burner"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Sprrratt

You used to say it? Getting in or out of your helicopter?:D

Thats ridiculous. I always go the pub in my jetpack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Gaudizeit

Clunge

"I was knee deep in her clunge"

Great word and not utilised enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

'Ghetto blaster'

'Tops' - slang as a kid for something good

'I wish I was adopted' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

"Ecker" for exercise, haven't heard since 1984 :D

As in, "have you your ecker done?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Yore Ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Gaudizeit wrote: »
    Clunge

"I was knee deep in her clunge"

Great word and not utilised enough.

It conjures up disturbing images. You are wearing wellies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I love old slang, one of the lads told me he saw a donnybrook in town one night and I bust my hole laughing, what a great word :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

"Sound as a pound". That phrase should be buried back where it belongs in 1993.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I took about 15 "yokes" last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

celtic tiger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Have't gone to the "jacks" for many years. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

up to me balls in bibi baskin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

surplus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Except for stuff like 'ecker' and 'wazzaaap' and the 80's stuff, all that's been mentioned is still alive and well in Mullingar vernacular :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

"ye" when addressing more than one person.

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word. Its from middle English but is still used here.

Xivilai wrote: »

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word

i still use that :o

I finally found out that its petty much an extinct word. Its from middle English but is still used here.

what's the alternative??? The Dublin version where they say you's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Flip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Clunge" isn't a word people don't use anymore.

Referring to a hot person as a ride seems to have fizzled out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

:confused: I never knew that. I use " Ye ", much of the time, whether referring to one or more persons. I write it because that's how I speak. I don't pronounce " You " like 'U'.

I actually started typing this in response to others typing " Ya ". I thought only Americans said that for 'You'. I wished to differentiate myself from them but still liked the idea of typing as I sounded.

Trouble is; Many people suppose my 'ye' mean't to sound like the Hammer Horror type "ye(e)"

Sorry. I'm boring my own arse off now. But, thanks for the interesting heads up.

Dudess wrote: »
    "Clunge" isn't a word people don't use anymore.

Referring to a hot person as a ride seems to have fizzled out.

you're hanging around the wrong people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

havent said deaaaaaadly in years! i used to be the biggest 'deadlier's on the block, you'd hear me screaming it from around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

"Would you like to ride with batman?" (though i'm female, didn't work really):o

Shift, as in "Did you shift him?" or "Get off" as an alternative

Buzz off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

Im showing me age.... " Goodnight George" as in you cant be serious.

"Stop de Lights"....... as in,, say no more

"Get up tha yard " .... as in ..get out of it I dont believe ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

two of my fave slang words - scratcher and bin lids. i actually hate the way so many words in slang are converted in to some other term that sounds like the word but definitely doesnt make sense. but bin lids is gas cos it makes me think of 'ill bleedin' batter / clatter you' (granny years ago) makes me think of bin lids.

theres not many terms i no longer use - i wont throw away a good phrase till its worn out :pac:
    although i dont think ive heard 'giz a shufty' in years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

sketch (run)

Lob (look out boy)

shades (guards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

Whopper as in "Jayz lads that film is fookin whopper!" or "She's feckin whopper, I'd love to meet her".

Was all the rage when I was a teenager, even had "whopper" tippexed on the back of my school journal because I was clearly mad ouvveh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

"Steamer".... a gay guy but also a cigarette

"Give us a drag " .... asking your mate for a smoke of his cigarette

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

My Grandma had some classic expressions, "What the Dickens" "You will have square eyes from watching too much TV", rectangular eyes these days. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

"I'm wall-falling for a cup of tea." [I desperately want a cup of tea]

"THAT'S why." [In response to "Why?" - children used to say that a lot in the 80s]

haha, i just remembered one, shouting "NOT!!!" after something you didn't mean. fcukin hell that one was relentless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

I remember a brief period circa 1994 when the big thing was to tell someone to rack off. Home and Away was big back then.

Oh, and another thing you don't hear much nowadays is 'woe betide' if you do something bad. The auld wans were made for that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

ill give ya a puck in the mouth !!

hows the car hanging ?

shake a shamrock for ireland !!

next on it ( smoking )

bagsy that

esso tiger tokens / green shield stamps

giving butter vouchers for ten major :D

now yer suckin diesel

and on and on and on !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

proon4 wrote: »
    "Steamer".... a gay guy but also a cigarette

"Give us a drag " .... asking your mate for a smoke of his cigarette

I still have to use buy your own you bollocks to people, even though I don;t smoke. Thats how desperate some smokers get