Rent Issue with Landlady - Is this fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I would be fuming, definitely have words with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I would be fuming, definitely have words with her.

With sexy results. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

Reading your recent posts - who has the sob story now! Sleep well, alone. :D

It's how I sleep best (and I've never sobbed in my life).

There's all day to do everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Thanks for the reply, though your life situation sounds to be much different to mine.

I left my parents when I was 18 and have been traveling and living in rented accomodation now for 10 years.

I had to leave Ireland in 2007 because the companies I worked for closed down.

I continue to support myself with freelance work, though some months I have absolutely no income at all, and have to live off savings.

No banks would give me a mortgage here!

Cheap accomodation has worked great for me so far. Though, I would much prefer to pay €290 for a large room than €300 for a fúcking boxroom. :mad: :)
    Fair enough, and certainly not a dig at you. Like I said, some people have no other option. Which makes it an amazing option.

But for a lot of folk: just move back home, and learn to live with the folks. Being able to coexist with your parents doesn't make you a mammy's boy. It really doesn't. Sometimes it's just better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

A summary.

I was hoping for a "Cool story bro" but your world-weary, razor sharp wit just blew me away. AWE SOME!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Tom Slick wrote: »
    Me?!

:D, sorry no not you! I was referring to gizagoofyergee. I can't imagine a person with that username having problems with a landlady! (unless it were problems of the pregnant variety)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Yeah - just tell her to drop the price or you move. You're getting screwed royally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

If that happened to me I would just move out. Move out! shes a cnut.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Check your lease contract. Depending on what you've signed, you normally would be entitled to negotiate your terms with your landlady.

If not, gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

davyjose wrote: »
    Just move back home, and learn to live with the folks. Being able to coexist with your parents doesn't make you a mammy's boy. It really doesn't. Sometimes it's just better.

If only I had the option to be "a mammy's boy". I would love to live back at home, but I cannot.

I was forced out of Ireland 3 years ago and have already started my own family abroad.

I will never return to Ireland again. I don't want my kids to know that their father is Irish. I have a new passport in this country and never renewed my Irish one.

Technically, I am no longer Irish. But I like chatting to old friends and people on here.

My advice: Leave Ireland and never return. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

OP, offer her a figure per month (maybe 220? don't know) but as a matter of principle, you can't stay there any more. If she refuses, tell her to fúck herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Blast her with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i was gonna point you in the direction of billy who has a nice enough place in rathgar for renting, but it's feck all use to you if you're swanning about on the iberian peninsula.

how are you raising a family in a box room??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

It's best that you call her bluff, she has the right to keep the rent at that rate of 300Euro but still its pretty ****ty on you like.

There is plenty on the market at the moment also so maybe a chance of place might be nice :).

Best of luck anyway :) mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

Grando advice, lads. Thank a mil.
    i was gonna point you in the direction of billy who has a nice enough place in rathgar for renting, but it's feck all use to you if you're swanning about on the iberian peninsula.

how are you raising a family in a box room??

Was that your man who was floggin' an indoor shed on Daft?

I am living in a boxroom with a desk (office), but my lady and baby are in a small apartment across town. I earn enough to support them both, and I go across town to see them every night.

I'm just not happy that I have to pay €60 more for a small room when I could have a much larger room and perhaps have my baby and girl over.

:( Urgh, I'm so tired of working. Life goes on.

Edit: Actually, I am seriously depressed. I'm off to get some foods from the market. It's sunny, anyway :) Move on, go on, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

Grando advice, lads. Thank a mil.

Was that your man who was floggin' an indoor shed on Daft?

I am living in a boxroom with a desk (office), but my lady and baby are in a small apartment across town. I earn enough to support them both, and I go across town to see them every night.

I'm just not happy that I have to pay €60 more for a small room when I could have a much larger room and perhaps have my baby and girl over.

:( Urgh, I'm so tired of working. Life goes on.

Edit: Actually, I am seriously depressed. I'm off to get some foods from the market. It's sunny, anyway :) Move on, go on, etc.

Found your solution!
    Move out of boxroom, and into apartment with your lady and baby.
    Use the extra 300 a month to either rent somewhere even nice for the 3 of you, or on cocaine and hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭LuckyMe63

Do you have a lease? If so, I believe you are obliged to pay the rent stated for the duration of the lease. However, you can re-negotiate the rent price on a new lease.

Things are tight or everyone these days, including landlords.

Hope you're able to get a fairer deal and stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Swampy

So you're renouncing Irish citizenship and still want Irish advice??

How about... suck my balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Boo F*******G Hoo , jeez would ya stop you are making me violent listening to yer winging , " i dont like my land lady " " i dont like ireland " instead of getting onto AH with your shemale problems , there are web sites for the like of you no ball winging t******r , think its called gaydar , you come onto a irish web site claming your going to hide the fact that your childrens farther is irish and you never want to come back 2 ireland we why dont ya keep yer bitch winging for a web site in the **** hole of a country you are in , no wonder the mother and child wont live with ya , the hormone replacement must be going well for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭hsi

I have been living in the smallest room in this apartment for 3 years, and have never missed payment.

Last month, one of my flatmates left. The room was €350 pm, and mine is €300. I couldn't afford the extra €50 for that room, so I decided to stay in my shoebox, so the room lay vacant for a few weeks.

However, last week, a new tenant arrived, and I found out that he is paying only €290 pm for that larger room. :mad: WTF - that's €60 less!

I would have moved into that room had the landlady told me the rent was €290. Yet, still I have to pay €300 for a room half the size.

I asked her about it and she said she had to reduce prices to attract new tenants, but would not reduce my rent. :mad:

I have been here for 3 years and never missed rent. I've seen many tenants come and go and I look after the place and always keep it clean.

Am I being irrational to ask for my rent to be reduced?? I'd look for another flat right away, but this apartment has been my home for so long now and I don't want to leave. :( FFS.

What a load of bollox you are!! are you not in spain happy with Wife and 2 kids?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056171042

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

hsi wrote: »
    What a load of bollox you are!! are you not in spain happy with Wife and 2 kids?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056171042

Not reading full thread fail...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

I asked her about it and she said she had to reduce prices to attract new tenants, but would not reduce my rent. :mad:
    This might work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

Definitely start looking elsewhere. Given the other person moved in so recently I'm assuming it's not a situation where ye're so close that ye want to stay in the same place. You're now in a situation where you have to get to know a new person anyway so you might as well do it at a fairer price.