Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rent Issue with Landlady - Is this fair?

• 06-02-2011 12:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭

I have been living in the smallest room in this apartment for 3 years, and have never missed payment.

Last month, one of my flatmates left. The room was €350 pm, and mine is €300. I couldn't afford the extra €50 for that room, so I decided to stay in my shoebox, so the room lay vacant for a few weeks.

However, last week, a new tenant arrived, and I found out that he is paying only €290 pm for that larger room. :mad: WTF - that's €60 less!

I would have moved into that room had the landlady told me the rent was €290. Yet, still I have to pay €300 for a room half the size.

I asked her about it and she said she had to reduce prices to attract new tenants, but would not reduce my rent. :mad:

I have been here for 3 years and never missed rent. I've seen many tenants come and go and I look after the place and always keep it clean.

Am I being irrational to ask for my rent to be reduced?? I'd look for another flat right away, but this apartment has been my home for so long now and I don't want to leave. :( FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

She'll have to reduce the rent if you leave, tell her as much. Call her bluff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

It's a renters market,tell her to drop the rent or you leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Move. Buyer'sRenter's market tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

I have been living in the smallest room in this apartment for 3 years, and have never missed payment.

Last month, one of my flatmates left. The room was €350 pm, and mine is €300. I couldn't afford the extra €50 for that room, so I decided to stay in my shoebox, so the room lay vacant for a few weeks.

However, last week, a new tenant arrived, and I found out that he is paying only €290 pm for that larger room. :mad: WTF - that's €60 less!

I would have moved into that room had the landlady told me the rent was €290. Yet, still I have to pay €300 for a room half the size.

I asked her about it and she said she had to reduce prices to attract new tenants, but would not reduce my rent. :mad:

I have been here for 3 years and never missed rent. I've seen many tenants come and go and I look after the place and always keep it clean.

Am I being irrational to ask for my rent to be reduced?? I'd look for another flat right away, but this apartment has been my home for so long now and I don't want to leave. :( FFS.

you agreed 300 a month when you moved into the small room org so the landlord is perfectly entitled to keep this price. If she won't agree to a price drop then tough **** if you don't like it move out and find somewhere else to rent, plenty of places out there at the moment its renters market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

She'll have to reduce the rent if you leave, tell her as much. Call her bluff.

^^
    This.

Also have a look at new places, you might get nicer for the same money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Simple really !! Tell her your moving out and re-rent your room at a lower price when she advertises it.
    Some people are tights fcuks (your landlady)

"Renter's market" being the choice phrase of the evening, it would seem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

TheZohan wrote: »
    ^^
    This.

Also have a look at new places, you might get nicer for the same money.

Agreed. Personally I wouldn't get caught dead paying 300 for a box room (again :( ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Throw one into her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 jonnieonathan

I'd say you have to leave (if it was me I would anyway)

It's not fair that you have to pay more for a smaller room, and pretty damn insulting of your landlady to expect you to do so, after being a loyal tenant for 3 years. Unless you move it'll be on your mind constantly believe me!!

Do yourself a favour when you move out and shake her hand, give her the biggest smile you've ever given, and say 'Nice knowin you' :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ask her for a go of her gee... Could help :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Tom Slick

You're one of life's suckers, just look for a strong place to secure the noose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Ask her for a go of her gee... Could help :P
    Or ask how much rent a month she is charging for it:P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

tell her reduce or leave, you can get quite nice double rooms for 300, I've been looking the last few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Tom Slick wrote: »
    You're one of life's suckers, just look for a strong place to secure the noose.

AMEN BROTHER !! op grow a pair and stump up , tell her if she dont drop the rent pronto you stage exit left , she says no you go , she WILL have 2 drop the rent by at least 100 pm , 300 for a box room !!! shes been riding ya for 3 years so maybe ya should stop it , if not i quote tom slick "You're one of life's suckers" :D i know a buddy that has a country cottage with land a views 2 die for for 440 pm within 45 mins of dublin city , go figure :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

I'd say you have to leave (if it was me I would anyway)

It's not fair that you have to pay more for a smaller room, and pretty damn insulting of your landlady to expect you to do so, after being a loyal tenant for 3 years. Unless you move it'll be on your mind constantly believe me!!

:( Yeah, I'm already looking for rooms.

I'm doing up an email to the landlord. I'm hoping he will intervene as I know he wouldn't want to see me go as we have good rapour, and he knows I look after the place. He recently split with the bat landlady, so that might work in my favour..

Pain in the hole anyway.

I'll let yiz know what happens.

Personally, I'd rather live at home than house share.

With house sharing you are literally moving in with a complete fcuking stranger, with whom you may or may not have zilch in common with, and for what? I brought girlfriend's back to my mother's house regularly, they chatted, got to know each other, became close. When I brought them back to my house-share: sideways glances, self-conscious clearing of throats, and eventually the sort of "if she's gonna stay, she has to chip in" bull**** people in PI talk about a lot.

I paid a fcuk lot more than I paid my Mother, which may seem like I was robbing my Mam, was simply extra cash for her, not a money-making scheme (and BTW - I paid her more than what the OP's paying). Plus, she bought the groceries, I bought the treats/took her out for dinners. She paid the TV, I paid the phone/broadband. Etc. It was symbiotic.

I know moving out is seen as moving on, but sometimes it's not. And i know some people have no choice but to move into shared accomodation -- away from family, no other options, etc. but at least half the folk I lived with were doing so as a means of independence. Independence my bollix. I got disabused of that notion by some wagon, when I was told staying up past 1 on weekdays was unfair on others (I worked weekends; tuesdays were my fridays).

I'm now in my own place with my own family, so I'm not justifying my own "saddo" circumstances, or anything like that. i was simply substantially happier living with my mother (someone who, y'know I've grown fairly attached to over the years), than complete strangers. Either way, if you're going to chase the end of that rainbow of freedom, don't do it by jumping in with a load of strangers whom only fate will decide whether or not you have anything in common with.

/2p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

....I asked her about it and she said she had to reduce prices to attract new tenants, but would not reduce my rent. :mad:....

Lets be honest here, your landlady thinks you're an ejjit. You're clearly not. But this is what she thinks. She expects you to pay over-the-odds for the box room. While in reality you are a good tenant >> living there 3 years, others have come and gone. You are an reliable income for her and I imagine you havent caused any problems over the 3 years.

You have to call her bluff as other users have stated. You have to play hardball, even if she does the same. Because at the end of the day if you move out she will have to drop the rent of the box room down considerably more than what you and her could negotiate.

I'll let yiz know what happens.

You'll lose, that's what'll happen, you'll be out money & you'll do fUck all about it, except run away (emigration they're calling it again)
    So, good riddance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

davyjose wrote: »
    Personally, I'd rather live at home than house share.

/2p

A summary.

Stick around for the election at least.

I see one of our local candidates is a guy was in my class 25 years ago . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

durka durka renters market durka durka

Personally, I'd rather live at home than house share.<snip>

Thanks for the reply, though your life situation sounds to be much different to mine.

I left my parents when I was 18 and have been traveling and living in rented accomodation now for 10 years.

I had to leave Ireland in 2007 because the companies I worked for closed down.

I continue to support myself with freelance work, though some months I have absolutely no income at all, and have to live off savings.

No banks would give me a mortgage here!

Cheap accomodation has worked great for me so far. Though, I would much prefer to pay €290 for a large room than €300 for a fúcking boxroom. :mad: :)

You'll lose, that's what'll happen, you'll be out money & you'll do fUck all about it, except run away (emigration they're calling it again)
    So, good riddance!

I emmigrated 3 years ago :rolleyes:

. . .I had to leave Ireland in 2007 because the companies I worked for closed down.

Follow your companies round the world by all means . . .

You're no more Irish than those first wave emigres from the '50s (or whatever), don't come back.

I emmigrated 3 years ago :rolleyes:

Couldn't be bothered reading your sob story TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Your username and life situation are juxtaposed in the most alarming fashion

(much like my drinking habits and brain farts)

Feeona wrote: »
    Your username and life situation are juxtaposed in the most alarming fashion

(much like my drinking habits and brain farts)

Me?!

Couldn't be bothered reading your sob story TBH.

Reading your recent posts - who has the sob story now! Sleep well, alone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Remember that even if the room is unoccupied for one month thats one month's rent she can never get again, so if you up and leave suddenly, she's gonna be donw money. She can either take a relatively miniscule hit on the rent and get it every month or risk getting no rent at all for a month an still end up having to get a new guy in on the lower rate. You hold all the aces here OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I would be fuming, definitely have words with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I would be fuming, definitely have words with her.

With sexy results. ;)

Reading your recent posts - who has the sob story now! Sleep well, alone. :D

It's how I sleep best (and I've never sobbed in my life).

There's all day to do everything else.

Thanks for the reply, though your life situation sounds to be much different to mine.

I left my parents when I was 18 and have been traveling and living in rented accomodation now for 10 years.

I had to leave Ireland in 2007 because the companies I worked for closed down.

I continue to support myself with freelance work, though some months I have absolutely no income at all, and have to live off savings.

No banks would give me a mortgage here!

Cheap accomodation has worked great for me so far. Though, I would much prefer to pay €290 for a large room than €300 for a fúcking boxroom. :mad: :)
    Fair enough, and certainly not a dig at you. Like I said, some people have no other option. Which makes it an amazing option.

But for a lot of folk: just move back home, and learn to live with the folks. Being able to coexist with your parents doesn't make you a mammy's boy. It really doesn't. Sometimes it's just better.

A summary.

I was hoping for a "Cool story bro" but your world-weary, razor sharp wit just blew me away. AWE SOME!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Me?!

:D, sorry no not you! I was referring to gizagoofyergee. I can't imagine a person with that username having problems with a landlady! (unless it were problems of the pregnant variety)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Yeah - just tell her to drop the price or you move. You're getting screwed royally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

If that happened to me I would just move out. Move out! shes a cnut.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Check your lease contract. Depending on what you've signed, you normally would be entitled to negotiate your terms with your landlady.

If not, gtfo

Just move back home, and learn to live with the folks. Being able to coexist with your parents doesn't make you a mammy's boy. It really doesn't. Sometimes it's just better.

If only I had the option to be "a mammy's boy". I would love to live back at home, but I cannot.

I was forced out of Ireland 3 years ago and have already started my own family abroad.

I will never return to Ireland again. I don't want my kids to know that their father is Irish. I have a new passport in this country and never renewed my Irish one.

Technically, I am no longer Irish. But I like chatting to old friends and people on here.

My advice: Leave Ireland and never return. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

OP, offer her a figure per month (maybe 220? don't know) but as a matter of principle, you can't stay there any more. If she refuses, tell her to fúck herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Blast her with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i was gonna point you in the direction of billy who has a nice enough place in rathgar for renting, but it's feck all use to you if you're swanning about on the iberian peninsula.

how are you raising a family in a box room??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

It's best that you call her bluff, she has the right to keep the rent at that rate of 300Euro but still its pretty ****ty on you like.

There is plenty on the market at the moment also so maybe a chance of place might be nice :).

Best of luck anyway :) mate.

Grando advice, lads. Thank a mil.
    i was gonna point you in the direction of billy who has a nice enough place in rathgar for renting, but it's feck all use to you if you're swanning about on the iberian peninsula.

how are you raising a family in a box room??

Was that your man who was floggin' an indoor shed on Daft?

I am living in a boxroom with a desk (office), but my lady and baby are in a small apartment across town. I earn enough to support them both, and I go across town to see them every night.

I'm just not happy that I have to pay €60 more for a small room when I could have a much larger room and perhaps have my baby and girl over.

:( Urgh, I'm so tired of working. Life goes on.

Edit: Actually, I am seriously depressed. I'm off to get some foods from the market. It's sunny, anyway :) Move on, go on, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Grando advice, lads. Thank a mil.

Was that your man who was floggin' an indoor shed on Daft?

I am living in a boxroom with a desk (office), but my lady and baby are in a small apartment across town. I earn enough to support them both, and I go across town to see them every night.

I'm just not happy that I have to pay €60 more for a small room when I could have a much larger room and perhaps have my baby and girl over.

:( Urgh, I'm so tired of working. Life goes on.

Edit: Actually, I am seriously depressed. I'm off to get some foods from the market. It's sunny, anyway :) Move on, go on, etc.

Found your solution!
    Move out of boxroom, and into apartment with your lady and baby.
    Use the extra 300 a month to either rent somewhere even nice for the 3 of you, or on cocaine and hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭LuckyMe63

Do you have a lease? If so, I believe you are obliged to pay the rent stated for the duration of the lease. However, you can re-negotiate the rent price on a new lease.

Things are tight or everyone these days, including landlords.

Hope you're able to get a fairer deal and stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

So you're renouncing Irish citizenship and still want Irish advice??

How about... suck my balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Boo F*******G Hoo , jeez would ya stop you are making me violent listening to yer winging , " i dont like my land lady " " i dont like ireland " instead of getting onto AH with your shemale problems , there are web sites for the like of you no ball winging t******r , think its called gaydar , you come onto a irish web site claming your going to hide the fact that your childrens farther is irish and you never want to come back 2 ireland we why dont ya keep yer bitch winging for a web site in the **** hole of a country you are in , no wonder the mother and child wont live with ya , the hormone replacement must be going well for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭hsi

What a load of bollox you are!! are you not in spain happy with Wife and 2 kids?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056171042