So Russia is threatning us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

*yawn*

This is all diplomatic sabre-rattling from the Russians, who wish to look big against the puny little island north west of the rest of Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Vladimir Titov's remarks were reported by the state-run RIA-Novosti news agency. The ministry press office told CNN it was not aware of the comment and could not elaborate

I'll slap his Ma's titov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Hey Russia, go fuck yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

ascanbe wrote: »
    I say we somehow use this incident to buddy-up to the Russians; pretty handy friend to have in these times, i'd imagine.
    I mean, seen as we're sell-outs, anyway.

we cant. havent ye heard? Bertie, who owns Coilte(which owns 7% of the countrys forestland) is about to sell up to the Chinese for their 'supercity' yoke in the midlands. The yanks paid half for Shannon..we're being a diplomatic floozy..it will end up us gettin nuked by all three first..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

They know we are pushovers and lie down and take it all. every other country will soon be following them to bleed us dry.

Wait until argentina blames us for their problems and gets us to pay for their IMF bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

If they stop exporting Smirnoff to us there might be violence. Although the type of people who tend to get involved in that sort of thing probably drinks Glens vodka and Dutch Gold...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Obaraten wrote: »
    So let me get this straight because of one corrupt official within the Russian embassy you all tar them all as the same and the whole Russian nation as bullies?

Sure we'll all be speaking Russian once we default and they come to bail us out. YAY COMMUNISM!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

*yawn*

This is all diplomatic sabre-rattling from the Russians, who wish to look big against the puny little island north west of the rest of Europe.

Russia doesn't need to look big I can assure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭blackdog2

So let me get this straight because of one corrupt official within the Russian embassy you all tar them all as the same and the whole Russian nation as bullies?

Not just 1 corrupt official, I would imagine there were at least a few more people using those passports, and that they had somewhere else to report to. The article mentions that it was a spy network, sabotaging equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

flyton5 wrote: »
    If they stop exporting Smirnoff to us there might be violence. Although the type of people who tend to get involved in that sort of thing probably drinks Glens vodka and Dutch Gold...

Nothing wrong with Dutch Gold. Cheap and cheerful :)

Looks like we will all have to keep a firm hold of our passports
    from this point on then . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Garseys wrote: »
    I for one welcome our new Russian Overlords...

In Soviet Russia, Russian Overlord welcome you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

just one corrupt official in russia= boll*x

Nothing wrong with Dutch Gold. Cheap and cheerful :)

Looks like we will all have to keep a firm hold of our passports
    from this point on then . . .

They werent physically stolen..the peoples information and presumably passport photos were taken and they were then cloned in Russia. There was a good few people involved in this. Had to be for it to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

david75 wrote: »
    we cant. havent ye heard? Bertie, who owns Coilte(which owns 7% of the countrys forestland) is about to sell up to the Chinese for their 'supercity' yoke in the midlands. The yanks paid half for Shannon..we're being a diplomatic floozy..it will end up us gettin nuked by all three first..
    I remember reading in the paper years ago that one of the superpowers (think it was Russia) had plans to nuke Shannon and Dublin airports if the cold war ever escalated to prevent them falling into the enemies hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

ejmaztec wrote: »
    In before the "Russians are a great bunch of lads"

Russians are a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

flyton5 wrote: »

Smirnoff is owened by Diageo. The only thing that Russia sells us thats vital, is internet wives to lonely farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Well, I doubt they are after our bodily fluids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The one doing the supposed bullying is not the same Russian as the one from the embasy. Bad form from the Russian Fed. tbh. They can stick their 'retaliation'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭bullpost

They wont do anything - too busy off skiing with their swarovski-encrusted thingamajigs.

Oh to have money :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

Again, it's not one and it's not corrupt, it's their job. They didn't do it because the FSB didn't tell them to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

We're getting screwed by everyone. I think this photo sums it up nicely.

One person was named in this investigation,nowhere does it state all members of the embassy are guilty.this person also wasn't convicted by a judge nor jury

well he has diplomatic immunity...what would be the point?? expel and be done with.
    I remember reading in the paper years ago that one of the superpowers (think it was Russia) had plans to nuke Shannon and Dublin airports if the cold war ever escalated to prevent them falling into the enemies hands.

almost definitely true. The US paid for a large part of Shannons development, hence them being allowed land there. it would make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Ooooh the Russians are mad at us, I’m so scared. Oooooh, the Russians! Uh oh, the Russians are coming to get us. Oh no, don’t let the Russians come after us. Oh, no the Russians are coming after us. No! They’re so big and strong. Oh, protect us from the Russians, the Russians!

Pffft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

That communist lad seems to have his finger stuck on submit reply.

He likes to play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A bit of a joke, the Irish government telling foreigners that they've been naughty, considering what those feckers have been up to. The Russian should stay and the Irish government should catch up with their slimeball pals who've already fecked off abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭GHOST MGG2

I reckon comrade cowen has rigged this whole thing.
    Russia now has an excuse to invade ireland.

Apparently the russian potato crop has failed
    and they are now after ours!

Ireland for the first time exported whole and not the usual seed potatoes for the first time ever in december to russia..

The great russian irish potato passport conspiracy deepens....