Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Russia is threatning us

• 02-02-2011 1:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭

One of their diplomats stole a bunch of Irish passport details, got the passports cloned, had Russian spies in the US using the passports who all got caught, and now because we're expelling the Diplomat who did the thieving, they're threatning 'retalliation'.

This reads like some crazy cold war movie script, especially the last paragraph.

Russia threatens retaliation
    Department of Foreign AffairsThe Irish Times takes no responsibility for the content
    or availability of other websites
    MARY FITZGERALD and CONOR LALLY

The Kremlin has threatened to retaliate after Dublin expelled a Russian diplomat in a row over the use of forged Irish passports by Russian agents in the United States.

The Government ordered the expulsion of the diplomat following a Garda investigation that concluded Russian intelligence agents stole the identities of six Irish citizens to produce fake Irish passports used by members of a espionage ring uncovered in the US last year.

Russian deputy foreign minister Vladimir Titov was quoted by Interfax news agency today as saying Moscow would retaliate. "This groundless and unfriendly act will not go without a corresponding reaction," he said.

In a statement yesterday, the Department of Foreign Affairs said the Garda inquiry had found that “there is an entirely persuasive picture of Russian intelligence service involvement in the manufacture and use of false documents based on the acquisition of details of six genuine passports belonging to Irish citizens”.

Garda sources told The Irish Times their report to Government concluded that a named Russian security agent based in Dublin had gathered, at the Russian embassy in Rathgar, details from Irish passports that were then effectively cloned in Russia for the US-based spies. Passports belonging to a married couple from Donegal and a female volunteer with the Irish charity To Russia With Love were among the six implicated.

The same Garda sources said a person working in the Russian embassy in Dublin was named in the Garda report as the suspect for stealing the passport information. The Department of Foreign Affairs then identified a named Russian diplomat for expulsion from Ireland.

Although gardaí are satisfied they have identified the right person, the suspect was never arrested and questioned because the situation was so “diplomatically sensitive”. An arrest was also regarded as imprudent because the suspect had diplomatic immunity.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan said his officers had established the facts of the case and had spelt “these out as clearly as we could” in the Garda’s report to Government.

The decision to expel the diplomat was taken at a Cabinet meeting yesterday. Russian ambassador Mikhail Timoshkin was later summoned to a meeting with David Cooney, the secretary general of the Department of Foreign Affairs. Mr Cooney informed him that the activities of Russian intelligence agents as outlined in the Garda report were “completely unacceptable and not the behaviour the Government would expect from a country with which we have friendly relations”.

The diplomat concerned is expected to leave Ireland within weeks. A spokesman for the Russian embassy said it would be making no comment on the matter.

The Department of Foreign Affairs said Ireland regretted the need to expel a diplomat. “The Government, by today’s action, has once again made clear that it will not tolerate the fabrication and use of forged Irish passports by agents of a foreign State,” it said.

US investigators broke up the spy ring last June with the arrest of 10 people in New York, Boston, New Jersey and Virginia. All 10 were later deported as part of a spy swap deal with Russia.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/bre ... ing16.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

So?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

I for one welcome our new Russian Overlords...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We should have got facekicker to kick your man in the face before we sent him back to the motherland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Eagerly awaiting the "In soviet russia, *** bones you" crap joke..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

What is wrong with those people? I've never met a russian yet who was not in the "Vee vill teyak oveer ze whole vorld blud blud bleurgh" frame of mind. They're like the kid in school who went around robbing other kids' lunch and beating up the smaller kids, but then played the victim card every time they were caught. Nuts!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

snubbleste wrote: »
    So?

Im also going to go with So?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Says a lot about our mentality as a people that we just accept a big snotty bully kicking us and fúckin us over like this...throw the whole embassy out I say..shifty pr!cks if theyre carryin n like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I would welcome nukage of Mitchelstown I have to admit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Didn't we sell them a load of potatoes a few months back? Some gratitude for ya!

well they cant be any more greasy and corrupt than what we've been dealing with in government the last 30 years but this carry on is beyond bad. Those 6 people whose passports they stole will now probably never get into the US ever again and will definitely have trouble obtaining visas for anywhere else. scumbag thing to do.

Obaraten wrote: »
    congrats for tarring the whole embassy as shifty pricks

I didn't do any tarring! the diplomat in question took care of that for ye not me. They represent Russia and thats how they carry on? classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Haha, shifty pricks sounds like a porn name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's just the Ruskie way of dealing with criticism.. I doubt anything will come of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Have we any russians on boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well that's World War 3 sorted, then.

Ireland Vs. Russia; Paddy Vs Dimitri; Poitín Vs. Vodka;...........eh............Hairy Women Vs. Hairy Women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

david75 wrote: »
    One of their diplomats stole a bunch of Irish passport details, got the passports cloned, had Russian spies in the US using the passports who all got caught...........

They coulda bought mine for a €100. Not like I'm going anywhere fancy (thanks to Cowen). Russian spy network makes the HSE look organised !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Have you people not seen the quality of russian spies?
    Bring them on i say!!
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGpG0kUpuSkQTyyVNLLwVdqPuj3f8Dk_Vm3EVqancvgGZf6LuM

They can have all the passports they want as far as im concerned.

I'll say it again, a diplomat represents the people of his country and the government. So in this instance yes it really does tarnish Russias reputation. In a big way. To be honet I'm surprised the Department of foreign affairs and the cabinet have had the backbone to expel him. We're normally to afraid to disrupt trade and diplomatic channels to do that but this was obviously severe enough that it warranted it.

CAnt WAIT til it breaks it was some FF minister that got him the necessary details to get the passports..

I say we band together and fúck them up when they call!

Russia. I am calling you a pussy!

Have you people not seen the quality of russian spies?
    Bring them on i say!!
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRGpG0kUpuSkQTyyVNLLwVdqPuj3f8Dk_Vm3EVqancvgGZf6LuM

They can have all the passports they want as far as im concerned.

She looks Chechniyan..dont be fooled haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

In before the "Russians are a great bunch of lads"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

One bad apple doesnt make the whole basket rotten

Not the way it works. It's a token expulsion. We are unlikely to have a clue who, plural that is, were involved, so one of the 'listed agents' gets chosen - any one you pick will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/europe/02/02/russia.ireland.spies/
    Vladimir Titov's remarks were reported by the state-run RIA-Novosti news agency. The ministry press office told CNN it was not aware of the comment and could not elaborate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

They can take Offaly, use it for nuclear or bioweapon experiments. I'm fairly sure some form of bio experiment has been taking place there anyway for the last 50 years, ****in' inbreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I say we somehow use this incident to buddy-up to the Russians; pretty handy friend to have in these times, i'd imagine.
    I mean, seen as we're sell-outs, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

One bad apple doesnt make the whole basket rotten

Over time it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

*yawn*

This is all diplomatic sabre-rattling from the Russians, who wish to look big against the puny little island north west of the rest of Europe.

Vladimir Titov's remarks were reported by the state-run RIA-Novosti news agency. The ministry press office told CNN it was not aware of the comment and could not elaborate

I'll slap his Ma's titov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Hey Russia, go fuck yourself

ascanbe wrote: »
    I say we somehow use this incident to buddy-up to the Russians; pretty handy friend to have in these times, i'd imagine.
    I mean, seen as we're sell-outs, anyway.

we cant. havent ye heard? Bertie, who owns Coilte(which owns 7% of the countrys forestland) is about to sell up to the Chinese for their 'supercity' yoke in the midlands. The yanks paid half for Shannon..we're being a diplomatic floozy..it will end up us gettin nuked by all three first..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

They know we are pushovers and lie down and take it all. every other country will soon be following them to bleed us dry.

Wait until argentina blames us for their problems and gets us to pay for their IMF bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

If they stop exporting Smirnoff to us there might be violence. Although the type of people who tend to get involved in that sort of thing probably drinks Glens vodka and Dutch Gold...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

So let me get this straight because of one corrupt official within the Russian embassy you all tar them all as the same and the whole Russian nation as bullies?

Sure we'll all be speaking Russian once we default and they come to bail us out. YAY COMMUNISM!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

*yawn*

This is all diplomatic sabre-rattling from the Russians, who wish to look big against the puny little island north west of the rest of Europe.

Russia doesn't need to look big I can assure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

So let me get this straight because of one corrupt official within the Russian embassy you all tar them all as the same and the whole Russian nation as bullies?

Not just 1 corrupt official, I would imagine there were at least a few more people using those passports, and that they had somewhere else to report to. The article mentions that it was a spy network, sabotaging equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

flyton5 wrote: »
    If they stop exporting Smirnoff to us there might be violence. Although the type of people who tend to get involved in that sort of thing probably drinks Glens vodka and Dutch Gold...

Nothing wrong with Dutch Gold. Cheap and cheerful :)

Looks like we will all have to keep a firm hold of our passports
    from this point on then . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Garseys wrote: »
    I for one welcome our new Russian Overlords...

In Soviet Russia, Russian Overlord welcome you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

just one corrupt official in russia= boll*x

Nothing wrong with Dutch Gold. Cheap and cheerful :)

Looks like we will all have to keep a firm hold of our passports
    from this point on then . . .

They werent physically stolen..the peoples information and presumably passport photos were taken and they were then cloned in Russia. There was a good few people involved in this. Had to be for it to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

david75 wrote: »
    we cant. havent ye heard? Bertie, who owns Coilte(which owns 7% of the countrys forestland) is about to sell up to the Chinese for their 'supercity' yoke in the midlands. The yanks paid half for Shannon..we're being a diplomatic floozy..it will end up us gettin nuked by all three first..
    I remember reading in the paper years ago that one of the superpowers (think it was Russia) had plans to nuke Shannon and Dublin airports if the cold war ever escalated to prevent them falling into the enemies hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

ejmaztec wrote: »
    In before the "Russians are a great bunch of lads"

Russians are a great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

flyton5 wrote: »

Smirnoff is owened by Diageo. The only thing that Russia sells us thats vital, is internet wives to lonely farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Well, I doubt they are after our bodily fluids.