Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Operation Transformation

Was just looking at the comments on the ot facebook page there...bloody hell! I honestly am shocked that people are so disgusted with Dr Eva's comments. I mean she's trying to get these people to lose weight, what else is she supposed to say? These people clearly need someone to be tough and give them a push.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Was just looking at the comments on the ot facebook page there...bloody hell! I honestly am shocked that people are so disgusted with Dr Eva's comments. I mean she's trying to get these people to lose weight, what else is she supposed to say? These people clearly need someone to be tough and give them a push.

Have to agree, personally I think the experts are doing grand based on the footage we're shown.

Dr Eva seems like a straight talker and thats a important part of her job, to shake them to reality. Yeah its tough to change but they gotta do it. I'm not saying this as a healthy slim person, I'm slightly overweight and unfit but I'm working on it. When people sugar coat things or say "no you don't need to change blah blah" I know they mean well but it can make things tougher than they realise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Have to agree, personally I think the experts are doing grand based on the footage we're shown.

Dr Eva seems like a straight talker and thats a important part of her job, to shake them to reality. Yeah its tough to change but they gotta do it. I'm not saying this as a healthy slim person, I'm slightly overweight and unfit but I'm working on it. When people sugar coat things or say "no you don't need to change blah blah" I know they mean well but it can make things tougher than they realise.

I would have to agree as well.

I would prefer a straight talker any day, over someone who makes disingenuous comments such as "sure, as long as you're happy", "no, no, you're fine the way you are".

Equally, that's what some people want rather than face up to reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Very true. I loved the way Dr Eva wasn't phased one bit by Emilys tantrum, she has more than likely heard it a million times before.

I can see Ronan and Rachel doing really well AND keeping it off, Sinead i am unsure about with the im too busy to eat attitude - it never works but she looks possibly open to change. Emily and Jayne will lose weight of course but i can't see them keeping it off at all based on attitudes.

Davei141 wrote: »
    Very true. I loved the way Dr Eva wasn't phased one bit by Emilys tantrum, she has more than likely heard it a million times before.

yeah that was good, she didn't even blink lol.

I still stand by my Emily pms theory. Should be interesting this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

I agree with ye, I mean its probably a shock to be spoken to like that esp if you were mollycoddled all along, and suddenly you are met with someone who doesnt take emotions into account at all.

I agree 1200 is far too low though. I think its bad training for the metabolism to get used to burning just that. Where do you do then when you hit a plateau?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

I realise I'm in the minority here but I actually thought she was pretty harsh. Emily had had a big loss the week before and in the second week, she didn't. If she hadn't lost anything, I think Dr. Eva would have been justified in accusing her of cheating on the plan, or if this was a repeated pattern, absolutely - but this wasn't any of those things, and what happened to Emily happens to a lot of people, week one = huge loss, week two = not so much.

I like the idea of no nonsense and straight talking, but what she did was basically say 'I do not believe you followed the plan'. I know for me, if I was accused of lying by someone who is supposed to be a support, I'd be wondering wtf was going on.

EMF2010 wrote: »
    I realise I'm in the minority here but I actually thought she was pretty harsh. Emily had had a big loss the week before and in the second week, she didn't. If she hadn't lost anything, I think Dr. Eva would have been justified in accusing her of cheating on the plan, or if this was a repeated pattern, absolutely - but this wasn't any of those things, and what happened to Emily happens to a lot of people, week one = huge loss, week two = not so much.

She is 19st though so week one = huge lost mostly water, week two = decent loss still due to her size. They take into account the 2nd week plateau if you will but thats why the target was a good bit below the first week.
    I like the idea of no nonsense and straight talking, but what she did was basically say 'I do not believe you followed the plan'. I know for me, if I was accused of lying by someone who is supposed to be a support, I'd be wondering wtf was going on.

She supports people by giving them good nutritional information, thats the end of her job. Turning on the waterworks because someone suggests you aren't following the plan and having a tantrum, its not going to help anybody and least of all Emily if she starts feeling sorry for herself every time she isn't mollycoddled.

Ronan got it more harshly than anybody, i cant remember which episode it was cause i have been watching them in random order, but it was the one where he hurt his leg. Fair enough he was too enthusiastic and they were right to call him on it but he took it on the chin and accepted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

She supports people by giving them good nutritional information, thats the end of her job. Turning on the waterworks because someone suggests you aren't following the plan and having a tantrum, its not going to help anybody and least of all Emily if she starts feeling sorry for herself every time she isn't mollycoddled.

Ronan got it more harshly than anybody, i cant remember which episode it was cause i have been watching them in random order, but it was the one where he hurt his leg. Fair enough he was too enthusiastic and they were right to call him on it but he took it on the chin and accepted it.

I accept what you're saying about the waterworks - it might have been a bit of an overreaction but what I was saying was that there has to be a line between mollycoddling (you're right, not going to get her anywhere) and accusing her of lying or cheating. Both of those are pretty extreme to me - I think a middle ground would have been more appropriate, that's all.

Ronan might have taken it on the chin but it's a lot easier to accept something you've already been warned about I find. Plus, you have to take into account age. That Emily girl is very young.

At the end of the day though, it's a great opportunity for all of them to kick start a new way of living and they'd be muppets if they didn't make the most of it.

I just think people need to talked to like that, whether they did good or bad. Maybe its due to playing sports etc for years and seeing people being talked at in a harsh way all the time. I really just don't get why people are so shocked by what she said!

Also, it's a tv programme. Has to cause a bit of controversy. Whatever.

Anyway, didn't Emily get weighed today and lose 7pounds? According the the facebook page. Woop woop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

day, over someone who makes disingenuous comments such as "sure, as long as you're happy", "no, no, you're fine the way you are".

Hmmm, well I think there's a middle ground between the two. Not being brusque is not the same as plámasing someone.

Some people really respond to toughness, some don't.

Hmmm, well I think there's a middle ground between the two. Not being brusque is not the same as plámasing someone.

While Dr.Eva was tough on her, she also said that she would go down and help/observe Emily for the week so she wasn't just giving out to her for the sake of it.

EMF2010 wrote: »
    I accept what you're saying about the waterworks - it might have been a bit of an overreaction but what I was saying was that there has to be a line between mollycoddling (you're right, not going to get her anywhere) and accusing her of lying or cheating. Both of those are pretty extreme to me - I think a middle ground would have been more appropriate, that's all.

Ronan might have taken it on the chin but it's a lot easier to accept something you've already been warned about I find. Plus, you have to take into account age. That Emily girl is very young.

At the end of the day though, it's a great opportunity for all of them to kick start a new way of living and they'd be muppets if they didn't make the most of it.

In fairness as soon as Dr Eva opened her gob Emily started having a freak out, on the outside looking in logical explanation was she didn't do everything she was supposed to judging by the results.

He was warned in a harsher manner first time round than a Did you stick to the diet? question though. She is young but not too young to behave reasonably. I think her dad having a go about Dr Eva in one of the episodes mirrored Emilys weigh in reaction, he isn't helping at all.

Excelllent opportunity absolutely i hope they all take advantage of it to the fullest and knuckle down.

Did you see it? The mere suggestion of not following the plan to a T was enough to set her off. She wasn't overly tough she just dared suggest somebody (backed up by the results) didn't stick to the plan.

I did see it. And "backed up by results"? The weight loss target is not a sure thing, especially in an unpredictable biological system like a human body.

19st and 5'5? only losing 1.5pounds on the second week come off of it. We aren't talking about somebody with a stubborn stone to lose here if we were i would agree 100%.

19st and 5'5? only losing 1.5pounds on the second week come off of it. We aren't talking about somebody with a stubborn stone to lose here.

Even so, the body isn't metronome predictable. Other people on this thread have acknowledged the stubborn second week.

I'm predicting everyone will have great losses tonight, I just have a feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Pixie Girl

I missed the first half but seen on the website that everyone had losses bar Jayne I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Maybe I'm being harsh, but I'm not finding the 'leaders' this year that inspirational. Emily and Jayne are just pathetic, any bit of criticism at all, they throw all their toys out of the pram. I'm sorry, but if you sign up for something, then sign up for it, and don't bitch and moan when things don't go your way. I just don't see the determination from Emily, no matter how many cliches she uses per episode.

The other 3 - Rachel, Ronan, and Sinead - at least try to listen to the mentors and take their advice on board.

coconut5 wrote: »
    Maybe I'm being harsh, but I'm not finding the 'leaders' this year that inspirational.

They vary. I think Ronan and Rachel are great, and Sinead has the potential to be.

Maybe I'm being harsh, but I'm not finding the 'leaders' this year that inspirational. Emily and Jayne are just pathetic, any bit of criticism at all, they throw all their toys out of the pram. I'm sorry, but if you sign up for something, then sign up for it, and don't bitch and moan when things don't go your way. I just don't see the determination from Emily, no matter how many cliches she uses per episode.

Gotta agree but I guess if they were all great it wouldn't make for interesting tv for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

I never watched this show before, but I watched the first 3 episodes of this season off my Sky+ last night.

The leaders really are a bit dull, and love a moan and a complain, dont they? What makes some of these shows great is contestants with something to say for themselves, maybe not afraid to fight and battle. I think thats one of the secrets of the success of the biggest looser in the US, that many of the people they pick are larger than life :eek: [sorry, horrible pun I know, could not resist!].

What really disgusted me to be honest is that there are many times with very little positivity, from both the leaders and from the so called experts. Its all nit picking, complaining and excuses.

I know the place where I lost all my weight this year, one of the big reasons it worked for me and works for others and its all positive and everyone helps each other all the time. Very little of that, from what I can see, on this show.

Maybe I'm being harsh, but I'm not finding the 'leaders' this year that inspirational. Emily and Jayne are just pathetic, any bit of criticism at all, they throw all their toys out of the pram.

I think Emily and Jayne are two very different characters. I was incredibly annoyed by Emily's whinging but in fairness I thought that by the end of last week, she'd grown up a bit and found some back bone. I guess the proof will be tomorrow.

However, with Jayne, I think she has some very genuine problems and is very isolated and inclined to spiral herself into being very sad and down. I'm full of admiration for her, I think she's working through some very tough issues and is showing lost of determination and not looking for sympathy or well-meaning lies in order to bolster herself.

She's someone that I'm really cheering for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

I think Emily and Jayne are two very different characters. I was incredibly annoyed by Emily's whinging but in fairness I thought that by the end of last week, she'd grown up a bit and found some back bone. I guess the proof will be tomorrow.

However, with Jayne, I think she has some very genuine problems and is very isolated and inclined to spiral herself into being very sad and down. I'm full of admiration for her, I think she's working through some very tough issues and is showing lost of determination and not looking for sympathy or well-meaning lies in order to bolster herself.

She's someone that I'm really cheering for.

Yeah, I see what you're saying. I found Jayne's discussion about her grandmother very emotional. However, I would still love if they gave it a bit more oomph, I'm sure it's just the midway crisis point, when all the personal issues rise to the surface. I'll still be watching it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭seriouslysweet

Anyone tried any of the recipes? I made the pork, savage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭smiles302

The lasagne is yummy! Except I ignored her advice on the white sauce, mine had quite a bit more flour than hers. And added a dash of red wine to the meat sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭SL10

I have tried a good few of them- lasagne, cottage pie, mince & guacamole, the chicken stir fry, the chicken goujons and the omlette. Have also made a couple of the soups. I thought they were all really good. especially the mince, guacamole and the cottage pie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Eh was anybody else stunned by what Prof O'Shea said to the politicians!! :eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

brilliant!

eilo1 wrote: »
    Eh was anybody else stunned by what Prof O'Shea said to the politicians!! :eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

brilliant!

I remember being stunned but can't remember what was said now. Refresh my memory. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

It was along the lines of "the public's opinion of politicians is at an all time low and if you cant make obesity/calorie information a priority than its deserved"

I presume he is getting at the point that obesity is a major crisis and the government arnt doing enough.