Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation Transformation

• 05-01-2011 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭SL10

Hey,

Just wondering if anyone is planning on trying to follow the operation transformation diet over the next few weeks. I'm hoping to try it but think I will need a lot of will power to keep it going over the next few weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Hiya, I followed it last year and kept up with the recipes etc throughout the year and have seen my weight gradually come down. It's a great incentive, very motivating. This year I'm going to follow Jayne. Hoping it will be more effective this year as I'm a good bit fitter than I was 12 months ago so should be able to keep up with the exercise routine too.

Find Kathryn Thomas & John Murray much easier to watch/listen to as well. God rest Gerry Ryan and all, but I was not a fan and always found it a bit unsettling that he never seemed to take any of his own advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I was thinking about following the last girl, (is her name louise?) because she's 20ish and I'm almost 9, dunno if I'll stick to it though, I'm pretty bed with the whole self discipline thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭SL10

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I was thinking about following the last girl, (is her name louise?) because she's 20ish and I'm almost 9, dunno if I'll stick to it though, I'm pretty bed with the whole self discipline thing :(

Do you mean Emily? Thats who I'm thinking of following too! Saying that I haven't done that great so far. Stuck to the breakfast but havent been shopping yet so for lunch I had left overs from last night! (which was a thai takeaway!)

Gonna try go shopping this evening and get the ball rolling properly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 msnd

I tried making the Evas Lasagna tonight think i must have messed up the simmering part as it was very watery. Tasty but too wet. Not bad at all though.

msnd wrote: »
    I tried making the Evas Lasagna tonight think i must have messed up the simmering part as it was very watery. Tasty but too wet. Not bad at all though.

Ah good- I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I did my own type of food wise today but tried to stick to the plan pretty much- and just went out and did my hours interval training :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Úna 1

Yes - I'm hoping to follow the programme but am late starting. Does anyone know what weight the water bottles are meant to be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭smiles302

^ I imagine 500 ml ones

The pork is so yummy! Made it yesterday :D

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 msnd

OMG 500 kcals in a scone.:eek: Anyone else shocked by this on the OT tonight

I was completly shocked! I always thought it was around 200 calories and was a healthy option!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

haven't watched tonights show yet - will catch it on the player tomorrow probably - but surely it depends on the scone? Like the size, key flavour - fruit/cheese/plain etc, the amount of sugar used, the type of flour used....so on and so forth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

spaceylou wrote: »
    haven't watched tonights show yet - will catch it on the player tomorrow probably - but surely it depends on the scone? Like the size, key flavour - fruit/cheese/plain etc, the amount of sugar used, the type of flour used....so on and so forth!

Yes definitely. I home-bake plain scones that work out at 160 kcals on their own. I make slightly bigger fruit ones for my Dad which are 220 kcals each. :cool:

It doesn't surprise me about shop-bought scones. They are much bigger than ones you'd make yourself.

He said "average" scone, it was a white scone though. So probably full of sugar.

smiles302 wrote: »
    He said "average" scone, it was a white scone though. So probably full of sugar.

But the average scone is WAY bigger than ones you'd make at home. Father was surprised at how much flatter the ones I made were. Still liked them though. :cool: I don't usually like the scones you get in shops and restaurants, they're too big.

Why was Sinead(I think) given out to for not making the filler soup? Are they supposed to have one daily or? The meals seem like they have plenty of veg in them, no? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 aw2010

Just wondering if anybody has any information on previous contestants? Are they all doing well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

The biggest eye opener for me was that coffee and a muffin was 700calories. Almost fell off the couch when I heard that.

I knew they were high in calories but it's just when you hear that number and realise that's almost half your daily calories that it really hits home. Going to track my food, rework my portion size and use the recipes.

Liked the program a lot and will definitely follow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭gaoife

Did anyone else notice them saying that a man should have 2000 cals a day and a woman 1700??? this seems very little? As far as i know and im not an expert 1700 cals would be for someone on a weightloss plan not maintenance? Can anyone help with this :confused:

gaoife wrote: »
    Did anyone else notice them saying that a man should have 2000 cals a day and a woman 1700??? this seems very little? As far as i know and im not an expert 1700 cals would be for someone on a weightloss plan not maintenance? Can anyone help with this :confused:

I think it's about right. Most people (and I'm including my previous self) eat far too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Why was Sinead(I think) given out to for not making the filler soup? Are they supposed to have one daily or? The meals seem like they have plenty of veg in them, no? lol

It was emily and I think the point was she wasn't having the soups to fill her up or really doing the full program.

1700 a day for a woman is ample, maintenance-wise.

Sorry but this doesn't seem right :confused:
    If you need to eat 3500 cals less a week to lose 1 lb of fat and 1700 is ample for maintenance, then someone losing weight should be eating 1200 cals a day? Is this what they are saying?

Well, it depends on height. For a short woman doing a moderate amount of activity, 1700 is enough.

There are other factors in this (btw, I'm happy to be corrected if this is incorrect).

Exercise will also burn calories, e.g. running a mile will burn about 100 calories.

Strength training can also have an effective, the greater your ratio of muscle, the greater your metabolic rate. Thus something like weight training can have an effect on your weight.

The Operation transformation diet is designed for people to be eating 1200 calories per day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

If you took two people the same height but one heavier than the other. Their BMR (the amount of calories you burn each day doing doing) would be higher than the person who is lighter so its only natural to stay at the maintainance level.

Check out BMR calculators online

Does anyone know if you can see a particular day of exercises on the operation transformation site as I missed yesterdays and want to catchup. Can't see a way to do it but I know it was possible last year. Thanks.

SL10 wrote: »
    The Operation transformation diet is designed for people to be eating 1200 calories per day!

Really, I'd no idea. Wow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

1200 calories? that's too low. When they'll revert to a diet resembling normality (1800-1900 kcals at least), the fat will be piled back on.

rocky wrote: »
    1200 calories? that's too low. When they'll revert to a diet resembling normality (1800-1900 kcals at least), the fat will be piled back on.

well, not if they're exercising and sticking to 1700-2000kcals a day surely?

Watched OT last night.

Am I the only one who is sick to the back teeth of Emily winging?

And I have to say, I can't understand why no-one, in particular Dr.Eddie, has told her to stop whining and feeling sorry for herself and to toughen up. Honestly, she really makes me want to smack her.

And this whole thing about going to her school to tell people to "be nice" <insert rolly eyes>, yes I know that's important but I think a message of "be yourself, be proud of that, be brave" would be a far more important message.

Anyway, there is NO WAY, she is following that plan. She should be losing about 6 pounds a week no 2.

And I really think that her Dad is a bit of a feeder. I think with the best will in the world, he's trying to protect her and is allowing her to slide by without facing up to the reality and what's she's doing to her life and her health.

</rant>

Should Emily really have lost 6 lbs this week?

She lost 7.5 last week, so so far she has lost 9.5 lbs...

I would be up the wall if I lost over 4 kg in 2 weeks.

I thought more than 2/3 lb a week was unhealthy?

Or is it different when you are starting that big?

I just wanted to hug her.

Should Emily really have lost 6 lbs this week?

She lost 7.5 last week, so so far she has lost 9.5 lbs...

I would be up the wall if I lost over 4 kg in 2 weeks.

I thought more than 2/3 lb a week was unhealthy?

Or is it different when you are starting that big?

I just wanted to hug her.

I totally agree, perhaps she had a smaller weight loss this week because last week's was so good? Plus the human body is unpredictable. You can simply predict the weight loss, it's not a definitive target.

Her target weight loss was 4 pounds. Given that she weighs over 18 stone, I don't think that this is an unrealistic target. I think that if she genuinely followed the plan that she'd lose about 6 pounds given her current weight.

Given that she's over 18 stone (242 pounds), then a 6 pound weight loss would be about 2% loss. I don't think that's insurmountable.

I might sound harsh when I say it but ultimately, she's very unhappy, by her own admittance is shutting herself off from the world (I think she said that she only went out twice last year) but is obviously completely in denial about how she eats.

I just think her message to the world is so wrong. Yes, of course we need to be empathic and kind, but ultimately, you can't control what other people say to you, the only thing you can control is how you react to it.

She needs to call off the pity party and start living.

Her target weight loss was 4 pounds. Given that she weighs over 18 stone, I don't think that this is an unrealistic target. I think that if she genuinely followed the plan that she'd lose about 6 pounds given her current weight.

Given that she's over 18 stone (242 pounds), then a 6 pound weight loss would be about 2% loss. I don't think that's insurmountable.

I might sound harsh when I say it but ultimately, she's very unhappy, by her own admittance is shutting herself off from the world (I think she said that she only went out twice last year) but is obviously completely in denial about how she eats.

I just think her message to the world is so wrong. Yes, of course we need to be empathic and kind, but ultimately, you can't control what other people say to you, the only thing you can control is how you react to it.

She needs to call off the pity party and start living.

OK, she's a bit of whinger but the human body is a biological machine and biology often doesn't work as it should in theory. Also, if she's exercising she might be developing muscle which might be affecting her weight loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

OK, she's a bit of whinger but the human body is a biological machine and biology often doesn't work as it should in theory. Also, if she's exercising she might be developing muscle which might be affecting her weight loss.

Not on 1200 calories a day.

99.9% chance she's packing in the doughnuts when nobody's watching :).

rocky wrote: »
    Not on 1200 calories a day.

99.9% chance she's packing in the doughnuts when nobody's watching :).

If the slow weight loss continues, then it'll be time to get suspicious, but for now I think it's too early to judge.

I thought it was suspicious that the minute she was questioned that the waterworks were turned on along with a "poor, little me, stop picking on me" feint.

I suspect that's a life long habit in order to avoid some rather pertinent truths.

I thought it was suspicious that the minute she was questioned that the waterworks were turned on along with a "poor, little me, stop picking on me" feint.

I suspect that's a life long habit in order to avoid some rather pertinent truths.

Well, I have to admit, one thing that didn't ring true for me in the opening episode was her saying she doesn't eat very much. She MUST to be over 18 stone. So, she does seem to deal in denial. That is something that needs to be addressed if she's to successfully lose weight and keep it off. She's only 21 so if she nips it in the bud now, it'll be so much easier than later in life. And her skin is more likely to snap back and not be saggy if she deals with it now instead of 10 years time.

I remember thinking exactly the same thing. When she was questioning the fact that she didn't eat half as much as her friends so why was she heavier. She does make me want to yell at the tv but ultimately she's missing a great opportunity to really sort out her weight and get great advice and support. By not facing up to the reality of the situation, ultimately she's not going to change it. And that's a real shame for her, both from a health and from a happiness point of view.

I guess I'm just a bit puzzled as to why the "experts" aren't tackling her more on her attitude. But maybe they're biding their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Dixie Chick

I think its too early to judge as well. On shows like Americas biggest loser where they are living on the site and only fed whats in thier plan, week 2 is still notoriously the week where little or no weight is lost. She has lost 9.5lbs in 2 weeks, if anything 7.5lbs might have been too high the previous week. I do agree on her attitude though and hope they do help change her mindset

Can you not build muscle on 1200 kcal a day? =/

I am eating about that at the moment, plus exercising and my weight hasn't moved that much this week. I had assumed I'd put on a bit of muscle that I do look a little bit slimmer.

Hi Smiles

Read the sticky on nutrition G'em has a great formula for working out what you should be eating

Woo... So emily should be eating 2600 ish kcal to lose weight? =/

And I should be eating 2260 kcal...? *head explodes*

I wouldn't eat that much on a bad day not dieting.

Woo... So emily should be eating 2600 ish kcal to lose weight? =/

And I should be eating 2260 kcal...? *head explodes*

I wouldn't eat that much on a bad day not dieting.

Those figures seem a bit high but I wonder if 1200/day is too low for weight loss?

Maybe, it's very rough though. I don't weigh anything. The only thing I changed from my diet was less chocolate and cut carbs at dinner.

I'm 21, f, 65 Kg, run/jog every second day and walk everywhere. So I used the middle activity level (1.7)
    Maybe I added it wrong...

Random: But why isn't height a factor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Pixie Girl

I dont understand why they were giving out to the guy in it for losing 8.5lb... I thought that was brilliant! They should be encouraging him!

@ smiles yep it does seem high, im no expert. Maybe ask Ge'm

One thing is that the ot diet is only for 8 weeks and very controlled, im hoping they will then increase their cals up. I was watching the biggest looser last night and they were on 1400 a day and they are a lot bigger so maybe it's ok for a short while.

There is so much infor out there its scary :eek: and hard to see whats right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Pixie Girl wrote: »
    I dont understand why they were giving out to the guy in it for losing 8.5lb... I thought that was brilliant! They should be encouraging him!

If he works too hard too fast he could injury himself and end up run down and unable to to exercise ect.

I think emily's blow up/low weight lose was maybe period related? There was a awkward "um... two coffees" moment that but my moneys on period related meltdown/weight fluctuation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Pixie Girl

If he works too hard too fast he could injury himself and end up run down and unable to to exercise ect.

Yeah I suppose, I just thought they could have at least congratulated him first and then explained their concerns...