The Brian Cowen Tribute Thread! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

^^ Wha-wha-what!?!?! Well I don't tick any of those boxes , can I continue blaming/insulting Cowen and co (if only for my own amusement)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

It's everybody's fault that the economy is fuc'ked. And yes that includes YOU, if you are a member of the public sector who either went on strike for/ didn't question pay-rises well above the rate of inflation and not linked to any productivity increase.

It also includes you if you were a long term social welfare recipient who accepted payment increases way ahead of inflation and didn't march on the streets demanding that social welfare be reduced so as not to add to the overheating of the economy.

And obviously if you were living by spending large amounts of borrowed money in general, you are partly responsible.

Everybody's actions contributed to the crisis however people are only human and of course they are going to think of their own present-time well being rather than the future.

The only people not responsible are those who didn't engage in the economy whatsoever ie. monks.
    What happens if you didn't do any of these things, led a quiet, non-profitable life, and are certainly not a monk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭thenutflush

bonerm wrote: »
    ^^ Wha-wha-what!?!?! Well I don't tick any of those boxes , can I continue blaming/insulting Cowen and co (if only for my own amusement)?

Yeah no bother, so long as you didn't pay for any products for the duration of the boom that you thought were overpriced, then you should be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭juma

Degsy wrote: »
    Like he'd ever have to put his hand in his pocket again.

The FF groupies and cronies will buy him pints to his dying day like the gombeen men in Drumcondra do with Bertie..or the cap-tuggers in Longford do when "Mister Reynolds" comes into thier premises.

You may have a point but you're still a c*nt

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

juma wrote: »
    You may have a point but you're still a c*nt

Banned for abuse.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

It's everybody's fault that the economy is fuc'ked. And yes that includes YOU, if you are a member of the public sector who either went on strike for/ didn't question pay-rises well above the rate of inflation and not linked to any productivity increase.

You see thats where you're talking out your hole..There's more people on the dole requiring more staff in dole offices,more people going back to education,requiring more teachers and stuff,more people commiting crimes,requiring more guards etc,more people in hospitals,requiring more nurses etc etc the list goes on.

And guess what?Due to public sector recruitment freezes and paycuts there's more people ie the public looking to avail of the services of a dwindling number of people who are being paid less and less as time goes on.

If you think doing 120% of the work for 80% of the wages isnt a "productivity increase" you must be living on mars..or you're a student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

I know i am in the minority here But here goes.... I actually liked Brian Cowan ok he wasnt great in the job as leader But dont forget he was put there unamasiouly by ff. There wasnt a vote on it

I tought his party treated him badly 2 weeks ago voting support in him then 2 days later they changed their minds because of a botched job in new posts what a shower of fickle people

So what if the media hated him i know he wasnt as polished as saint bertie He is probably better off out of it Anyroad thats my tuppence worth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭thenutflush

Degsy wrote: »
    You see thats where you're talking out your hole..There's more people on the dole requiring more staff in dole offices,more people going back to education,requiring more teachers and stuff,more people commiting crimes,requiring more guards etc,more people in hospitals,requiring more nurses etc etc the list goes on.

And guess what?Due to public sector recruitment freezes and paycuts there's more people ie the public looking to avail of the services of a dwindling number of people who are being paid less and less as time goes on.

If you think doing 120% of the work for 80% of the wages isnt a "productivity increase" you must be living on mars..or you're a student.

I was talking about before yas got cut, and I'm not picking out public sector workers in particular; students aswell contributed to the recession by having more money and grants and no fees...and private sector workers also by earning more wages than they used to... ah what am i talking about...i don't even know what i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

I was going to make an effort to quote and reply eloquently to anyone who has posted in favour of the Biffo. But now I've decided that if members of the electorate are still that helplessly stupid, fuck them.

And now we return to our regular programming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'd have a little respect for him if he had introduced a 90% tax on retiring politicals pensions before he jumped......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

bob50 wrote: »
    I know i am in the minority here But here goes.... I actually liked Brian Cowan ok he wasnt great in the job as leader But dont forget he was put there unamasiouly by ff. There wasnt a vote on it

I tought his party treated him badly 2 weeks ago voting support in him then 2 days later they changed their minds because of a botched job in new posts what a shower of fickle people

So what if the media hated him i know he wasnt as polished as saint bertie He is probably better off out of it Anyroad thats my tuppence worth

You are only in a minority here in AH, FF will get more support than people think in the Election. Don't forget the next Leader of Ireland will get as much negative comments here.

I will not be voting FF myself. I would not wish anything bad on anyone which is why the personal comments are unnecessary and not related in anyway to his political career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Tough job, had a decent go. Made a balls of it by poor communication and some poor decisions from a man in his position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Thats complete balls. Why wouldn't we enjoy the good times? People were fed such bollocks about house prices going up so BUY NOW BEFORE THEY GO UP MORE!! Balls. How on Earth did they get away with building 100,000 houses a year? Bloody hell. Banks going AWOL and making crazy profits to pay for Taylormade golf clubs.

And all under the supervision of a shower of complete and utter incompetent bastards. And Cowen getting his nice Golden Handshake and a pension bigger than most people's salary a couple of timer over.

And the even sadder thing is they will still get 20-30 seats in this election. Anybody who votes FF is an idiot imo.

I hope everyone in that rabid party rots.

It also includes you if you were a long term social welfare recipient who accepted payment increases way ahead of inflation and didn't march on the streets demanding that social welfare be reduced so as not to add to the overheating of the economy.

And obviously if you were living by spending large amounts of borrowed money in general, you are partly responsible.

Everybody's actions contributed to the crisis however people are only human and of course they are going to think of their own present-time well being rather than the future.

The only people not responsible are those who didn't engage in the economy whatsoever ie. monks.

:eek: I didn't do anything wrong, neither did my wife, and most of all, my kids are totally innocent of there crimes you speak of, but yet, we will all be paying for FF's folly.

In your eyes, perhaps by engaging in the economy by paying bills and spending on food at their market values at the time makes us responsible for the mess .?.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

darragh16 wrote: »
    Made a balls of it by poor communication and some poor decisions from a man in his position.

Understatement of the year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

People actually have that opinion, for real. They actually believe that the car/house/clothes they bought magically ended up costing the citizens of Ireland €124billion. Sure if that makes them happy, leave them to it.

I think that everyone who votes should put their names and addresses on the back of the slip. Everyone who votes FG should be marched off a pier and a large boat should take them away. Those who vote FF shouldn't get a boat.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

galwayrush wrote: »
    :eek: I didn't do anything wrong, neither did my wife, and most of all, my kids are totally innocent of there crimes you speak of, but yet, we will all be paying for FF's folly.

In your eyes, perhaps by engaging in the economy by paying bills and spending on food at their market values at the time makes us responsible for the mess .?.:confused:

Don't feed it.

Obvious FF troll is obvious.

squod wrote: »
    People actually have that opinion, for real. They actually believe that the car/house/clothes they bought magically ended up costing the citizens of Ireland €124billion. Sure if that makes them happy, leave them to it.

I think that everyone who votes should put their names and addresses on the back of the slip. Everyone who votes FG should be marched off a pier and a large boat should take them away. Those who vote FF shouldn't get a boat.......

who should we vote for to get the country back on track ?

Don't feed it.

Obvious FF troll is obvious.

I shouldn't have, but some of it is so pathetic, it's hard not to say anything, I actually believe that some of the FF faithful believe the **** they spout .

Until TD's are seen to be taking a real hit they'll be hated. Whats a 20k paycut when you're earning 220,000? People saying that they're ashamed to be Irish because of what the government have done. They shouldn't be. The government are in a whole different stratosphere to the rest of us.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Until TD's are seen to be taking a real hit they'll be hated. Whats a 20k paycut when you're earning 220,000? People saying that they're ashamed to be Irish because of what the government have done. They shouldn't be. The government are in a whole different stratosphere to the rest of us.

90% tax on their salary, and pensions.....:D

hondasam wrote: »
    who should we vote for to get the country back on track ?

Good question, I don't have the exact answer. There are independents who express similar views to Shane Ross. Is there one in your constituency?

galwayrush wrote: »
    90% tax on their salary, and pensions.....:D
    And solitary confinement in Tullamore.

Good question, I don't have the exact answer. There are independents who express similar views to Shane Ross. Is there one in your constituency?

Yes but I have not quite made up my mind yet. I know who I will not be voting for. Labour is in my top two at the moment but not decided for sure.

There's definitely a lot of interest in Labour alright. I'm missing a decent independent to vote for too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

What is Brian Cowens legacy?

After 25 years serving as a TD, in ministerial roles from Transport, to Finance, to Tainiste and the Taoiseach, you would expect that the end to such a long career would be one that would announced loud & proud and celebrated by many.

But it wasn't.

There was no fanfare for Brian Cowen, when he announced on a local radio station that he was bowing out of politics. No-one there to shake his hand & wish him well. His political party had just a few days previously, abandoned him, leaving him as the leader of the country, with no alliances, no mandate & no friends. Even his long standing side-kick, Brian Lenihan wanted him gone so he could vie for his job.

And as his career ended, he slipped out the back door of a small radio station in Offaly, barely even noticed.

And so he leaves both Fianna Fail & the country in tatters. All the while he claimed that he what he was doing was for the good of the country - and by that we can infer the good of the people.

I have no doubt that he actually believed that. I don't believe for a second that he was corrupt. But I do believe that he was wrong & that any ideals that he might have entertained previously, had long since become corrupted... corrupted by the power & influence he held and by the power & influence of those in whose circles he socialised.

Yes, he did a lot for the good of the people. The only problem is, that the people he was doing good for, were not people like you or me, but the elite, the powerful and the rich.

So in a time of economic crisis, where the unemployed, small businesses & ordinary workers are the ones who needed most a strong voice, the only voices he heard were those from Europe & the IMF.

And that will be Brian Cowen's legacy... a man who - even when the bubble had burst - still lived in a bubble, thinking that he could sort it all out.

In many ways, he reminds me of the Black Knight in Monthy Python's "The Holy Grail" who keeps losing his limbs, yet believes that he can still keep on fighting.

Lose a right arm (the economy)... "tis but a scratch" ... loses another (the faith of the people).. "it's just a flesh wound".... loses a leg (the backing of his party)... "I'm invincible".... then finally, as loses his last limb, he decides to call it a day, but still won't concede that he has lost...

"Let's call it a draw".

Well, you can call it whatever you like Mr.Cowen, as long as you know that your time has come & gone and whatever spin you try to put on that will not deflect from the truth that you were one in a long line of dismal Fianna Fail Taoiseachs who will not be missed.

Goodnight & goodbye.

There's definitely a lot of interest in Labour alright. I'm missing a decent independent to vote for too.

TBH I'm not happy with any of the politicians but I have to vote. It's just a matter of deciding who can bring the country back to what it was.

For me, I'm hearing some commentators saying the next year or two will be worse etc. Doom and gloom. I figure I'll try use my vote for political reform more than anything. Put a positive spin on the hard times that face us like.

Feel the benefits (hopefully) in the long run.

I don't know if it can get any worse, political reform is the way to go but we will still have the same policies. I cannot see FG /LAB cutting their own pay. The are full of promises now but when elected it will not happen.

Essentially what Shane Ross is saying. I whole-hearted wish everyone would give these nice people at FF/FG (and those who would form government with them) the two fingers.