The man who kissed goodbye to millions by walking out on lottery winner

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

She's right to keep a sense of normality.

Winning large amounts of money isolates you socially. It very quickly becomes apparent that half your friends expect you to pay for everything and if you do, the other half think you're showing off. You very quickly find out who your true friends are.
    Neither your family or friends, sometimes not even your partner, can just drop everything and go travelling round the world.
    Keeping your job and doing the things you always did is the only way to stay sane. If the job will let you take a year off and sorta get it out of your system, well then deadly. but if you fall into the trap of living the high life and all that comes with it, you find yourself surrounded by leeches first of all and craving normality after a while.

She's doing the right thing just keeping her job being cool about it. In any country youre gonna get begrudgery but begging letters and all kindsa other hassle too. Sometimes its not worth it at all.

All US state lotteries offer the total amount upfront(which will be taxed to bits leaving you with only a fraction of the total) or the total broke down into incremental annual payments, which still are taxed but at a hugely lower rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Everyone on this thread is jelly

Leave her alone, she won a lot of money, good for her, none of this 'I hope he takes her to the cleaners' crap

I wouldnt be jealous of her at all. That kinda win and the publicity are gonna make life really difficult. I do kinda think had it been the dad won, the mom would be suing for $$$ 'for the kids' though. Hopefully he's a decent enough skin and doesn't sue or anything. He's made enough of an asshole of himself for walking out oin his kids. But you never know what the story is behind closed doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

If this American guy won the lottery and this Offaly girl had left him and now was looking for a share, I wonder would we have the same responses.
    Actually, I think this thread would be pretty much the same, a mature bunch here in AH

Either way, the children are going to have a great college fund so good for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

liah wrote: »
    Some feckin' load of begrudgers on this thread. :eek:

Sure if she was planning on moving to Paris and bought a Ferrari and god knows what else ye'd all be off ranting about how lotto winners love to show off their cash and act all posh and how they should remember where they came from!

Any excuse to complain! :pac:

Good for her for being responsible about it imo, hope she enjoys her winnings.

This is Ireland, we fear those who do well in life, be it through luck or hard work, they're not to be trusted. The only people you can trust here are those who whinge and moan about their insignificant lives but do nothing to change it, thats the Irish way of doing things. ride out the misery, sure it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

They should give the whole lot to the husband! Any man who sleeps with that creature should get compensated!

krudler wrote: »
    This is Ireland, we fear those who do well in life, be it through luck or hard work, they're not to be trusted. The only people you can trust here are those who whinge and moan about their insignificant lives but do nothing to change it, thats the Irish way of doing things. ride out the misery, sure it'll be grand.

You mean my neighbour has done well in life? I knew them when they were young, there was useless!
    And now I'm stuck here and they live the high life!
    I won't be happy for them, I hate them for everything they achieved :mad:

For now, I'll sit on my barstool and solve complex negotiations with the IMF and run the Irish state on my own.
    As I can everybodies job better then they do it from my barstool :rolleyes:
    Never mind my beer belly, I'd tell that Premiership player to pass it earlier son!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

I-Shot-Jr wrote: »
    I'd buy boards for the craic.

Would you appoint yourself a moderator or would you stay a regular poster like before?

Would winning change you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Riddle101 wrote: »
    21 mil is not nearly as much as you would get on the Euromillion or something. 21 mil is a fine amount to get, and i'm sure any person who won it wouldn't be complaining.
    I'm not arguing that, just saying that it could be a million each for twenty-one people. Makes more sense to me. And you'd sell more lotto tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Just was told this ...

is it true if you win an american state lottery (like this woman has) you dont get paid out in full but a certain amount each year for a number of years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Tayla wrote: »
    I'm sure i've seen some shops in Ireland that do the UK lotto

Yup our local one does it. Never actually bothered playing it...hmmm gambling time me thinks! :pac:
    lizt wrote: »
    She won 21.5mil but after taxes she'll be left with an amount worth around 5.7 mil.
    lizt wrote: »
    Apparently she wouldn't have been if she opted for the installment method of payment. Because she choose the lump sum, she is taxed.
    If I recall, they don't give you the full winnings immediately. You get a small lump sum, and the rest is given over a period of 10-25 years or something.

Well, unless they've changed the rules.

Well that's just crappy!

What about the Irish Lotto/Euro millions..do ya be taxed flat out on that or paid in installments too?
    Just bought me ticket tonight and I'm of course totally gonna win and sure as hell aint giving the majority of it to feicin taxes!! :mad:

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    What about the Irish Lotto/Euro millions..do ya be taxed flat out on that or paid in installments too?
    Just bought me ticket tonight and I'm of course totally gonna win and sure as hell aint giving the majority of it to feicin taxes!! :mad:

Tax free

But you'll pay taxes on the interest you earn.
    Or if you invest it you'll pay taxes

Stuff it under your mattress and there are no taxes, just inflation ;)

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Just was told this ...

is it true if you win an american state lottery (like this woman has) you dont get paid out in full but a certain amount each year for a number of years?

All US state lotteries offer the total amount upfront(which will be taxed to bits leaving you with only a fraction of the total) or the total broke down into incremental annual payments, which still are taxed but at a hugely lower rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sassyxx24

I thought lottery winnings weren't taxed?

the irish lottery is tax free and she couldnt possibly have won 21mill because the biggest irish lotto jackpot was €18,963,441

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,041 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

sassyxx24 wrote: »
    the irish lottery is tax free and she couldnt possibly have won 21mill because the biggest irish lotto jackpot was €18,963,441

It wasnt the Irish lotto though!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Don't read much, do you sassy ??

IBTL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭herosa

weiland79 wrote: »
    So let me get this straight.
    She won 21.5 million dollars, and is celebrating in Tullamore!

Some people really lack imagination. I mean what the fvck is she doing there?

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

How can you possibly be browsing boards and resurrect a thread like this and then to get your post completely wrong... Hmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

not trying to be a sexist here or anything but i do have a big problem with this

cos women always go on about equality and all that and i agree with it all

work in a shop or something and do the same job and get paid the same. grand . no bother

but they should actually do the work.... as to what i've seen where they bitch about rights and they cant lift a very light box so they get a kid to do it instead !

or in this case. i hate this very much

man, buys house on his own, buys his own car, lives on his own and pays all his bills himself... everything done !

woman comes into equation and they live together for a while.... after quite a few months have a fight or whatever and break up....

all of a sudden she gets half of everything ?

eh no... feck off.... she didnt do anything or pay for anything and in my eyes should not get anything... if anything she got a free place to live for a while !

now so not to be bias it can go the other way too that it was the woman that bought everything and the likes.

if i was the guy in this story here i would not expect anything from her.

and i do think if it was the other way around the woman should not get anything either if she left and he won type thing.

some laws in this country piss me off !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

whoops.... didnt see how old this thread was :pac:

rant for nothing i guess :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

That woman is sexy, I'd ride her even if she wasn't rich. He's a fool for leaving that, probably with some ugly poor woman now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

That woman is sexy, I'd ride her even if she wasn't rich. He's a fool for leaving that, probably with some ugly poor woman now.
    She isn't that great. However she would be more appealing if she was willing to put her perspective boyfriends name on her bank account :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

This story is a perfect example why any lottery winner who declines the option of anonymity is an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

sassyxx24 wrote: »

Zombie thread fail.

IBTL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    This story is a perfect example why any lottery winner who declines the option of anonymity is an idiot.
    True, but you don't seem to know that by law you have to go public when you win the lottery in the US ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭jluv

weiland79 wrote: »
    So let me get this straight.
    She won 21.5 million dollars, and is celebrating in Tullamore!

Some people really lack imagination. I mean what the fvck is she doing there?
    Dinner in the Bridge hotel and bar.
    C'mon if you had read what had happened you would have realised that she had plans to come home to Ireland anyway and for those of you that have never left your home place,if you've been away long enough it can be paradise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

baraca wrote: »
    Zombie thread fail.

IBTL

here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

they are both better looking than i expected