After Hours General Election 2011 - Cast Your Vote Now !!!!!!!!!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Personally I'd be more concerned with the people intending to spoil their votes...

Grudge...

...lose it!

eh apologies, that was me....

a: this is after hours,
    b: i thought it was public and
    c: i clicked spoil your vote cause i didn't know it was serious...

...my bad :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

ok , kinda fecked it up, read it from left to right :P

everyone knows men cannot multi task :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

c: i clicked spoil your vote cause i didn't know it was serious..

i clicked fianna fail for the same reason sure...

my comment was mainly at yer man who was keen on FF bashing without taking into account what else was shown...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Ok after so many people raising the issue over the hidden poll. I only selected the hidden poll option so the result would be revealed the night of the actual election. And to be honest being AH I didn't think people would take it so seriously :)

Anyways here are the voting results thus far

Total Vote : 279 Votes

Fianna Fail 15 Votes 5.38%
    Fine Gael 76 Votes 27.24%
    Labour 85 Votes 30.47%
    Green 6 Votes 2.15%
    Sinn Fein 42 Votes 15.05%
    People Before Profit 8 Votes 2.87%
    Independent 22 Votes 7.89%
    A. N. Other 2 Votes 0.72%
    Spoil Your Vote 23 Votes 8.24%

Interesting to see that more people would spoil their vote than would vote for the two main government partys in total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Fianna Fail beating Greens makes me facepalm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Hmmm, 5.4% for FF.

Tasty...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭bungler

I just read that Barry Ceaser Hunt off this years TV3 The Apprentice is seriously thinking of running as an independent in Dublin West. He says if he gets in he is going to break some walls down.

Id prefer if he just kept running to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

CoalBucket wrote: »
    Ok after so many people raising the issue over the hidden poll. I only selected the hidden poll option so the result would be revealed the night of the actual election. And to be honest being AH I didn't think people would take it so seriously :)

Labour 85 Votes 30.47%
    Green 6 Votes 2.15%

Interesting to see that more people would spoil their vote than would vote for the two main government partys in total

Just a request. Could you edit your original 1st post & put that info in it? update every couple of days maybe?

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Had to click the poll twice before it allowed me to vote for Fianna Fail:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Omnipresence

Personally I'd be more concerned with the people intending to spoil their votes...

Grudge...

...lose it!

I marked spoil my vote because I intend to go to the polling station on the day (people have fought and died so I have the right to vote) but I am going to mark it as 'none of the above' because in my area there is not a single politician that deserves my vote.

Spoiling a vote is valid in my opinion - its a pity its not recognised as a protest on the day.

I marked spoil my vote because I intend to go to the polling station on the day (people have fought and died so I have the right to vote) but I am going to mark it as 'none of the above' because in my area there is not a single politician that deserves my vote.

Spoiling a vote is valid in my opinion - its a pity its not recognised as a protest on the day.

Whilst I am going to vote I have to agree with your point. Normally when I hear the number of spoilt votes I assume that most of them just made a balls of the paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

What about the leftovers alliance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

CoalBucket wrote: »

Labour 85 Votes 30.47%
    Green 6 Votes 2.15%

So in the world of AH, Gilmore would be Taoiseach. Well at least that's slightly better than that other plank, Enda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Sparks43 wrote: »
    Had to click the poll twice before it allowed me to vote for Fianna Fail:confused:

Its an idiot safeguard, like having to scroll to the bottom of a copyright agreement

406 Votes Cast

Fianna Fail 24 Votes - 5.91%
    Fine Gael 112 Votes - 27.59%
    Labour 118 Votes - 29.06%
    Green 8 Votes - 1.97%
    Sinn Fein 67 Votes - 16.50%
    People Before Profit 13 Votes - 3.20%
    Independent 30 Votes - 7.39%
    A. N. Other 2 Votes - 0.49%
    Spoil Your Vote 32 Votes - 7.88%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Now I dunno if it's just me - but can anyone seriously see SF being the 3rd largest party in the country :eek: I know that FF is obviously going to be bashed and bashed and hung and annihilation on here but are there actually enough of the older generation that are that bad that they'll vote FF...

My grandmother would have been a FF supporters all her life and you'd probably have put her in the "ah we'll give them a vote because there better than the other crowd and that Kenny lad" but coming into this election but listening to even her there's a lot of hatred for FF and the bankers among even this older generation...

Will FF actually be so far down the polls that SF will become the leading opposition party if the FG/Lab deal goes through... :eek: who would have though I'd ever see the day... even this time last year or even 6 months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Will there be a leaders debate on After Hours? I want to hear what A.N. Other's policies are. What about the ULA?

That list is depressing. I wouldn't be comfortable with anyone there running the country, finish this degree then I'm out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

if all those politicans are that bad in your eyes why don't you run for election yourself??? :confused: that'd be a better idea than wasting your time going to the election polling station to vote for no one

sur why don't you just stay home and vote for no one and save the environment by not taking your car or bus out or even just holding someone else up in the queue or wasting time counting votes by having to go through your votes...

why are you proving by spoiling your vote?? if there all that bad sur you'll get elected no bother at all won't ya?? can you explain why not even one candidate deserves your vote - not even one person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭argonaut

Top preferences will go to Labour, probably Fine Gael further down - not too keen on voting for Sinn Féin, who'll presumably win a seat in my constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Think I might vote for these spoil your vote people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I will not be voting as like anyone no longer living in the Republic of Ireland I (quite rightfully) dont have a vote there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I will not be voting as like anyone no longer living in the Republic of Ireland I (quite rightfully) dont have a vote there.

That's fair enough if you never want to return, but a lot of people were forced to leave due to circumstance being forced upon them. These people may want to return someday and they have every right to vote. When I lived overseas, I was the only one amongst my friends of varying nationalities who had no right to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

These people may want to return someday.

How does one go about proving a long term intention (which by its very nature could easily change)

And how does one define "forced to leave" as distinct from "chose to leave in order to pursue a better life"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

@Johmmcdnl
    I love your granny. Is she getting out telling all her mates how toxic FF are. Send her off to bingo with info from unitedpeople.ie

With the official boards GE poll now up and running I think this has run it's course and should be looked at as an opinion poll to the official poll :D

I will post the results of this poll so far and if any mod is close the thread please.

Total Vote: 478

Fianna Fail 35 Votes 7.32%
    Fine Gael 132 Votes 27.62%
    Labour 133 Votes 27.82%
    Green 8 Votes 1.67%
    Sinn Fein 76 Votes 15.90%
    People Before Profit 14 Votes 2.93%
    Independent 37 Votes 7.74%
    A. N. Other 5 Votes 1.05%
    Spoil Your Vote 38 Votes 7.95%